Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th March 2019, 14:22   #55301  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
no he didn't he was pretty disappointed when in my performance report form a RX 480 back then and it's not like you look at the code and know why. and NGU isn't generally better with nvidia is just that polaris has problem with it.
What about the new Radeon 7. Any madvr lifts reported on the new architecture ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 14:49   #55302  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
What about the new Radeon 7. Any madvr lifts reported on the new architecture ?
Its not "new", its the same architecture as Vega.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 15:19   #55303  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its not "new", its the same architecture as Vega.
Annnnd, Vega was a no-improve on NGU ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 15:44   #55304  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,492
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Annnnd, Vega was a no-improve on NGU ?
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...90#post1820190, but its power consumption is far from ideal for a HTPC Maybe the next gen Navi GPus.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 18:49   #55305  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...90#post1820190, but its power consumption is far from ideal for a HTPC Maybe the next gen Navi GPus.
Does the user snowknight have the vega 56 or 64 ?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 20:13   #55306  |  Link
TheProfosist
Registered User
 
TheProfosist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaemon View Post
Hello,

So I just finished to setup my new rig and I'm really struggling to get back madVR playback to what it was before. I went from a GTX 1080 to an RTX 2080 Ti and from an i5 6400 to an i9 9900k. With the new rig I'm getting stuttering in full screen in every configuration I could think of. I basically tried everything. From the decoder to the renderer to the OS. In every configuration I got excellent to decent average render times (10 ms). The problem is the max render time which is very high (usually above 60 ms). I could be wrong but with the old rig I don't think I ever experienced such bad max render times. What is weird is that I have no dropped frames. I'm kinda limited with drivers because RTX is not supported with old drivers. I tried to install the one I think I was using before but it cannot be done.

It would be great if you had any kind of idea. 1080p playback is barely okay but UHD playback is just not watchable at the moment. In the past everything was running smooth with 3D LUT, HDR tone mapping and even some upscaling/zoom control. Something's really off but aside from the max render times, all looks good to me.

Thanks.
sounds like my situation minus the render times. backup your madvr folder and reset settings to default and rebuild your profiles see if that fixes it.
TheProfosist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 21:24   #55307  |  Link
Nicog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicog View Post
Hi Everyone,

I have exactly same issue. What driver number do you suggest?

My config : I7 7700 + RTX2070, last Windows, last MadVR, last Nvidia drivers.

I tried also almost everything. Sometimes FSE works, sometimes not (I don't know why!)

The stangest thing is that if, with the mouse, I show the seek bar, or show contextual menu (right clic), no sluttering at all !!!
Work also very well (no sluttering) if I press the Windows key on my keyboard…

It looks like it works only if there is another layer in front of my movie...

Last edited by Nicog; 12th March 2019 at 21:26.
Nicog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 21:57   #55308  |  Link
border.community
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by border.community View Post
Anybody have thoughts on why mpc-hc is freezing during 4k HDR 24p playback? Some movies i can get through no problems but others it can crash every 20 minutes or so. I thought 1050ti was good enough so trying to rule out the card as the problem---otherwise was thinking need to go 1060 or higher.

-1050ti 4gb
-HDR passthrough
-NGU AA med
-D3D11 FSE
-all trade quality for performance unchecked
-smooth motion off
-gpu/cpu queue size 12
-presenting 8 frames in advance
-nothing under "processing" folder turned on
-win10
-390.77
-ryzen 5

I am probably using the terms "freezing" and "crashing" too loosely here so let me clarify.

When I am watching something like Planet Earth II the image will freeze on the screen but the sound keeps playing fine. Only way for me to fix is to restart MPC.

Not sure if that changes anybody's opinion about what my problem is but wanted to be more specific. I haven't tried watching unclocked yet but will soon.
border.community is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 22:19   #55309  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicog View Post
Work also very well (no sluttering) if I press the Windows key on my keyboard…
You have the GPU not using "Optimal Power" in 3D Settings? Don't use FSE. Do you have a Gsync or Freesync display? Also make sure Windows 10's Focus Assist is completely disabled, including the other options on that config page, even though they don't seem like they would cause problems they do seem to.

Windowed Overlay is also something to try.

Sorry if you already tried those.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2019, 23:35   #55310  |  Link
bboynk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Hiya m8's

I'm having an absolutely infuriating time with MPC-HC and Mad VR, no matter what combinations of options I use (default, fullscreen, windowed etc...) the moment I try to match my display (lg c7 + rtx 2080) with the source, I get crazy jitters, however when I don't match the display it jitters a tad but it's more bearable to watch, any reason why matching the display with source would cause the jitters? I've tried with adaptive, optimal and max power (gpu wise) too
bboynk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 00:22   #55311  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
You have the GPU not using "Optimal Power" in 3D Settings? Don't use FSE. Do you have a Gsync or Freesync display? Also make sure Windows 10's Focus Assist is completely disabled, including the other options on that config page, even though they don't seem like they would cause problems they do seem to.

Windowed Overlay is also something to try.

Sorry if you already tried those.
Do we have a table of On-Off features for optimal Madvr performance ?

So we WANT -optimal power- ?

and

DO NOT Want -focus assist-
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 00:41   #55312  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
No, we DO NOT want Optimal Power or Focus Assist, both cause hitching without the average rendering times being too high.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 01:23   #55313  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
We should really get these basic and often posted troubleshooting answers stickied.. Could just create a registry file to make it easy for these to be set also.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 03:39   #55314  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No, we DO NOT want Optimal Power or Focus Assist, both cause hitching without the average rendering times being too high.

GDI, so we want prefer maximum performance ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
We should really get these basic and often posted troubleshooting answers stickied.. Could just create a registry file to make it easy for these to be set also.
Or just u know, like the driver recommendation thread.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 04:04   #55315  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
GDI, so we want prefer maximum performance ?
No, Adaptive is the preferred option.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 05:15   #55316  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
I like adaptive myself, it clocks all the way down pretty fast, but not so fast as to ever disturb madVR.

However, anything besides Optimal Power works fine.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 08:06   #55317  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Is 419.17 bugged again with 10bit HDR ? it only uses 8 bit windowed mode and Full Screen does newest driver fix it ? 419.35 ?
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 10:09   #55318  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
Is 419.17 bugged again with 10bit HDR ? it only uses 8 bit windowed mode and Full Screen does newest driver fix it ? 419.35 ?
Looking back on your posts the majority seem to be about newer drivers and HDR.

If you do not need the newer drivers for Games etc. stay with whats working, and also drivers after 398.11 are sending the wrong HDR metadata either way.

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...44#post1865444

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176013
__________________
Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

Last edited by madjock; 13th March 2019 at 10:16.
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 10:22   #55319  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheProfosist View Post
I always run full screen exclusive on this system since it only has one display and watching is all I will be doing on it.
Not sure what you mean here, its a setting under rendering->general settings. You can enable it even when using multiple monitors. I had gone through the whole cycle of fresh windows, old/new versions of drivers/madvr/lav, adaptive power in nvidia, turning off game mode+focus assist etc etc. The only thing that fixed it for me was fullscreen exclusive mode. Been using it for about 6 months now without any significant issues.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2019, 10:33   #55320  |  Link
austinminton
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by x7007 View Post
Is 419.17 bugged again with 10bit HDR ? it only uses 8 bit windowed mode and Full Screen does newest driver fix it ? 419.35 ?
Works fine for me on 419.35 (and 419.17). I use default color settings on nvidia cp. It goes into 8bit hdr if its 4k@60, otherwise goes into 12bit which I have confirmed with my receiver.

In fact everything related to bit depth is working well for me now. For normal 1080p23, 2160p23 files I get 12bit output and 4k@60 (for normal desktop usage) I get 8bit.
austinminton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.