Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th January 2012, 09:41   #11861  |  Link
MokrySedeS
I am the one who knocks
 
MokrySedeS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 103
Not exactly same file, check his screenshot again and look at "movie resolution" info.
MokrySedeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 10:40   #11862  |  Link
RBG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by MokrySedeS View Post
Not exactly same file, check his screenshot again and look at "movie resolution" info.
You're right, I somehow missed that he tested wrong sample.
RBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 11:25   #11863  |  Link
SoBizarre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBG View Post
You're right, I somehow missed that he tested wrong sample.
Silly me.

Anyway, the 4K file doesn't crash either, but there is massive amount of dropped frames - with such high resolutions madVR is just too demanding for a laptop with Nvidia 420m.

__________________
----------------------------------------------
Win7 x64
32bit: PotPlayer + madVR + ReClock
SoBizarre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 11:37   #11864  |  Link
RBG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
SoBizarre

What version of potplayer do you have, and what filter chain was used on the screenshot above?
RBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 16:21   #11865  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBG View Post
Player : Daum Potplayer 1.5.30857
Plays fine here using MPC-HC 3970 / Lav 0.44 / MadVR 0.80.

Try updating PotP to latest version; i have 1.5.31435. (dd 10/01/2012)
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 17:12   #11866  |  Link
RBG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
Try updating PotP to latest version; i have 1.5.31435. (dd 10/01/2012)
I can give it a try, but 31435 is itself unstable, thats why I am still on 1.5.30857.

Update:

I tried both 1.5.31435 and 1.5.31490, the problem is still here, main difference is that on 1.5.30857 I got straight crash just after madVr entered fullscreen mode, and on 1.5.31490/1.5.31435 I had to wait for some time, or exit/enter fullscreen mode several times.

Last edited by RBG; 16th January 2012 at 17:50.
RBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 18:07   #11867  |  Link
Pat357
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat357 View Post
Plays fine here using MPC-HC 3970 / Lav 0.44 / MadVR 0.80.

Try updating PotP to latest version; i have 1.5.31435. (dd 10/01/2012)
Forget what I said before :
I could also reproduce the problem using the latest PotP.
After getting the issue 15-20 times, I could finally get an error message : "failed to reset Direct3D device". (=MadVR message)
Could you please put MadVR in debug mode (click on "activate debug mode") and create the problem just once.
Then exit PotP without doing anything else. You'll find a new file on your desktop.
Just zip it and upload it to Mediafire. Post the link here together with all info about your system so that Madshi can look at the file to see what's wrong.
I'll do the same.

PS. Just for clarification : the 4k file plays fine on my PC using PotP/ LAV 0.44 (splitter + audio + video) / MadVR. I have no dropped frames, 1-2 glitches when opening/seeking).
My CPU has still a lot of headroom and doesn't even start to swet : Intel 970 (6+6 cores @3.6 Mhz, 12MB cache on die, 24 GB DDR3 3-fold (triple) channel 2000 Mhz certified RAM) NViidia GTX-570, Lav-video runs in 12 threads
The lock-up/crash from PotPl only happens after a lot of pause/play sequences (mixed with seeking) in FSE. (20x-30x pause/play in FSE should create the problem)

Last edited by Pat357; 16th January 2012 at 18:54. Reason: Added clarification
Pat357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2012, 19:03   #11868  |  Link
RBG
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 108
Player:
Daum PotPlayer 1.5.30857

Filters(All default):
(1) MP4 Source
(2) Video Codec/Transform
(3) Madshi Video Renderer
(4) Audio Codec/Transform
(5) DirectSound Audio Renderer


System(hardware/software):
Windows 7 x64 6.1.7601
Intel Core i7 2600
Nvidia Geforce 470gtx



http://www.mediafire.com/?ex4ta4s74n9q7zg - madVR log file.
RBG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 01:56   #11869  |  Link
Mixer73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by wst View Post
Sorry to jump in here. This is not critical, but out of convenience I do most of my HTPC configuration via Remote Desktop. After installing madVR on Win7 MPCx86 + LAV CUID, I get this error: "madVR reports: -creating Direct3D device failed (8876086c)." Everything works fine connected directly to the console; however, it would be nice to be able to configure madVR remotely, even if the video can't be displayed...
Remote Desktop doesn't allow access to GPU at all, its a well known problem.

I too use RDP with a second user for my MCE maintenance but not for any installations, that all has to be done locally for the above reason.
Mixer73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 03:15   #11870  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixer73 View Post
Remote Desktop doesn't allow access to GPU at all, its a well known problem.
It does. I've had DXVA video decoding over a remote desktop session.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 06:51   #11871  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,788
You can access the Direct3D devices, however the RDP session does not create its own, which means you can access a DXVA decoder, however you cannot display a renderer window because the renderer needs to be shown on a screen with its own D3D device
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 13:47   #11872  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
You can access the Direct3D devices, however the RDP session does not create its own, which means you can access a DXVA decoder, however you cannot display a renderer window because the renderer needs to be shown on a screen with its own D3D device
Meaning that madVR won't initialize over RDP?
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 13:50   #11873  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Meaning that madVR won't initialize over RDP?
Correct, it doesn't have a D3D device to work on.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 14:05   #11874  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Correct, it doesn't have a D3D device to work on.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 17:04   #11875  |  Link
wst
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 30
Other renderers (EVR, VMR-9) display video over RDP, and I thought those also used D3D.

Edit: @Snownight26, did you change your config in any way to make that work?

Last edited by wst; 17th January 2012 at 22:15.
wst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 17:32   #11876  |  Link
Remicade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 98
When I use madVR ATI enhancements are off ? I need something to use with madVR to sharpen a little...
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/103316
Remicade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 19:29   #11877  |  Link
petran79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 82
Has this been mentioned before?

when switching to full screen exclusive mode, sound volume drops by 50 %

this occurs both with Potplayer and Media Player Home Cinema.
petran79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 20:07   #11878  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by petran79 View Post
Has this been mentioned before?

when switching to full screen exclusive mode, sound volume drops by 50 %

this occurs both with Potplayer and Media Player Home Cinema.
That has nothing to do with madVR. madVR is a VIDEO renderer. Nothing to do with audio.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2012, 21:26   #11879  |  Link
Mangix
Audiophile
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remicade View Post
When I use madVR ATI enhancements are off ? I need something to use with madVR to sharpen a little...
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/103316
yes they are. you could change the chroma resizer to catmull-rom. gives me sharper results. or just do some avisynth processing.
Mangix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2012, 12:39   #11880  |  Link
Asskicker2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Ok so how exactly do you install this?

I copied the folder over to my Program files, right clicked install.bat and LEFT the folder there.

Next I opened PotPlayer, I go to preferences and bam, madVR isn't there?



Hope somebody can help me, thanks
Asskicker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.