Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th September 2013, 01:53   #20061  |  Link
moffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Sorry for the lack of code formatting. Can't see how to add it.
moffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 08:32   #20062  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,944
Put it in a CODE (or PHP) block. See BB code short documentation.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 13:42   #20063  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Madshi, I wanted to run this by you to see whether removing the CPU queue options lower than 8 might be an idea. When I have my CPU queue less than 8 I find switching from windowed mode to exclusive causes frames to jump back and forth.

Having the CPU queue set to 8 seems to be the magic (and I know it's default) number. The video never comes right after this occurs, so perhaps lower values should be removed or maybe things can be improved in the transition from windowed to exclusive. I've included a log where I set the CPU queue to 6. Changing the GPU queue size had no effect at all. HD 3000, W8, 15.28.18.64.3223.

http://www.mediafire.com/?6ks7xddl7lbnnqw
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 22:39   #20064  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Why do you need the option removed to not use it? Are you sure that there is no situation on any system where a CPU queue below 8 is useful?
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 01:39   #20065  |  Link
moffy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Put it in a CODE (or PHP) block. See BB code short documentation.

Thanks for the tip. I added the code markers.
moffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 01:53   #20066  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Lower queues are needed on slow hardware to get a picture. I use 6/4, half of the defaults, for faster seeks and don't see any problems. I had asked madshi awhile ago if he'd consider allowing smaller queues to allow madvr to work with slower hardware, he said it wouldn't work.
__________________
PC: FX-8320 GTS250 HTPC: G1610 GTX650
PotPlayer/MPC-BE LAVFilters MadVR-Bicubic75AR/Lanczos4AR/Lanczos4AR LumaSharpen -Strength0.9-Pattern3-Clamp0.1-OffsetBias2.0
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 10:44   #20067  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Are you sure that there is no situation on any system where a CPU queue below 8 is useful?
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbojet View Post
Lower queues are needed on slow hardware to get a picture. I use 6/4, half of the defaults, for faster seeks and don't see any problems.
This is the exact reason why the question was posted here.
I guess this could fall into the auto configuration feature in the future. Determining the best queues for your hardware. I don't think this particular problem is shown as dropped frames. So knowing what's going on here might be of some value.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 23:01   #20068  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
Not sure auto queue settings could ever work consistently and it's been tried. A few months ago someone would get dropped frames in some scenes with the highest queue setting on old/slow hardware hence the larger buffers were added. On my older hardware I couldn't get a picture at default queues and needed to lower them and SD played fine, no longer have that laptop. Another example is madshi has/had an nvidia 8500/8600(?) that needed to increase queues to prevent dropped frames, the 9500GT I have starts dropping frames if I go above 16 or so with fhd, going with low queues doesn't cause dropped frames.

It hasn't been investigated much but there's nothing obvious responsible for these varying results.
__________________
PC: FX-8320 GTS250 HTPC: G1610 GTX650
PotPlayer/MPC-BE LAVFilters MadVR-Bicubic75AR/Lanczos4AR/Lanczos4AR LumaSharpen -Strength0.9-Pattern3-Clamp0.1-OffsetBias2.0

Last edited by turbojet; 13th September 2013 at 23:03.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 17:27   #20069  |  Link
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Hello gentlemen

I'm fairly new to using MadVR, and I am just wondering what the best settings are to achieve the sharpest picture while keeping aliasing to a minimum? I use MPC-HC coupled with ffdshow. If I enable "sharpen" on ffdshow I get quite a bit of aliasing but it does enhance the sharpness. What settings can I use in madvr to get exceptional sharpness without going overboard with the aliasing? I have an Nvidia GTX 680 GPU.
isamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 18:33   #20070  |  Link
PetitDragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Head up and look "turbojet"'s signature, you will find a word "LumaSharpen".
PetitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 20:59   #20071  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
Hello gentlemen

I'm fairly new to using MadVR, and I am just wondering what the best settings are to achieve the sharpest picture while keeping aliasing to a minimum? I use MPC-HC coupled with ffdshow. If I enable "sharpen" on ffdshow I get quite a bit of aliasing but it does enhance the sharpness. What settings can I use in madvr to get exceptional sharpness without going overboard with the aliasing? I have an Nvidia GTX 680 GPU.
If you want to minimize aliasing introduced by upscaling, set the image upscaling algorithm to Jinc3, it does use a bit of power, but is probably best in madVR.

If you want to use post-processing to enhance the image, follow PetitDragon's advice and use shaders in MPC-HC.

As a side note, LAV Filters (also included in MPC-HC nightly builds) are the codecs of choice recently and work with madVR nicely.
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 21:21   #20072  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 21:43   #20073  |  Link
MokrySedeS
I am the one who knocks
 
MokrySedeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
For post-processing HD try FineSharp.
MokrySedeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 23:11   #20074  |  Link
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetitDragon View Post
Head up and look "turbojet"'s signature, you will find a word "LumaSharpen".
Thanks a bunch for the replies everyone. I applied the settings in MADVR from "turbojet"'s signature, and the picture looks very very good. However, PetitDragon, what about this "LumaSharpen" in his sig? Where is it and how do I apply in MadVR?

michkrol....I *DO* in fact want to use post-processing to enhance the image in MPC-HC but you mention I should use shaders....how do I use shaders in MPC? I don't see anything that says "apply shaders" in the MPC-HC options? Or do you mean use "external filters" such as ffdhow, etc?

Oh by the way I should mention I watch a LOT of Anime! In fact 95% of the content I will be watching on MPC will be anime.

Last edited by isamu; 14th September 2013 at 23:19.
isamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 04:21   #20075  |  Link
PetitDragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
.... PetitDragon, what about this "LumaSharpen" in his sig? Where is it and how do I apply in MadVR? ....
Please refer to the link as following:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1547989#post1547989

The first post in that thread "JanWillem32" will teach you how to use pixel shaders.

Have fun.
PetitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 08:54   #20076  |  Link
turbojet
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,840
There's a newer version of Lumasharpen at http://dropcanvas.com/l46x9 There's a guide available there too. The easiest way to 'install' it is save the txt, change the extension to psh and move it to the mpc\shaders directory. Feel free to tweak it to your liking, the only ones I changed were strength=0.9 and pattern=8. I prefer is as a pre-resize shader but try post-resize as well, you could even use it as both for a lot of sharpening.

Finesharp http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/FineSharp you'd load in the avisynth tab of ffdshow.

LSFMod http://avisynth.org/mediawiki/LSFmod is another avisynth filter.

Unsharp <30 strength in ffdshow's sharpen tab is worth looking at as well. I've used them all regularly but find LumaSharpen has the highest sharpen to artifact ratio to my eyes. You'll have to decide which one you prefer.
__________________
PC: FX-8320 GTS250 HTPC: G1610 GTX650
PotPlayer/MPC-BE LAVFilters MadVR-Bicubic75AR/Lanczos4AR/Lanczos4AR LumaSharpen -Strength0.9-Pattern3-Clamp0.1-OffsetBias2.0

Last edited by turbojet; 15th September 2013 at 09:09.
turbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 15:01   #20077  |  Link
aduwind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PetitDragon View Post
Please refer to the link as following:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1547989#post1547989

The first post in that thread "JanWillem32" will teach you how to use pixel shaders.

Have fun.
Boys, don't forget this jewel: DARBEE

aduwind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 15:50   #20078  |  Link
PetitDragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Yep, Darbee is a good starter kit for amateur. HTPC enthusiasts use CPU+GPU as a powerful video processor to achieve their ideal colorfulness, sharpness and stereo look (3D like) PQ.
PetitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 16:33   #20079  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
(...) When I have my CPU queue less than 8 I find switching from windowed mode to exclusive causes frames to jump back and forth. (...)
I've been playing with madVR's settings recently and encountered similar behavior only if I have "use separate device for presentation" enabled.
There are other known issues with Intel's newer drivers with this option enabled. Could you confirm that's the case with your setup?
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th September 2013, 02:53   #20080  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by michkrol View Post
I've been playing with madVR's settings recently and encountered similar behavior only if I have "use separate device for presentation" enabled.
There are other known issues with Intel's newer drivers with this option enabled. Could you confirm that's the case with your setup?
This is the exact same issue I posted about a page back. It's not a separate device option issue. It could be related to how madvr deals with the lower queues or could just be Intel's driver.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.