Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > (HD) DVD & Blu-ray authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 31st March 2009, 00:02   #41  |  Link
T800
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Can I use this program to cover existing video with black bars.

I have a 1.85:1 MKV open matte file that I would like to change to 2.35:1 OAR.
T800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 00:02   #42  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
Queue

Now you can queue files for all-at-once midnight processing.

Download the .exe. The full package is also updated to ver 0.3

Dean

edit:

@T800: Yes. It will reencode it, but will not crop it (to remove any existing bars).
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 31st March 2009 at 00:13.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 06:52   #43  |  Link
tyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 408
Hi Dean
Everytime I hit "Trim End", my firewall (Online Armor with program guard running too) says the app is trying to access a few of my drives root directories and my source file is not on these drives. Is this normal?
tyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 10:08   #44  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
No... The only thing that happens after trim end is setting new last frame in the text box and doing a preview (using avisynth+x264) which creates 3 files.

Do you get the same warning when you move the slider and click the movie window?

Does your guard give more info? (not that I can change anything in the program, but still...)
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 13:06   #45  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
Another option to top/bottom CROP files before resizing/uncropping. You can experiment with positive/negative values to see what it does.

Positive crop values initiate RESIZE first and then CROP.
Negative crop values will make uncropMKV first to crop original video and then resize it.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 31st March 2009 at 13:31.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 16:15   #46  |  Link
tyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 408
Hi Dean
Yes, the same thing happens when I move the slider and click the movie window. The app is trying to access just my 3 drives that include 2 actual DVD drives plus my virtual drive letter. They are all empty of course.

update -- just noticed that it's the x264.exe that is trying to do this, not your app directly, maybe that gives you some clue? From your description above x264.exe is creating three files but why look at empty drives?

Last edited by tyee; 31st March 2009 at 16:22.
tyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 16:19   #47  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I have no idea why this happens... It could be because of avisynth image-writer function that tries to extract a frame (as bitmap 00000.bmp) and saves it so it can be shown in the preview window. And the write-path for this image is the same as uncropMKV.exe, not outside it. I believe it is nothing to worry about. You can reinstall avisynth with the one in the first post.

Also - if you're using ffdshow - make sure you disable any post-processing/plugins. For example while generating the preview, ffdshow may try to look for subtitles and it scans drives for find a match.

This is the execution order: x264 -> avisynth -> ffdshow ... may be this is the problem.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 31st March 2009 at 16:27.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 21:17   #48  |  Link
jhmac
Registered User
 
jhmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 127
Tried out the v.03 version loaded up the queue with 6 movies let it work overnight and all I ended up with is the .264 files and no uncropped files. Hmmm wonder what happened. As far as I know they should have been in the same directory right?

Thanks
jhmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 21:24   #49  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
It means that you don't have tools\mkvmerge.exe or it didn't do its work.

264 files are the most important ones so in case of (such) failure you can use them with mkvmerge gui, add your original audio and get your final file.

If you get only the .264 file it means that you 1st need to test and then rely on overnight processing. No refunding here.

Try again those unsuccessful files. Use "trim end" (while having slider moved to like 5% of your movie duration) and see what will happen.

Do you have full and latest uncropMKV package downloaded?
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 21:45   #50  |  Link
tyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 408
Hi Dean
Thanks for the tips, I try it when I get home. One other question. This app works with the typical MKV with lossy audio tracks, but can we get it working with Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD MA?

If we get eac3to to demux an actual BR disk to .mkv video and then one of the non lossy audio tracks to .trueHD, could we then use those in uncropMKV?

I know in that case (using a BR disk), that we wouldn't necessarily be cropping but it would be nice to use this app for both types of jobs
tyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 22:01   #51  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I'm not really sure what you're asking about. uncropMKV cares only about the video stream and should keep all other (selected) streams intact (it doesn't make difference if audio is HD or not). How you process the resulting -uncropped.mkv file is left to your choice.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 22:09   #52  |  Link
jhmac
Registered User
 
jhmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by deank View Post
It means that you don't have tools\mkvmerge.exe or it didn't do its work.

264 files are the most important ones so in case of (such) failure you can use them with mkvmerge gui, add your original audio and get your final file.

If you get only the .264 file it means that you 1st need to test and then rely on overnight processing. No refunding here.

Try again those unsuccessful files. Use "trim end" (while having slider moved to like 5% of your movie duration) and see what will happen.

Do you have full and latest uncropMKV package downloaded?
Yep that was the problem I have been running just the .exe in the MultiAVCHD dir like the forums says but it did not have MKVMege in the tools dir until now. It is working fine now. Thanks for the tip and the great programs.


Are you doing anymore work on popBD? I posted a request in the popBD forum.

Thanks for the great software making our lives easier!

Last edited by jhmac; 31st March 2009 at 22:13.
jhmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2009, 22:19   #53  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I removed the comment that users need "the latest/complete multiAVCHD, which includes mkvmerge", because I thought most people did update.

Yes, I read popBD thread, too. It's that 24hrs are not enough for the things I want/am asked to do. The option you ask for will be available tomorrow

I guess I'll add a warning in log if mkvmerge/x264 are missing.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 31st March 2009 at 22:28.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 00:41   #54  |  Link
fbimatrix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
Thank you for the program, is exactly what I need , but i converted , and the video was without audio , why is that , help me
fbimatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 00:48   #55  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
If you give more info than I can probably help you.

Did you download the COMPLETE package?

What file exactly has no audio? Did you read POST#1 in this thread?!
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP

Last edited by deank; 1st April 2009 at 00:50.
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 01:07   #56  |  Link
jdeiro
Brazilian PS3 Fanboy
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rio de Janeiro/RJ/Brazil
Posts: 20
Another excelent app, thanks Dean!!

Is it possible to add a "Shutdown PC after finished" option?

Cheers!
jdeiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 07:28   #57  |  Link
tyee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 408
Hi Dean
I looked into that question I had about HD audio tracks and it looks like MKV's can't have TrueHD or DTS HD MA. Would it be possible to add a switch in your app so that the final MKV is not created. I just want the .264 encoded video. I will use it with a demuxed HD audio track and feed them both into tsmuxer to create the BR structure.

Also, what about a "crf" switch for one pass also. That's what I've been using up until now. It creates great quality too. Have you compared constant bitrate vs crf?

Last edited by tyee; 1st April 2009 at 08:21.
tyee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 09:50   #58  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
MKV container supports HD audio, I don't know how you decided otherwise. I tried with various settings (incl. -crf) but then the final filesize got bigger and the quality with the current settings is really good. I'll see about additional switches & options in the interface.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 14:37   #59  |  Link
jj420
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
so how can I get DTS audio to play in a AVCHD file structure, when all the programs downgrade to AC3?
jj420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2009, 14:40   #60  |  Link
deank
Programmer (or just 教务长)
 
deank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Valencia, Spain
Posts: 4,248
I don't know what do you mean by 'all programs'. Both popBD and multiAVCHD allow you to put your mkv into AVCHD and watch it with DTS or even DTS-MA/HRA or TrueHD without reencoding. uncropMKV also doesn't touch your audio nor cares what it is or if is present at all.
__________________
multiAVCHD - donate | popBD | uncropMKV | mkv2avi | easySUP
deank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, bdmv, compliant, mkv, multiavchd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.