Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th December 2019, 00:55   #57981  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
Anyone know of a way to pass thru web video thru MadVR? Obviously some 3rd party software player...?
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 01:27   #57982  |  Link
Crimson Wolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 44
https://streamlink.github.io/

https://ytdl-org.github.io/youtube-dl/index.html works with latest MPC-HC using advanced section settings for YDLMaxHeight if you put youtube-dl.exe in the $PATH.

Above two works for most streamed video sites.
Crimson Wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 01:32   #57983  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
I was thinking more of a imbedded video in HTML...not a video playing service per-se.
I'll check it out...
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 01:37   #57984  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Hey, Since I recently reformatted my PC my potplayer + madvr have started to stutter (a lot of "presentation glitches") in FSE mode. But sometimes when I disable FSE and smooth motion there are no more stutters and very rarely even FSE works without any stutters. Anyone have any idéas why FSE could stutter?

OSD:
FSE osd
Windowed osd (glitches & dropped frames are from the FSE mode)

Some settings:
Window mode
Exclusive mode
General
Smooth motion
Dithering

Last edited by mambans; 4th December 2019 at 01:43.
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 01:52   #57985  |  Link
WuNgUn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson Wolf View Post
https://streamlink.github.io/



https://ytdl-org.github.io/youtube-dl/index.html works with latest MPC-HC using advanced section settings for YDLMaxHeight if you put youtube-dl.exe in the $PATH.



Above two works for most streamed video sites.
Looks like streamlink wants a plugin specifically for the website... Which there isn't one. (just a generic HTML page)
WuNgUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 07:51   #57986  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by mambans View Post
Anyone have any idéas why FSE could stutter?
Windows 10 seems to have broken FSE in many situations. Even when it works fine it is only being emulated. I recommend against using it now, I think it was 1809 or 1903 that really made FSE cause more trouble then it prevented.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 11:28   #57987  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
a 1050 ti can nearly for sure do NGU low so you have to be a bit more precise.
What do you mean by more precise? With my current monitor 2560x1080p I can do NGU High and downscale with SSIM 1D 100% AR LL with rendering times around 22 ms, with no dropped frames or delayed frames. So I was wondering if I need a new card. The difference between 2560x1080p and 3440x1440p is big.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 12:25   #57988  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Just spend as much as you can afford, a 1070 or 1080 are good value for this.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 12:47   #57989  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Just spend as much as you can afford, a 1070 or 1080 are good value for this.
I may buy 1070. I think it will do a good work.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 12:51   #57990  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 586
What's the point of doubling 1080 content on a 1080 screen? Wouldn't sharpen/enhance detail do the job for much lower GPU load? Or are you speaking of SD material?
I don't double 1080 content on my 1440 desktop screen even though I'm sitting so close to it, Jinc is just fine. Doubling is worth it for "800p" 2.39:1 content though.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1909, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 13:25   #57991  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
What do you mean by more precise? With my current monitor 2560x1080p I can do NGU High and downscale with SSIM 1D 100% AR LL with rendering times around 22 ms, with no dropped frames or delayed frames. So I was wondering if I need a new card. The difference between 2560x1080p and 3440x1440p is big.
then the 1050 should be able to do the same to upscale to a resolution of 3440x1440p that pretty much the same work load because in both cases you are scale up to 3840x2180 and downscale this to the target resolution as long as you are not using error diffusion or other filter the work is very similar.

so are you sure you are already using NGU high?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 13:45   #57992  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Windows 10 seems to have broken FSE in many situations. Even when it works fine it is only being emulated. I recommend against using it now, I think it was 1809 or 1903 that really made FSE cause more trouble then it prevented.
I tested FSE with my RX480 on 1903 which was terrible after a new clean install of 1903 after using 1809. But I must admit I only tested it several month ago with the drivers available back then.

I tested it some days ago again on 1909 with my newer RX 5700 XT and latest drivers and it works just as fine as windowed.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 13:56   #57993  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 496
FSE does not work as well as Windowed on a 5700 XT. I'm betting if you didn't noticed the difference you are not pushing the 5700 XT very hard. When I tried it the other day I was surprised it worked, but then I looked at the OSD and could clearly see the difference (even though both worked).

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 14:11   #57994  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,176
rendertimes on a RX 5700 are pretty meaningless the clocks are changed very aggressively i even get lower rendertimes in FSE then windowed.

there is even still a way to get the old FSE but not this topic again.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 15:19   #57995  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhd View Post
I'm betting if you didn't noticed the difference you are not pushing the 5700 XT very hard.
You're right, I don't need highest settings, but these are at least sufficient for me So when higher settings are being used which use lots of GPU calculation then the difference are higher rendering times when using exclusive mode on newer Win10 because it's not a "real" exclusive one anymore?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 15:28   #57996  |  Link
mambans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 21
Thanks for the help. I'll use windowed mode and hope for some update for win 10.

(Weird it worked the day before but might be an update or something I installed on the new install)
mambans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 15:44   #57997  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
then the 1050 should be able to do the same to upscale to a resolution of 3440x1440p that pretty much the same work load because in both cases you are scale up to 3840x2180 and downscale this to the target resolution as long as you are not using error diffusion or other filter the work is very similar.

so are you sure you are already using NGU high?
At least it is what the OSD says. I use ordered dithering.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 15:46   #57998  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
What's the point of doubling 1080 content on a 1080 screen? Wouldn't sharpen/enhance detail do the job for much lower GPU load? Or are you speaking of SD material?
I don't double 1080 content on my 1440 desktop screen even though I'm sitting so close to it, Jinc is just fine. Doubling is worth it for "800p" 2.39:1 content though.
My monitor has 2.37:1 AR and I mostly watch movies in that AR, 1920x1080p movies don't need any upscaling or doubling, the other movies 816p, 800p they do need doubling.

Last edited by Siso; 4th December 2019 at 16:38.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 17:40   #57999  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,061
oddly i find the opposite with FSE, when deployed i have no issues, without it I get small glitches here and there and black screens now and again, havent tried it off again since I moved to RX 5700, i'm still on 1809
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 444 RGB -MD RX 5700 8GB 20.1.3 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17+ 113 beta - 0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2019, 22:09   #58000  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
What's the point of doubling 1080 content on a 1080 screen? Wouldn't sharpen/enhance detail do the job for much lower GPU load?
I did this on my plasma and it was beautiful. High quality upscaling and downscaling NGU sharp and SSIM 2D produce a superior image to say just sharpening alone. I used it for all cinema content with no extra sharpening required. You need a good GPU to pull this off.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.