Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th November 2011, 13:27   #1041  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
With v0.7.49 MediaInfo reported the duration of my Wave file just fine, while with v0.7.51 it does not
I change this part of the code for some other issues. All my sample files have duration, so I need a sample with this problem.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 00:13   #1042  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
It's a simple Wave+CUE file that I extracted with EAC directly from my original CD (using "Image" mode), so it should be easy to create such file yourself.

(Can't upload such big files with my ultra-slow internet connection)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 00:16   #1043  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
It's a simple Wave+CUE file that I extracted with EAC directly from my original CD (using "Image" mode), so it should be easy to create such file yourself.connection)
I don't have a CD player, not so easy for me... I only need the first 10 KB of the file.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 00:28   #1044  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Here we go

(Yes, the first 4 seconds are silent, but that's not very unusual with Audio CD's, I think)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Dump.zip (319 Bytes, 22 views)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 18th November 2011 at 00:56.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 09:49   #1045  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
With v0.7.49 MediaInfo reported the duration of my Wave file just fine, while with v0.7.51 it does not
I apologize for the mess, actually I was testing with my development version, not the official version, and I already corrected it, this is the reason I was not seeing problems on my files. So: it is OK, for next version.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 10:23   #1046  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Thank you once again!

(BTW: Any idea yet when the next version is to be expected?)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 18th November 2011 at 13:05.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2011, 10:15   #1047  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
(BTW: Any idea yet when the next version is to be expected?)
2 weeks, I think. No big changes in the code currently, I am mainly on another (related) project for few weeks.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2011, 16:13   #1048  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Hmm, I just compiled the latest MediaInfo from SVN Trunk, but it seems there is another issue hiding somewhere:

The 32-Bit build detects the Duration of my Wave file just fine, while the 64-Bit build does not. Maybe some "32- vs. 64-Bit" data type size issue?

__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 00:53   #1049  |  Link
chaddawkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
I appreciate MediaInfo, thank you.
I build a codec pack for myself; I recently tried to update the MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll and MediaInfo.dll files but now MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll won't register. Did you change something to not allow this?
I have been using MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll file version 0.7.8.0 and modified date is December ‎09, ‎2008. I use Inno to compile and my registry entry looks like this:

[Files]
Source: {app}\InfoTip\MediaInfo.dll; DestDir: {app}\MediaInfo; Flags: uninsrestartdelete; Check: not IsWin64
Source: {app}\InfoTip\MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll; DestDir: {app}\MediaInfo; Flags: regserver uninsrestartdelete; Check: not IsWin64
Source: {app}\InfoTip\x64\MediaInfo.dll; DestDir: {app}\MediaInfo; Flags: uninsrestartdelete; Check: IsWin64
Source: {app}\InfoTip\x64\MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll; DestDir: {app}\MediaInfo; Flags: regserver uninsrestartdelete; Check: IsWin64

BTW, these are the only files that I use; along with the correct registry entries I get the shell extension.

Last edited by chaddawkins; 20th November 2011 at 00:58.
chaddawkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 18:51   #1050  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaddawkins View Post
I recently tried to update the MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll and MediaInfo.dll files but now MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll won't register. Did you change something to not allow this?
I remember I changed something in the Windows explorer interface, but I don't remember exactly which stuff. I don't use the DLL registration directly now (I update the registry directly, more possibilities). I see that regsvr32 registration fails, registration is not something I consider as nothing, but this is not my priority to correct it. I will review the whole code some day, but no ETA.

In the meanwhile, you can update only MediaInfo.dll (no need to update MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll), the binary interface of MadiaInfo.dll has not changed since 0.7.0.0 (in 2005).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 19:48   #1051  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Any ideas about the 64-Bit issue yet?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 19:59   #1052  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Any ideas about the 64-Bit issue yet?
No. I can reproduce the issue, but I still don't find the reason (debug version works well...)
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2011, 20:18   #1053  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
No. I can reproduce the issue, but I still don't find the reason (debug version works well...)
Thank you for confirming the problem! So it's definitely not a build issue on my side, at least.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2011, 05:54   #1054  |  Link
Toddler Naruto
Playful Explorer
 
Toddler Naruto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
Does it take so much time to right click on a file and select "MediaInfo"?
That's not the point. I want MediaInfo to minimize to system tray instead of Taskbar while is it running.
Toddler Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2011, 08:31   #1055  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddler Naruto View Post
That's not the point. I want MediaInfo to minimize to system tray instead of Taskbar while is it running.
That's the point. MediaInfo never "runs", it takes few seconds to analyze a file you right click, you don't have the time to minimize it (this is not a compression program taking 10 hours to run). You never said the reason you need to minimize to tray something not running, instead of only right click on the file and select "MediaInfo".

Anyway, exactly same reply than Mosu + if you really need it and if you are not able to code it, you can buy professionnal services from me.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2011, 03:21   #1056  |  Link
chaddawkins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
I remember I changed something in the Windows explorer interface, but I don't remember exactly which stuff. I don't use the DLL registration directly now (I update the registry directly, more possibilities). I see that regsvr32 registration fails, registration is not something I consider as nothing, but this is not my priority to correct it. I will review the whole code some day, but no ETA.

In the meanwhile, you can update only MediaInfo.dll (no need to update MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll), the binary interface of MadiaInfo.dll has not changed since 0.7.0.0 (in 2005).
that works just fine, thank you
chaddawkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2011, 18:34   #1057  |  Link
pascalwil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: France
Posts: 61
Hi there

Sorry if I missed it but I don't seem to find the answer in the previous pages.
I get a reported delay for the AAC track of an MKV of 13 ms relative to video.
And Eac3to reports the same delay. Just to mention they are in line since I've read about this issue between MediaInfo & Eac3to.
Anyway my question is what to make of this delay?
I need to convert AAC to AC3 and add new AC3 to MKV for my standalone player.
Shall I set audio delay to 13 ms (like reported for AAC) in mkvmerge? Or no delay for AC3 will do it?
Thanks
pascalwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2011, 18:37   #1058  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by pascalwil View Post
Anyway my question is what to make of this delay?
You take care to have the same delay in your converted file (so: yes, you put this value into mkvmerge corresponding field), else audio will not be in sync.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2011, 19:29   #1059  |  Link
pascalwil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: France
Posts: 61
Thanks a lot Zenitram

I've done it both ways with a 13 ms delay and without any delay for the AC3
I can't tell about the audio being out of sync in the case of no delay (I guess 13 ms is too small to be spotted).
But with your clarification I know how to do it the right way using info from MediaInfo.
BTW thanks for such a good tool.
Cheers
pascalwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2011, 22:00   #1060  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
The 32-Bit build detects the Duration of my Wave file just fine, while the 64-Bit build does not. Maybe some "32- vs. 64-Bit" data type size issue?
I wanted to work on this issue (yeah, delay was long... ), but all my files are OK now with the current SVN. Could you confirm it? If there are still some issues on your side, I think I need a sample file.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.