Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd September 2008, 00:49   #2041  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
There is a option to use VirtualDub instead of VirtualDubMod, maybe this works better. Such rare/dated features can always be broke, you just got to try and report back if there are problems or limitations.
stax76 is offline  
Old 4th September 2008, 11:43   #2042  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,234
Where do I set to use Virtualdub instead of Virtualdubmod for this purpose? The main required thing is to extract the audio from the avi and encode it for its entirety...
burfadel is offline  
Old 4th September 2008, 12:01   #2043  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
This option is not in the project options or settings, it's in the encoder options.
stax76 is offline  
Old 7th September 2008, 07:14   #2044  |  Link
burfadel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,234
I still can't find it!...
burfadel is offline  
Old 16th September 2008, 18:53   #2045  |  Link
Ramir Gonzales
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 68
Hello,

I just encoded my first few DVD's after a long time without encoding with StaxRip, but I have some problems with the audio-encoding (to MP3).
The BeSweet tool automatically raises the dB gain, and my resulting movies have way to high audio levels, resulting in destortion.

Also, I always had exact 700MB .avi files before, now I only get 695MB .avi files ?

Please, how can avoid these problems ?
Thanks.

Last edited by Ramir Gonzales; 17th September 2008 at 16:41. Reason: Found 1 resolution.
Ramir Gonzales is offline  
Old 25th September 2008, 11:03   #2046  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
Lately working on StaxRip become a bit tiresome, I might take a break for while. I've finished the announced AviSynth audio solution in the latest beta however. This is slower then BeSweet so it makes only sense for special task like dts sources. The required tools, plugins and profiles aren't integrated, I'm posting it here. The command line you can use to make a profile looks as follows:

Quote:
"D:\Desktop\BassAudio23\BassAudio23\BePipe.exe" --script "AudioDub(BlankClip(length=%source_frames%, fps=%source_framerate%), AutoAudioSource(^%input%^)) DelayAudio(%delay%/1000.0) DownmixMultiChannel() %filter:Cutting%" | "%application_dir:BeSweet%neroAacEnc.exe" -ignorelength -q 0.3 -if - -of "%output%"
In order to make it work you need to correct the path to a tool call BePipe, you can find this tool in the BassAudio plugin package, it's a AviSynth plugin that can read AAC and many other audio formats. There is a thread here where you can find the plugin. Second the command line uses some AviSynth functions I've defined globally. This can be done by saving a script in the plugin dir, it must have the extension avsi instead of avs, alternativly the import function could possibly be used instead. This is the code:

Code:
function AutoAudioSource(string path)
{
	c = GetExtension(path) == ".wav" ? WAVSource(path) : true
	c = GetExtension(path) == ".ac3" ? NicAC3Source(path, DRC = 1) : c
	c = GetExtension(path) == ".dts" ? NicDTSSource(path, DRC = 1) : c
	c = GetExtension(path) == ".mpa" ? NicMPG123Source(path) : c
	c = GetExtension(path) == ".mp2" ? NicMPG123Source(path) : c
	c = IsBool(c) ? DirectShowSource(path) : c
	return c
}

function DownmixMultiChannel(clip a)
{
	b = Audiochannels(a) > 5 ? PerformDownmixMultiChannel(a) : a
	b = Normalize(b)
	b = ConvertAudioTo16bit(b)
	return b
}

function PerformDownmixMultiChannel(clip a)
{
     a = ConvertAudioToFloat(a)
     fl = GetChannel(a, 1)
     fr = GetChannel(a, 2)
     c = GetChannel(a, 3)
     lfe = GetChannel(a, 4)
     sl = GetChannel(a, 5)
     sr = GetChannel(a, 6)
     l_sl = MixAudio(fl, sl, 0.2929, 0.2929)
     c_lfe = MixAudio(lfe, c, 0.2071, 0.2071)
     r_sr = MixAudio(fr, sr, 0.2929, 0.2929)
     l = MixAudio(l_sl, c_lfe, 1.0, 1.0)
     r = MixAudio(r_sr, c_lfe, 1.0, 1.0)
     return MergeChannels(l, r)
}

function GetExtension(string filepath)
{
	return LCase(RightStr(filepath, 4))
}

Last edited by stax76; 25th September 2008 at 11:07.
stax76 is offline  
Old 28th September 2008, 20:41   #2047  |  Link
alaxa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
auto select the correct audio stream

Sorry if it has already discussed I could not find any answer.
I am trying to let staxrip to add the existing audio tracks I have already compressed. Is it possible to automatically add a track which name complies to a specific regexp?
Now it always starts with the english track and the other languages follow.

thanks
a.
alaxa is offline  
Old 29th September 2008, 06:18   #2048  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
Quote:
Is it possible to automatically add a track which name complies to a specific regexp?
Now it always starts with the english track and the other languages follow.
Hi and welcome to the forum. It's possible to change the default language.

Last edited by stax76; 29th September 2008 at 06:32.
stax76 is offline  
Old 30th September 2008, 17:32   #2049  |  Link
swaaye
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Ok, Stax, I have a bug for you I think.

Latest Beta. When using Vista on two machines and a mapped network drive (Z drive) for final output, after mkvmerge does its job, Staxrip seems to not be able to find the completed file and errors out. This occurs every time. I've verified that the mkvmerge output is complete. On XP -> Vista or Vista->XP, this doesn't happen, curiously. Only Vista -> Vista. UAC is disabled, btw.
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------
                           Muxing
------------------------------------------------------------

"C:\Program Files (x86)\MKVtoolnix\mkvmerge.exe" -o "z:\blah.mkv" --noaudio --nosubs 
--default-duration 0:23.976fps "D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\blah_EncoderOutput.264" --language 1:eng 
--track-name "1:English" "D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\VTS_01_1 01 en-English 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_AudioOutput.mp4" 
--engage keep_bitstream_ar_info

mkvmerge v2.2.0 ('Turn It On Again') built on Mar  4 2008 12:58:13
'D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\blah_EncoderOutput.264': Using the AVC/h.264 ES demultiplexer.
'D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\VTS_01_1 01 en-English 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_AudioOutput.mp4': Using the Quicktime/MP4 demultiplexer.
'D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\blah_EncoderOutput.264' track 0: Using the MPEG-4 part 10 ES video output module.
'D:\DVD\blah\VTS_01_PGC1\VTS_01_1 01 en-English 3_2ch 448Kbps DELAY 0ms_AudioOutput.mp4' track 1: Using the AAC output module.
The file 'z:\blah.mkv' has been opened for writing.

The cue entries (the index) are being written...
Muxing took 160 seconds.

------------------------------------------------------------
                           Error
------------------------------------------------------------

MKV output file is missing.
I also noticed that mkvmerge v2.2.0 (Staxrip's version) doesn't work with UNC paths (\\networkpc\share) but that version 2.3.0 has a fix for this. That's why I've been trying to use a mapped drive. I have not verified this fixed version yet though. Above problem with mapped drives occurs with both 2.2.0 and 2.3.0 however.
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv.../doc/ChangeLog

As always, thanks for the incredible app you've built here.

edit: seems that 2.3.0 mkvmerge + UNC paths instead of mapped drives is the way to go.

Last edited by swaaye; 1st October 2008 at 01:50.
swaaye is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 03:21   #2050  |  Link
fredlkrue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 30
there's also a new version of nero AAC encoder.... + new features on the latest x264 build
fredlkrue is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 08:54   #2051  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Newest version of Nero AAC was released at August, 6. last year.
Deinorius is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 14:52   #2052  |  Link
fredlkrue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 30
Nero AAC Codec
2008-09-17 - Version 1.3.3.0



- neroAacEnc:

- Improved multichannel encoding

- Solved compatibility issues with some hardware devices

- Improved CBR bitrate control

- Ignore wave file length of 0 on -ignorelength

- Solved issue with very long files and -2pass

- Removed special SSE compile,

all optimizations have been merged with the normal compile

- Linux version speed optimized

- Encoder exits gracefully and writes valid MP4 file on ctrl+c



- neroAacDec:

- Fixed incorrect channel output for 7.1 encodings



- neroAacTag:

- Linux version available
fredlkrue is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 20:51   #2053  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
Well that's interesting. When I go to the official Nero website I can see just the version 1.1.34.2, which was published on the date I just wrote before.

It wasn't updated yet. So no wonder I couldn't find it.

Thats the link.
http://www.nero.com/eng/downloads-ne...-aac-codec.php
Deinorius is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 21:50   #2054  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
@swaaye

Thanks for donating! The error happened to me too lately, I guess there is a timing problem with windows. I've changed the beta to wait 5 seconds, I've also included mkvtoolnix 2.3.0.

Quote:
there's also a new version of nero AAC encoder.... + new features on the latest x264 build
Thanks for the hints, I've updated the Nero encoder. Which x264 features are missing? Last thing I've added to the beta is IIRC the new b-frame mode.
stax76 is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 22:22   #2055  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
In newest beta I don't see psy-rdo/psy-trellis options. Are they included now as well?
Deinorius is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 22:43   #2056  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
It's because these options are afaik only available in patched builds.
stax76 is offline  
Old 1st October 2008, 23:18   #2057  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax View Post
It's because these options are afaik only available in patched builds.
http://git.videolan.org/?p=x264.git;...308edd33fe3096
commit abe641635e9dc1209af4e201f9308edd33fe3096
Author: Jason Garrett-Glaser <darkshikari@gmail.com>
Date: Sun Sep 14 21:36:45 2008 -0700

Psychovisually optimized rate-distortion optimization and trellis
The latter, psy-trellis, is disabled by default and is reserved as experimental; your mileage may vary.
Default subme is raised to 6 so that psy RD is on by default.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline  
Old 2nd October 2008, 08:08   #2058  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
As you see psy-rdo and new b-frame decision was added at the same time.
Deinorius is offline  
Old 2nd October 2008, 08:19   #2059  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 6,488
995 returns a error on --psy-rdo and --psy-trellis
stax76 is offline  
Old 2nd October 2008, 08:22   #2060  |  Link
Deinorius
Najarenthur
 
Deinorius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Austria (Vienna)
Posts: 202
With 988 it works without problems.

Edit: 996 doesn't work either. Even without psy-rdo I can't start encoding process.

I uploaded my version, if you need something to test.

Last edited by Deinorius; 2nd October 2008 at 08:38.
Deinorius is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
gui, h.264, h.265, hevc, mkv, x264, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.