Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th November 2003, 00:54   #1  |  Link
appelmoes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Convolution3D results in yv12 or yuy2 error

I have a *.avi type-2 from my miniDV.

I have installed the Panasonic DV codec from the links from "bb"

I use this script
Code:
AviSource("c:\example.avi")
SeparateFields()
odd=SelectOdd.Convolution3D(1, 6, 10, 6, 8, 2.8, 0)
evn=SelectEven.Convolution3D(1, 6, 10, 6, 8, 2.8, 0)
Interleave(evn,odd)
Weave()
DoubleWeave.SelectOdd()
I use AviSynth v2.52 and use

convolution3d.dll for AviSynth 2.5 I put this in de plugins dir and when I try to open the script in MediaPlayer I get this error:
Quote:
convolution3d supports YUY12 color formats only
So, I try somethin else. I use convolution3dyv12 for AviSynth 2.5
I put this is de plugins dir and when I try to open the script in MediaPlayer I get this error:
Quote:
convolution3d supports YV12 color formats only
when I put both dll files in the plugin-dir I get this error
Quote:
convolution3d supports YV12 color formats only
What can be the problem? When I use DirectShowSource everythings is fine!
appelmoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 01:34   #2  |  Link
Angelus
Registered User
 
Angelus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 511
Your captured avi isn't in YV12 format...To get convolution3d to work try:

AviSource("c:\example.avi").ConvertToYV12

in your avisynth script.

Angelus
Angelus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 02:18   #3  |  Link
stickboy
AviSynth Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: California, U.S.
Posts: 1,268
Re: Convolution3D results in yv12 or yuy2 error

Quote:
Originally posted by appelmoes
convolution3d.dll for AviSynth 2.5 I put this in de plugins dir and when I try to open the script in MediaPlayer I get this error:
Quote:
convolution3d supports YUY12 color formats only
I think you meant YUY2.

For DV, you want to use the YUY2 version, not the YV12 version. Try using:
Code:
AviSource("c:\example.avi", pixel_type="yuy2")
stickboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 09:54   #4  |  Link
appelmoes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Re: Re: Convolution3D results in yv12 or yuy2 error

Quote:
Originally posted by stickboy
I think you meant YUY2.
No, I'm really sure and tested it again.
With only convolution3d.dll for avisynth 2.5 installed I get the "YUY2" error

Last edited by appelmoes; 6th November 2003 at 09:59.
appelmoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 10:05   #5  |  Link
Jeffster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of the Long White Cloud
Posts: 183
Re: Convolution3D results in yv12 or yuy2 error

Quote:
Originally posted by appelmoes
I have a *.avi type-2 from my miniDV.

I have installed the Panasonic DV codec from the links from "bb"
....
What can be the problem? When I use DirectShowSource everythings is fine!
The problem is the PanasonicDV codec only outputs in RGB colorspace.

To take advantage of Fast recompress mode in VDub, perhaps you could try another DV codec like Canopus or MainConcept that does output in YUY2.

Jeff
Jeffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 10:11   #6  |  Link
appelmoes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Re: Re: Convolution3D results in yv12 or yuy2 error

Quote:
Originally posted by Jeffster
To take advantage of Fast recompress mode in VDub, perhaps you could try another DV codec like Canopus or MainConcept that does output in YUY2.
OK! I'm gonna try that! thanks all!
appelmoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 10:30   #7  |  Link
tempetai
Registered User
 
tempetai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 49
Nothing to do with Panasonic DV Codec. If you use Convolution3d.dll, just insert converttoyuy2() one line before your convolution3d script. If you use convolution3dyv12, then just install ffvfw light and insert converttoyv12() one line before your first convolution3d script.

You don't have to change to any other codec. Panasonic DV codec will do. I have exactly the same setup.
tempetai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 13:30   #8  |  Link
appelmoes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by tempetai
Nothing to do with Panasonic DV Codec. If you use Convolution3d.dll, just insert converttoyuy2() one line before your convolution3d script. If you use convolution3dyv12, then just install ffvfw light and insert converttoyv12() one line before your first convolution3d script. You don't have to change to any other codec. Panasonic DV codec will do. I have exactly the same setup.
hmmm correct me if I'm wrong, but if you DO use the Panasonic codec, you have to do a convert to either yuy2 or yv12.

If you use another codec, like Canopus or MainConcept, then you do not have to use a convert in your script.

I tested it with MainConcept, and the script above is working now in mediaplayer!
appelmoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2003, 18:37   #9  |  Link
tempetai
Registered User
 
tempetai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally posted by appelmoes
hmmm correct me if I'm wrong, but if you DO use the Panasonic codec, you have to do a convert to either yuy2 or yv12.

If you use another codec, like Canopus or MainConcept, then you do not have to use a convert in your script.

I tested it with MainConcept, and the script above is working now in mediaplayer!
hmmm... Great... new lesson... something for me to try...
tempetai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 20:14   #10  |  Link
bb
Moderator
 
bb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,665
Be aware of the fact that there are three versions of Convolution3D:

1. Convolution3D for AviSynth 2.0.x, supports YUV2 only
2. Convolution3D for AviSynth 2.5.x, supports YUV2 only
3. Convolution3DYV12 for AviSynth 2.5.x, supports YV12 only

No. 3 has not been finished; the "temporal influence" parameter is not being used, and there are issues at scene changes, thus I wouldn't recommend it. Better use one of the YUV2 versions, depending on the AviSynth version you use (preferrably 2.5.x).

bb
bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2003, 10:42   #11  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,191
@bb:

Do you know whether number 3 uses temporal filtering or not? Disabled temporal influence is very confusing, for me disabled means the same as -1 which then means spatial-only filtering. Or is the temporal influence value related _only_ to detecting scene changes?

I did a small test with the YUY2 and YV12 versions, 2500 frames of a DivX source, conversion to YUY2 if needed.

Code:
YV12, time 1:29, size 10 662 659, temporal influence disabled
YUY2, time 1:37, size 10 609 956, temporal influence disabled
YUY2, time 2:11, size 10 300 208, temporal influence 3
When I look at those figures, I get a feeling that YV12 does spatial work only. The small differences between the encoding time and file size can be explained by the conversion to YUY2 and using different versions of the filter.

I tried doubling the temporal thresholds with the YV12 version and surprisingly I got a larger file, 10 868 414 bytes

Conclusion: could anyone check the sources and see what the filter actually does?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2003, 18:54   #12  |  Link
bb
Moderator
 
bb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,665
Boulder,

read this:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...0&pagenumber=2
and this:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...0&pagenumber=2

bb

Last edited by bb; 11th November 2003 at 18:59.
bb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2003, 19:02   #13  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,191
Gotcha.

Quote:
(by Vlad59)
You're right, I could have been clearer : When I say that TemporalInfluence is disabled, that means that I will apply a 3D convolution to all pixels of the frame (so the compressibility gain will still be there).

With TemporalInfluence enabled, I'll only apply the 3D convolution to pixel where temporal information are usefull (no motion) and only a 2D convolution to pixels where temporal information is not usefull (fade, scenechange).

I have added this parameter to handle a little better fade in or fade out and it was also a good way to gain a little speed.

So to sum up : all threshold are handled as usual, but there is no special process for fade in/out.
Thanks, bb
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.