Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th September 2010, 01:37   #2561  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Autocrop works fine on your sample. Did you try it?

I will wait to look at the audio problem until you assure me the reported problems happen *with the sample you uploaded*.

Also, can you please give me the command line to demux the track using eac3to so that I can do a binary compare? Thanks.

Last edited by Guest; 10th September 2010 at 01:44.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 01:54   #2562  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Using your sample, I demuxed PID 1100 using Manzanita Muxer and DGIndexNV. The resulting files were binary identical.

Please advise.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 06:39   #2563  |  Link
Shevek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastrboy View Post
By the way, the autocrop buttons totally fails, pressing autocrop to mod16 results in the following:...
You need to find a frame in the video which has the most contrast between the black bars and content, i.e. as much white as possible.

If you try to autocrop on the first (usually all black) frame it will crop all of it and give you the result you saw.
Shevek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 07:49   #2564  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Using your sample, I demuxed PID 1100 using Manzanita Muxer and DGIndexNV. The resulting files were binary identical.

Please advise.
Well i forgot to include some information, after checking it out i remember i cut the original within DGNVIndex so that the OP and ED of the episode was cut out and only the episode itself remained.

So it only happens of you change start and end in DGNVIndex, example output from eac3to:
Code:
X:\Video_Encoding\Apps\eac3to-3.24>eac3to.exe x:\test_cut_track.ac3 x:\del.m4a
AC3, 5.1 channels, 0:00:45, 448kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -29dB
The Nero decoder doesn't seem to work, will use libav instead.
Removing AC3 dialog normalization...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Remapping channels...
Reducing depth from 64 to 32 bits...
Encoding AAC <0.50> with NeroAacEnc...
This track is not clean.
eac3to processing took 1 second.
Done.

X:\Video_Encoding\Apps\eac3to-3.24>eac3to.exe x:\uncut.ac3 x:\del.m4a
TrueHD/AC3, 5.1 channels, 48kHz, dialnorm: -29dB
(embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48kHz, dialnorm: -29dB)
Extracting TrueHD stream...
Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Encoding AAC <0.50> with NeroAacEnc...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
eac3to processing took 1 second.
Done.
See image so there is no misunderstanding:


The auto-crop "issue" only happened when on the first frame, i assume that is because the entire first frame is pure black?

Edit: and yes, the audio issue also occurs on the sample i sent. The eac3to output above is from the sample.

Last edited by mastrboy; 10th September 2010 at 07:50. Reason: more info...
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 07:55   #2565  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Yes, you must navigate to a frame showing a distinction between the video and the black bars, because the software scans in from the edge looking for the first non-black pixels. The users manual says this:

"For best results, navigate to a frame with high contrast between the video and the black bars before entering the cropping dialog."

A fully black frame will have rather low contrast.

Regarding the audio issue... You cut the sample you gave me or you cut from a larger sample? If the latter, then I'll need that larger sample, please.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 09:49   #2566  |  Link
mastrboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 288
i cut from the sample i gave you.
mastrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 15:00   #2567  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,307
I decided to give ivfenc a try and make some WebM video. Downloaded the Blender movie 1080 PNGs (ED: 21 GB / BBB: 30 GB), created an AviSynth script with ImageSource ... but the reading of the source PNGs was already the slowest part of the recoding. So I created intermediate AVC files with very low compression and then used DGDecNV to read those as "good enough semi-original" to be delivered to ivfenc.

Funny result: For each of the 2 passes, I got a Windows XP error message that the encoder crashed, but it kept running and finished with an acceptable result. The console window (I called a "start *.bat" command for a batch file running both passes in a row) closed after closing both crash dialogs.

Is that related to the issue e.g. stax76 mentioned - about "programs which open AviSynth scripts only briefly and close them without reading even one frame" which seems to crash one instance of DGDecNV?
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 15:37   #2568  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Is that related to the issue e.g. stax76 mentioned - about "programs which open AviSynth scripts only briefly and close them without reading even one frame" which seems to crash one instance of DGDecNV?
Hard to say. It could be, or they could be using Avisynth incorrectly like we fixed in HCEnc. Or it could be some new bug unique to what they are doing. Without their source code it's hard to say. Is the code available?

@mastrboy

OK, thank you. I will try to duplicate it.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 15:59   #2569  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Is that related to the issue e.g. stax76 mentioned - about "programs which open AviSynth scripts only briefly and close them without reading even one frame" which seems to crash one instance of DGDecNV?
It appears to be a common problem. For example, Procoder 3 and CCE 2.7 crash as well. I only fixed this recently in my programs that process scripts after I started using DGDecodeNV.

Apparently, nobody seems to know if this is a problem with Avisynth, DGDecodeNV or the Nvidia API.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:05   #2570  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
It appears to be a common problem. For example, Procoder 3 and CCE 2.7 crash as well. I only fixed this recently in my programs that process scripts after I started using DGDecodeNV.

Apparently, nobody seems to know if this is a problem with Avisynth, DGDecodeNV or the Nvidia API.
It should be possible to debug it with the source code for all the pieces. If somebody can give me source for a simple app that invokes the problem I can at least determine if it is in Nvidia or not. If not, then we could fix it. If it's in Nvidia, we could contact them. My problem is I don't have a simple app that invokes the issue. Don't even mention .NET to me.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:12   #2571  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,307
I believe Nic has the sources available for his AviSynth mod of ivfenc.

And stax76 mentioned that something happened to him too because he used to open the Script in StaxRip only to obtain the dimensions and frame count first. But when not reading even one frame, and closing, DGDecNV used to crash ... if I remember correctly.
__________________

German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:26   #2572  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
It should be possible to debug it with the source code for all the pieces. If somebody can give me source for a simple app that invokes the problem I can at least determine if it is in Nvidia or not. If not, then we could fix it. If it's in Nvidia, we could contact them. My problem is I don't have a simple app that invokes the issue. Don't even mention .NET to me.
VC6 project here: Here

Set your breakpoint on "delete env;" at the end of _tmain.

If you want to reproduce the problem, comment out these lines:

"frame = clip->GetFrame(0, env);" (line 63)
and
"frame = clip->GetFrame(i, env);" (line 68)

Have fun
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:32   #2573  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
You should not be doing delete env!

That is the big no-no that we fixed in HCEnc and elsewhere.

I'll look at it though and see if anything else is going on. Thanks for providing it.

Last edited by Guest; 10th September 2010 at 16:34.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:37   #2574  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
You should not be doing delete env!
That was actually not supposed to be there. Too much experimenting...

Edit: Funny thing is - now I can't reproduce it anymore.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 10th September 2010 at 16:41.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:41   #2575  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
I'm a that gets lucky now and again.

BTW, just looking at the CUVID API and knowing from experience what I do about the behavior of CUVID I can't even imagine a mechanism by which this could be caused by the CUVID code.

Last edited by Guest; 10th September 2010 at 16:44.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 16:58   #2576  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,691
I'll send you a program with which you can reproduce the problem later.

I just checked and double-checked. I wasn't dreaming after all.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 17:32   #2577  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,691
Don, check your inbox.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 17:45   #2578  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
ok, probably found a bug. Source: MKV file with x264 video and Vorbis (aoTuV b5) audio. DGIndexNV (2025) correctly indexes the MKV but even if the option is set it doesnt demux the audio.
mkvextract correctly extracts the audio track. is it a known problem or you need a clip?
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 17:47   #2579  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
@Groucho2004

Thanks. Investigating...

@Sharktooth

I never saw Vorbis audio and would have to add support, so if you can provide a clip it would be helpful.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 17:54   #2580  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
sure. ill upload it as soon as i finish sending the list (it may take a while... about 32.000 emails)
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.