Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th May 2016, 11:05   #38061  |  Link
ionutm80
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by QBhd View Post

Both workflows were able to keep up without dropped frames.
QB
Do you have some printscreens / pictures with madVR stats in both cases showing clock deviation?
For me the situation was different:
- x64 w/o ReClock, 1 frame drop every 19.48 minutes
- x86 w/. ReClock, 1 frame drop every 4.xx hours
for a 23.976 1080p blu-ray rip on a FullHD TV 60Hz with SVP in the middle interpolating to 59.94.
ionutm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 12:41   #38062  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 463
I was talking about actual dropped frames, not the estimated dropped frames based on the screen refresh rate and clock deviation...

Plus, that has nothing to do with what I was testing. I have an AMD card and can set custom resolutions and you can fine tune very close to the deviation. I will always have "hours" or more without dropped frames due to this, with or without ReClock. I was testing performance of madVR with x86 and x64 setups. If you don't have the tools to do custom resolutions (CRU, built in driver tools, custom monitor drivers, etc etc etc) then you will need to either need to use ReClock (limited to x86) or use SmoothMotion if you are concerned about the "dropped/repeated frames" estimate.

QB
__________________

Last edited by QBhd; 18th May 2016 at 12:48.
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 17:32   #38063  |  Link
Patrik G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Sweden
Posts: 58
how do you screw up the HDR metadata when you rip an UHD blu ray disc?
isnt the metadata baked into the video file?

if madvr doesnt detect hdr and wcg should mean that the metadata is lost right?

Last edited by Patrik G; 18th May 2016 at 17:34.
Patrik G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 17:57   #38064  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrik G View Post
how do you screw up the HDR metadata when you rip an UHD blu ray disc?
isnt the metadata baked into the video file?

if madvr doesnt detect hdr and wcg should mean that the metadata is lost right?
you have to ask the creator and there is still no way to rip UHD BDs.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 19:23   #38065  |  Link
MariaX9
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
Does it matter if im using MPC-HC or MPC-BE?
And do i need any other stuff like LAVfilter or ffdshow to get the best result out of MadVR?
MariaX9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 21:25   #38066  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,487
Quote:
Originally Posted by MariaX9 View Post
Does it matter if im using MPC-HC or MPC-BE?
And do i need any other stuff like LAVfilter or ffdshow to get the best result out of MadVR?
No, you can use any directshow player. Lav expose couple of info that maybe other filters won't for madvr (3d, hdr, etc), so it's a safe bet to go for lav.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 22:25   #38067  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by MariaX9 View Post
Does it matter if im using MPC-HC or MPC-BE?
And do i need any other stuff like LAVfilter or ffdshow to get the best result out of MadVR?
LAVfilter is a needed companion for madVR. To my knowledge it is the only filter that passes flags to madVR, otherwise a lot of assumptions are made. Those assumptions are often correct but it is much better to use the stream information if it is available.

However LAV has been integrated into MPC-HC and MPC-BE so you do not need to install anything else.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 22:33   #38068  |  Link
castaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 7
Hello everyone

Any developer here ?
I have a player project, and would need to use mvrInterfaces but from the .NET library

I would mostly appreciate any help here, as I'm not a c++ developper (mvrInterfaces.h in c++).
(I tryed to compile it, adding CLR option, I could add it to my project but can't use the dll afterward).



Last edited by castaway; 18th May 2016 at 22:37.
castaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 23:03   #38069  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
LAVfilter is a needed companion for madVR. To my knowledge it is the only filter that passes flags to madVR, otherwise a lot of assumptions are made. Those assumptions are often correct but it is much better to use the stream information if it is available.

However LAV has been integrated into MPC-HC and MPC-BE so you do not need to install anything else.
mpc-be has not integrated lavfilter.

mpc-be internal filter can't deal with ordered chapter while lavfilter can.
lavfilter can't deal with very exotic PS2 videos that are using a "special" type of PCM. the audio is ignored in this case while mpc-be internal filter can play them with audio.

these are just things i know the list should be way longer.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2016, 23:38   #38070  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by castaway View Post
Hello everyone

Any developer here ?
I have a player project, and would need to use mvrInterfaces but from the .NET library

I would mostly appreciate any help here, as I'm not a c++ developper (mvrInterfaces.h in c++).
(I tryed to compile it, adding CLR option, I could add it to my project but can't use the dll afterward).


If you look back a long while ago in the thread, I posted some prelim C# "libs" that get you a good ways there. IIRC, there was not subtitle control, but settings and such where all there. If you can't find it, let me know and I'll try to dig it up from some archives...Should prolly just put it out on github or something...
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 05:17   #38071  |  Link
Stereodude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Region 0
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this is luck because the audio clock can be totally different from system to system.

my r9 270 has an pretty good looking clock too but it doesn't match the audio clock what so ever.
I'm using HDMI for audio and usually bitstreaming... Maybe that matters. It worked equally well with the LGA775 Nvidia based board as it does in my Haswell i3.
Stereodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 10:17   #38072  |  Link
markanini
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Fixed it for me
markanini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 10:38   #38073  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by markanini View Post
Fixed it for me
I also had issues when I went back to an x86 player with madVR crashing, remembered madshi's post, and it fixed it for me as well.

Odd how I didn't need this fix with the x64 player though...

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 14:00   #38074  |  Link
castaway
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by noee View Post
If you look back a long while ago in the thread, I posted some prelim C# "libs" that get you a good ways there. IIRC, there was not subtitle control, but settings and such where all there. If you can't find it, let me know and I'll try to dig it up from some archives...Should prolly just put it out on github or something...
Thanks a lot noee, I will search for it and let you know
Settings like image enhancement are the most important for me to start
castaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 15:49   #38075  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 417
I created a custom resolution on my HTPC (Win 8.1 x64, Nvidia GTX660). It got accepted as 60, although it was for 59.940 (more 59.941 in my case, including clock deviation adjustment).

BUT

But apparently madVR, with FSE and DirectX11 path, decides to use the old 59 frequency from standard Nvidia Control Panel. A resolution I have no way of selecting manually, mind. And if I switch to Windowed DX11 or DX9 (both FSE and Windowed), madVR picks the correct resolution/refresh, the custom one I've created (which gives a repeat every 5.55 hours or so).

Why the heck are custom resolutions so fricking complicated?!?!? :stare:

Using Nvidia I would surely love for a "for dummies" guide to CRU. I've tried using it in the past but I never understand how to.

Alternatively, what do I have to lose most from? Switching from DX11 FSE to DX11 Windowed or to DX9 FSE? In both cases I lose 10 bit rendering but what else?

Last edited by ashlar42; 19th May 2016 at 16:10.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 16:14   #38076  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
you are only loosing 10 bit output.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 17:23   #38077  |  Link
Phantasmagorie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
The installed XySubFilter version is updated

Just updated both madVR and XySubfilter, and now mpc's OSD is telling me that XySubFilter is outdated, even though I'm running the latest beta version, any ideas?
Phantasmagorie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 17:28   #38078  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,495
Can you make a screenshot of the error message? What versions of MPC-HC, madVR and XySubFilter are you using exactly (i.e. the numbers, not "latest")?

I have no problems using MPC-HC x64 1.7.10.207, madVR 0.90.19 and XySubFilter 3.1.0.746.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 17:29   #38079  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,889
which version of xy subfilter is loaded?

you can check the version under about in the xy subfilter properties.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2016, 17:52   #38080  |  Link
Phantasmagorie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
madvR v0.90.19 & xySubFilter3.1.0.746 BETA3 (shows as 3.1.0.705 in "About")
Attached Images
 
Phantasmagorie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.