Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th May 2020, 19:25   #9001  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetti View Post
I think i understand it now but it will make more sense that frame 1 is frame 1 and not frame 0
If you are a Pascal programmer, OK. C/C++ not so much. If you are not a programmer, who cares? RTFM.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2020, 02:31   #9002  |  Link
beto
Temet Nosce
 
beto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 37
I am using version 2913 from the development update server. I am having an odd issue trying to index a VOB file obtained from a DVD.

Whenever I try to index this VOB file (using DGINDEX since L-SMASH and FFMSINDEX both appear grayed out to me with this MeGUI version) the file indexes partially and not entirely. It indexes around 45 minutes of the VOB file and the rest is not indexed and appears to be truncated. There are no apparent error messages.

If I use DGIndex directly (and not through MeGUI) the file indexes entirely with no issues.

The logs related to the indexing job are available below if anyone is interested:

https://pastebin.com/kyPXW7K5

I am on Windows 10 v1909.

Any help is appreciated.

Regards.
__________________
http://volutabro.blogspot.com
beto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2020, 11:49   #9003  |  Link
Lirk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 24
MeGUI version 2913 crashes when using yadifmod2 plugin.
Lirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 06:58   #9004  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 208
When I setup a series of batch encodes, the workers will only do 1 encode at a time, regardless of how I set the worker settings.
jlw_4049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 18:28   #9005  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 293
Press start button and new video encode worker will start and then you won't need to manually start them once again.
When one finishes, the other will pop up.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2020, 18:02   #9006  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
There aren't changes in MeGUI about that point.

If you limit the deblock filter (-3,-3) you can obtain macroblocks in the video, is recommended only with high bitrates (crf 16 for instance) and now you can obtain sharper look, if you want less bitrate (crf 19 for instance) is better let the default deblock (-1,-1).

BTW is your choice, limit the deblock filter -> risk of macroblocks at low bitrate.
Thanks a lot for the tip
But -1,-1 aint default anymore, No matter the profile settings the default de-blocking values are 0,0 now , are you suggesting its best to use -1,-1 for crf values from 19 to lets say 21 ??
what about x264 and x265 , Should one stick to same -1,-1 for lower bitrates for x264 and x265 encoding ???

once again many thanks Big T

Also just to get some sharpness going at those crf values , do you recommend any avisynth sharpening filters as well , nothing complicated may be something internal just to give some sharp margins and stuff.
Thanks

Last edited by Lord Dredd; 22nd May 2020 at 18:04.
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 03:20   #9007  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dredd View Post
But -1,-1 aint default anymore,
You are right, -1,-1 is added by -tune film, recommended for film movies.

Quote:
Also just to get some sharpness going at those crf values , do you recommend any avisynth sharpening filters as well
There are a internal filter Sharpen but I never use it.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 09:06   #9008  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
You are right, -1,-1 is added by -tune film, recommended for film movies.



There are a internal filter Sharpen but I never use it.
Thanks a bunch Dear mate
Being an expert : what would you suggest to an eternal newbie and hobby encoder like myself , about getting good details and least blocking in a low bitrate x264 or may be x265 encode.

In x264 i tend to use slower preset always with no filters via AVISYNTH , try to use crf around 19 to 22 , sometimes I try and use 2pass with bitrates of around 1200 to 1600 to see how much details one can retain , but the fuzzyness in the background and margins can be caught when you watch the video from pretty near the TV ( Have a HD TV in my study 32inches )


Recently i started experimenting with x265 as well , but I was surprised to see that there is no option to look through advanced settings like x264 has , also I found the colors of a x265 encoded video are colder than x264 ( May be its just me ).

--- What would be your recommendations regarding encoding with x265 , MEDIUM , crf21 I guess ?? I always try and see how low one can go in bitrate but still maintain decent details and sharpness ..


Would be highly THANKFUL for the suggestions...
God Bless


EDIT :
I have heard a lot of people say that using VBR mode of encoding can prove magic for low bitrate encoding process, especially by settings qcomp to 0.9ish ( I know how our developers feel about qcomp here at MEGUI) hence asking again ...
How can one encode in VBR via MEGUI in crf and 2 pass encoding and whats the sweet value of qcomp

Thanks again

Last edited by Lord Dredd; 23rd May 2020 at 09:38.
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 12:25   #9009  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,820
I'm not a expert in video encode at all (my specialty is audio).

- Slower presets are always better if you don't care encoder time.
- Use filters only if the source need them.
- The bitrate 1200-1600 only for low resolution (DVD sources)
- x265 better improvements for high resolution (1080 or more)
- VFR can save some bitrate, but can be a problem for players or further recode.

Test yourself.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 13:37   #9010  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I'm not a expert in video encode at all (my specialty is audio).

- Slower presets are always better if you don't care encoder time.
- Use filters only if the source need them.
- The bitrate 1200-1600 only for low resolution (DVD sources)
- x265 better improvements for high resolution (1080 or more)
- VFR can save some bitrate, but can be a problem for players or further recode.

Test yourself.
sure
Any idea how to turn on VFR in megui ???
I dont see that option anywhere.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dredd View Post
Thanks a bunch Dear mate
Being an expert : what would you suggest to an eternal newbie and hobby encoder like myself , about getting good details and least blocking in a low bitrate x264 or may be x265 encode.

In x264 i tend to use slower preset always with no filters via AVISYNTH , try to use crf around 19 to 22 , sometimes I try and use 2pass with bitrates of around 1200 to 1600 to see how much details one can retain , but the fuzzyness in the background and margins can be caught when you watch the video from pretty near the TV ( Have a HD TV in my study 32inches )


Recently i started experimenting with x265 as well , but I was surprised to see that there is no option to look through advanced settings like x264 has , also I found the colors of a x265 encoded video are colder than x264 ( May be its just me ).

--- What would be your recommendations regarding encoding with x265 , MEDIUM , crf21 I guess ?? I always try and see how low one can go in bitrate but still maintain decent details and sharpness ..


Would be highly THANKFUL for the suggestions...
God Bless


EDIT :
I have heard a lot of people say that using VBR mode of encoding can prove magic for low bitrate encoding process, especially by settings qcomp to 0.9ish ( I know how our developers feel about qcomp here at MEGUI) hence asking again ...
How can one encode in VBR via MEGUI in crf and 2 pass encoding and whats the sweet value of qcomp

Thanks again
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I'm not a expert in video encode at all (my specialty is audio).

- Slower presets are always better if you don't care encoder time.
- Use filters only if the source need them.
- The bitrate 1200-1600 only for low resolution (DVD sources)
- x265 better improvements for high resolution (1080 or more)
- VFR can save some bitrate, but can be a problem for players or further recode.

Test yourself.

@ All tebasuna51 has been very helpful
I would be grateful if you guys can chip in with your specialist opinions regarding my queries I mentioned in previous post
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2020, 22:24   #9011  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Dredd View Post
Any idea how to turn on VFR in megui ???
AFAIK, if the source is CFR and using AviSynth, like MeGUI do, it is not possible obtain a VFR encode.

Use HandBrake instead.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 00:14   #9012  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,268
If the source is an NTSC DVD, the TIVTC plugin can be used to output a VFR encode. This is copied from another script as an example:

Analysis pass:
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\dgindex\DGDecode.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("D:\VTS_02_1_sample.d2v")

TFM(Output="D:\S01E01TFM.txt")
TDecimate(Mode=4, Hybrid=2, Output="D:\S01E01TDecimate.txt")

# TFM(Input="D:\S01E01TFM.txt")
# TDecimate(Mode=5, Hybrid=2, Input="D:\S01E01TDecimate.txt", tfmIn="D:\S01E01TFM.txt", mkvout="D:\S01E01Timecodes.txt")
Encoding pass:
Quote:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\dgindex\DGDecode.dll")
DGDecode_mpeg2source("D:\VTS_02_1_sample.d2v")

# TFM(Output="D:\S01E01TFM.txt")
# TDecimate(Mode=4, Hybrid=2, Output="D:\S01E01TDecimate.txt")

TFM(Input="D:\S01E01TFM.txt")
TDecimate(Mode=5, Hybrid=2, Input="D:\S01E01TDecimate.txt", tfmIn="D:\S01E01TFM.txt", mkvout="D:\S01E01Timecodes.txt")
I generally do it with a single script and comment/uncomment the appropriate lines. The metrics files are created during the analysis pass (MeGUI has an analysis pass option for adding jobs to the job queue) and the timecodes file is created when the encoding script is first run. You'd add the timecodes to the x264 command line using the custom section in the encoder configuration like this:

--tcfile-in "D:\S01E01Timecodes.txt"

It's only designed for dealing with NTSC sources that are a combination of film and video though. The film sections at 23.976fps and the video sections at 29.97fps. It's not really a bitrate saver.

My favourite sharpener is LSFMod. It's subtle. I don't like video that looks sharpened. You can also try MCDegrainSharp for some noise removal and sharpening.

Last edited by hello_hello; 24th May 2020 at 11:48.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 07:17   #9013  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
AFAIK, if the source is CFR and using AviSynth, like MeGUI do, it is not possible obtain a VFR encode.

Use HandBrake instead.
Yep Handbrake does have the option of VRF
Many Thanks again , will bother again

Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
If the source is an NTSC DVD, the TIVTC plugin can be used to output a VFR encode. This is copied from another script as an example:

Analysis pass:


Encoding pass:


I generally do it with a single script and comment/uncomment the appropriate lines. The metrics files are created during the analysis pass (MeGUI has an analysis pass option for adding jobs to the job queue) and the timecodes file is created when the encoding script is first run. You'd add the timecodes to the x264 command line using the custom section in the encoder configuration like this:

--tcfile-in "D:\S01E01Timecodes.txt"

It's only designed for dealing with NTSC sources that are a combination of film and video though. The film sections at 23.976fps and the video sections at 29.97fps. It's not really a bitrate saver.

My favourite sharpener is LSFMod. It's subtle. I don't like video that looks sharpened. You can also try MCDegrainSharp for some noise removal and sharpening.
Thanks a bunch Hello_Hello
Will try and follow your insight
Off to try LSFMod


Any other tips for low bitrate encoding dear mate ???
by low I mean 1500 something for a 720p video
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 11:47   #9014  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,268
Sorry, I usually encode using CRF18, the slow preset and film tuning, and let the bitrate be what it needs to be.
My last 720p encode came in at 1421 kb/s, but it was easy to compress animation.

You could try grafun3() from DitherTools at the end of your scripts. In fact you should, maybe more-so for low bitrate encoding. It converts the video to 16 bit, does some gradient smoothing, and then dithers back to 8 bit. It can reduce existing color banding and help prevent the encoder from creating it. I think when I've compared encodes with and without it in the past, including it tends to reduce the bitrate for a give CRF value a little. Not by much, but every bit helps.

I forgot to mention, if you try the above VFR method, once you loaded an analysis script into MeGUI and run it, don't load it into MeGUI again until it's edited to make it the encoding script. If you do, MeGUI will check the script is okay when you load it into the video section and TIVTC will erase the metrics files, so you'll have to run the analysis pass again. It doesn't take long, but it's annoying. If you follow TFM & TDecimate with other filtering in the script, comment it out for the analysis pass too, so as not to slow it down.

I just realised there were a couple of TFM options in my example that were specific to the encode I was doing. I've edited my previous post to remove them

Last edited by hello_hello; 24th May 2020 at 11:50.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 13:36   #9015  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Sorry, I usually encode using CRF18, the slow preset and film tuning, and let the bitrate be what it needs to be.
My last 720p encode came in at 1421 kb/s, but it was easy to compress animation.

You could try grafun3() from DitherTools at the end of your scripts. In fact you should, maybe more-so for low bitrate encoding. It converts the video to 16 bit, does some gradient smoothing, and then dithers back to 8 bit. It can reduce existing color banding and help prevent the encoder from creating it. I think when I've compared encodes with and without it in the past, including it tends to reduce the bitrate for a give CRF value a little. Not by much, but every bit helps.

I forgot to mention, if you try the above VFR method, once you loaded an analysis script into MeGUI and run it, don't load it into MeGUI again until it's edited to make it the encoding script. If you do, MeGUI will check the script is okay when you load it into the video section and TIVTC will erase the metrics files, so you'll have to run the analysis pass again. It doesn't take long, but it's annoying. If you follow TFM & TDecimate with other filtering in the script, comment it out for the analysis pass too, so as not to slow it down.

I just realised there were a couple of TFM options in my example that were specific to the encode I was doing. I've edited my previous post to remove them
You are always so helpful dear mate
Many Thanks
I went through Dither tools but seems like I spoke too soon regarding filters , my technical prowess is 0.1% of you folks
Couldn't make head and tail of it
was actually thinking of some avisynth filter or some change in x264/x265 profile parameters or add some extra in the command line box ,so that details can be retained, margins remain sharp enough in my low bitrate encoding.
The source doesnt have any grain or doesn't need any denoiser as such,
But you know how this is when you try to hammer a source with such low bitrate , blocks, artifacts tend to appear in the final encode.
Just wish that the video looks decent enough for a HD TV viewing from a distance of 4 to 7 feet

Last edited by Lord Dredd; 24th May 2020 at 14:29.
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 14:43   #9016  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,268
If you install Avisynth+ (in addition to MeGUI's portable version) it'll have it's own subfolder called plugins. Any dlls or avsi scripts inside will automatically load when Avisynth runs. MeGUI's Avisynth will check it too.
So you'd put the two dlls in the Win32 folder from the zip file (assuming 32 bit Avisynth), along with the two Avsi scripts.

Dithertools also needs these three, so you'd download them and put the dlls in the same place.
https://github.com/pinterf/masktools/releases
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/RgTools
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/AddGrainC

Then with fingers crossed, you add gradfun3() to a script you're creating with MeGUI's script creator and refresh the preview. You probably won't see a difference, but the alternative is an Avisynth error message.

Avisynth+ has more plugin loading options than classic Avisynth. You can read about them here, but I use the auto-loading method myself.

I don't use x265, but x264 has it's own denoising. Enabling it and using enough to remove some light noise will probably help. Even if the source doesn't look noisy, give it a try. If it only removes very fine noise you're not seeing then it can't be a bad thing. You can adjust it under the Analysis tab in MeGUI's x264 encoder configuration.
http://www.chaneru.com/Roku/HLS/X264_Settings.htm#nr

Unfortunately I don't think there's really any free lunch, but I'm not an expert when it comes to tweaking x264, because I don't need to use a low bitrate like do you. And personally, I prefer to keep the encoding quality decent even if it means reducing the resolution and sacrificing a bit of detail to do it. It's better than looking at encoding artefacts, in my opinion.

Last edited by hello_hello; 24th May 2020 at 14:56.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2020, 20:01   #9017  |  Link
Lord Dredd
a Hobby Encoder :)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
If you install Avisynth+ (in addition to MeGUI's portable version) it'll have it's own subfolder called plugins. Any dlls or avsi scripts inside will automatically load when Avisynth runs. MeGUI's Avisynth will check it too.
So you'd put the two dlls in the Win32 folder from the zip file (assuming 32 bit Avisynth), along with the two Avsi scripts.

Dithertools also needs these three, so you'd download them and put the dlls in the same place.
https://github.com/pinterf/masktools/releases
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/RgTools
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/AddGrainC

Then with fingers crossed, you add gradfun3() to a script you're creating with MeGUI's script creator and refresh the preview. You probably won't see a difference, but the alternative is an Avisynth error message.

Avisynth+ has more plugin loading options than classic Avisynth. You can read about them here, but I use the auto-loading method myself.

I don't use x265, but x264 has it's own denoising. Enabling it and using enough to remove some light noise will probably help. Even if the source doesn't look noisy, give it a try. If it only removes very fine noise you're not seeing then it can't be a bad thing. You can adjust it under the Analysis tab in MeGUI's x264 encoder configuration.
http://www.chaneru.com/Roku/HLS/X264_Settings.htm#nr

Unfortunately I don't think there's really any free lunch, but I'm not an expert when it comes to tweaking x264, because I don't need to use a low bitrate like do you. And personally, I prefer to keep the encoding quality decent even if it means reducing the resolution and sacrificing a bit of detail to do it. It's better than looking at encoding artefacts, in my opinion.
That seems pretty lucid
by lower what values or nr would you suggest to have a decent effect , thinking of 200 , what say ?
I know I ll have to try various values on diff sources to have a general idea , but do you think 200 is a good starting point "?
Lord Dredd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2020, 02:56   #9018  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,174
Im trying to use filters with megui but I have trouble determining the source, from where they are taken.

first of all, are there any important filters which will work with 32-bit version of megui only?

in general, Id like to try to use 64-bit megui and corresponding filters as much as possible. can I really use only 64-bit filters with 64-bit version of megui without any exception?

the problem I have is that there seem to be various directories, theres tools\avs, tools\avs\plugins, tool\avisynth_plugin and also the directories of ones separate avisynth+ installation (plugins+ & plugins64+). so which is the directory megui uses for all its filters? I remember it could be specified in options but apparently not any more.

mostly I try to get ffms2, lsmashsource and TIVTC to run in 64-bit mode but its all a big mess and sometimes I get an error and get told that I cannot use some various 32-bit filter with 64-bit megui etc.

another thing is there are sometimes newer versions of some filters compared to the version which comes even with the developmental update server. is there any way I can simply replace such filters without breaking anything? can I simply replace megui internal avisynth.dll (and other files) with clang version of avisynth+?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 26th May 2020 at 03:01.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2020, 08:57   #9019  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,268
The tools\avisynth_plugin folder is the one used for plugins by MeGUI. You should be able to simply replace the plugins with newer versions.

To change AVisynth itself, you need to replace the files in the MeGUI\tools\avs and MeGUI\tools\avs\plugins folders with the newer versions (replacement Avisynth files) while MeGUI is closed. When it runs it copies those files to the appropriate directories if it's using it's own portable Avisynth.

Anything in the "installed" Avisynth plugins folder is autoloaded when Avisynth runs, including MeGUI's portable version.

I don't know what the difference is between the "installed" Avisynth+ plugins+ & plugins64+ folders. For 32 bit Avisynth+ there's two folders. One is only checked by classic Avisynth while both are checked by Avisynth+. It's probably something similar. Someone else will probably know for sure.
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/AviSynt...gin_Autoloader
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2020, 10:12   #9020  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,174
are avisynth and x264 which comes along with megui 64-bit also automatically 64-bit versions? or 32-bit but they still run on 64-bit megui? so everything Id manually replace in megui 64 has to be 64-bit as well?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
megui

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.