Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd February 2020, 14:44   #58781  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
There's a known bug introduced in firmware version 1290, last working was 1270.
Please try and play a 25fps file or 50 fps file and play it at 50 Hz. Picture should be also cut off.
The only refresh rate which is fine should be 60 Hz.

And what HDMI mode do you use? I assume PC mode for 4:4:4 color / RGB support.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 15:31   #58782  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
There's a known bug introduced in firmware version 1290, last working was 1270.
Please try and play a 25fps file or 50 fps file and play it at 50 Hz. Picture should be also cut off.
The only refresh rate which is fine should be 60 Hz.

And what HDMI mode do you use? I assume PC mode for 4:4:4 color / RGB support.
Thanks for the reply... Typical swift Samsung updates to fix issues!
Seeing the issue on all refresh rates other than 60hz, correct.

Yes, PC mode on the HDMI input...

There is resizing in the nVidia control panel, but as I mentioned earlier, it isn't shrinking the overscanning, it's reducing the resolution... Which I don't think is something I wanna do. Native resolution only.
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 16:56   #58783  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
Yes you are right that you cannot fix this issue in driver settings on the gfx card, because the TV is simply cutting off the picture called overscan. I personally never really understood why TVs which only have digital inputs anymore have the overscan feature built in.
All HDMI signals I am aware of are free on anything that needs to be cut off other than old Video from VHS for example
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 17:18   #58784  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Yes you are right that you cannot fix this issue in driver settings on the gfx card, because the TV is simply cutting off the picture called overscan. I personally never really understood why TVs which only have digital inputs anymore have the overscan feature built in.
All HDMI signals I am aware of are free on anything that needs to be cut off other than old Video from VHS for example
Cable boxes which receive broadcast with bad edges. None of us watch cable. but many still do.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2020, 17:24   #58785  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
I guess that makes sense... The TV should recognize the signal though, and treat it as such....
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 01:05   #58786  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,233
overscan is gone with UHD samsung should really fix this.

try in the nvidia driver display -> adjust desktop colour settings -> content type reported to display.

if they follow specs and you have something like graphic, desktop programs, games or similar you maybe able to beat it but you are most likely wasting your time.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 07:38   #58787  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 497
samsung can definitely disable overscan, Try PC mode.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 08:56   #58788  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 144
In PC mode with a frequency of 23, 24, 25, 50 Hz will be overscan. With frequencies 29, 30, 59, 60 the image will be fit to screen.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 59Hz / AMD 20.1.3
MPC-HC 1.9.1 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@59Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 11:00   #58789  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
It can but there is bug that other than 60 Hz in pc mode overscan is always cutting off the image. 1270 is last working fine.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 11:45   #58790  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
It can but there is bug that other than 60 Hz in pc mode overscan is always cutting off the image. 1270 is last working fine.
Is this older firmware available online? Can the TV be downgraded?
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 15:30   #58791  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
No, I asked Samsung but it can‘t be downgraded.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 16:10   #58792  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
No, I asked Samsung but it can‘t be downgraded.
obviously it can, but they won't tell us how.

But don't sweat it, the 60hz works mode works fine. perfect cadence is over-rated.

For future reference, Roku platform tvs are the BEST behaved for monitor use. everything just works, and they don't have any crazy image processing stuff that destabilizes the display response..

My samsung doesn't even support 444 in 23/24hz mode. but on my $200 roku tv no problem,
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz

Last edited by tp4tissue; 24th February 2020 at 16:13.
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2020, 17:28   #58793  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 868
I created a new thread, so this thread can be releaved on TV issues:
Television issues and firmware bugs and buyers guide for your next TV
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2020, 10:56   #58794  |  Link
traykov77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
On samsung tv you can try to use not pc mode and in picture options set full pixell, not 16:9.
traykov77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2020, 11:27   #58795  |  Link
madjock
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 238
If only there was a TV Thread.
__________________
Windows 10-1909 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2020, 11:44   #58796  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by traykov77 View Post
On samsung tv you can try to use not pc mode and in picture options set full pixell, not 16:9.
I don't see where you can change HDMI input mode... Just stays as PC
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2020, 12:40   #58797  |  Link
traykov77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WuNgUn View Post
I don't see where you can change HDMI input mode... Just stays as PC
on every hdmi input you can edit name and set pc, dvi, receiver .... or just hdmi. when hdmi is not on pc mode you have full option on picture settings enabled.
traykov77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 20:25   #58798  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
For me 113 has improved significantly. And I think my gtx1060 can hold for longer time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the problem is the rendertimes are not correct anymore 23p may work with 42 ms don't think about it just take it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
He claims the render times are more accurate in 113 than they were in the past and that even though they've "increased" they were in reality always that high.
I've done some tests with v113 on my HTPC and while I didn't notice lower GPU usage in "low load" scenarios, what I'm seeing is much more stable GPU clocks. For example when watching 576p on 1080 with NGU Very High, where before GPU was varying a lot between ~1533 and ~1721 MHz it nows stays put at 1620.
The better performance is real, I can now use the live tone mapping to watch HDR instead of measurement files.
Not sure about the inaccuracy of rendering times. On one test I did they were ~40-41 ms for 25p and it couldn't keep the render queue full so they seemed accurate. The GPU certainly can keep up much better with really high loads now.
Shame for the smooth motion bug but if you don't use it it's a very good build indeed.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th February 2020, 22:56   #58799  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,429
Yea my experience with the build has shown slightly higher render times on my 2070 (I've not played too much on my 2080 laptop yet) but very much stable. I've had a couple times where I had to reboot the machine because I was getting really whacked dropped frames. I think that was just my machine being weird rather than some madvr issue. Overall, I've loved 113 VERY much. The PQ we get on dynamic tone mapping is insane. Yes, smooth motion not working sucks for a lot of OLED users. I'm one of those framerate matching people so it hasn't impacted me.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2020, 09:40   #58800  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
I've done some tests with v113 on my HTPC and while I didn't notice lower GPU usage in "low load" scenarios
That's what I noticed as well: there's no change in GPU usage, but I haven't tested them very much.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.