Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th June 2010, 11:25   #10141  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
It can be easily confirmed - try to encode DTS-HD MA 6.1 16-bit descrete by DTS-HD Master Audio Suite Encoder from some test wavs.
Wors fine for me, for that I say: I can't confirm the problem.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2010, 18:33   #10142  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Wors fine for me, for that I say: I can't confirm the problem.

6.1 descrete sample
http://multi-up.com/291247
http://multi-up.com/291248

Try to hear and try to decode.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 05:50   #10143  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
6.1 descrete sample
http://multi-up.com/291247
http://multi-up.com/291248

Try to hear and try to decode.
I can't hear without decode.
I was searching garbage:
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
About decoding DTS-HD MA 6.1 and TrueHD 6.1:

1) Decoding by the Arcsoft decoder gives the garbage
...
And I can decode your samples without garbage.

There are a channel mapping problem but with:

eac3to 61-HD.dtshd 61-HD.wav -0,1,2,3,6,4,5

the output is perfect for me.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 10:03   #10144  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I can't hear without decode.

This is ordinary DTS - http://multi-up.com/291248

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I was searching garbage:

And I can decode your samples without garbage.

There are a channel mapping problem but with:

eac3to 61-HD.dtshd 61-HD.wav -0,1,2,3,6,4,5

the output is perfect for me.
1. Can you upload the 61-HD.wav and the log ?
2. What version of Arcsoft decoder you used? (I was 1.1.0.7)
3. I see no indications in the description of eac3to to the manual remapping of the channels for 6.1 configuration. Why you used specifically 0,1,2,3,6,4,5?
4. I need the separate mono wav files not one interleaved file

Last edited by AnryV; 18th June 2010 at 14:37.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 16:27   #10145  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
1. Can you upload the 61-HD.wav and the log ?
Here is the 61-HD.wav

The log:
Code:
eac3to v3.20
command line: "D:\eac3to.exe" "D:\61-HD.dtshd" "D:\61-HD.wav" -0,1,2,3,6,4,5
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DTS Master Audio, 6.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz
(core: DTS-ES, 6.1 channels, 16 bits, 1509kbps, 48kHz)
Decoding with ArcSoft DTS Decoder...
Remapping channels...
Writing WAV...
Creating file "D:\61-HD.wav"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 16 bits.
eac3to processing took 1 second.
Done.
Quote:
2. What version of Arcsoft decoder you used? (I was 1.1.0.7)
I'm using:
"ArcSoft DTS Decoder (1.1.0.0) works fine"
from free trial TMT2.
In my system (XP SP3) eac3to don't work with 1.1.0.7 (the package in this thread)

Tested 1.1.0.7, in my laptop with Vista Home, the output is wrong (all channels have a distorted mix of all original channels).

Quote:
3. I see no indications in the description of eac3to to the manual remapping of the channels for 6.1 configuration. Why you used specifically 0,1,2,3,6,4,5?
From eac3to Help:
"...
Options:
...
-0,1,2,3,4,5 remap the channels to the specified order"

About the channelmapping and the MaskChannel in WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE headers:

There are two official valid MaskChannel for 5.1 surround:
0x003F FL FR FC LFE BL BR (old)
0x060F FL FR FC LFE SL SR (new from XP SP 2)
Note than the order isn't a problem.

And one official valid MaskChannel for 7.1 surround:
0x0637 FL FR FC LFE BL BR SL SR
Without problems.

But I don't know a official MaskChannel for 6.1 surround, there are two options:
0x013F FL FR FC LFE BL BR BC
0x070F FL FR FC LFE BC SL SR
Note here than the order is a problem, the BC channel must go after/before the Back/Side channels.

When eac3to-ArcSoft decode (without remmaping) the 6.1 put the BC after the Side (maybe ArcSoft consider the channels like Back) and MaskChannel 0x070F. And this is wrong.
We must change the MaskChannel or the channel order, and the -0,1,2,3,6,4,5 remap put the BC channel before the Side channels (we can't change the MaskChannel with eac3to).

Quote:
4. I need the separate mono wav files not one interleaved file
Using '.wavs' in the precedent command line (with -0,1,2,3,6,4,5) the output is ok.
You can extract the monochannels from my uploaded 61-HD.wav with the same result.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 16:38   #10146  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Tested 1.1.0.7, in my laptop with Vista Home, the output is wrong (all channels have a distorted mix of all original channels).
Thanks.
Looks like that is a problem of the 1.1.0.7 version.

TrueHD 6.1 need to be remapped too.

Last edited by AnryV; 18th June 2010 at 16:58.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 16:57   #10147  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
About the channelmapping and the MaskChannel in WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE headers:

There are two official valid MaskChannel for 5.1 surround:
0x003F FL FR FC LFE BL BR (old)
0x060F FL FR FC LFE SL SR (new from XP SP 2)
Note than the order isn't a problem.
Apologies for my ignorance...
I wasn't aware of the "0x060F" one.

Quote:
And one official valid MaskChannel for 7.1 surround:
0x0637 FL FR FC LFE BL BR SL SR
Without problems.
Interesting. The Monster Audio Suite replaces the BL and BR channels with something that could be defined as two "Back Center Channels".

Quote:
But I don't know a official MaskChannel for 6.1 surround, there are two options:
0x013F FL FR FC LFE BL BR BC
0x070F FL FR FC LFE BC SL SR
Note here than the order is a problem, the BC channel must go after/before the Back/Side channels.
The M.A.S. supports the creation of the "0x013F" W_F_Ext channel mask only.

P.S.: It also lists SEVEN "7.1 layouts" in total.
That's simply insane.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:14   #10148  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramicio View Post
would a numerical progress indicator be feasible? i have my windows larger with a different font than default so i have no idea how far along the file is.
Sorry, but 99% of the people seem to be happy with the progress bar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
someone said that a dts-hd ma --> flac file created with 3.20 was a tiny bit different compared to when it was created with 3.18, can anyone confirm this?
I'm not aware of any change in eac3to that would result in this behaviour.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krohm View Post
im sure this has been posted before but the search function didnt yield me much of a result. i want to transcode various dts formats from bluray into a lossless format that will load in powerdirector.
I don't know powerdirector. Tell us which format powerdirector needs and then maybe we can give you the eac3to command you need to use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djloewen View Post
On the Blu-Ray "Batman: Gotham Knight" there are four bonus episodes of "Batman: The Anmated Series". These are reported by eac3to as "480p24/1.001 (3:2) with pulldown flags", and the demuxed VC1 stream is 23.976fps. This is incorrect
eac3to is not handling VC-1 interlaced content correctly. I'm aware of that. It's on my (very long) to do list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djloewen View Post
I reported this initially in a separate thread, and in fact it's a little more widespread than I had thought. When I run eac3to on the Blu-Ray disc for "The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call - New Orleans", it lists 3 titles. So:

Code:
eac3to E:\
shows three titles, each with a number of streams.

Code:
eac3to E:\ 1)
does nothing. it draws a bunch of "-" characters as it scans the disc, then it returns me to the prompt.
From what I remember, other people didn't have this problem, or did they? Can anybody confirm this problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeJoe View Post
Ideally, eac3to should produce an OGG chapter format file with this conversion already done, since the OGG chapter format file is supposed to use wall-clock time, not an NDF timecode expressed in fractional seconds.
I'm producing a chapter format file which mkvtoolnix accepts. Does mkvtoolnix also accept OGG chapter format files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeJoe View Post
Note that NDF and DF timecodes are only valid for 29.97 fps streams. There is no such thing as a DF or NDF timecode for a 23.976 stream, and I think there is where the problem is coming in. The timecodes on the disc for HD-DVD and BD shouldn't be NDF in the first place, as that isn't valid for a 23.976 stream.
Well, HD-DVD streams are officially 1080i60 / 1.001, so I guess that justifies the use of NDF timecodes. And the HD DVD specification officially says that NDF timecodes are used. So eac3to should really convert...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomBot View Post
I thought eac3to will let you know if there is audio overlaps with THD tracks even if it can't fix the overlap or is it just a gap it warns you about? Even i did Spider-man 2 keeping the Truehd track and not converting to PCM because i thought there wasn't any overlap since eac3to didn't tell me there was.
I do think that eac3to warns in any case. Maybe with Spiderman 2 the gaps are so small that eac3to didn't found it necessary to complain. TrueHD gaps are really small to begin with, and eac3to only complains if the summed up gaps is bigger than 7ms, IIRC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Small bug I've come across every now and then with eac3to and NeroAacEnc:

When converting/(de)muxing multiple tracks from a random source, one instance of NeroAacEnc doesn't seem to exit, making eac3to hang at the last progress bar. Ending that hung instance of NeroAacEnc causes eac3to to flood the command prompt with
until it it gets to
where x is the size of the file (so the end of it).

I've never seen this happen when doing single audio conversions to AAC, so I suspect it's something to do with eac3to not continuing to feed that hung instance of NeroAacEnc even after all other track operations had finished. Or maybe not.. who knows. Redoing the same command usually fixes it, suggesting that it happens randomly.
How can I reproduce this? I've just tried "eac3to some.wav 1.aac 2.aac" and both AAC files are created just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
mediainfo shows something interesting
Code:
Duration                         : 37mn 25s
Code:
Duration                         : 2h 41mn
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I can confirm the eac3to bug when write the w64 header (work fine with wav input).
The fields RiffLength and DataLength are truncated to 32 bits instead the full 64 bits value (4 GB limit).
Thanks, will be fixed in the next build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crasus View Post
Why the difference in the second and third audio tracks, in regards to bitrate and channels upon detection?
My best guess is that the Blu-Ray information records on this Blu-Ray are incorrect. tsMuxeR seems to rely on the Blu-Ray information records, while eac3to always parses the audio bitstream. So if there is a difference, usually eac3to should show the correct information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
1) Decoding by the Arcsoft decoder gives the garbage
As tebasuna51 found out, this seems to be a bug in newer versions of the ArcSoft DTS decoder. The original version 1.1.0.0 seems to handle this fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
2) Decoding by the Sonic decoder gives normal wavs
For me, decoding your track with Sonic gives me an empty back channel. And funny enough, the runtime is shorter. The chunk of runtime, where the backchannel is supposed to be "spoken", is simply missing. Very weird...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
The decoding of TrueHD 6.1 16 bit has the same error in spite of the use of another decoder (libav).
Do you have a short TrueHD 6.1 sample for me? I don't think I've seen a TrueHD 6.1 track yet!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
But I don't know a official MaskChannel for 6.1 surround, there are two options:
0x013F FL FR FC LFE BL BR BC
0x070F FL FR FC LFE BC SL SR
Note here than the order is a problem, the BC channel must go after/before the Back/Side channels.

When eac3to-ArcSoft decode (without remmaping) the 6.1 put the BC after the Side (maybe ArcSoft consider the channels like Back) and MaskChannel 0x070F. And this is wrong.
You're right. Will be fixed in the next build.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:18   #10149  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
The M.A.S. supports the creation of the "0x013F" W_F_Ext channel mask only.
That's really stupid, IMHO. Who has a 6.1 setup with 3 back speakers and no side speakers? That just makes no sense! Even with 7.1, you usually have 2 side speakers and 2 back speakers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midzuki View Post
P.S.: It also lists SEVEN "7.1 layouts" in total.
That's simply insane.
Yes, I agree, that's insane. And the ArcSoft DTS decoder stumbles over at least 1 of those 7 layouts.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:28   #10150  |  Link
Killroy™
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by djloewen View Post
I reported this initially in a separate thread, and in fact it's a little more widespread than I had thought. When I run eac3to on the Blu-Ray disc for "The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call - New Orleans", it lists 3 titles. So:


Code:
eac3to E:\
shows three titles, each with a number of streams.

Code:
eac3to E:\ 1)
does nothing. it draws a bunch of "-" characters as it scans the disc, then it returns me to the prompt.
From what I remember, other people didn't have this problem, or did they? Can anybody confirm this problem?
I have seen this with other discs (can't remember which right now) and I had to manually select the .m2ts files to run. Did not notice anything wrong in the structure or .mpls files to see what cause them. It is a very very rare problem but easily overcomed by manual coding.
Killroy™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:41   #10151  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy™ View Post
I have seen this with other discs (can't remember which right now) and I had to manually select the .m2ts files to run. Did not notice anything wrong in the structure or .mpls files to see what cause them. It is a very very rare problem but easily overcomed by manual coding.
If you see it again, could you please drop a short comment here (or somewhere else )? Maybe, sooner or later, if we have luck, I have the same Blu-Ray here, anyway, then I can check out where the problem is coming from...
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:42   #10152  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi
Does mkvtoolnix also accept OGG chapter format files?
Yes, it does.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:52   #10153  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do you have a short TrueHD 6.1 sample for me? I don't think I've seen a TrueHD 6.1 track yet!
http://rapidshare.com/files/400416105/EVA_2.22.rar.html

It's from "Evangelion 2.22".
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 17:52   #10154  |  Link
Killroy™
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
If you see it again, could you please drop a short comment here (or somewhere else )? Maybe, sooner or later, if we have luck, I have the same Blu-Ray here, anyway, then I can check out where the problem is coming from...
I will. Since I have seen it maybe two-or-three times I cannot remember when I saw it.
Killroy™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 18:51   #10155  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
How can I reproduce this? I've just tried "eac3to some.wav 1.aac 2.aac" and both AAC files are created just fine.
I've only ever notice it happen when converting either TrueHD or DTS-HD MA in an M2TS to FLAC while also converting a different audio track in the M2TS to AAC. Like I said, very hit or miss, but it happens often enough to be annoying. :P
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 18:55   #10156  |  Link
Midzuki
Unavailable
 
Midzuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: offline
Posts: 1,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Yes, I agree, that's insane. And the ArcSoft DTS decoder stumbles over at least 1 of those 7 layouts.
Probably because some of them are not entirely-compliant with the (already-imperfect) Wave-Format-Ext definitions...



Code:
Speaker Position     Decimal Value
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯     ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯

FRONT_LEFT             1
FRONT_RIGHT            2
FRONT_CENTER           4
LOW_FREQUENCY          8
BACK_LEFT              16
BACK_RIGHT             32
FRONT_LEFT_OF_CENTER   64
FRONT_RIGHT_OF_CENTER  128
BACK_CENTER            256
SIDE_LEFT              512
SIDE_RIGHT             1024
TOP_CENTER             2048
TOP_FRONT_LEFT         4096
TOP_FRONT_CENTER       8192
TOP_FRONT_RIGHT        16384
TOP_BACK_LEFT          32768
TOP_BACK_CENTER        65536
TOP_BACK_RIGHT         131072
RESERVED               262144
As the table above shows, the positions

BACK_LEFT_OF_CENTER,
BACK_RIGHT_OF_CENTER,
LEFT_WIDE,
RIGHT_WIDE,
TOP_SIDE_LEFT,
TOP_SIDE_RIGHT,

"do not exist" in the
Wave-Format-Extensible "world".

Last edited by Midzuki; 19th June 2010 at 04:15.
Midzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 19:15   #10157  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
just for clarification which tracks does the arcsoft decoder 1.1.0.7 treat in a wrong way compared to 1.1.0.0? only 6.1 tracks?
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 19:53   #10158  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnryV View Post
It's from "Evangelion 2.22".
Thanks. Will be fixed in the next build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
I've only ever notice it happen when converting either TrueHD or DTS-HD MA in an M2TS to FLAC while also converting a different audio track in the M2TS to AAC. Like I said, very hit or miss, but it happens often enough to be annoying. :P
Well, I need a way to reliably reproduce this, or else it will be hard to fix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
just for clarification which tracks does the arcsoft decoder 1.1.0.7 treat in a wrong way compared to 1.1.0.0? only 6.1 tracks?
AFAIK only 6.1 tracks are affected.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 19:55   #10159  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to v3.21 released

http://madshi.net/eac3to.zip

Code:
* fixed: big w64/rf64 files sometimes had incorrect header information
* fixed: HD DVD chapter times were wrong by 3.6 seconds per hour
* fixed: 6.1 DTS decoding with ArcSoft resulted in wrong channel order
* fixed: 6.1 TrueHD decoding with libav resulted in wrong channel order
* fixed: reducing bitdepth of clipped audio produced too much bitdepth
* when clipping is automatically fixed, the applied dB gain is logged
* when normalizing an audio track, the applied dB gain is logged
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2010, 19:58   #10160  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
thanks
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.