Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th January 2017, 22:05   #42041  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
are you using a 3D LUT?
No, .icc / .icm profile in Displaycal Profile Loader.

I just want MadVR to NOT touch my Windows calibration for both my monitors, I don't even care about calibrated MadVR to be honest, just don't suddenly turn my Photoshop into 'uncalibrated photoshop' that's on another monitor while MadVR is running :S...

Last edited by dipje; 15th January 2017 at 01:03.
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 23:04   #42042  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
with default calibration setting it isn't unloading anything for my. you may have a look at this: http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=290
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 23:33   #42043  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Is there some way to control which gpu madvr is using?
Got a Geforce GTX 980 Ti, a Radeon RX 460 and an Intel HD Graphics 4600 in my system and I suspect that MadVR has some problem with the Radeon.
Since I added the Radeon my whole system crashes from time to time when I play content in MPC-HC while using MadVR.
Tried en-/disabling DX11 rending in MadVR but that didn't help.
So I was wondering if I could tell MadVR somehow to now use the Radeon?
madVR has to use the GPU the screen its on is connected to, everything else would be extremely inefficient.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 07:52   #42044  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
If you configure MadVR in the lowest overhead way possible i would say now it can reach EVR Native Performance

With MadVR and it's Statistics i also could find out that Nvidias Driver is doing something very oddly with it's Refreshrates 59Hz is shifting away after suspend got active here to 60Hz (Control Panel still shows 59Hz)

After the System goes into Suspend i have to reset the Refreshrate manually back to 59Hz with the used Driver, odd behavior here on my System, that i most probably without MadVR wouldn't be gotten aware off .

The very precise Refreshrate Display can be handy




Lowest overhead so far i could push out of MadVR, which results in a perfect stutter free playback result even on the CPU

Sad that the Tearing Test is not available for MadVR but at that Dance Motion you should realize any Motion Flow interruption in a ms most probably even before the timers actually catch them in that buffer and DWM Playout .


@madshi

could you make the Statistics timer pooling interval configurable (in a hidden advanced option) ?
And could you add Gothsyncs (EVR Sync Renderer) like Graph as a second Statistical visualization output ?




http://www.ostrogothia.com/video/?page_id=1218
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th January 2017 at 10:06.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 13:58   #42045  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,885
Quote:
madVR has to use the GPU the screen its on is connected to, everything else would be extremely inefficient.
okay, so if I move the window from on monitor to the other the gpu used during processing is changed?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 15:32   #42046  |  Link
Seedmanc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 88
Advanced chroma upscaling testing

So I got myself a capture card and as I was messing around with it, capturing the output of my videocard and sending it back to a videoplayer on the same screen, I noticed, that using different renderers for video output progressively degraded video quality as it was sent through the capture card and back to the player multiple times. Pretty much every renderer except for madVR affected quality in one way or another, ruining colors, making image too dark or too bright and so on. For example, this is how it looks for a generic "Video rendered" in Potplayer: image (leftmost image is the original, the further to the right - the more times the image went through the pipeline). Props to madshi for making quality software I guess.

Another thing I wanted to note is that since my capture card converts the video to YUY2 with horizontal chroma resolution halved, I thought it would be an interesting setup for testing chroma upscaling capabilities of madVR. Again, utilizing multiple passes to enhance the discrepancies, if any.
For example, here's how it looks without any resampling, just nearest neighbor: image (the chroma shift to the right is the capture card's doing).
And here's how Reconstruction (sharp) looks: image. This was most odd looking image out of all other methods. Also I couldn't quite see the difference between NNEDI 16 and NNEDI 256.

I'm sharing this so that maybe someone would find this method useful or develop a similar one for evaluation of madVR filtering.
Seedmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 15:57   #42047  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
I guess MadVR could even beat Furmark and become Reviewers choice of Stability testing

i really wonder what happens if i use NGU now instead



NGU is actually more stable then NEEDI3 in this specific CPU Decoding case

chroma/image dxva = 150W
chroma/image Lanczos4 = 300W
chroma NGU-Low = 300W
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th January 2017 at 17:31.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 16:03   #42048  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
Did anyone ever come up with a way to 'fake' black frame insertion @ 60Hz without crazy flickering and other weirdness? From what I understand proper BFI requires 24/120 and only inserting a black frame for a few miliseconds (like a projector) whilst repeating a frame. Simply inserting a black frame for 1 single frame can cause flickering? I'm sure this could be achieved if the input supported 120Hz but for 60Hz is another matter entirely.

I have a feeling it's just one of those things that can only be done on a 120Hz display though (in the display itself).

I have an LG OLED BTW.
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 17:56   #42049  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
If you configure MadVR in the lowest overhead way possible i would say now it can reach EVR Native Performance
madVR works different than any other video renderer in terms of queuing/drawing frames by really telling driver (or DWM?) to actually render ahead. As long as queues are filled, observed "overhead" is mostly just a theoretical observation which is not very interesting.
No one cares about a few percent more or less CPU usage when watching a video. Even if madVR would have a higher CPU usage, playback is still more stable than with other renderers, as long as you don't push anything to impractical limits.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 18:09   #42050  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Yes sure but the chroma and scaling part can be a really heavy burden on the System depending on the actual input and goal but everyone needs to decide this actually himself and MadVR gives those option to decide it but getting this really avg user friendly is a pretty daunting task.


DXVA Chroma = 150W



NGU-Low = 300W




In motion detecting the difference is like impossible, but the consequences are huge and there is nothing that makes aware of them in the GUI there is no indication about Performance and GPU Shader efficiency at all.

So it doesn't surprise me at all that many users actually experience dropped frames overall in some configuration overtasking their system for a very questionable gain.

The small CPU overhead compared to EVR-CP or EVR-Sync is pretty unproblematic as you said at least on Nvidias Driver
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th January 2017 at 18:52.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 18:49   #42051  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
and these power consumption number come from what?

even with a titan X it is going to be hard to reach 300 watt...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 19:12   #42052  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
and these power consumption number come from what?
I bet it's overall system consumption measured by PSU or external power meter.
But high CPU usage with madVR is weird thing. Looks like software decoding.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 19:25   #42053  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
130W
290W

What my Energy Provider is going to calculate with,not far off actually

And yes total system power still 2x as much is counted with Ngu-Low and the Shader usage also indicates it
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th January 2017 at 19:33.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 19:34   #42054  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Even in Germany power prices aren't so high that you'd have to worry about that, unless your media habits are quiet unhealthy...
And you are not even forced to do NGU chroma for 4k content. Jinc or eben bicubic might be well enough.
DXVA2 scaling and decoding are poison for image quality, we had this several times. If you don't care about quality, then, well, don't.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 20:17   #42055  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
Yeah i see though madshi did already improvements on the GUI logic Nearest Neighbour and Bilinear seem to be completely avoided and DXVA prefered only after that you can higher the Shader overhead like you wish and also the Ordering is actually in the Overhead order though NEEDi3 falls off somewhat being Compute and behaving differently.

Seeing that Lanczos4 overhead and knowing you get that on Intels GPU for free lets you also wonder why Nvidia isn't moving on.

It's pretty nice at just 140W roughly 10W above DXVA in it's MadVR Shader incarnation.




Ok so if image upscaling is DXVA2

changing chroma upscaling to Nearest Neighbour or Bilinear has no effect and stays on DXVA but if image upscaling is not DXVA2 it can be changed to either, interesting.
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 15th January 2017 at 21:23.
CruNcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 20:52   #42056  |  Link
YxP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
unless your media habits are quiet unhealthy...
Hahah Yes yes spam and everything.
YxP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2017, 21:55   #42057  |  Link
Buckster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 18
300W - what GPU is that with ?

I think I measured about 110W (will check later) base unit - from the wall power meter NGU-High (Xeon 1225v3 + overclocked 1050 Ti)
Buckster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2017, 01:33   #42058  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
4k playback is broken for me. GPU usage is at 99% but the card stays at low clock levels. More upsampling just increases render times. 1080 video plays fine. Decoder queue is at 128 but render queue is at 0-2.

It was working fine a couple of days ago. I don't remember for sure but I think it started after new nvidia drivers.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2017, 01:43   #42059  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,896
did you change the power settings back to adaptive.

you have to change this with every driver it is simply like that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2017, 05:23   #42060  |  Link
Arm3nian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
did you change the power settings back to adaptive.

you have to change this with every driver it is simply like that.
Seems to have solved it thanks. I guess they recently added the optimal power default setting, because it wasn't there before.
Arm3nian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.