Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd September 2009, 18:29   #21  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavino View Post
- therefore, actual width required = 720 * 480/386 * 3/4 = 672
So how do I feed that up into the script to make it work properly?

Like this:

Crop(0,46,0,-44)
LanczosResize(672,480)
AddBorders(24,0,24,0)

It certainly looked quite right when I fed it to AvsP.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 18:59   #22  |  Link
g-force
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
So how do I feed that up into the script to make it work properly?

Like this:

Crop(0,46,0,-44)
LanczosResize(672,480)
AddBorders(24,0,24,0)

It certainly looked quite right when I fed it to AvsP.
This would be a bit more accurate by my calculations:

Crop(0,46,0,-44)
LanczosResize(664,480)
AddBorders(28,0,28,0)

-G
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:02   #23  |  Link
g-force
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
Apparently I have to start thinking this in a different way. I need to know which is the better combination, the one that will be better quality wise.
Your original script and Didée's script will give you exactly the same output. His just gets there faster.

-G
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:13   #24  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by g-force View Post
This would be a bit more accurate by my calculations:

Crop(0,46,0,-44)
LanczosResize(664,480)
AddBorders(28,0,28,0)
Why?

Numbers precision will help me better in future cases, so I don't have to come back here for help.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:29   #25  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,431
If you use 390 in place of 386 in my calculation, you get g-force's result. As I explained, 390 corresponds to your crop values, but I started with 386 as that is what FitCD was using, and the point of my question was to query the calculation used by FitCD.
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:39   #26  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavino View Post
If you use 390 in place of 386 in my calculation, you get g-force's result. As I explained, 390 corresponds to your crop values, but I started with 386 as that is what FitCD was using, and the point of my question was to query the calculation used by FitCD.
OK. In any case the difference is very slight.

FitCD sets 386 as "accurate", but keeps 390 for maximum height. Perhaps to keep "dirty" lines out?

As it is now, and adding up all your suggestions, my script should be:

Quote:

SetMTMode(2,2)
MPEG2Source("d:\bride wore black\bride.d2v")
defaults="fast"
Crop(0,44,0,-42)
TFM()
TDecimate(Mode=1)
Undot()
DeGrainMedian(limitY=2,limitUV=3,mode=1)
lsfmod(smode=3, Smethod=3, kernel=19, soothe=true)
LanczosResize(664,480,0,2,0,-2)
AddBorders(28,0,28,0)
It provides quite a cleaner image. I would like to have a larger preview in AvsP to check on DeGrainMedian results instead of burning a test DVD.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:57   #27  |  Link
Gavino
Avisynth language lover
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,431
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
I would like to have a larger preview in AvsP
Did you know AvsP has a "Zoom" option under the Video menu?
I've been using it for over 18 months and only realised this the other day.
Gavino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 20:10   #28  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavino View Post
Did you know AvsP has a "Zoom" option under the Video menu?
I've been using it for over 18 months and only realised this the other day.
Then let me tell you about another one I just discovered, exploring your tip!

Zoom increases the garbage when going for more %, like all zoom options generally do.

There's another option more interesting there: "Fill window". That is the one I was looking for, which popped up when I processed an audio script.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2009, 20:17   #29  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Now for the final touch on what I might do to improve the image.

Please look at the halo that borders the character's dark coat and on his chin.

Is there a way I can correct that? Making that halo more visible is what makes using LSFmod critical. But LSFmod compensates quite well the resizing, so it would be nice to use it.
Attached Images
 
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2009, 03:34   #30  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,406
Removed.

Last edited by manono; 24th September 2009 at 02:29. Reason: I was wrong about what I said.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2009, 04:10   #31  |  Link
BigDid
Actually in reserve
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,605
Hi,

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
...
It provides quite a cleaner image. I would like to have a larger preview in AvsP to check on DeGrainMedian results instead of burning a test DVD.
Mplayerc(classic) or other player(s) should be able to play your avs script as a "preview".

Code:
...
DeGrainMedian(limitY=2,limitUV=3,mode=1)
lsfmod(smode=3, Smethod=3, kernel=19, soothe=true)
LanczosResize(664,480,0,2,0,-2)
I see you use degrainmedian mode1 (with limiters) but if you have strong grain you may want to explore more suited filters like Mdegrain2 (or 3). Even a fft3dfilter() well tuned may be able to give a less softer result.

If rebuked by the Mdegrain script, you may want to try the softsharpen() script. It's a all in one script that uses Mdegrain1 for denoisT=1 to 8, Mdegrain2 for denoisT=9 to 14 and Mdegrain3 for denoisT=15 to max.
The sharpening part of this script is different from LSF or LSFmod (only sharping on static parts of the source) but can be disabled with sharp=0; Other params can also be disabled (with =0) if wanted.

Did
__________________
Having a problem with AutoGK? Read & use the FAQ & MORE FAQ first
Want to exchange on AutoGK? try doom10.org
In reserve (inactive) for an undefined period of time.
BigDid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 21:50   #32  |  Link
g-force
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hey calmart,

can you post that last screenshot without LSFmod applied?

-G
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 21:56   #33  |  Link
canuckerfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
Now for the final touch on what I might do to improve the image.

Please look at the halo that borders the character's dark coat and on his chin.

Is there a way I can correct that? Making that halo more visible is what makes using LSFmod critical. But LSFmod compensates quite well the resizing, so it would be nice to use it.
if your halos are present in the source even before calling lsfmod than there's nothing lsfmod can do about that. you'll have to get rid of those with another script (like dehalo_alpha).

you can try using lsfmod with its preblur="dehalo_alpha()" (or your dehaloer of choise) in order to prevent any further halo sharpening. it works pretty well.
canuckerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 22:17   #34  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by g-force View Post
Hey calmart,

can you post that last screenshot without LSFmod applied?
LDFMod was not applied on that screenshot. If I applied it the halo would be more apparent.

The idea was to show that, even before applying the filter, the halo was there.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 22:20   #35  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckerfan View Post
if your halos are present in the source even before calling lsfmod than there's nothing lsfmod can do about that. you'll have to get rid of those with another script (like dehalo_alpha).
Applying dehalo_alpha didn't prove too good the last time I tried it. It looked more like a fog filter working all over. Also running times were long.

Quote:
you can try using lsfmod with its preblur="dehalo_alpha()" (or your dehaloer of choise) in order to prevent any further halo sharpening. it works pretty well.
That I can certainly try and see.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2009, 22:27   #36  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDid View Post
I see you use degrainmedian mode1 (with limiters) but if you have strong grain you may want to explore more suited filters like Mdegrain2 (or 3). Even a fft3dfilter() well tuned may be able to give a less softer result.

If rebuked by the Mdegrain script, you may want to try the softsharpen() script. It's a all in one script that uses Mdegrain1 for denoisT=1 to 8, Mdegrain2 for denoisT=9 to 14 and Mdegrain3 for denoisT=15 to max.
The sharpening part of this script is different from LSF or LSFmod (only sharping on static parts of the source) but can be disabled with sharp=0; Other params can also be disabled (with =0) if wanted.
So many filters, so little time...

From my first tries, one element that is serving as my parameter is men's beard. The challenge is how to diminish the grain without affecting the look of shaved faces.

This is being fun.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 03:05   #37  |  Link
BigDid
Actually in reserve
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
So many filters, so little time...
The challenge is how to diminish the grain without affecting the look of shaved faces.

This is being fun.
Hi,

A Old french movie and french actors, good challenge. Title being, I suppose, either:
- The bride wore black (1968) or
- Vagabond humor (1971)

I am willing to test but with a sample from the source not a pic; preferably including one or both of your pics.

Thanks.

Did
__________________
Having a problem with AutoGK? Read & use the FAQ & MORE FAQ first
Want to exchange on AutoGK? try doom10.org
In reserve (inactive) for an undefined period of time.

Last edited by BigDid; 25th September 2009 at 04:29.
BigDid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 11:52   #38  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDid View Post
I am willing to test but with a sample from the source not a pic; preferably including one or both of your pics.

The film is ""The bride wore black". I am a big Truffaut fan.

Of course you can't try anything on a picture. I can upload some sample on the web. Will do that today. Thanks.
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2009, 18:14   #39  |  Link
carlmart
Carlos Martinez
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 288
The file is here:

http://www.mediafire.com/file/r2rnvnnn2y1/bride1.m2v
carlmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2009, 00:28   #40  |  Link
BigDid
Actually in reserve
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlmart View Post
Hi,

Thanks, I will have a look later today.

Did

Edit: it will need quite some work cause I see:
- blocking
- grain
- dirt
- halos
- some banding after sharpen ...
__________________
Having a problem with AutoGK? Read & use the FAQ & MORE FAQ first
Want to exchange on AutoGK? try doom10.org
In reserve (inactive) for an undefined period of time.

Last edited by BigDid; 26th September 2009 at 06:40.
BigDid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.