Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th September 2008, 15:34   #6141  |  Link
sehgal.v7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Again, you are sounding tough// c'mon bro, if were in ma city, would have take you to for the drink.. Chill!!
Everything thing has a way of explaining..
sehgal.v7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 15:38   #6142  |  Link
McFlipp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xkodi View Post
madshi, how i can use the AGM write support, doing:

eac3to input_file output.agm

gives me
Works fine here:
Code:
eac3to v2.62
command line: eac3to  E:\truehd.flac D:\audio.agm
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FLAC, 5.1 channels, 2:32:39, 24 bits, 7620kbps, 96khz
Decoding FLAC...
Writing Agm...
Creating file "audio.agm"...
This audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
eac3to processing took 9 minutes, 36 seconds.
Done.
edit: Disregard this post... I was being a blind fool....

Last edited by McFlipp; 8th September 2008 at 15:45.
McFlipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 15:41   #6143  |  Link
xkodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 221
thank you, McFlipp!

works fine here too:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...93#post1180993
xkodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 17:00   #6144  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by sehgal.v7 View Post
Why you guys heating up so much??
I jus asked// if you knew, you shared.. thn wht's being arrogant of this??
We're not heating up. We're just pointing out that some of the questions you're asking don't belong here while others were not really necessary at all (a simple google/wikipedia check would have answered them). You seem to take it for granted that you get good replies to all funny questions for free. Ever thought of that maybe I have a job? And that every minute I spend on answering questions here means that I give up money which I could have earned otherwise in my job? Please limit your questions to those which belong here and which haven't been asked before and where wikipedia and google don't help you. That would show respect to the worth of my time. Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 17:03   #6145  |  Link
sehgal.v7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
@Madshi
I'm sowwie for my neglection bro// I apologise!!

Regards,
Sehgal.
sehgal.v7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 17:10   #6146  |  Link
Encoder888
Registered User
 
Encoder888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 111
@madshi

I have trouble demuxing the MPEG-2 stream from VOB files. Here's what I get:

Code:
eac3to v2.62
command line: D:\eac3to\eac3to.exe vts_02_1.vob+vts_02_2.vob 2: Video.mkv
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOB, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 0:43:15
1: Joined VOB file
2: MPEG2, 480p24 /1.001 (16:9) with pulldown flags
3: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
4: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
5: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle
8: Subtitle
9: Subtitle
10: Subtitle
11: Subtitle
[v02] This doesn't seem to be a valid MPEG2 stream.
Aborted at file position 1713938432.
I tried it with an earlier version of eac3to (I think it was 2.51) and it worked fine. Please, fix it if possible
Encoder888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 17:33   #6147  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
It's should be a DREAM if this fantastic SW could make a m2ts output :-) :-) :-)
Then it would be the ultimate SW, Just think ..... take the movie stream, and a sound, subtitle you like from the BD source and output a new m2ts file ..... but I'm perhaps only dreaming ;-) but it's nice to dream :-)
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 18:20   #6148  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
Keep dreaming. That's the job of the authoring tools, like TSRemux and TSmuxer.

@madshi: HDCD decoding is PERFECT! The 2 HDCDs I have ripped to FLAC and re-encoded to FLAC via eac3to sound different, so I'm assuming the decoder's more or less perfect. Thank you.
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 19:08   #6149  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Encoder888 View Post
I have trouble demuxing the MPEG-2 stream from VOB files. Here's what I get:

Code:
eac3to v2.62
command line: D:\eac3to\eac3to.exe vts_02_1.vob+vts_02_2.vob 2: Video.mkv
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
VOB, 1 video track, 4 audio tracks, 5 subtitle tracks, 0:43:15
1: Joined VOB file
2: MPEG2, 480p24 /1.001 (16:9) with pulldown flags
3: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
4: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -25dB
5: AC3, 5.1 channels, 384kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: Subtitle
8: Subtitle
9: Subtitle
10: Subtitle
11: Subtitle
[v02] This doesn't seem to be a valid MPEG2 stream.
Aborted at file position 1713938432.
I tried it with an earlier version of eac3to (I think it was 2.51) and it worked fine. Please, fix it if possible
Hmmmm... That is extremely strange. The code which outputs this MPEG2 error message is meant to run at the beginning of a file, but I see that the processing aborted at 1.7GB, which is WAY after the beginning of the file. How big are the two vob files?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inventive Software View Post
@madshi: HDCD decoding is PERFECT! The 2 HDCDs I have ripped to FLAC and re-encoded to FLAC via eac3to sound different, so I'm assuming the decoder's more or less perfect. Thank you.
I hope the decoded files sound better, not just different? Unfortunately I don't have any way to check whether the decoder is working correctly or not. But I assume it does.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 19:40   #6150  |  Link
xkodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I hope the decoded files sound better, not just different? Unfortunately I don't have any way to check whether the decoder is working correctly or not. But I assume it does.
i was thinking about the same - Windows Media Player has build-in HDCD decoder, because Microsoft acquired HDCD company in 2000. so, WMP decoder can be used for reference. the problem is how to make bit-perfect capture of the WMP decoder output (AFAIK, it is not DirectShow filter)?


Last edited by xkodi; 8th September 2008 at 19:51.
xkodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 19:54   #6151  |  Link
Encoder888
Registered User
 
Encoder888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 111
@madshi

It's a LOST episode, the two files are 1GB+0.7GB so it must have aborted at the end. It didn't even start demuxing, the line just ran across very fast and I got the error message. I've gotten the same error with about 3/4ths of whatever other movies I've tried, so I don't think it depends on the number or size of VOBs. I just use an older version of eac3to for those, I cant tell you for sure in which version the problem started, but 2.51 works fine.
Encoder888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 21:34   #6152  |  Link
odin24
Registered User
 
odin24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great North (the better half of North America)
Posts: 301
I just made an attempt at using a TrueHD track on a HDDVD-->Blu-ray conversion using eac3to input.thd output.thd+ac3, and the end result was a choppy AC3 track, however I did use a DTS track in there as well and it played fine, as did the video. I used vc1conv for the video and tsMuxeR for BD muxing.

Does this command work for HDDVD-->BD conversions?
odin24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 22:29   #6153  |  Link
yonta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 120
eac3to v2.62 crashes on this dtswav file.
sample

Tried v2.52 and it works just fine.
yonta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 23:01   #6154  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
2.60 also works. Crash report says something about HD CD decoder. I believe DTS/AC3-WAV support is broken due to HD CD support.

Last edited by nautilus7; 9th September 2008 at 02:11.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 01:37   #6155  |  Link
JustABDFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Hi,

1) I noticed that the libFLAC.dll that comes with Eac3to is 151,552 bytes and is dated 7/22/2007 while the one that comes in MadFLAC is 258,048 bytes and is dated 10/7/2007. I wanted to put Eac3to and Madflac into one "tools" folder so which I should use OR do I just make a folder for each and keep em separate?

2) Any chance of Eac3to using arcsoft decoders for (E)AC3 instead of Nero 7? Nero 7 Ultra isn't being sold by Ahead anymore and I don't want to risk buying the Blu-ray plugin to use with an OEM version then it not work properly.

Thanks.
JustABDFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 08:24   #6156  |  Link
hdpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
Is there anyway I can remux a blu-ray keeping the TrueHD track to fit on a BD25 for playback via a surround amp connected using HDMI. I know from a couple of costly BD-R's that tsMuxer won't allow the remux of TrueHD. I see that the latest version of eac3to can extract TrueHD as is, but how do I get it onto a blu-ray as I can't use tsMuxer?
I want to keep lossless audio, is the only way to use eac3to to convert the TrueHD to PCM 5.1?
Thanks
hdpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 08:51   #6157  |  Link
Beastie Boy
Registered User
 
Beastie Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 353
@hdpete, I have written a post in the tsMuxeR thread that may help you. Please keep tsMuxeR questions there.

Cheers, Beastie.
Beastie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:26   #6158  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,663
Thanks madshi for your new version, for me the standard dts is all ok decoded but:

2/2.1 - ArcSoft output is FL FR FC Empty LF BL, the BR channel is missing and need remap -0,1,3,4,2,5

And using -dtslog with Samples_dts-es encoded with DTS PRO SERIES SURROUND ENCODER (thanks Elektra999) seems there are a detect problem:
Code:
                     3/3.0 m   3/3.1 m   3/3.0 d    3/3.1 d
+ DTS-Core           -------   -------   -------    -------
  - frameSize        2013      2013      2013       2013
  - DTS-ES           +         +         +          +
  - channelNo        5         5         5   (?)    6
  - lfe              0         1         0          1
  - channelDescr     5.0       5.1       5.0 (?)    6.1
  - samplingRate     48000     48000     48000      48000
  - bitDepth         16        16        16         16
  - bitrate          1536000   1536000   1536000    1536000
  - extAudio         -         -         XCh        XCh
  - samplesPerFrame  512       512       512        512
  - copyHistory      1         1         1          1
With libav
3/3.1 DTS-ES 6.1 Discrete, output 5.1 with BC mixed in BL-BR, ok but need remap -1,2,0,5,3,4

And ArcSoft problems:
3/3.0 DTS-ES 6.0 Discrete, detected like 5.0 and decoded 5.0 with BC channel mixed in BL-BR like 6.0 Matrix.
3/3.1 DTS-ES 6.1 Discrete, all ok but FL and FR channels broken (missing 99% of samples)
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 20:04   #6159  |  Link
piratburner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 61
Just a Q

What exactly can I expect when doing this command

eac3to BDMV k:\output.mkv ?
a complete mkv with all sound,subs ? or ?
piratburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 22:00   #6160  |  Link
hdpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 57
TrueHD to LPCM

If use eac3to "D:\input.thd+ac3" "D:\output.wav" -nero -24, will the resulting wav file have all the lossless date of the trueHD source?
Thanks for your advice
hdpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.