Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd June 2019, 07:11   #1  |  Link
Blurayhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 228
About encoding, Hanbrake and my laptop

Hi guys, so far I using my desktop PC for encoding MKVs with Handbrake


I need to use my laptop from now so I need to ask what do you think about encoding several hours with laptop?

Is a Dell i5 7°generation, Intel 7.200U @2.5 mhz, 8gb of ram

Time ago I disassemble the laptop for clean and change the original thermal paste for the Artic Silver 5

All I so wish to know is can I use my laptop for encoding serveral hours with Handbrake x264?

If I can, there´s some way that you recomend for see processor temp? or something?

Thank you in advance!!
Blurayhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2019, 14:12   #2  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,247
Quote:
If I can, there´s some way that you recomend for see processor temp? or something?
Take a peek at Core_Temp v1.14 - 18th May, 2019 (~1.2MB, XP -> W10)
https://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 22nd June 2019 at 14:16.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2019, 21:06   #3  |  Link
Blurayhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Take a peek at Core_Temp v1.14 - 18th May, 2019 (~1.2MB, XP -> W10)
https://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/
Thank you Stainless but I don´t know how work it? anything about it, what I have to do? if you don´t mind I´ll appreciate so much if you maybe could tell me about?

Please excuse me my English like you can notice is not my first language
Blurayhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2019, 23:22   #4  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,247
Install it.
Dont tick the "build your game with goodgame empire", seems to be some game that it will install,
I probably got the version I have from another link.

Start it up, ie click the link in your program files or whatever.
View temps.

looks like tj.max is max temp for your motherboard/cpu combo. [EDIT: CPU junction temp, transistor thing, so CPU only not motherboard]

Your machine should throttle back on its own if it gets too hot.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Junction_temperature



EDIT: make sure you have good air flow around your laptop, eg dont stand it on a wooly jumper
which could block air vents. [EDIT: Dont let you dog or cat sit on it either. (includes other unspecified furry critters, or the missus)]

EDIT: tj.max
https://forums.tomshardware.com/thre...-temp.3072786/

EDIT: Selection of "cpu temperature monitor" (google search):
https://www.google.co.uk/search?sour...31.xwWDl4jex4M

this looks pretty good, RealTemp (~300KB):- https://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/
https://www.google.co.uk/search?sour...10.K1GN_ZhW6O8

With alarm
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 24th June 2019 at 05:09.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 05:24   #5  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,698
I like hwinfo64 for my system monitoring needs.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2019, 16:33   #6  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,247
Yep, that one has a text file in my archive directory for it, ie "! Good !.txt", so I musta liked it too

Some I have in archive

CPU Info
Code:
CPU Eat n Cool
CPU TrueSpeed
CPUID
CPUz
GPU_Caps_Viewer
GPU-Z
HardwareInfo
HardwareMonitor
Intel-FreqID-utility
Intel-ProcessorID-Utility
SMP SeeSaw (Multicore CPU balancer)
Test_CPU
ThrottleWatch
And under Laptop Must Have's (both below last updated about 2009, but were both real good)
LapTop
Code:
RMClock (LAPTOP)
SpeedSwitchXP (LAPTOP MUSTHAVE)
System Info
Code:
AIDA32 v3-93 (VERY GOOD)
BelarcAdvisor
EsetSysInspector
FreePCAudit
MiTecSystemInfoForWindows
RwEverything                         <<<<<========= Think this one has a bit unusual interface, but extremely good
SANDRA Sysinfo
Speccy
SYSINFO (Naughty but Nice)
SystemInformationViewer
TECH FACTS XP v2-2
System Monitor
Code:
CoreTemp
HWMonitor
MBProbe_131b9
Samurize (General system monitor)
Net Speed Monitor
Code:
FreeMeter (TaskBar,CPU,MEM,DISK)
InternetDUMeter
MiTec_NetMet
NetMeter - Good (Used to like this one in XP but needs DOT NET 2 and not sure but think current W7+ & .NET thinks is bugged or something, stopped using and now use below)
Netspeedmonitor(TaskBarTextOnly-THE_VERY_BEST_SIMPLE_SPEED_METER_CURRENTLY_ON_ALL_MY_MACHINES - Install on W7 & W10 with Admin rights, and in compatibility mode, works well)
NetTraffic
UpDownMeter
EDIT: Netspeedmonitor, when installed, TaskBar/Toolbars/NetSpeedMeter/ tick box, to switch on (I disable the graphs for total consumption meters).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 24th June 2019 at 16:57.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2019, 22:49   #7  |  Link
kempodragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Biddeford, Me USA
Posts: 152
I've used my laptop along with my old system for Ripbot's DE, and I've always wanted to know what the temps were. These monitoring and info programs really should be put into a sticky in the hardware sub forum, since they are so useful for everyone.
kempodragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.