Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2015, 12:41   #28881  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
massive 'green' artifact here on 64bit



though I don't see much use for the version yet since I always use SVP on top which is still 32bit.

GPU is an R9 290 latest stable drivers.
I figured this artifact appears with chroma upscaling set to NNEDI3.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 12:43   #28882  |  Link
Jtacdf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
Nobody else gets that 'green image' artifact? Weird, I don't have any novel setup. Just an R9 290 on W8.1.
tobindac, are you using a crossfire setup as well with 14.12 driver? That green artifact comes from nnedi3 being enabled in a crossfire setup.

Everything works without issue if you turn off Xfire manually in CCC. Unfortunately, creating a specific 3d application setting to turn off Crossfire still causes it to appear.
__________________
Core i7 4790K@4.6Ghz - Asus Maximus VII Formula - AMD R9 290X 4GB Crossfire - Windows 10 Pro x64
Jtacdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 12:44   #28883  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtacdf View Post
tobindac, are you using a crossfire setup as well with 14.12 driver? That green artifact comes from nnedi3 being enabled in a crossfire setup.

Everything works without issue if you turn off Xfire manually in CCC. Unfortunately, creating a specific 3d application setting to turn off Crossfire still causes it to appear.
I deleted that message. I figured the artifact appears with NNEDI3 on chroma upscaling.

I don't have a Crossfire setup.

I never had one on this PC.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 12:50   #28884  |  Link
Jtacdf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
I deleted that message. I figured the artifact appears with NNEDI3 on chroma upscaling.

I don't have a Crossfire setup.

I never had one on this PC.
That's pretty strange. Everything works fine for me running with 1 GPU. I'm using a 290x with 15.3 beta driver.
Are you using a AMD APU? From my limited understanding (since I'm using intel), AMD APU+GPU do have some form of crossfire as well.
__________________
Core i7 4790K@4.6Ghz - Asus Maximus VII Formula - AMD R9 290X 4GB Crossfire - Windows 10 Pro x64

Last edited by Jtacdf; 13th April 2015 at 12:53.
Jtacdf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 13:25   #28885  |  Link
StinDaWg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you sure? i would call this a bug.
It's not a bug, if your tv has proper 72/96hz playback it looks better than frame blending.

I could never stand madVR's implementation of smooth motion. I'd rather watch with judder than the loss of sharpness you get with frame blending.
StinDaWg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 13:43   #28886  |  Link
Soukyuu
Registered User
 
Soukyuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 169
Great, now I can finally ditch that 32-bit player chain... once the wrinkles are ironed out.

Getting a white/cyan checkerboard pattern now and then instead of the video in windowed fullscreen (no overlay) and the mpc-hc x64 test build.
Also a crash on exiting said fullscreen mode (sent a report).

edit: There is sometimes a "fade to grey" on first subtitle line using latest xySubFilter beta x64. The screen just fades to a dark grey color while sound continues.
Disabling overlay or going fullscreen exclusive crashes on first subtitle line seemingly randomly.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE | 12GB DDR3 | nVidia 260GTX | Arch Linux / Windows 10 x64 Pro (w/ calling home shut up)

Last edited by Soukyuu; 13th April 2015 at 15:02.
Soukyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 15:12   #28887  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
madVR v0.87.21 released

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Code:
* fixed: (un)install.bat now works without having to manually "run as admin"
* fixed: active display wasn't properly set in the settings (x64)
* added workaround for window subclassing crash (x64)
Although the x64 crash seems to be gone now, I'd still like to encourage media player developers to implement "IMadVRSubclassReplacement", as MPC-HC has already done (thanks kasper93).
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 15:39   #28888  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,732
I wonder when there will be the next surprise release, with Jinc downscaling, framerate conversion and 10 bit output.

aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 16:14   #28889  |  Link
SecurityBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 76
Nvidia Geforce 350.12 driver seems to crash when going into windowed fullscreen mode. Using MPC-HC 1.7.8.156 (x64) & MadVR v0.87.21 (x64). Driver crash also occurs with version 350.05. Fullscreen playback seems to be fine with exclusive mode enabled.

Driver 347.88 is fine with both exclusive fullscreen and windowed fullscreen.
SecurityBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 16:19   #28890  |  Link
nijiko
Hi-Fi Fans
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 222
64 now! Awesome!!!
nijiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 16:40   #28891  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
what display modes do you use and what operation system?

23 hz should be the right refreshrate for nearly 90% off all BD content. but if you haven't added this it should use this.
List of display modes: 1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60

There was issue in the 32 bit version, v0.86.10. Madshi then do workaround and issue was gone.

I noticed that when playing 1080p24 (mkv, m2ts, ts .. full screen exclusive mode, default settings) my screen goes to 23hz. Because of this, there is a drop frames every 30-40 sec.

If I uncheck 'Present Several frames in advance "(old path), my screen stays in 24hz.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 16:53   #28892  |  Link
khanmein
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecurityBunny View Post
Nvidia Geforce 350.12 driver seems to crash when going into windowed fullscreen mode. Using MPC-HC 1.7.8.156 (x64) & MadVR v0.87.21 (x64). Driver crash also occurs with version 350.05. Fullscreen playback seems to be fine with exclusive mode enabled.

Driver 347.88 is fine with both exclusive fullscreen and windowed fullscreen.
x64 for mpc & lav filter stable with madvr?
khanmein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 17:02   #28893  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,176
the nvidia 349 branch added a serious issue with nnedi3. i'm going to test this later but i think is very unlikely that this issue is fix in this version. so it's maybe not a good idea to use this version with madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 17:07   #28894  |  Link
SecurityBunny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by khanmein View Post
x64 for mpc & lav filter stable with madvr?
As far as my testing has gone, x64 MPC-HC (1.7.8.156) with native lav filters works perfectly fine with x64 MadVR (0.87.21). Just the later nvidia display drivers (350.05 & 350.12) crash when going into windowed fullscreen. Also causing the video player to crash or report madvr direct x initialization failure. This behavior only occurs with windowed fullscreen, exclusive fullscreen seems to function just fine.

Downgrading nvidia driver to 347.88, both windowed and exclusive fullscreen function as intended with x64 versions.
SecurityBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 17:36   #28895  |  Link
ThurstonX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 58
Thanks for the x64 build and fix :-)

I just tested a few files using the stable release of MPC-HC 1.7.8 x64, LAV as external filters, and the "MPC-HC has stopped working" error I was receiving with 0.87.20 when closing MPC-HC seems to be fixed with 0.87.21.
ThurstonX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 18:12   #28896  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jtacdf View Post
That's pretty strange. Everything works fine for me running with 1 GPU. I'm using a 290x with 15.3 beta driver.
Are you using a AMD APU? From my limited understanding (since I'm using intel), AMD APU+GPU do have some form of crossfire as well.
R9 290 on latest stable drivers.

i7 cpu with disabled igpu.

Last edited by tobindac; 13th April 2015 at 18:18.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 18:14   #28897  |  Link
obieobieobie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 182
Symantec antivirus doesn't like mvrsettings32.dll in this new version (0.87.20+)

False positive?
obieobieobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 18:17   #28898  |  Link
tobindac
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 115
It still requires run as admin here. Win8.1.
tobindac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 18:24   #28899  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
R9 290 on latest stable drivers.
No problems here with NNEDI3 chroma upsampling on my HD7770 on Windows 8.1. Probably a driver issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by obieobieobie View Post
Symantec antivirus doesn't like mvrsettings32.dll in this new version (0.87.20+)

False positive?
Yes, of course. Please contact their customer support and complain. Loudly. Reporting a properly signed dll as a false positive is a sign of a very bad behaving anti-virus software. Seriously, you may want to consider changing to a better product.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobindac View Post
It still requires run as admin here. Win8.1.
Works for me. Is it working/failing for you other guys?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2015, 18:44   #28900  |  Link
obieobieobie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 182
Madshi, is the DLL packed?

I will report the false positive
obieobieobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.