Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th January 2013, 08:12   #12061  |  Link
Vick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapscallion View Post
.... For our purposes, we do NOT want the header to be there. .....
I think there are people who would like to decompress the DTS-HD files to .WAVs through the "official" StreamPlayer (simply because ArcSoft's DTSdecoderdll.DLL not always works as it should), and in this case too, the DTS-HD headers are mandatory.
You're right.
For StreamPlayer the header is necessary. And for re-authoring.
Vick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 10:46   #12062  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
@robertcollier4
Try the workaround suggested in first post here:

eac3to S01E01.mkv 2: stdout.wav -downDpl | NeroAacEnc -q 0.5 -ignorelength -if - -of S01E01-downDpl.m4a
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 15th January 2013 at 11:20.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 11:17   #12063  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vick View Post
@madshi
There is description of *.dtshd file in Annex E. Can you add header (and other chunks) to DTS-MA and DTS-HR file?
I think this is not a problem related to eac3to, you can make a independent tool to do the conversion.

At least for DTS-MA you can always recode the wavs supplied by eac3to with DTS Master Audio Suite.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 13:00   #12064  |  Link
Vick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
....
Interesting. It seems there's a whole file structure. It's very easy to understand, though, so it should be easy adding support for that. Well, "easy" means "not difficult". It does cost some time, though, so it may have to wait a while.
....
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I think this is not a problem related to eac3to, you can make a independent tool to do the conversion.
....
I would like to simplify process of developing...
Vick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 14:00   #12065  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
I am not opposed to Madshi do the job, only encourage others interested guys to do it.
I think that eac3to is not necesary to do it.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2013, 21:27   #12066  |  Link
EuropeanMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 660
I have a bluray of an indian movie, but for some reason the audio is just messed up in the DTS/MA channel. voices tend to be in the background and music in the foreground.

HOW can i fix this? please...I'd like to RE-ENCODE the audio to AC3. I'll assume that I must separate the DTS into 6wav'files and then remux in a different order into AC3...correct? If you could please show me in short...I'd appreciate it. Thank you. I did this process long long long long ago...so have forgotten.
EuropeanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2013, 01:42   #12067  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
1) Decode to wav's with eac3to:
eac3to input output.wavs

2) Encode to AC3 with EncWAVtoAC3, or Aften.exe, with the correct order of channels.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2013, 02:04   #12068  |  Link
EuropeanMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 660
^ Thanks for that...but how do I actually change or perhaps ENHANCE the channel that has the main dialogue because it seems to me, it is set to background and not foreground...that's my real question. Appreciate the heads-up above!
EuropeanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2013, 02:49   #12069  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
You can edit the wavs between 1) and 2) but we can't know the problem without listen a sample.

Maybe you can make a new thread with a sample, but not here.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2013, 17:43   #12070  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
eac3to now has a bug tracker:

http://eac3to.bugs.madshi.net

You can browse the bug reports without being logged in. In order to create bug reports you need to login. Please in the future if you have a clear bug to report, use the bug tracker. Currently please use the tracker only for bug reports. Feature wishes will be silently deleted.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 12:16   #12071  |  Link
kylix999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Is it possible to encode wav to eac3 format but stored in mp4?
I am able to do that with aac with ffmpeg but ffmpeg can't save eac3 in mp4 so maybe this program can.
kylix999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 12:58   #12072  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,004
Maybe a current MP4Box can. But eac3to is not responsible for unusual content in strictly specified containers, rather for the raw content instead.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 13:05   #12073  |  Link
kylix999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
MP4box can't do that, I asked on their forum and it is not supported and do not plan to make it possible. Also it is listed in this table: http://mp4ra.org/codecs.html
so it is possible to do, but don't know how
kylix999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2013, 13:14   #12074  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,004
In the german doom9/Gleitz board, we just discussed how to multiplex DTS-HD in MP4; if MP4Box can't, maybe l-smash can. So check if l-smash knows E-AC3 too.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2013, 09:17   #12075  |  Link
kylix999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
In the german doom9/Gleitz board, we just discussed how to multiplex DTS-HD in MP4; if MP4Box can't, maybe l-smash can. So check if l-smash knows E-AC3 too.
you saved my ass,
kylix999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 10:33   #12076  |  Link
robertcollier4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
Can eac3to handle AAC 5.1 / AAC 6 Ch audio input? If not - does anyone know of another tool which can?

Last edited by robertcollier4; 27th January 2013 at 15:12.
robertcollier4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2013, 10:57   #12077  |  Link
robertcollier4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
I am unable to get eac3to to read an Audio AAC 5.1 File that I have demuxed from mp4box. I am trying to downmux the AAC 5.1 audio to AAC 2.0 audio.

Media Info Reports:
Audio
ID : 2
Format : AAC
Format/Info : Advanced Audio Codec
Format profile : LC
Codec ID : 40
Duration : 2h 16mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 420 Kbps
Maximum bit rate : 430 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 409 MiB (100%)
Language : English

eac3to reports the Nero AAC decoder is installed
>eac3to -test
eac3to (v3.27) is up to date
Nero Audio Decoder (Nero 7) works fine

If I use Yamb-mp4box to demux the audio into an mp4 file, then run eac3to:
eac3to v3.27
command line: eac3to.exe "The.Amazing.Spider-Man.2012.1080p.BDRip.x264.AAC-26K_track2.mp4" test.wav -downDpl
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The format of the source file could not be detected. <ERROR>

Or, if I use Yamb-mp4box to demux the audio into RAW Format, then run eac3to:
eac3to v3.27
command line: eac3to.exe "The.Amazing.Spider-Man.2012.1080p.BDRip.x264.AAC-26K_track2.aac" test2.wav -downDpl
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
AAC, 5.1 channels, 48kHz
Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
The DirectShow audio decoder didn't accept the input stream. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 262144. <ERROR>

Last edited by robertcollier4; 27th January 2013 at 15:12.
robertcollier4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 03:12   #12078  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 663
@robertcollier4 The containers of input only can be: MKV, EVO, M2TS, TS y VOB.

Audio format: RAW, (L)PCM, WAV (PCM, DTS, AC3), W64, RF64, AC3, E-AC3, DTS, DTS-ES, DTS-96/24, DTS-HD Hi-Res, DTS-HD Master Audio, MLP, TrueHD, TrueHD/AC3, FLAC.
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite

Last edited by Overdrive80; 28th January 2013 at 03:17.
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2013, 14:09   #12079  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,714
AAC must be also supported:

Quote:
For best AAC decoding you need:
(1) Nero 7 (Nero 8 won't work!)
But don't work propperly in my test. My recommendation is don't use Nero 7 at all.

Use instead:

- BeHappy-AviSynth-BassAudio to decode, DownDPL and recode.

- Decode first to wav with Foobar2000 or UsEac3to (NeroAacDec for .m4a/.mp4 or Faad for .aac) and after eac3to for DownDPL and recode.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 28th January 2013 at 14:12.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2013, 13:04   #12080  |  Link
robertcollier4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 30
Thanks I used the following steps to downmix from 6ch AAC to 2ch AAC:
(Note: qaac not necessary, but I prefer it since it can make AAC files with no encoder delay).

1. Demux audio into m4a file using mp4box (Yamb GUI).
2. neroaacdec -if "audio6chaac.m4a" -of "audio6chwav.wav"
3. eac3to.exe "audio6chwav.wav" stdout.wav -downDpl | qaac.exe --tvbr 127 --quality 2 --rate keep --ignorelength --no-delay - -o "audio2chaac.m4a"
4. Remux "audio2chaac.m4a" audio with original video track using mp4box (Yamb GUI)

Last edited by robertcollier4; 29th January 2013 at 15:38.
robertcollier4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.