Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th November 2016, 17:42   #40081  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,708
If it's as good as the pictures suggest, it would be good for any upscaling.
But since it's madshi's own intellectual property, don't expect it to appear outside of madVR.

Last edited by aufkrawall; 12th November 2016 at 17:53.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 19:21   #40082  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
There will be several quality/speed levels. NG1 "low" quality will probably have a similar speed to Jinc AR*) or super-xbr*). Or at least that's what I'm aiming at. I still need to test how much I can downscale the algorithm before quality breaks down completely. NG1 "high" quality (which both teasers are made with) will probably have a similar speed to NNEDI3-64*).
Bang for the buck - ratio is very promising! Definitely worthy of calling it next generation, which I think you should keep. Going too "mad" with the name (like many suggestions ITT) reminds me for some reason of those bands who release an album that's named after the band itself. NG1 or mNG1.
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2016, 23:51   #40083  |  Link
SmallGoD
MEninX
 
SmallGoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Belarus, Grodno
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by petran79 View Post
MPC BE has no such issue, in contrast to Potplayer
I use MPC BE 1.5.0 (build 2101) beta (x64)
__________________
P.S. Excuse for bad English. My native language Russian.
SmallGoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 01:47   #40084  |  Link
bwo_j
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
madU

where it could have stand for 1 official name while having many other meaningful long forms/wordplay.
bwo_j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 03:34   #40085  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
What ever you call it, make sure it's searchable by keyword in this forum
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 11:01   #40086  |  Link
StinDaWg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 216
I've been out of the loop for awhile. Is there still a significant performance advantage with AMD vs. Nvidia? Looking at getting either an rx480 or gtx 1060.

And a question for madshi... will NG1 "low quality" still have better quality than NNEDI3? If so, I might not need a more powerful card after all.
StinDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 11:35   #40087  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
the first test showed that AMD isn't faster for madVR at the moment.

just wait for the release of NG1 i'm pretty sure you will get some numbers.

and we don't know if it is directcompute, openCL, shaders or something different. this may play a huge role on this topic too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 14:19   #40088  |  Link
Sunset1982
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
I've been out of the loop for awhile. Is there still a significant performance advantage with AMD vs. Nvidia? Looking at getting either an rx480 or gtx 1060.

I've tested a lot with these two cards. They are more or less equal in performance. The 1060 is a bit more powerefficient, so you have to use less energy for same perfomance.

I made my decision to go with the rx480 because I get near perfect 23,976 out of the box without a custom resolution and I have flawless 3D with no need of setting it up in Windows/drivers.
__________________
Intel i5 6600, 16 GB DDR4, AMD Vega RX56 8 GB, Windows 10 x64, Kodi DS Player 17.6, MadVR (x64), LAV Filters (x64), XySubfilter .746 (x64)
LG 4K OLED (65C8D), Denon X-4200 AVR, Dali Zensor 5.1 Set
Sunset1982 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 19:32   #40089  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 225
With movie i'm looking now i'm experiencing a little issue with madvr.

In the black bar of the movies i can see a little of "movement" like orizontal bars moving up and down inside the black. Disabling madvr solved the problem. Any idea what's the setting i've to tweak?
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2016, 21:58   #40090  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,778
make a screen please
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 13:46   #40091  |  Link
steakhutzeee
Registered User
 
steakhutzeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 225
It's difficult because it does't show up in screenshot. It's like when you put a phone next the monitor and the interference causes the monitor move a bit. Don't know how to explain...
__________________
Intel i5-4590 - MSI R9 270X 2GB - 8GB RAM
steakhutzeee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 15:37   #40092  |  Link
Klownicle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16
Can someone help me better understand the current functionality of HDR on computers at this time, obviously specifically with madVR as well.

When I play an HDR movie, I configure madVR to send HDR directly to the TV as I would expect since I have an HDR capable environment. I've tried things that said online to set the calibration in madVR to 702 or 2020 but that made no visible difference. I've tried configuring my desktop to output 4:2:2 @ 24hz @ 10bit (and 12bit). I can't seem to get 4:4:4 at 10bit on the Windows desktop but I believe I read this isn't possible with our consumer graphics cards? I've also set the rendering at DX11 in madVR as I read that consumer cards akin to the sentence prior to this can't output 4:4:4 at 10bit but can in exclusive mode. The TV input for the PC is set to UHD Color. I've also tried Standard/Movie to see if that made a difference in how the TV understands it. I've also set madVR to change resolution for 2160p24, 2160p25 respectively.

When I take the said MKV files and play them directly on the K8500 Samsung Player, the TV detects it as an HDR video as mentioned above and looks fine.

The only way I can get the HDR videos on the PC to look proper is using the HDR to SDR functionality of madVR. As far as I can tell when playing on the K8500, the result is the same within reason.

I have the KS8000 Samsung that supports HDR, currently when I play an HDR movie from my Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray player the TV reports "An HDR Video is Playing." I never see this on the TV when using the PC. The Bluray HDMI input has the UHD Color on as well to get it to detect the HDR video. I have a SR5010 Marantz Receiver that supports all the latest gizmos (2.0a/2.2/4k). And topping off with a 970GTX (I've tried a 1070GTX as well).

Now I tried the 1070GTX as I read that the 970GTX doesn't support HDMI 2.0a which introduced support for HDR data. However when I tried the 1070GTX I noticed no differences except being able to decode HEVC (as expected).

I've tried hooking directly up to the TV from the PC and the results are the same.

Is the answer as simple as madVR can't send the HDR data yet. I mean I do see something about that when selecting that option, but it states I need to manually turn it on? So I'm not sure what that is. The tv has an HDR+ mode but I haven't fiddled with that. I believe HDR+ is for simulating an HDR effect with standard content. As it stands when sending HDR to the TV from the PC, the colors are off (drab and washed out along with very grainy) unless I use HDR to SDR in madVR.

Thanks for any insight!

Last edited by Klownicle; 14th November 2016 at 15:41.
Klownicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 16:11   #40093  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4,983
Forwarding the HDR metadata isn't working yet, due to a lack of a generic API.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 17:06   #40094  |  Link
Klownicle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Forwarding the HDR metadata isn't working yet, due to a lack of a generic API.
So its as simple as that, HDR to SDR is the only way to have proper color right now?

Will I NEED a 2.0a video card for sure when it does get implemented? Seems a shame to upgrade from a 970GTX to a 1070GTX, those cards aren't cheap!
Klownicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 18:42   #40095  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by steakhutzeee View Post
It's difficult because it does't show up in screenshot. It's like when you put a phone next the monitor and the interference causes the monitor move a bit. Don't know how to explain...
Do you have a plasma display?

Try turning off the dithering option "change dither for every frame", this will keep them from moving at least. Another option is calibrating or dropping brightness or contrast on your TV.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 19:28   #40096  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,761
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klownicle View Post
Will I NEED a 2.0a video card for sure when it does get implemented? Seems a shame to upgrade from a 970GTX to a 1070GTX, those cards aren't cheap!
Presumably it works with a 900 series card as well, but 4K support is quite limited without full HDMI 2.0, so if thats your goal you should probably upgrade.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2016, 23:21   #40097  |  Link
kolak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klownicle View Post
So its as simple as that, HDR to SDR is the only way to have proper color right now?

Will I NEED a 2.0a video card for sure when it does get implemented? Seems a shame to upgrade from a 970GTX to a 1070GTX, those cards aren't cheap!
Problem is that manufactures decided that HDR TVs have no button to turn on HDR. TV switches to this mode automatically only under certain conditions. You either have to encode files with correct headers and play in TV or you need HDR singling on HDMI output.
There is this:

https://youtu.be/hOsDRmbDdgE
kolak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 06:31   #40098  |  Link
VictorLS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 151
Klownicle
Tell me, please, do you see visual differencies on your TV between picture from PC with HDR to SDR in madVR and Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray player except "An HDR Video is Playing" in second case of course?
Can you try (or did you tried) Samsung_HDR_Wonderland.ts - link in in two last strings of http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...40#post1785540 ?
How can you describe picture on your TV in comparsion of following two screenshots?
Samsung_HDR_Wonderland.png (3,2MB) http://rgho.st/6YhK6hTpN
Samsung_HDR_Wonderland_EVR.png (2,3MB) http://rgho.st/7ZJY5zrxK
kolak
Thanks.

Last edited by VictorLS; 15th November 2016 at 06:52.
VictorLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 11:41   #40099  |  Link
CarlosCaco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brasil, SP, São Paulo
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Should have mentioned: In a future version (not the first) NG1 will probably also be able to directly triple or quadruple the resolution in one step. So anything with "2x" or "double/ing" in the name probably doesn't make too much sense.


I like the NG1 name... what I suggest is in the same line, just add upscale to the middle.. like Next Upscale Generation 1 so we can pronounce NUG 1 or only NUG

Or more complex Next Generation Resolution Upscale (NEGERU)

Enviado do meu iPhone usando Tapatalk
__________________
Desktop, i5 2500, 8GB, N570 GTX TF III PE/OC
Asus X555LF, i7-5500U, 6GB Ram, Nvidia 930m/HD 5500
Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Last edited by CarlosCaco; 15th November 2016 at 11:50.
CarlosCaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2016, 13:43   #40100  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,514
NGS: Next Generation Scaler.
nautilus7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.