Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 4th August 2015, 05:46   #32381  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
It does share resources with other operation. But it is hard to say if it is demanding, really Depends on the GPU. you can use some cheaper upscaler as a trade off. Doubling 1080p then downscaling is by no mean a cheap operation. Maybe you are on the edge of the performance, who knows. You can probably find some kind of combo to fit Smooth motion in.

Sent from my 306SH
I think you're right. On videos less than 900px height, the queues fill up with smooth motion on. Time to update the doubling profile...

Last edited by dansrfe; 4th August 2015 at 06:25.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 07:57   #32382  |  Link
ryokoseigo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
So I haven't seen anything posted about this, so I figure I'll ask:
Since windows 10(latest nvidia driver) madvr wont work on my 4k screen in fullscreen. When I make it fullscreen and press play it crashes the display driver. If I move the video to a second 1080p monitor it will run fine in fullscreen. I have tried various settings, exclusive fullscreen, that dx11 option etc and nothing seems to work.

It was an issue with an older version of madvr I was using, and I updated thinking that was the issue to the latest but that didn't fix the issue either.

Any suggestions? Is this perhaps some wonky driver issue? I was considering doing a clean driver install, although it kinda seems like win10 was a clean driver install since it starts with no drivers...
ryokoseigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 16:45   #32383  |  Link
RyuzakiL
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 36
Clean Installed Win10 on AMD HD7850

It seems DXVA2-CB is broken on Madvr using Win10, screen freezes while watching a movie with it on and crashes madvr, but if I set it to None it plays smoothly. So I guess Win10 is still a buggy mess.

I should have listened to the old saying, "If ain't broken, don't fix it." And settled on using the still solid and stable Windows 7.

Win10 on AMD HD7850, FX8320@4.3ghz

Last edited by RyuzakiL; 4th August 2015 at 17:20.
RyuzakiL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 16:49   #32384  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
DXVA2-CB works well here with Maxwell GPU on Win 10.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 17:21   #32385  |  Link
RyuzakiL
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 36
Update: Issues (Madvr on Win10)

Update: Issues (Madvr on Win10)

- While tinkering with SuperRes, my screen froze again and crashed Madvr. So DXVA2 is not the prime suspect, I think Win10 handles Madvr differently than Win7 or Win8. The same settings that I use with Win7 and Win8 doesn't work stably with Win10 anymore or better yet Madvr is not stable with Win10.

- My usual profile for FullHD movies, that doesn't trigger AMD crossfire (S-XBR150+Catmull-Rom+JincAR+SuperRes3/0.66) now with Win10 AMD crossfire now stupidly turns on, wasting power. (Pls. don't advice the AMD CCC and make a profile for Madvr to disable Crossfire, cause that doesn't work for ages.)

Or I guess AMD's Catalyst driver is to blame here again. (AMD Catalyst 15.7.1)

Last edited by RyuzakiL; 4th August 2015 at 17:23.
RyuzakiL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 17:28   #32386  |  Link
cca
Anime Otaku
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Somewhere in Cyberspace...
Posts: 437
I have the same driver version and using Windows 10 but none of these problems. But I have an older AMD card (Radeon 5850) and no crossfire.

Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk
__________________
AMD FX8350 on Gigabyte GA-970A-D3 / 8192 MB DDR3-1600 SDRAM / AMD R9 285 with Catalyst 1.5.9.1/ Asus Xonar D2X / Windows 10 pro 64bit
cca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 17:35   #32387  |  Link
fedpul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 94
I'm here to report a bug: madVR isn't working with JR Media Center since a couple of versions. I'm trying to track down the issue to the version when it started crashing. It crashes just when you hit play button. No problem with MPC-HC so far. Thanks in advance.
fedpul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 17:51   #32388  |  Link
RyuzakiL
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 36
Update: Issues (Madvr on Win10)

Additional Issues

- Neither DX11 10bit FSE nor DX11 8bit Windowed FS works, both leads to screen freezing while watching and madvr crashing.

- Tried using DXVA2-CB and DXVA2-Native and Pure Software decode still leads to screen freezing and madvr crashing.

- Tried conservative Madvr settings, even at 13ms of rendering. Screen freezes and Madvr crashes.

-Tried using the report tool of Madvr but it doesn't work too, my goodness.


Lesson learned: Will gonna revert back to Win7. Win10 brought headaches and wasted my precious movie marathon time.

Madvr will not benefit on using DX12 so there's no reason to switch to Win10 unless you want to tinker with privacy settings first and learn dirty hacks to disable feedback. Games will utilize DX12 maybe next year and even then Games that are released are crappy at release (AC Unity comes to mind) so another months of waiting for the game to be functional and stable. So I guess I'm not missing anything by using Windows 7 for another year.
RyuzakiL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 18:03   #32389  |  Link
fedpul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
I'm here to report a bug: madVR isn't working with JR Media Center since a couple of versions. I'm trying to track down the issue to the version when it started crashing. It crashes just when you hit play button. No problem with MPC-HC so far. Thanks in advance.
Well, I tracked the error. It started at 88.17 and continues up to the latest release. Going back to 88.16 fixes the issue. It seems to be related to OSD or Low Latency Mode. I also noticed that with 88.16 it uses my OC clocks on GPU while it uses stock clocks with latest release.
fedpul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 18:08   #32390  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
Well, I tracked the error. It started at 88.17 and continues up to the latest release. Going back to 88.16 fixes the issue. It seems to be related to OSD or Low Latency Mode. I also noticed that with 88.16 it uses my OC clocks on GPU while it uses stock clocks with latest release.
0.88.21 works fine here in JRMC. Make sure you use the latest verison of JRMC as well, as it got some improvements in how it handles newer madVR versions.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 18:08   #32391  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
Well, I tracked the error. It started at 88.17 and continues up to the latest release. Going back to 88.16 fixes the issue. It seems to be related to OSD or Low Latency Mode. I also noticed that with 88.16 it uses my OC clocks on GPU while it uses stock clocks with latest release.
You need to report more info.....card, driver, OS, etc.

I'm running jRMC 20 right now, no issues so far with madVR and Win10.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 18:43   #32392  |  Link
fedpul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 94
Software
Player: JRMC 20.0.131 in Windows 7 64 Bits. Lav Filters 0.65
GPU Driver: 15.7.1

Hardware:
Intel i5 3570k @4.2Ghz
HD 7870 OC @ 1100/1375Mhz
16Gb RAM @ 1600Mhz

No settings changed between madVR version comparison.
Using:
Chroma: Jinc AR
Image: Jinc AR
Downscaling: CR AR LL
Doubling: NNEDI 32 @ 1.5x or higher
ED 2

If you need more info pls tell me.
fedpul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 19:31   #32393  |  Link
noee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
Software
Player: JRMC 20.0.131 in Windows 7 64 Bits. Lav Filters 0.65
GPU Driver: 15.7.1

Hardware:
Intel i5 3570k @4.2Ghz
HD 7870 OC @ 1100/1375Mhz
16Gb RAM @ 1600Mhz

No settings changed between madVR version comparison.
Using:
Chroma: Jinc AR
Image: Jinc AR
Downscaling: CR AR LL
Doubling: NNEDI 32 @ 1.5x or higher
ED 2

If you need more info pls tell me.
Well, I would make it crash and then send the crash report to madshi. Meantime, try resetting your madVR settings to defaults, see what happens.
__________________
Win7Ult || RX560/4G || Ryzen 5
noee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 21:21   #32394  |  Link
fedpul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 94
I will do that, could you please give me instructions about how to send crash report? Thanks in advance
fedpul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 21:50   #32395  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
FWIW, SuperRes is still not "finished". There's one change I plan to do for the next build, which will change the look of the image slightly again (but not too much). Furthermore I will probably increase the radius by default which should get rid of most aliasing problems.
One thing's for sure, .15's SR is aliasing-land compared to .21 and HQ is indeed softer(maybe/prolly even softer than the source as another LQ lover put it) but LQ looks quite artificial and even more so when fuelling sxbr(as opposed to the softer looking NEDI). HQ makes the picture softer but that might very well help hiding upscaled compression artifacts actually. J3AR looks soft but it looks more natural too, people don't look quite as sharp as sxbr150 IRL

You provide us with a zillion combinations of filters and sometimes one can easily get bored of an audio/video DSP after the new toy syndrom's faded away duh, anyway atm I still find the stock SR in .21 too sharp even with a strength of 1, a radius of 65 and in HQ mode at that.

All my tests were done on pristine looking 720p50 content, anyway sxbr+SR will tighten up SD content with little worry.

I rest my case that I love how SR smoothes motion-blur but today's tests kinda directed me towards giving up on luma SR and using vanilla sxbr50/75 luma & sxbr125+3/0.41/0.00 SR chroma as I do get the same magical motion-blur smoothing, no über-sharp luma and it'll work on any content as chroma always needs upscaling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
It's an interesting test picture because even NNEDI3-256 still has noticeable aliasing in some image areas. Of course SuperRes doesn't improve on that.
If anything I'm glad I found some very nasty test pictures so you can continue to find cures to aliasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyuzakiL View Post
gonna revert back to Win7. Win10 brought headaches and wasted my precious movie.
mVR wasn't tested by madshi on W10 at all. You can always count on AMD and nvidia to fail us when all they care about is squeezing +0.1fps in the latest blockbuster games in order to sell moar. W7 lives on and works flawlessly, too good

Last edited by leeperry; 5th August 2015 at 03:10.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2015, 23:05   #32396  |  Link
Hprd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Win 10 has been ok on this end (gtx 770, latest NVidia drivers). Aside from nnedi3 not working (which I don't use anyways, as xbr + sr looks great) the only issue I've noticed is that when using dx11 10 bit, switching from FSE back to windowed overrides any color corrections, it's fine when first switching to FSE (or it does the same as having "disable GPU gamma ramps" checked, except it doesn't restore the original settings after madvr closes). Dx9 FSE or dx11 8 bit don't do this (they keep the driver or w/e color settings no matter how many times you switch). This may be a driver issue though, as there's weirdness related to this outside of madvr.

Last edited by Hprd; 4th August 2015 at 23:07.
Hprd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 02:17   #32397  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
I'm here to report a bug: madVR isn't working with JR Media Center since a couple of versions. I'm trying to track down the issue to the version when it started crashing. It crashes just when you hit play button. No problem with MPC-HC so far. Thanks in advance.
JRMC has its own madVR folder. Have you copied the latest version into that folder? Just do a search for "madvr.ax" to find it, it's in a User folder on the C: drive.

JRMC works fine for me with the latest madVR versions.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 03:47   #32398  |  Link
theonepugna
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Sorry for asking but now that NNEDI3 isn't working with the latest NVIDIA driver, what could I replace it with for viewing anime and other cartoon shows?
theonepugna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 04:38   #32399  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by theonepugna View Post
Sorry for asking but now that NNEDI3 isn't working with the latest NVIDIA driver, what could I replace it with for viewing anime and other cartoon shows?
You should really look back a few pages.. this has been mentioned numerous times already.

Just downgrade to 353.49 and wait for Nvidia to fix it in newer drivers.

Disable third party updates Under system properties - Hardware tab - Device installation settings.

Set to No, let me choose what to do
Never install driver software from Windows update

That should sort you out.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 05:25   #32400  |  Link
Akeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
You should really look back a few pages.. this has been mentioned numerous times already.

Just downgrade to 353.49 and wait for Nvidia to fix it in newer drivers.

Disable third party updates Under system properties - Hardware tab - Device installation settings.

Set to No, let me choose what to do
Never install driver software from Windows update

That should sort you out.
Is that to defer driver updates permanently or just temporarily?
Akeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.