Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th December 2017, 16:03   #47941  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
think i've got it, i changed my horizontal timing in MADVR to 1276 and I now have near perfect 23,976 ! - now to test 3D MVC

whats the best rendering I can expect for an NVIDIA 1050 (non ti version) - same as my RX550 or can I push it further?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 16:53   #47942  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
3D is a not go, worked once now doesnt work at all, any tricks to getting 3D MVC working with NVIDIA card?
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 17:06   #47943  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 124
@mclingo
How much Watts is your Power Supply Unit (PSU)? Just to be sure that the AMD RX gets enough power.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 17:44   #47944  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
@mclingo
How much Watts is your Power Supply Unit (PSU)? Just to be sure that the AMD RX gets enough power.
700 watt, should be more than enough.

Got an odd problem with MADVR now, I did get 3D working in MPC but was not working in KODI DS so I reinstalled DS, still no joy, new install of DS, still no joy so I decided to reinstalled MADVR.

After reinstalling MADVR i can no longer get the custom modes tab, it flckers up and then disapears when I choose the display modes option, any ideas?

edit, completely stripped out MADVR and tried both latest and last version, still no custom modes tab, whats going on?

edit 2 - rebooted my receiver, back now, wierdness...

Last edited by mclingo; 24th December 2017 at 17:50.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 17:58   #47945  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 124
The PSU should be fine.

I also have problems with Kodi DS. I gave up on Kodi DS some time ago.

Last edited by HillieSan; 24th December 2017 at 18:00.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 18:58   #47946  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by HillieSan View Post
The PSU should be fine.

I also have problems with Kodi DS. I gave up on Kodi DS some time ago.
I love KODI DS.

Ive given up on the Nvidia 1050 again, 3D is just all over the place, sometimes it works, sometimes not with no reason at all, sometimes it works but there is an odd paralax shift like L/R are the wrong way around, which ever way around you have your glasses.

Black screens all over the place, loss of HDMI handshake which I also get with the AMD a bit, nail in the coffin was a system hang, was hoping the NVIDIA card would be more stable but sadly not.

Just dont think we're going to have a fully stable system on Windows 10 for a while if at all now.

for the moment i'll live with a few system hangups but with everything working as it should be, 2D/3D/HDR all working perfectly in KODI DS with my AMD card.

I've moved back to an older AMD driver which I got far fewer system hangs on 17.10.2
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 19:49   #47947  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,301
I've no issue with 3D on my 1060. I don't use FSE but instead use windowed mode. The only issue I've had was with Polar Express 3D but PowerDVD and the Xbox One both gave me the same issues so I'm not sure what's happening with that disc. Everything else is flawless. Watched Force Awakens 3D mkv last week before going to see Last Jedi. But I'm using madvr/lav filters in JRiver MC. Very stable combination.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2017, 22:29   #47948  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
I've no issue with 3D on my 1060. I don't use FSE but instead use windowed mode. The only issue I've had was with Polar Express 3D but PowerDVD and the Xbox One both gave me the same issues so I'm not sure what's happening with that disc. Everything else is flawless. Watched Force Awakens 3D mkv last week before going to see Last Jedi. But I'm using madvr/lav filters in JRiver MC. Very stable combination.
i will probably give it another go with the next driver release if it fixes all the current issues with HDR etc.

Cheers.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 01:38   #47949  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
3D is a not go, worked once now doesnt work at all, any tricks to getting 3D MVC working with NVIDIA card?
Turn on stereoscopic globally and in the NCP. Some of us create scripts to automate this since some playback scenarios of 2D turn these settings off regardless of madVR 3D settings recently discussed here. Works every time without fail using NVidia here.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 08:52   #47950  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
I just checked it 2 weeks ago, when you first started to talk about it:
yes, you need FSE on Win8 for 10bit, and it only works with new path not the old path using dx9, and using dx10.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Thanks!
I just double checked this: 10bit output only works with d3d11 FSE on Win8 (not with either of d3d9 paths or neither in any of windowed modes).
Sorry for being misleading.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)

Last edited by chros; 25th December 2017 at 08:57.
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 09:01   #47951  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I love KODI DS.
You don't need any fancy frontend, just a good remote for MPC-BE/HC, but it's your choice.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 09:41   #47952  |  Link
KaBoS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
I dont think you system has the power to run MADVR at whatever settings you have it set to maybe.

A few things to check.

- Are you outputting in 1080p or 4k?
- try setting all scaling to lanczos
- Make sure you've got your display modes set correctly, if you are not
using 4k try just putting 1080p23 down in the display modes.

Also, play a movie and press CONTROL+J and take screen shot (F5), post the results.
Hi thanks for your reply

outputting 4K So here's the problem

Yes true after many test (Intel ,NUC6CAYH) not power to run madVR on outputting 4K

- I change settings all scaling to lanczos

- And changed GPU settings to 1080p

Everything is good and I am satisfied with the results

(Screen shot , 1 - 2 )

My TV not support 24p Playback and any Judder-free (I will update them soon )

But with I felt much better With Play 24p Movies with madVR

Now do you recommend changing any settings in madVR ?

I change settings all scaling to (lanczos) Is this good or change it ?


Thanks .
KaBoS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 13:13   #47953  |  Link
ajp_anton
Registered User
 
ajp_anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stockholm/Helsinki
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
It doesn't rival it, it surpasses it in every possible area. OLED will improve and isn't going anywhere. Micro LED is still LED technology and has the same limitations. Not applicable to MadVR.
Define "LED technology". OLED is also using LED's, but they are organic, which gives them some disadvantages.
Micro-LED pretty much takes the best of both worlds and none of the bad things.
ajp_anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 13:58   #47954  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaBoS View Post
Hi thanks for your reply

outputting 4K So here's the problem

Yes true after many test (Intel ,NUC6CAYH) not power to run madVR on outputting 4K

- I change settings all scaling to lanczos

- And changed GPU settings to 1080p

Everything is good and I am satisfied with the results

(Screen shot , 1 - 2 )

My TV not support 24p Playback and any Judder-free (I will update them soon )

But with I felt much better With Play 24p Movies with madVR

Now do you recommend changing any settings in madVR ?

I change settings all scaling to (lanczos) Is this good or change it ?


Thanks .
try lanczos for everything, if most of your material is 1080p and good quality you will get a very decent picture anyway.

I'm currently using lanczos for chroma up, NGU sharp medium for image up.

I have a fairly high end machine and RX550 and mine struggles with anything beyond those settings. You get diminishing returns anyway the higher you go and if you are sat 8ft from your TV you wont see any difference anyway.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 14:13   #47955  |  Link
d3rd3vil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
I hope we'll be able to decode sometime in the future for better HDR.
Yeah we need a godlike programmer to reverse-engineer the stuff somehow. Doesnt look good at the moment

Last edited by d3rd3vil; 25th December 2017 at 14:32.
d3rd3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2017, 19:24   #47956  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajp_anton View Post
Define "LED technology". OLED is also using LED's, but they are organic, which gives them some disadvantages.
Micro-LED pretty much takes the best of both worlds and none of the bad things.
You know what what I mean, this is a standard term.
Best of both worlds? The response time and per pixel control? Nah.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 13:22   #47957  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by strumf666 View Post
HDR works on AMD. At least on Vega with today's crimson adrenalin drivers on fall's creators update, using PotPlayer.
Switching and playback, lav needs to be set to DXVA2 copyback or native d3d11 doesn't work. Not 100% stable though, switching between hdr and sdr (stopping playback or minimizing from fullscreen) can lock the player and/or os.
What vega do you have? Can you use the NGU sharp very high settings + other enhancements? Why don't you use D3D11 in LAV instead of DXVA2 copyback?
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 15:26   #47958  |  Link
strumf666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 94
Vega64, using D3D11 would freeze after a few frames, not sure why, as it works for SDR. I am pretty sure NGU very high was used, without enhancements; sadly I can't retest as I don't own a 4k+HDR display, this was just a one time opportunity to test.
strumf666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 22:49   #47959  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Going back to the finer granularity matter, as much as I'd like to try 1.5 "add grain" I'd also like to try 0.15 "enhance detail" if any possible please
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017, 22:51   #47960  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
0.15, what's the point? lol. Good luck.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.