Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th February 2018, 22:25   #49001  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You're deinterlacing so you're doubling the frames presented and that will affect this, probably best to enable Smooth Motion.
Thanks, I'm going to try

I should enable or disable deinterlacing? For what I know I need it with video file, and this is movie

EDIT: Tested, same thing.

It's strange, it's movie so by default deinterlacing is off (I think this is the way), and if it's true I've this 1 frame repeated up or down with or without deinterlacing, the real dropped frame counter doesn't increase for all the length of the source. So I never encounter this "dropping" but madvr says to me that I could see him?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 14th February 2018 at 22:36.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2018, 23:09   #49002  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,712
It should always be enabled for interlaced content. When Smooth Motion is enabled then the dropped/repeated frame count is no longer accurate.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 00:31   #49003  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It should always be enabled for interlaced content. When Smooth Motion is enabled then the dropped/repeated frame count is no longer accurate.
How I know if a content is interlaced? I'm having confusion.

What of three options I need to set in smooth motion? I never used it before.

So with s. Motion enabled I can still see the voice '1 frame repeated every' but it's not relevant?

Don't understand, because with smooth motion off, as I always had, this '1 frame etc.' is constantly changing, but the 'dropped frames' are 0.

So, how i have 0 dropped frame in the end?

Why i need smooth motion, if without it dropped frame are 0? Always with this 1 frame drop every... Etc.

1 frame drop every..., but total dropped frame is always equal.

Lot of confusion
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 01:16   #49004  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,712
madVR has deinterlacing options under 'processing', it should be ticked to automatically activate, it will then use DXVA to deinterlace your content if it requires it.
Broadcast content is usually the main place you'll find interlaced content along with DVDs. You can check the properties of the file you're playing back to see this, Scan type: Interlaced
What matters are the actual frame drop/repeated results not what the calculator is saying.. and with Smooth Motion on it negates it anyway because it recreates enough blended frames to avoid the issue of dropped/repeated frames.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 02:59   #49005  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
madVR has deinterlacing options under 'processing', it should be ticked to automatically activate, it will then use DXVA to deinterlace your content if it requires it.
Broadcast content is usually the main place you'll find interlaced content along with DVDs. You can check the properties of the file you're playing back to see this, Scan type: Interlaced
What matters are the actual frame drop/repeated results not what the calculator is saying.. and with Smooth Motion on it negates it anyway because it recreates enough blended frames to avoid the issue of dropped/repeated frames.
>So, I always used 'in doubt deactivate deinterlacing'. I should select 'in doubt enable'?

What happens if I use deinterlacing on a non-interlaced source both video and movie mode? Now I'm forcing movie one.


>Where I find the scan type?

>I still dont understand your last point:

"What matters are the actual frame drop/repeated results not what the calculator is saying.."

Calculator = total sum? Or the 1 frame repeated etc.?

If the first then why use s. motion at all if only the total result of dropped f. is important? In my case, 0?

If the second, i did not understood

"and with Smooth Motion on it negates it anyway because it recreates enough blended frames to avoid the issue of dropped/repeated frames"

But I enabled smooth motion to try it when you suggested, with deinterlacing on/off and I still see the x frame dropped every... With always 0 dropped frame (in total).

Can you explain these points?
Thanks! So glad I'm finally learning something and becoming a semi capable madvr user
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 15th February 2018 at 03:03.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 05:38   #49006  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,712
If you encounter interlaced content frequently then I would select if in doubt activate. There is no "movie one" there is film and video.. if you have it on film it's not deinterlacing!

In most cases deinterlacing being turned on when with progressive content won't have any negative effects. Don't enable 'disable automatic source type detection' So it's only top and bottom boxes ticked only.

Scan type info like I said is in properties. Generally right click -> Properties or wherever your media player stores current file loaded properties. It's easy to see if a file is interlaced generally as there are combing artifacts visible throughout the entire frame.

You just want to achieve as little dropped/repeated frames as possible, if Smooth Motion gets you there and you're happy with the results just leave it selected and you don't have to worry.
Yes, madVR still displays 'frame dropped every' but it's no longer relevant.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 10:00   #49007  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
If you encounter interlaced content frequently then I would select if in doubt activate. There is no "movie one" there is film and video.. if you have it on film it's not deinterlacing!

In most cases deinterlacing being turned on when with progressive content won't have any negative effects. Don't enable 'disable automatic source type detection' So it's only top and bottom boxes ticked only.

Scan type info like I said is in properties. Generally right click -> Properties or wherever your media player stores current file loaded properties. It's easy to see if a file is interlaced generally as there are combing artifacts visible throughout the entire frame.

You just want to achieve as little dropped/repeated frames as possible, if Smooth Motion gets you there and you're happy with the results just leave it selected and you don't have to worry.
Yes, madVR still displays 'frame dropped every' but it's no longer relevant.
>> So if I enable forced film mode, deinterlacing will never go active? Even if I select 'if in doubt activate?

With dvd discs, if I use film mode I've no frame dropped, so this forcing, and its IVTC operate like deinterlacing? What's different? Because the result is the same (0 frame dropped).

>> "Don't enable 'disable automatic source type detection' So it's only top and bottom boxes ticked only."

So I should re enable the automatic source type detection?
What are these top and bottom options I should enable?

>> I should enable s. motion with what option? There are three boxes I can active.

I don't understand how can '1 frame dropped every' became non relevant, what this means? Because with or without it I can see that the total of dropped f. is still 0. Uhm, because of the blended frames . But question remains, if is the result I need to look at, the result is total dropped frame 0, with and without S. Motion, so why enable/need it?

EDIT: My error, it doest says 1 frame dropped every... but 1 frame repeated every.

So where I can found the total of repeated frames?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 15th February 2018 at 18:33.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 18:47   #49008  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
I read
if in doubt, activate deinterlacing: [Disabled] deinterlace video not flagged as progressive.

So if i have a file that is not progressive, but for example constant, deinterlacing should be active. But it's not. It says off(says upstream). Why?

And if I enable deinterlacing with hotkeys I've dropped frames. Confusion
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 15th February 2018 at 18:49.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 19:20   #49009  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,988
No progressive but constant? What does that mean?

I think you need to google interlaced video. Deinterlacing doubles the frame rate but otherwise is not related to this frame drop/repeat rate madVR reports.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 19:26   #49010  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No progressive but constant? What does that mean?

I think you need to google interlaced video. Deinterlacing doubles the frame rate but otherwise is not related to this frame drop/repeat rate madVR reports.
I did it and I'm trying to understand.

@Ryrynz said that I need to look at the source type to understand if I need deinterlacing.

Before I was forcing film mode. Now I re enabled the automatic source detection and was looking for this source type.

If that option i mentioned active deinterlacing when a source is not flagged as progressive, so I supposed that for every source that's not progressive the deinterlacing will be on.

I'm making confusion.

I said constant because I can read this in media info, i tested a file that was progressive. So testing a constant one I was expecting to see deinterlacing on.

EDIT: Yes I was wrong. I was looking for frane rate type, instead I've to look at scan type


I'm trying to get rid of that 1 frame repeated every...
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 15th February 2018 at 19:33.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 23:10   #49011  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,988
To do that you only need to match your refresh rate to your frame rate or use smooth motion. Deinterlacing is only relevant in that it doubles the frame rate you need to match.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2018, 23:13   #49012  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
To do that you only need to match your refresh rate to your frame rate or use smooth motion. Deinterlacing is only relevant in that it doubles the frame rate you need to match.
What means frame repeated?
I can see the total counter only for delayed and drkpled frames, but not for repeated.

And how can I match the frame rate?

Thanks
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 00:33   #49013  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,988
madVR has a custom refresh rate tool if you want to match frame rates (devices -> display -> display modes -> custom modes)

However, if you don't notice a dropped or repeated frames then I wouldn't worry about it. For some reason madVR often does not report repeated frames in the OSD, there should be another line next to dropped frames for repeated frames. A repeated frame is one that is displayed for an extra monitor refresh to maintain audio sync.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 00:42   #49014  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
madVR has a custom refresh rate tool if you want to match frame rates (devices -> display -> display modes -> custom modes)

However, if you don't notice a dropped or repeated frames then I wouldn't worry about it. For some reason madVR often does not report repeated frames in the OSD, there should be another line next to dropped frames for repeated frames. A repeated frame is one that is displayed for an extra monitor refresh to maintain audio sync.
Well, I don't know if I have repeated frames because I have not that line.

Can I tweak it some way?

It's strange because I never experienced this frame repeated every x seconds.

I just discovered the deinterlacing theory the other day so learned how to turn on and off deinterlacing. So today I noticed this repeated frame, don't know
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 06:52   #49015  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,988
By notice I meant actually notice the judder from them when watching, remember the OSD is off while you watch.

To tweak it use the custom refresh rate tool, that is what it is for.

Edit: To get the repeated frames line in the OSD I believe you need to use a refresh rate close to the frame rate. I think if the v-sync time is low enough that an extra monitor refresh is less than half a frame madVR doesn't report repeated frames. A single frame displayed for an extra 16.67 ms every few minutes is relatively subtle compared to the full 41.71 ms frame time, especially if you already have 3:2 judder from 24 fps @ 60 Hz.

If smooth motion does not look worse to you simply enable it and ignore this entire issue. I admit I switched back to using a custom 23.976 Hz refresh rate instead of smooth motion for 24/1.001 content but smooth motion is a great option that doesn't need tweaking or understanding the interactions of frame rates and refresh rates. Simply use "... or if the display refresh rate is an exact multiple of the movie frame rate" and smooth motion will run unless you are using a refresh rate that matches the frame rate. If you are using a custom 48 or 72 Hz mode then keep smooth motion set to "only if there would be motion judder without it...".
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 16th February 2018 at 07:51.
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 10:09   #49016  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
If you are using a custom 48 or 72 Hz mode then keep smooth motion set to "only if there would be motion judder without it...".
Or use Reclock
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 12:51   #49017  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,245
Aww, my short term memory ... but didn't the last pages mention how to get rid of ReClock?
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 12:51   #49018  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
By notice I meant actually notice the judder from them when watching, remember the OSD is off while you watch.

To tweak it use the custom refresh rate tool, that is what it is for.

Edit: To get the repeated frames line in the OSD I believe you need to use a refresh rate close to the frame rate. I think if the v-sync time is low enough that an extra monitor refresh is less than half a frame madVR doesn't report repeated frames. A single frame displayed for an extra 16.67 ms every few minutes is relatively subtle compared to the full 41.71 ms frame time, especially if you already have 3:2 judder from 24 fps @ 60 Hz.

If smooth motion does not look worse to you simply enable it and ignore this entire issue. I admit I switched back to using a custom 23.976 Hz refresh rate instead of smooth motion for 24/1.001 content but smooth motion is a great option that doesn't need tweaking or understanding the interactions of frame rates and refresh rates. Simply use "... or if the display refresh rate is an exact multiple of the movie frame rate" and smooth motion will run unless you are using a refresh rate that matches the frame rate. If you are using a custom 48 or 72 Hz mode then keep smooth motion set to "only if there would be motion judder without it...".
Thanks, I'll think about all this. It's not so easy

EDIT:

"Simply use "... or if the display refresh rate is an exact multiple of the movie frame rate" and smooth motion will run unless you are using a refresh rate that matches the frame rate. If you are using a custom 48 or 72 Hz mode then keep smooth motion set to "only if there would be motion judder without"

I don't use custom mode, In that section I've the 1980*1080 60hz label flagged with a x. My monitor is 60hz.

So I should use the first, "... or if the display refresh rate is an exact multiple of the movie frame rate"?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM

Last edited by steakhutzeee; 16th February 2018 at 13:31.
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 12:52   #49019  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Aww, my short term memory ... but didn't the last pages mention how to get rid of ReClock?
Why? Never used it.
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2018, 14:00   #49020  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Doylestown, PA in the U.S.A.
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Aww, my short term memory ... but didn't the last pages mention how to get rid of ReClock?
Reclock is fine if your display chain is all 32-bit. A 64-bit version is not planned. Custom refresh rates work best, however, and then you can use a fully 64-bit chain (assuming you're running on a 64-bit OS).
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.