Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th April 2015, 01:28   #3061  |  Link
bilditup1
Registered User
 
bilditup1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 123
I've found a bug, at least in the 2525 version. I'm converting a video using QTGMC and then using SelectEven() to halve the framerate. The resulting file, however, was still at the doubled framerate output of QTGMC. However, according to the log, the problem isn't with the encode itself - it's that, when selecting mp4 format output, for some reason the doubled framerate is passed as a parameter to mp4box. I'm not sure how exactly this happens, but it definitely does. Even if fps is set explicitly as a parameter for x264, MeGUI doesn't make use of that information to supply the correct fps to mp4box. I've confirmed that this only happens with mp4 output, not rawavc or mkv. So either the settings for mp4box need to be given a place in the UI directly, or this behavior just needs to be fixed.
bilditup1 is offline  
Old 23rd April 2015, 00:08   #3062  |  Link
bilditup1
Registered User
 
bilditup1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 123
Patch for OGG to XML chapters for m4v (Apple)

I've submitted a patch that fixes a long-standing problem with file lengths being misinterpreted when using Apple-style chapters. Detailed explanation with diff at Sourceforge.
bilditup1 is offline  
Old 23rd April 2015, 00:17   #3063  |  Link
bilditup1
Registered User
 
bilditup1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Man4life View Post
why the "wiki - user guide" page in megui doesn't open?
Yeah, the wiki at mewiki.project357.com appears to be dead. If there's no backup, I guess we could get it by hand from the wayback machine or google's cache and put it up again somewheres...
bilditup1 is offline  
Old 10th May 2015, 20:00   #3064  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 111
Hi. I want to make some encodes and i want to know if i need anything more than Megui.
xabregas is offline  
Old 10th May 2015, 21:12   #3065  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by xabregas View Post
Hi. I want to make some encodes and i want to know if i need anything more than Megui.
It depends how long you want that piece of string to be.

As a general rule, no, you don't require anything more, but MeGUI does have a bit of a learning curve and you can only encode using the Xvid or x264 video encoders (the title of this thread could use an update).
hello_hello is offline  
Old 10th May 2015, 21:37   #3066  |  Link
xabregas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
It depends how long you want that piece of string to be.

As a general rule, no, you don't require anything more, but MeGUI does have a bit of a learning curve and you can only encode using the Xvid or x264 video encoders (the title of this thread could use an update).
I want to make the most simple encodes, for example encoding a bluray to avc with x264 but sometimes the video source suffers from interlaced problems. My question is do i need to install avisynth after megui??
xabregas is offline  
Old 11th May 2015, 05:30   #3067  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,828
No, MeGUI uses a portable version of Avisynth+, which is fairly similar to Avisynth 2.6. It has an option in it's settings to switch between using the portable version and any version of Avisynth you happen to have installed.

If you're going to install Avisynth though, it'd pay to install the latest, which is version 2.6 RC3 (or install Avisynth+). The reason for that is if you start using any additional Avisynth plugins, you can switch between the installed version and the portable version without too much issue as the plugins for Avisynth 2.6 also work for Avisynth+.

Other than that, no you don't need to install Avisynth, but it can be handy, as any plugins you put in the installed Avisynth plugins folder will automatically load when Avisynth runs (they'll also auto-load when MeGUI is using the portable version of Avisynth+) so you don't need to manually load them in scripts yourself. If you're not going to be doing anything beyond letting MeGUI create scripts and use the plugins that come with it, then it doesn't matter. MeGUI will load the plugins it needs to use.
hello_hello is offline  
Old 11th May 2015, 20:07   #3068  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilditup1 View Post
I've submitted a patch that fixes a long-standing problem with file lengths being misinterpreted when using Apple-style chapters. Detailed explanation with diff at Sourceforge.
Thx, merged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bilditup1 View Post
Yeah, the wiki at mewiki.project357.com appears to be dead. If there's no backup, I guess we could get it by hand from the wayback machine or google's cache and put it up again somewheres...
Sadly I do not have the time for that Only "solution" is that I remove all links in the next release of nobody else steps in.
Zathor is offline  
Old 11th May 2015, 22:12   #3069  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
Sadly I do not have the time for that Only "solution" is that I remove all links in the next release of nobody else steps in.
I can't really contribute to the software side of things (no clue) but I could probably contribute by helping with something like that. I have a bit of free time and if there's no hurry.....

What was hosted on the mewiki.project357.com site? I think I recall I guide to x264's settings but aside from that I'm not sure.
hello_hello is offline  
Old 20th May 2015, 23:25   #3070  |  Link
Xor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
Please help me,
i try to assemble (use AVI MUXER) 1 .avi + 1 ac3 + 1 srt, but receive this error:



i try to re-encode avi but error remain, how to fix ??

Last edited by Xor; 20th May 2015 at 23:30.
Xor is offline  
Old 21st May 2015, 00:56   #3071  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xor View Post
Please help me,
i try to assemble (use AVI MUXER) 1 .avi + 1 ac3 + 1 srt, but receive this error:
Post the whole log file.
hello_hello is offline  
Old 21st May 2015, 05:40   #3072  |  Link
Neroldy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nanjing, China
Posts: 18
Hi, all~
Can anyone help me to solve this problem?

I also update to r2544 but didn't help. My laptop is win 8.1, I also change to another win7 computer but it is still the same.
What should I do to solve this problem? Do I miss some packages in my laptop?
This is my sourceforge bug report: https://sourceforge.net/p/megui/bugs/794/
Thanks~
Neroldy is offline  
Old 21st May 2015, 15:57   #3073  |  Link
Xor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Post the whole log file.
Code:
"D:\MeGUI_2513\tools\avimux_gui\avimux_gui.exe" "D:\AVIREFIX-muxed.mux"
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:27:28] Process started
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:27:28] Standard output stream
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:27:28] Standard error stream
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:30:16] Postprocessing
---[Information] [20/05/2015 14:30:16] Deleting intermediate files
----[Information] [20/05/2015 14:30:16] Successfully deleted D:\AVIREFIX-muxed.mux
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:30:16] Job completed
-[Information] Log for job21 (mux, AVIREFIX-01.avi -> AVIREFIX-01-muxed.avi)
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Started handling job
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Preprocessing
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] mux script
---[NoImage] CLEAR
---[NoImage] LOAD D:\sub.srt
---[NoImage] SET OUTPUT OPTIONS
---[NoImage] SET OPTION SUBTITLE NAME 
---[NoImage] LOAD D:\AVIREFIX-01.avi
---[NoImage] SELECT FILE 2
---[NoImage] ADD VIDEOSOURCE
---[NoImage] DESELECT FILE 2
---[NoImage] SET OUTPUT OPTIONS
---[NoImage] SET OPTION NUMBERING OFF
---[NoImage] SET OPTION MAXFILESIZE OFF
---[NoImage] SET INPUT OPTIONS
---[NoImage] SET OPTION MP3 VERIFY CBR ALWAYS
---[NoImage] SET OPTION MP3 VERIFY RESDLG OFF
---[NoImage] SET OPTION AVI FIXDX50 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION CHAPTERS IMPORT 1
---[NoImage] SET OUTPUT OPTIONS
---[NoImage] SET OPTION ALL SUBTITLES 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION ALL AUDIO 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION CLOSEAPP 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION DONEDLG 0
---[NoImage] SET OPTION OVERWRITEDLG 0
---[NoImage] SET OPTION PRELOAD 200
---[NoImage] SET OPTION OPENDML 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION RECLISTS 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION AUDIO INTERLEAVE 100 KB
---[NoImage] SET OPTION AVI RIFFAVISIZE 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION AVI ADDJUNKBEFOREHEADERS 1
---[NoImage] SET OPTION AVI HAALIMODE 0
---[NoImage] SET OPTION STDIDX 10000 FRAMES
---[NoImage] SET OPTION LEGACY 1
---[NoImage] START D:\AVIREFIX-01-muxed.avi
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Job commandline: "D:\MeGUI_2513\tools\avimux_gui\avimux_gui.exe" "D:\AVIREFIX-01-muxed.mux"
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Process started
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Standard output stream
---[Information] [21/05/2015 06:51:40] Unicode flag: 1
--[Information] [20/05/2015 14:42:04] Standard error stream
--[Information] [21/05/2015 06:51:40] Postprocessing
---[Information] [21/05/2015 06:51:40] Deleting intermediate files
----[Information] [21/05/2015 06:51:40] Successfully deleted D:\AVIREFIX-01-muxed.mux
--[Information] [21/05/2015 06:51:40] Job completed
Xor is offline  
Old 22nd May 2015, 12:27   #3074  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xor View Post
Please help me,
i try to assemble (use AVI MUXER) 1 .avi + 1 ac3 + 1 srt, but receive this error:
In your log don't exist a LOAD ac3, maybe you try load a invalid ac3 file.

Is related with your ac3 question in Audio encoding thread http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...74#post1723074 ?
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline  
Old 24th May 2015, 15:55   #3075  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neroldy View Post
Hi, all~
Can anyone help me to solve this problem?

I also update to r2544 but didn't help. My laptop is win 8.1, I also change to another win7 computer but it is still the same.
What should I do to solve this problem? Do I miss some packages in my laptop?
This is my sourceforge bug report: https://sourceforge.net/p/megui/bugs/794/
Thanks~
As written I cannot reproduce it. Which DPI settings in Windows do you use?
Zathor is offline  
Old 25th May 2015, 12:37   #3076  |  Link
Neroldy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nanjing, China
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathor View Post
As written I cannot reproduce it. Which DPI settings in Windows do you use?
My laptop system is windows 8.1 x64 and 1366x768 dpi size. I think maybe it's not a bug, it's just my laptop is lack of some package...
Neroldy is offline  
Old 26th May 2015, 10:27   #3077  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,787
The dpi value is usually around 100 (typically, e.g. 72 or 96 dpi), it means "dots per inch". It is possible to change the resolution to e.g. upscale fonts if text appears tiny and hard to read.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is online now  
Old 26th May 2015, 13:11   #3078  |  Link
XeoneR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Hi there, fellow transcoders.
Adding #degrain routine in the avs script creator with smdegrain.avsi & awesome mvtools2.dll would be great improvement.
Since if the source is heavily grained and no degrain is aplied usually approx half of the precious bitrate is consumed by the grain.
I consider it being a bit diff from denoising since most film transfers more grainy than noisy. Although it takes care of the noise too.
Temporal degrainer such as smdegrain or similar based on the famous motion vectors toolkit mvtools2 is very hq, has fine tuning
and does its job with great respect to edges, details and everything. I've used the thing for years with great success. So consider this..

Last edited by XeoneR; 26th May 2015 at 14:42. Reason: typo
XeoneR is offline  
Old 3rd July 2015, 11:20   #3079  |  Link
Dion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
The MP4 Muxer does not seem to set Language anymore. It use to set it as what MeGUI default to in the options.
Dion is offline  
Old 5th July 2015, 18:08   #3080  |  Link
Zathor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,401
Thanks for the report. As I am not able to test this myself right now can you please post a log? Or does it look correct in there?
Zathor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.