Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd December 2011, 06:46   #1  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Help for TsMuxer not recognising Dolby True-HD audio track without AC3 core

Hi all,

I have a movie in MKV file containing audio tracks with Dolby True-HD but without the core and a Dolby digital commentary track. I have popcorn hour A-110 and have this 1080p playback issues of restarting popcorn A-110 for playback. So, I decided to convert all the 1080p mkv files to m2ts as I don't experience this issue while playing m2ts files with HD audio tracks in my A-110.

Now, when I tried to use Tsmuxer the latest version 1.10.6 and try to add the mkv file. It says that certain tracks are not recognised and only show the video track + the commentary track skipping the primary Dolby True HD track since it doesn't contain the core AC3.

I tried MKV extractGUI2 and other mkvtovob tools, but nothing recognises the Dolby True-HD audio track.

Can any member help me on this...

Regards,
eummagic
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 10:42   #2  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,435
Try eac3to, if the TrueHD is the 2nd track in mkv:

eac3to your.mkv 2: new-track.thd+ac3
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 19:24   #3  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Try eac3to, if the TrueHD is the 2nd track in mkv:

eac3to your.mkv 2: new-track.thd+ac3
Dolby True HD is the first audio track and the Dolby digital 640kbps is the second audio track. I tried using it as below but no luck.

Last edited by eummagic; 2nd December 2011 at 19:35. Reason: screenshot added
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 19:38   #4  |  Link
amtm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That's because you're trying to do that against the first stream which is the video stream. You need to do it as tebasuna51 posted: "2: new-track.thd+ac3". As the error message says, you are trying to do an unsupported conversion of an H.264 video to a TrueHD+ac3 audio file which makes no sense.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 19:57   #5  |  Link
b66pak
Registered User
 
b66pak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)
Posts: 934
in other words:
Code:
eac3to super8.mkv 2:new-track.thd+ac3
_
__________________
if you ask a question and somebody give you the correct answer don't forget to leave a "thank you" note...
Visit The Land Of Dracula (Romania - EU)!
b66pak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2011, 22:42   #6  |  Link
Marin85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 100
Erm, you cannot put a core-less TrueHD audio track in .m2ts anyway.
Marin85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2011, 08:13   #7  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
yes, and also Popcornhour A110 cant play MLP in M2TS, only TrueHD with AC3 Core.

By the Way, is there any other Way or small tool to merge MLP with AC3 Core ? I use Dolby Media Producer Suite to encode both, but the Suite doenst provide a Tool to merge them.

Ofcourse eac3to.exe .thd+ac3 works but i would like to keep my AC3 without reencoding trough eac3to/aften
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2011, 14:47   #8  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by amtm View Post
That's because you're trying to do that against the first stream which is the video stream. You need to do it as tebasuna51 posted: "2: new-track.thd+ac3". As the error message says, you are trying to do an unsupported conversion of an H.264 video to a TrueHD+ac3 audio file which makes no sense.
Ok I got it.....Thanks for that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by b66pak View Post
in other words:
Code:
eac3to super8.mkv 2:new-track.thd+ac3
_
Thank you
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marin85 View Post
Erm, you cannot put a core-less TrueHD audio track in .m2ts anyway.
Hmm...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACrowley View Post
yes, and also Popcornhour A110 cant play MLP in M2TS, only TrueHD with AC3 Core.

By the Way, is there any other Way or small tool to merge MLP with AC3 Core ? I use Dolby Media Producer Suite to encode both, but the Suite doenst provide a Tool to merge them.

Ofcourse eac3to.exe .thd+ac3 works but i would like to keep my AC3 without reencoding trough eac3to/aften
Thanks for the tip...
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2011, 16:45   #9  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marin85 View Post
Erm, you cannot put a core-less TrueHD audio track in .m2ts anyway.
You can, the only issue is that it isn't blu-ray compatible. The reason why is historical - a player that couldn't play THD must have had an audio track to play, in this case the additional AC-3 audio. There is no core for THD like it is one for DTS, which took an alternative way, and let the player pick up the core if it couldn't handle the MLP/lossless.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 02:51   #10  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Hi all,

Is there any workaround of converting the True HD track to AC3 lossless and then embedding this AC3 into the True HD audio track. Later on, remuxing this Lossless+Core track to H.264 video track to create a m2ts file?
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 03:39   #11  |  Link
doom-nine
Registered User
 
doom-nine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
To encode TrueHD, the only solution seems to be Dolby Media Producer. Unfortunately it is commercial software and runs only in Mac.
Check the SE version (USD 595) here.
http://www.dolby.com/us/en/professio...ncoder-se.html
You can try it with 15-day full working license if you have a Mac.
doom-nine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2011, 16:42   #12  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,371
Download and install tebasuna51's excellent UsEac3to application (along with the required ArcSoft decoder filters).

Drag and drop your elementary TrueHD only.thd stream into the GUI.
Go to the "Track Output" option and select the "thd+ac3" from the drop-down options.
Click on the "Add" button.
Click on the "RUN Command Line" button.

If all goes according to plan, you should end up with a viable TrueHD stream complete with AC3 stream that can be muxed with TSmuxerGUI.

I've just tried the above method with a 94 second elementary TrueHD only.thd stream and it works fine
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 08:14   #13  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by doom-nine View Post
To encode TrueHD, the only solution seems to be Dolby Media Producer. Unfortunately it is commercial software and runs only in Mac.
Check the SE version (USD 595) here.
http://www.dolby.com/us/en/professio...ncoder-se.html
You can try it with 15-day full working license if you have a Mac.
Thanks, but I don't have Mac and seems to be a costly affair.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Download and install tebasuna51's excellent UsEac3to application (along with the required ArcSoft decoder filters).

Drag and drop your elementary TrueHD only.thd stream into the GUI.
Go to the "Track Output" option and select the "thd+ac3" from the drop-down options.
Click on the "Add" button.
Click on the "RUN Command Line" button.

If all goes according to plan, you should end up with a viable TrueHD stream complete with AC3 stream that can be muxed with TSmuxerGUI.

I've just tried the above method with a 94 second elementary TrueHD only.thd stream and it works fine
Thank you, I will try that and will update in the forum. Meanwhile, I have ripped the full BD structure of Super 8 movie to my harddisk and now have the complete set with all menus extras etc. When using the main stream movie m2ts file using tsmuxer, and checked only Video track + TrueHD audio track without any subtitles. but, Tsmuxer removes the TrueHD data and only retains the Dolby AC3 core 640KBps with the video track. What I require is the m2ts file with the Dolby True HD audio track. I will update more on these with screenshots with a few of my trial and error methods.
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th December 2011, 18:39   #14  |  Link
eummagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 11
Hi SeeMoreDigital,

Your idea worked at last....Thanks a ton........
eummagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2018, 23:10   #15  |  Link
dave4712
Registered User
 
dave4712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dortmund
Posts: 2
hello,
got some problems to merge a german center track from 1080p .mkv to atmos hd track of same movie in 4k .mkv.

extracted all and got the single .wav tracks in one folder,
but wonīt get them together with the (4k) movie file.

tried some of the tools like tsmuxer,mkvtoolnix,eac3to ....


some help would be great .

thanks.

edit: donīt exactly understand the issue with the core,is it an extra file? how to put it together with the self created new track?
with mkvtoolnix worked so far with a multi channel wav and the 160p mkv.

Last edited by dave4712; 28th December 2018 at 00:10.
dave4712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2018, 10:54   #16  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave4712 View Post
... to atmos hd track of same movie in 4k .mkv.
A TrueHD Atmos 7.1 track?

With free soft you can't create a new (with center channel replaced) TrueHD Atmos 7.1

You can merge (ffmpeg) the monowav's in a new .w64 and recode (or not) to .flac, or other lossy format. But only 2D audio (not Atmos).

The .w64 or .flac can be muxed with the 4k mkv

Quote:
edit: donīt exactly understand the issue with the core,is it an extra file? how to put it together with the self created new track?
In .m2ts a TrueHD must have a extra AC3 (sometimes named 'core') merged in the same track. But in .mkv the tracks, and input files, must be different.

In DTS-HD or EAC3 the 'core' is a lossy part of the same track (file) than can be extracted if you want less size/quality.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2018, 12:10   #17  |  Link
dave4712
Registered User
 
dave4712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dortmund
Posts: 2
Hmkey :/

Editing the original True HD 7.1 Atmos file and replacing the center "on the fly" is only possible with the expensive Dolby Media Tool,too bad ....

But there are somes movies with selfmade new created Atmos-track,donīt think the creators own the Dolby Tool... will ask them how they done that.


"Disc Title: G.... i. t.. S.... (2017) - Blu3D RX GER ENG True-HD Atmos
Disc Size: 44.152.330.012 bytes
Protection: AACS
BD-Java: No
Extras: Blu-ray 3D
BDInfo: 0.5.8

PLAYLIST REPORT:

Name: 00000.MPLS
Length: 1:46:56.701 (h:m:s.ms)
Size: 44.152.123.392 bytes
Total Bitrate: 55,05 Mbps

VIDEO:

Codec Bitrate Description
----- ------- -----------
MPEG-4 AVC Video 27901 kbps 1080p / 23,976 fps / 16:9 / High Profile 4.1
MPEG-4 MVC Video 12030 kbps

AUDIO:

Codec Language Bitrate Description
----- -------- ------- -----------
Dolby TrueHD Audio German 3603 kbps 7.1 / 48 kHz / 3603 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB)
Dolby Digital Audio German 640 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB
Dolby TrueHD Audio English 4131 kbps 7.1 / 48 kHz / 4131 kbps / 24-bit (AC3 Embedded: 5.1-EX / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB)
Dolby Digital Audio English 640 kbps 5.1 / 48 kHz / 640 kbps / DN -4dB "
Attached Images
 

Last edited by dave4712; 28th December 2018 at 13:18.
dave4712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.