Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th September 2018, 23:51   #52301  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Its curious that people try to come up with new use-cases while we already had a Neural Network algorithm in madVR before, for image doubling: NNEDI3. Image scaling should be a breeze for the Tensor Cores, considering they are even using that as a gaming feature called DLSS - Deep Learning Super Sampling. Now their algorithm is not going to be quite as high quality as a madVR scaler might be, but it also needs to run on top of 3D rendering and whatnot, so it has to be ultra fast.

A new Neural Network based scaler with more complexity/quality then NNEDI3, but compensating for the low performance of the added complexity by using Tensor Cores sounds like a rather logical step.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 01:05   #52302  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
there is no question that you can create something very useful for madVR with it but why should you do that for 3 GPUs and only nvidia?

the speed of DLSR is ridiculously fast it can super sample 4k
but nvidia doesn't like to provide proper informations so we have this...
https://images.anandtech.com/doci/13...ay_Aug22_2.png
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 01:33   #52303  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
BTW, what is the general advice and\or concensus on settings for 1440p displays.
On my 1440 desktop display I just use Jinc to upscale from 1080, I find no need for NGU for such a small upscaling. I double 576 and 720 video using NGU.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 01:53   #52304  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there is no question that you can create something very useful for madVR with it but why should you do that for 3 GPUs and only nvidia?
Because you can make a MUCH better algorithm if you use much of the potential of the tensor cores?

NGU is pretty good if we are using FP32.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 01:59   #52305  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
so no one can use it? fantastic
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 09:43   #52306  |  Link
waldnebel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ancient Germanic Forest
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
Open cru, in detailed resolution add 3840x2160 23.000 with the information provided by madvr.
In the detailed resolution section there are only two slots left. What are you supposed to do if you want entries for 23 up to 30 fps?


The custom resolution feature seems to work again with the newest nvidia driver, but only for 23 to 30 fps recordings and a 8 bit color. That's not a big deal for 10-bit hdr movies.
waldnebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 12:06   #52307  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
What options do you have set in Display Modes? Which OS?
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Further options marked:

- switch to matching display mode when playback starts
- restore original display mode when media player is closed

other options unmarked.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 12:09   #52308  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
what display modes are you using?
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p50, 2160p59, 2160p60
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 12:38   #52309  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
can you make a screen of the OSD maybe someone can see something odd on it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 13:18   #52310  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
http://mammutmail.com/hu/download/77...1447c1744b52bb


It is in fullscreen windowed mode.
In FSE mode 8 bit turns to 10 bit and composition rate to 60.000 Hz. In FSE mode I cannot make a Prt Scr.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 13:36   #52311  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,891
the display framerate stays?

if that's the case your issue is windows.
windows 10 composition rate is all over the place.
try newer driver and newer OS version. make sure you only have one screen active and hope Microsoft fixes it.
it breaks for some user with newer WDDM version it is a total mess.

you may have luck with disabling game DVR or what that name is or xbox app thingy. FSE is currently fake on windows 10 there shouldn't be a composition rate.

they fixed it in windows 8 completely but i guess that was good enough...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 14:34   #52312  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the display framerate stays?
Yes it does.

Thanks.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 16:59   #52313  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
In FSE mode I cannot make a Prt Scr.
todays phones can also take pictures
I am also interested in in that issue.

Now to my question:
Having an older Nvidia card here but newest driver version from 2018-08-27, custom resolution doesn't work anymore. Strange thing is, I have the list to optimize the refresh rate and I select it, then I already tried to restart the comuter as madVR suggests, but I still have the same minutes when a frame drop or repeat occurs. When I open the optimized list again, it states the selected mode is enabled.

I used it already in the past and it worked well. But it was 1709 then.
This computer only has a 1080p screen, so it only has to deal with 1080p resolutions.
Is that a driver issue, or a Windows 10 18.03 issue? Hope you can help me, to avoid spending too much time on it without success.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 18:19   #52314  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
1803 & 399.07 here as well.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 18:37   #52315  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
todays phones can also take pictures
http://mammutmail.com/hu/download/82...a6852e22130ff8

With similar quality like the one above.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 19:54   #52316  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
todays phones can also take pictures
I am also interested in in that issue.

Now to my question:
Having an older Nvidia card here but newest driver version from 2018-08-27, custom resolution doesn't work anymore. Strange thing is, I have the list to optimize the refresh rate and I select it, then I already tried to restart the comuter as madVR suggests, but I still have the same minutes when a frame drop or repeat occurs. When I open the optimized list again, it states the selected mode is enabled.

I used it already in the past and it worked well. But it was 1709 then.
This computer only has a 1080p screen, so it only has to deal with 1080p resolutions.
Is that a driver issue, or a Windows 10 18.03 issue? Hope you can help me, to avoid spending too much time on it without success.
Driver upgrades and Windows updates sometimes break the custom resolution. Although you have applied it, it is not acknowledged by the driver.

Try rolling back to an older driver before running DDU and doing a clean driver install. You should be able to apply a previous optimized resolution and get it working again.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 20:06   #52317  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 705
I ckecked in Nvidia driver installer to install it fresh, so the previous version should have been deinstalled. Anybody else having trouble with latest Nvidia driver 399.07 on 18.03?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 21:23   #52318  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
No, I just recreated my custom resolution yesterday. I had also used the clean install option when installing the newest driver (399.07). Also running win10 1803.

I did not need to restart or anything, it all worked in a nearly ideal fashion and I got down to ~1day between drops or repeats.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 21:27   #52319  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
Does that also happen with SDR video? That may be a problem with the NVIDIA HDR API interacting with the display definition change or something.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2018, 21:42   #52320  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 567
The same is with 2160p SDR content.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.