Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st March 2015, 00:42   #7841  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Hi everyone,
I get this frustrating mkvmerge error occasionally after encoding videos (without adding their audio tracks) using x264 Encoder (which I need) then muxing the result with the audio from the file source.

"video.720p.mkv: Error in the Matroska file structure at position 4010858. Resyncing to the next level 1 element.
The last timecode processed before the error was encountered was 00:00:19.978000000.
Resyncing successful at position 4782373.
The first cluster timecode after the resync is 00:00:25.025000000."

Now when the video reaches the defective minutes, the picture freezes with continuous audio until the point of the first cluster timecode arrives!
If the error doesn't show up in mkvmerge, the muxed file will probably get the same issue!
I tried the old versions of mkvmerge to be sure but got the same error, so it must has something to do with MeGUI encoding process.
I'm using v2525 of MeGUI with updated components and even tried reinstalling it along with K-Lite Mega Codec Pack but sadly that didn't help either!
Any tip would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks a bunch!

Cheers,
Salaam
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 06:59   #7842  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 322
Hello and thanks in advance for any help, and an Extra Big thanks for MeGUI . I have a simple question: is there a built in feature--or can anyone think of a way--to make MeGUI "pause" or "rest" for a selectable amount of time between queued jobs? I ask because often I'm away from home for weeks at a time and I'd love to have MeGUI chug away at my collection of sources to be encoded, but with MT AviSynth I'm able to achieve 100% CPU usage and I figure that it's not necessarily a good idea to have my CPU running at 100% for 10+ straight days. I've been queuing enough jobs to keep my computer busy for around 3 days straight without apparent issue, but if I could queue, for example, 2 days worth of jobs, then queue a 12 hour break, then repeat I'd be very pleased. I searched for an answer without success, but probably because I'm using the wrong terms. Any relevant input is much appreciated, thanks for your time.
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 07:11   #7843  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
Now when the video reaches the defective minutes, the picture freezes with continuous audio until the point of the first cluster timecode arrives!
If the error doesn't show up in mkvmerge, the muxed file will probably get the same issue!

In the past I've occasionally experienced a similar problem, without an error message, and after much effort I've decided that it was some combination of fragmented files (my storage drive's an HDD) and poor mkv muxing. Since then I've kept my storage drive defragmented (defragmenting the sources before muxing) and checked the mkv files (sampling the audio-video sync at the beginning, middle, and end of the mkv) after muxing and before encoding, and I've not experienced this problem since.
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 09:47   #7844  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieChuckyMerry View Post
Hello and thanks in advance for any help, and an Extra Big thanks for MeGUI . I have a simple question: is there a built in feature--or can anyone think of a way--to make MeGUI "pause" or "rest" for a selectable amount of time between queued jobs? I ask because often I'm away from home for weeks at a time and I'd love to have MeGUI chug away at my collection of sources to be encoded, but with MT AviSynth I'm able to achieve 100% CPU usage and I figure that it's not necessarily a good idea to have my CPU running at 100% for 10+ straight days. I've been queuing enough jobs to keep my computer busy for around 3 days straight without apparent issue, but if I could queue, for example, 2 days worth of jobs, then queue a 12 hour break, then repeat I'd be very pleased. I searched for an answer without success, but probably because I'm using the wrong terms. Any relevant input is much appreciated, thanks for your time.
As long as your cooling is ok then it will be fine to run your CPU at 100% for weeks\months. I'm sure your computer will be obsolete well before x264 encoding kills it.
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 10:36   #7845  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMED View Post
As long as your cooling is ok then it will be fine to run your CPU at 100% for weeks\months. I'm sure your computer will be obsolete well before x264 encoding kills it.
Thanks for your reply, AMED, I appreciate it, and my computer is already obsolete, ha ha, but it's the only one I have. Define "ok"? It's a laptop, elevated on an open aluminum pad. with a small fan blowing down on it from above. I live in the tropics and can't leave the A/C running when I'm not home. I understand where you're coming from, but I'd still prefer to give it a rest every two or three days. Any thought on how to do that with MeGUI? Some kind of dummy file? Anything?
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 23:15   #7846  |  Link
AMED
Registered User
 
AMED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 430
Probably easier to just do smaller batches of encodes.
__________________
A Man Eating Duck
AMED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 02:36   #7847  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouieChuckyMerry View Post
In the past I've occasionally experienced a similar problem, without an error message, and after much effort I've decided that it was some combination of fragmented files (my storage drive's an HDD) and poor mkv muxing. Since then I've kept my storage drive defragmented (defragmenting the sources before muxing) and checked the mkv files (sampling the audio-video sync at the beginning, middle, and end of the mkv) after muxing and before encoding, and I've not experienced this problem since.
Lucky for you. I defragmented my HDD & even tried encoding on another HDD and nothing has changed!
Thanks for the input.
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 03:19   #7848  |  Link
LouieChuckyMerry
Registered User
 
LouieChuckyMerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 322
AMED: I understand that, but it's not possible. The point of my original post was that I'm not home to queue smaller batches so I'm looking for a way to add a "dummy" encode, or some such, to rest the CPU for half a day every couple days in a one to three week queue. I wouldn't have the question if I was home to tend the queue .


salam2009: sorry that didn't help, I wish I knew more.

Last edited by LouieChuckyMerry; 1st April 2015 at 03:21.
LouieChuckyMerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 10:18   #7849  |  Link
ryszardzonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
l-smash

Guys I am using following profile in avisynth script creator for files I indexed using l-smash with Megui File Indexer.

Code:
<input>
AudioDub(last, LWLibavAudioSource("source location", av_sync=true))
AssumeTFF()
Trim(111,222) ++ Trim(333,444)
Audio=KillVideo()
AudioDub(last,Audio)
Load_Stdcall_Plugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\yadi\yadif.dll")
Yadif(order=-1)
crop(2, 2, -2, -2)
Spline36Resize(720,400) # Spline36 (Neutral)
Import("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_extra\_load\degrain.avs")
degrain.avs
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_extra\TTempSmooth\TTempSmooth.dll")
ttempsmooth()
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\avisynth_extra\RemoveGrain\RemoveGrainSSE3.dll")
RemoveGrain(mode=1)
My question is what to do to improve import and .avs save speed of files indexed with l-smash, because those operations can take for like an minute on my Intel Q9400 processor or even longer the larger indexed file is. Adding resulting .avs script for audio queue is fast as click of a mouse while adding video to the queue takes just as long as saving it.

Where is this lag coming from? I have never experienced it with with files indexed with DGIndex* tools.

Megui version - 2525
L-smash version - r784
ryszardzonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 11:20   #7850  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,943
Some source formats are easier to index than others, especially when they already contain a keyframe index which can be read separately (e.g. AVI, MKV); for more broadcast oriented containers without such index chunks (especially TS), an indexer application has to follow the whole file, trying to demultiplex the streams and looking for starts of decodable blocks in each stream, which is a lot more elaborate.

Indexers supporting only a small range of input formats (few containers, one video stream only) may be faster (ignoring unsupported streams) than more generic indexers supporting a wider range (more containers, several audio streams too, maybe even subtitles).
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 11:35   #7851  |  Link
ryszardzonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
I understand that indexing itself can take time, but I was referring to the situation where the index is ready and I am preparing avs script based on the lwi index I input to the "avisynth script creator" inside megui. Perhaps megui is reindexing stream only for trimmed parts?
ryszardzonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 11:50   #7852  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,943
It is not possible to index only trimmed parts. You may have chosen trim regions which don't match decodable ranges (GOPs). The trims will be applied after the whole source is indexed and then loaded.

The smaller the decodable units, the larger the index will be. Uncompressed or losslessly compressed sources (especially keyframe-only video formats and PCM audio) can be a real pain, causing huge indexes to be created, which have to be loaded into RAM while opening a source file, except a GUI would know when to avoid the caching to avoid huge indexes where they are not necessary. As a thumb rule, you should possibly prefer AviSource over L-SMASH Source for AVIs with lossless/DV/MJPG video and PCM audio, if you don't have an option to disable indexing.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 17:36   #7853  |  Link
ryszardzonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
My sources are only TS files recored from DVB streams in MPEG2 and MPEG4 formats. As I record some tv channels for extended period of time it is important to use only needed parts and cut out the rest. DG* tools do quite fine job for most of them, but for those with most advanced forms of codecs that they are not able to handle I am using l-smash to index. I understand l-smash has to index the whole file which obviously would take time which is no problem, but after file is indexed and I want to load LWI index into AVS script creator it takes long there and so does the process of saving the script and loading it in the queue. Seems like 30-60sec for that task means it does there more than loading file into the RAM hence the question where the delay is coming from as for other indexes it was almost instant.
ryszardzonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2015, 18:18   #7854  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,943
It may also be possible that MeGUI deletes the existing index to enforce recreating it when you create a new AviSynth script, because the indexer does not recognize if the index is up to date, and may not create a new index when you have a new content with the same file name, so L-SMASH Source may try to open new content with an old index which doesn't match the new content with the same file name...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 12:40   #7855  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,402
That should not happen. Does it happen? Then I need to have a look and fix it.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 13:25   #7856  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
Hi everyone,
I get this frustrating mkvmerge error occasionally after encoding videos (without adding their audio tracks) using x264 Encoder (which I need) then muxing the result with the audio from the file source.

"video.720p.mkv: Error in the Matroska file structure at position 4010858. Resyncing to the next level 1 element.
The last timecode processed before the error was encountered was 00:00:19.978000000.
Resyncing successful at position 4782373.
The first cluster timecode after the resync is 00:00:25.025000000."

Now when the video reaches the defective minutes, the picture freezes with continuous audio until the point of the first cluster timecode arrives!
If the error doesn't show up in mkvmerge, the muxed file will probably get the same issue!
I tried the old versions of mkvmerge to be sure but got the same error, so it must has something to do with MeGUI encoding process.
I'm using v2525 of MeGUI with updated components and even tried reinstalling it along with K-Lite Mega Codec Pack but sadly that didn't help either!
Any tip would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks a bunch!

Cheers,
Salaam
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
That should not happen. Does it happen? Then I need to have a look and fix it.
What about me?

Last edited by salam2009; 3rd April 2015 at 13:35.
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 19:23   #7857  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,402
Sorry, no clue. Post a full log please. Also run only the command line of the encoding to see if MeGUI is the problem.
Zathor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2015, 22:57   #7858  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
@Zathor
Here you go:
http://pastebin.com/7X64tJeS
It used to encode properly before! I even tried without any AviSynth script and the same thing.
Thanks for any tip

Last edited by salam2009; 3rd April 2015 at 23:00.
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 00:40   #7859  |  Link
ryszardzonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
I have done some testing to see what is happening and why the delay in queue addition while using l-smath as index. I have used 4 different files with different codecs. Here is step by step what I did
1. created file indexes with CTRL+ F2 [ l-smash, select first audio track only, uncheck "on completion load files"]
2. created avs scripts with CRTL+R [used & edited preset]
3. saved scripts and timed how long would it take load into Input/Video encoding screen [video preview disabled in megui options to speedup process as with it it takes even longer]
4. added audio to the queue [no delay in load time as it instantly appeared in the queue]
5 added video to the queue [timed the delay before it appeared in the queue]

What strikes me is the difference between handling audio and video from the same script. Obviously for video avs script gets checked for proper settings, but so it does for DG* tools indexes and there addition to the queue is instant. What might be important is I create DG* indexes directly using those apps outside of megui for only the needed parts and just load created that way indexes into megui.

Times
http://pastebin.com/kWVdhyXe
Logs
http://pastebin.com/5ye0thEi
AVS Scripts
http://pastebin.com/Gzjjjdn5
ryszardzonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2015, 01:22   #7860  |  Link
videoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 906
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryszardzonk View Post
DG* tools do quite fine job for most of them, but for those with most advanced forms of codecs that they are not able to handle
Are you talking about HEVC? It sounds highly dubious that you capture DVB TS with HEVC video, and your links point to simple MPEG2 video. So please tell what formats you are unable to use with DG tools, and why you cannot use DG tools on the source you linked to.

Last edited by videoh; 4th April 2015 at 01:42.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.