Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th September 2017, 15:50   #26401  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,063
Quote:
You never said that before, after I reported this issue.
I can't even count the number of things I've never said before. It wouldn't have applied until the most recent release -- since it never tried to reencode DD+ before then. From the latest changes file:
Code:
- Added code to import routines to handle
  EAC3/DD+ sources.  Requires LAV Filters
  or FFDSHOW be installed.
I don't see "- LAVFILTERS: Ok" in your INSPECT report.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 5th September 2017 at 15:57.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 20:14   #26402  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Code:
- Added code to import routines to handle
  EAC3/DD+ sources.  Requires LAV Filters
  or FFDSHOW be installed.
I thought I had FFDSHOW installed. Guess not.
Quote:
I don't see "- LAVFILTERS: Ok" in your INSPECT report.
Why not? It is installed in the C:\Program Files (x86) directory.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 6th September 2017 at 00:29.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2017, 21:16   #26403  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 477
@jdobbs

Do you plan to support 4K main10 mkv sources?
Currently, it seems that BD-RB doesn't support this format yet or I may have missed something.

thank you for your help.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2017, 01:56   #26404  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by mparade View Post
@jdobbs

Do you plan to support 4K main10 mkv sources?
Currently, it seems that BD-RB doesn't support this format yet or I may have missed something.
Think about it. 4K is not part of the Blu-ray disc specification, so what is BDRB supposed to do with 4K videos (other than to recode them down to 1080p)? jdobbs is going to have to come up with a UHDRB program in order to author content in the new specification. That also means getting a UHD burner and player.

Those are my thoughts on the situation.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2017, 07:38   #26405  |  Link
mparade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Think about it. 4K is not part of the Blu-ray disc specification, so what is BDRB supposed to do with 4K videos (other than to recode them down to 1080p)? jdobbs is going to have to come up with a UHDRB program in order to author content in the new specification. That also means getting a UHD burner and player.

Those are my thoughts on the situation.
Sorry, it was my mistake. I didn't specify my question in details. The simple function I would be interested in at the moment is to import a file above HD resolution then reencoding it via a preset (with parameters set in the txt file coming with BD-RB) then output it as an alternate movie only output (e.g. mkv). It can be done since years now in BD-RB excluding files with resolution and bit depth above HD as far as I know. A lot of program can do it but I prefer BD-RB.

Last edited by mparade; 6th September 2017 at 07:41.
mparade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th September 2017, 11:37   #26406  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
Ah, OK. But still, that isn't the goal of BDRB. The idea is to take a Blu-ray and convert a BD50 to a BD25, or take the BD as input to put the movie into a MKV wrapped file, or take MKV files and author them into a Blu-ray. To take a 4K video and wrap it into a MKV file (I'm guessing 4K -> 1080p), is not within the scope of BDRB. As you said, other programs can to that.

Again, my thoughts on the matter. I could be way off base, or maybe not.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos

Last edited by MrVideo; 6th September 2017 at 12:12.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2017, 01:24   #26407  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post

Again, my thoughts on the matter. I could be way off base...
Oh no... no way... not possible... not a chance... NEVER happen...
Lathe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2017, 07:37   #26408  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
The dripping sarcasm has flooded my basement.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2017, 22:25   #26409  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
The dripping sarcasm has flooded my basement.
Lathe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2017, 17:39   #26410  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 691
My Sharp LED HDTV croaked today. This is way off topic except related to MKV through BD-RB, I know, and do NOT wish or want to start any debates or arguments and some of you keep tabs on the HDTVs stuff very well. Anyone know of a good new one that plays MKV containers via USB? I'm 40 to 55". I don't care about beyond 1080p, nor do I care about 3D. Perhaps one that displays PGS as well as SRT? I'm looking around also, but...curious if anyone here has noticed something cool? Around 300 to 600 dollars would be ok. I'd order local, probably Wal-Mart Online ship to store. Not all of them indicate on the box..

My old Sharp would sometimes jitter with some 1080p's...and I had to rerender them with same resolution for that to not happen. I think today's would be better at displaying.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 8th September 2017 at 17:42.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2017, 22:56   #26411  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
I suggest sending AmigaFuture a PM if you have a suggestion.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2017, 23:27   #26412  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I suggest sending AmigaFuture a PM if you have a suggestion.
... and I suggest that maybe I take you out into the woods for a while...

Lathe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 11:02   #26413  |  Link
staina
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Error option Use X264s internal LAVF for frame serving

Quote:
Originally Posted by worknstiff View Post
@ staina RE: "Use X264s internal LAVF for frame serving" during processing occurred error.
Like I posted above: The simplest way to fix MOST BD Rebuilder problems is to re-move and re-install BD Rebuilder and ALL the helper programs from the FIRST page following all the instructions carefully.
Re-move and re-install BD Rebuilder and ALL the helper programs I'm performed and error always lasts. Error detect always, but only near some movies e.g . Fast & Furious 8. With other option Decoding/Frame serving I'm video without problems processed.

I want therefore ask what is difference between these options for Decoding/Frame serving and if have some influence on quality final videos?

Use would other option if would know as though hasn't influence on quality final videos.

Thank you staina
staina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 13:03   #26414  |  Link
worknstiff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 297
@ staina; RE: influence on quality final videos.

I can't really say I've seen any difference in quality. I only use internal LAVF for frame serving, and FRIM if I do 3D. I do know you can't use DGDecNV unless you buy it, and as far as I KNOW there is no quality difference in which one you use since it's only feeding the x264 encoder or FRIME the frames. YMMV and I'm sure some versions are faster but I don't think quality is affected, unless you change the encoder speed setting to use the Good, Better or leave it on the Default High Quality 2 Pass, which is what I use. The size of what you are encoding and encoding it down to is what effects QUALITY more than the encoder used, I THINK.
worknstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 20:39   #26415  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by worknstiff View Post
@ staina; RE: influence on quality final videos.

I can't really say I've seen any difference in quality. I only use internal LAVF for frame serving, and FRIM if I do 3D. I do know you can't use DGDecNV unless you buy it, and as far as I KNOW there is no quality difference in which one you use since it's only feeding the x264 encoder or FRIME the frames. YMMV and I'm sure some versions are faster but I don't think quality is affected, unless you change the encoder speed setting to use the Good, Better or leave it on the Default High Quality 2 Pass, which is what I use. The size of what you are encoding and encoding it down to is what effects QUALITY more than the encoder used, I THINK.
Yep... same as above...

Also, if you WISH to do so, you can add x264 command line 'Tweaks' very easily in BDRB as long as you kind of know what you are doing. This can 'tweak' the quality a bit more if you want. Otherwise, just as the fellow said, HQ 2 pass LAVF basically does it, especially if you are going to a BD-25.

But, then again, as many say here (along with The Creator JD) if you just leave it on 'Auto' BDRB will find the 'best' balance between speed/quality. BUT... like some of us here, if you wanna squeeze a bit more or depending on the type of film / source, you can use the higher settings above.
Lathe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 02:15   #26416  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
I suggest sending AmigaFuture a PM if you have a suggestion.
That was the aim, mate. I should have worded it a little differently.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 22:53   #26417  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 691
JD, I think I found a bug. I haven't done MKV to MP4 conversion in a long time. Or BD to Alternate MP4... At the moment, I'm checking MKV to MP4.

Imported some new and older MKVs. The MKVs contain SUP and SRT. During every import, whether with SUP and SRT they all show as Subtitles in BD-RB GUI. However, looking at WORKFILES, all are seen as SUPs. Not a single SRT is found.

A created MP4 from that results, of course in not having SRT access. Perhaps have a look-see?

I do not have SupTitle or Convert PGS to SRT active.

Importing: Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.mkv

TEMPIMPORT

MUXIT.META
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_1.264
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_2.AC3
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_3.AC3
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_4.AC3
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_5.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_6.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_7.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_8.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_9.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_10.SUP
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_11.SRT
Star Wars 1-The Phantom Menace.track_12.SRT

WORKFILES

00000.track_4113.264
00000.track_4352.ac3
00000.track_4353.ac3
00000.track_4608.sup
00000.track_4609.sup
00000.track_4610.sup
00000.track_4611.sup
00000.track_4612.sup
AUD_00000.meta
AUD_00000_4352.AVS
AUD_00000_4353.AVS
mChapters.chp
MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta
VID_00000.AVS
VID_00000.CHP
VID_00000.DGI

GUI

3 Audio files (streams) to enable/disable.
8 Subtitles to enable/disable.

But in the Workfiles only have 5 SUPs. The SRT's are being converted for PSEUDO.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!

Last edited by AmigaFuture; 11th September 2017 at 23:41.
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 08:07   #26418  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,371
Trying to search this multi-page thread is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

I'm trying to find the option definitions for ONEPASS_ENCODING. The default is 2. I have no idea what 0, 1 or 2 define. The hiddenoptions text file doesn't have it listed.

It seems that 2 = 1 pass encoding. I need 2 pass encoding.

Thanks.
__________________
My Total Eclipse 2017 Photos
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 19:49   #26419  |  Link
AmigaFuture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Within the main Source.
Posts: 691
Click on One-pass CRF/ABR to disable which ever is active and 2-pass will be activated.
__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave; but rather to skid out broadside, thoroughly used, torn and warn and loudly proclaim; WOW; What a ride!!! Soon, I'm going to do it AGAiN in different skin!!
AmigaFuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 21:43   #26420  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Trying to search this multi-page thread is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

I'm trying to find the option definitions for ONEPASS_ENCODING. The default is 2. I have no idea what 0, 1 or 2 define. The hiddenoptions text file doesn't have it listed.

It seems that 2 = 1 pass encoding. I need 2 pass encoding.

Thanks.
That variable isn't meant to be directly edited. It is modifed from the menu SETTINGS/ENCODER SETTINGS. If it is set to "0" then one pass is disabled (2-pass encoding). If set to "1" then CRF encoding is used. If set to "2" then one-pass ABR encoding is used.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.