Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th November 2009, 13:42   #9201  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Thank you all for your encouragements, but we still lack of results

Here is an updated and working version (at least for AC3/DTS) of MPC renderer

Actually wasapi implementation is buggy : it may be due to the drivers or to an incompatibility butween wasapi with event driver mode (which is the easiest to implement) and directshow.

Anyway, here it is

There are 2 versions : one debug and one release (that should avoid glitches)

THank you for your feedbacks !

EDIT : I have an audio delay on this one but no more glitches. I will fix this later.

Last edited by albain; 15th November 2009 at 13:53.
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 14:49   #9202  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Hi albain.

Thanks for yet again more excellent work. Here are my results with the new renderer:

TrueHD: The sample played jerkily, and in PCM: http://pastebin.com/f34f6be21
DD Plus: As above: http://pastebin.com/f7d40474e
DTS HD MA (from m2ts): The file played, but I got no audio: http://pastebin.com/f702b8304
DTS HD MA (from mkv): The file played as PCM, but halli splitter loaded rather than your mpeg splitter: http://pastebin.com/f38172210

Thanks!
Skinleech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 15:00   #9203  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Thanks but you have a xonar right ?

It seems that the xonar will refuse the arcsoft media types (!).

I believe that there is additional security rules in the audio driver that will refuse the connection if for example the process is not protected or something like that (because otherwise FFDShow will try different media types including the arcsoft's ones).

Sorry, but for now I need a radeon 5xxx owner.

Maybe this is fixable for the xonar : for that I am still trying to improve the dumper tool to retrieve more information from the *well known player*
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 15:12   #9204  |  Link
Skinleech
A.K.A Mangoat
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 203
Yep, I have a Xonar. Can't say I'm surprised that it's causing problems!

I will keep my eyes peeled on the thread.
Skinleech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 15:22   #9205  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by albain View Post
..for now I need a radeon 5xxx owner.
Now i'm here; gonna try.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 15:58   #9206  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
I'm awake now. Give me a minute to switch over to the ATI card.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 16:16   #9207  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
albain, your sample thd m2ts gives dolby digital but ffdshow output gives only 2 channels.

Btw i created some sample m2ts files via eac3to+tsmuxer but ffdshow never accepted to connect to MPCAudio Renderer (with those files) while your sample m2ts (thd) file works; dunno why?

Would you please remux your dtshd.mkv to m2ts?
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 16:32   #9208  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
TrueHD: http://pastebin.com/pastebin.php?dl=d1931dda2
DTS-HD MA: http://pastebin.com/pastebin.php?dl=d5ef51a85

TrueHD shows me lights. DTS-HD MA shows me DTS. Neither give me audio. This is the debug version. I can try the release version now but I'm not hopeful.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 16:47   #9209  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
Release version made no difference.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 16:53   #9210  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
rica, converting the mkv's to m2ts is academic. Get tsMuxer.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:01   #9211  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
rica, converting the mkv's to m2ts is academic. Get tsMuxer.
I don't think you read my previous post, did you?
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:03   #9212  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
I don't think you read my previous post, did you?
Not sure I follow. I remuxed the DTS-HD MA mkv that was posted around the 6th to m2ts and it's fine. What's the issue exactly?
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:16   #9213  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Something is wrong. I don't see many traces from MPC renderer. Is MPC renderer really used at the end ?
Please use graphstudio with the MPC splitter that I released in the last pack, thanks


Could you try with this one

Thanks
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:20   #9214  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
Those logs were with MPC. I've tried with GraphStudio with the same setup and it gave the same results, so, that's why I didn't post GS logs. I'll try with your new filter now.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:25   #9215  |  Link
albain
Media Control author
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 1,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Those logs were with MPC. I've tried with GraphStudio with the same setup and it gave the same results, so, that's why I didn't post GS logs. I'll try with your new filter now.
Thank you !
albain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:26   #9216  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
Same thing. TrueHD lights are on but no one's home.

http://pastebin.com/pastebin.php?dl=d79905c1e
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:29   #9217  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3,956
DTS-HD MA...it's an mkv converted to m2ts and played in GS.

http://pastebin.com/pastebin.php?dl=d518707c6

DTS light, no audio.
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:34   #9218  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Not sure I follow. I remuxed the DTS-HD MA mkv that was posted around the 6th to m2ts and it's fine. What's the issue exactly?
OK, restarting PC fixed the connecting issue

truhd > Dolby Digital light on > with sound (ffdshow output gives two channels only)

dtshd-ma > no light on > without sound

dts (core) > DTS light on > with sound (ffdshow output gives
two channels only)

EDIT: btw- those trials made with ex-filter; didn't see new update while writing

Now i'm trying the new one.

Last edited by rica; 15th November 2009 at 17:38.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:37   #9219  |  Link
mrcorbo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 171
I'm getting mixed results here on the formats I am able to test.

AC3 passthrough has the same behavior as before with me having to check "output strings to debugger" and run DebugView to get bitstreaming to work. One or the other of these does not work, it requires both. When it *does* bitstream, though, it now seems to be mostly glitch-free with maybe a couple of skips when first starting playback.

TrueHD, unsurprisingly, falls back to decoding and outputting PCM. With my sample, it is able to play back the decoded PCM audio as 5.1 channels (matching my speaker configuration) and sounds fine. No distortion, no glitches.

DD+ and DTS-MA also fall back to PCM, but play back with a lot of distortion.

Another odd behavior pops up when trying to test with a file with an MP3 audio track. FFDShow won't connect directly to the MPC audio renderer and instead inserts the WMAaudio Encoder/Decoder combo in between. Deleting these filters from the graph makes the FFDshow filter connect to the renderer directly. Either connected directly or with the WMAudio filters in between there is distortion of the audio during playback.
mrcorbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2009, 17:59   #9220  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Here are the results:

truhd > Dolby Digital light is on > with sound (ffdshow output gives 5.1 even it shows 2 channel output in ffdshow properties page) _this is maybe comes from using thd+ac3 file (created by eac3to) in tsmuxer?

dtshd-ma > no light is on > without sound

dts (core) > DTS light is on > with sound (ffdshow output gives 5.1 even it shows 2 channel output in ffdshow properties page)

Seems there is a conflict between the results of mine and samuri?


Last edited by rica; 15th November 2009 at 18:19.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.