Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th November 2013, 07:18   #21021  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weirdo View Post
I often get this problem with smooth motion in windowed mode. It'll go away if I enter full screen exclusive, but in windowed mode it's quite common.
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That are really weird(o) artifacts. Try increasing the GPU queue size, the number of backbuffers and the number of pre-presented frames. Also try deactivating the "render in a separate device" option (or however it was named). Does any of that help?
I've had that before, If I remember rightly the queue size is the culprit here.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 11:33   #21022  |  Link
antoine.brisebard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
was able to decrease slightly number of dropped and delayed frames by changing those settings:
gpu queue 8 -> 10
backbuffers 4 -> 6
frames in advance 4 -> 6

regards!
antoine.brisebard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 12:10   #21023  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Accepted are almost any pixel formats you can think of (or that I found documentation for). Preferred are planar formats like:

4:2:0, 8bit: NV12, YV12
4:2:2, 8bit: YV16
4:4:4, 8bit: YV24
4:2:0, 10/16bit: P010/P016
4:2:2, 10/16bit: P210/P216

For these madVR has built in SSE2 handling routines. For the other pixel formats slower C++ code is used atm. Unfortunately there's no planar 4:4:4 10/16bit format (that I know of).
I tested AYUV and YV24. And I haven't seen advantages in YV24 processing speed.

Intel i5-3750K, Win7 x64.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 12:48   #21024  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,818
AYUV is bad because EVR accepts AYUV, but it fails at properly processing it (its extremely slow, on some GPUs no image at all), so thats why YV24 is preferred for me. Not to mention that a decoder typically outputs planar video, and conversion to AYUV requires manual labor.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 15:07   #21025  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by antoine.brisebard View Post
was able to decrease slightly number of dropped and delayed frames by changing those settings:
gpu queue 8 -> 10
backbuffers 4 -> 6
frames in advance 4 -> 6
I'd still recommend to try to make FSE mode work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
I tested AYUV and YV24. And I haven't seen advantages in YV24 processing speed.
Hmmmm... Wait a moment, YV24 does not have an SSE2 routine yet in madVR (except if the user activates DXVA2 scaling), that's my mistake. But YV24 is much more likely to get an SSE2 routine than AYUV in the future. Planar is much preferred here, because some current and future algorithms (e.g. fade in/out detection) work on the luma channel, only, and that's so much easier with planar formats.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 20:01   #21026  |  Link
cvrkuth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 49
Display modes

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Your log file indicates that the display mode is reported as 1080p24 when madVR starts rendering. And madVR knows that 24Hz is what you need, so it doesn't touch the display mode. Then madVR goes into fullscreen exclusive mode, telling Direct3D9 to use 24Hz. It seems that in your case Direct3D9 ignores madVR's wish and switches to 23.976Hz instead. That would be a bug in Windows/Direct3D9. I've already implemented some hacks to fix this problem with Intel GPUs, but it's possible that this fix doesn't work with AMD/NVidia GPUs, I'm not sure. Feel free to add a bug report to the madVR bug tracker about this problem, if there isn't one already. Maybe if I find some time I'll see if I can workaround the problem with AMD/NVidia GPUs, too. It's not a madVR bug, though, but a bug in Windows or Direct3D9 or in the GPU drivers. madVR clearly requests 24.000Hz, according to the log.
Thanks for answering my question. I hope, You'll find solution for this annoying thing.
__________________
Intel Core i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, RAM 32 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24),
Panasonic TX-P42G20E, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970, Win 10 Pro x64,
PotPlayer 1.7.16291 64-bit, madVR v0.92.17
cvrkuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 23:08   #21027  |  Link
Xaurus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
What happens if you enable deband, but choose the same settings for both deband options? Does that also make the problem go away? Another question: What happens if you use Lanczos instead of Jinc? Does that make the problem go away?
I have no idea what's changed, but instead of using the shortcut key for toggling deband, I went into madvr processing options and set both to medium. I had not gone into those options before. If there's a difference somewhere, I don't know about it. But now the problem is gone, no matter what algorithm I use.

Thanks madshi.
__________________
SETUP: Win 10, MPC-HC, LAV, MadVR
HARDWARE: Corsair 400Q | Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5 | Noctua NH-U9S | SuperMicro X11SSZ-TLN4F | Samsung 2x8GB DDR4 ECC | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | MSI GTX 1060 | EVGA G2 750
Xaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 23:19   #21028  |  Link
Weirdo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That are really weird(o) artifacts. Try increasing the GPU queue size, the number of backbuffers and the number of pre-presented frames. Also try deactivating the "render in a separate device" option (or however it was named). Does any of that help?
Thanks a lot. It happens on both my PC's (HD5670-GT240). Increasing backbuffers seems to do the trick, I'll test some more.
Weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 23:19   #21029  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaurus View Post
I have no idea what's changed, but instead of using the shortcut key for toggling deband, I went into madvr processing options and set both to medium. I had not gone into those options before. If there's a difference somewhere, I don't know about it. But now the problem is gone, no matter what algorithm I use.
So what happens if you go back and use different settings both those 2 deband options in the settings dialog again? Does the problem come back? If so, please create a debug log with frame drops in it, caused by those deband configuration, and upload it for me to look it somewhere (zipped, please).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weirdo View Post
Thanks a lot. It happens on both my PC's (HD5670-GT240). Increasing backbuffers seems to do the trick, I'll test some more.
I guess I should check out how many buffers are needed and force them. Can you please double check how many backbuffers you need exactly for the problem to go away?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2013, 23:42   #21030  |  Link
Xaurus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
So what happens if you go back and use different settings both those 2 deband options in the settings dialog again? Does the problem come back? If so, please create a debug log with frame drops in it, caused by those deband configuration, and upload it for me to look it somewhere (zipped, please).
Yes you are right, I set it to "low" then "medium" and now the problem is back.

Ok so I couldn't find a debug .ax in the madVRanotherTestBuild2.rar package. So I tried the one from 0.86.11 but that didn't seem to work properly as I got no dropped frames according to the debug OSD, even if the processing options are still there and set to "low" and "medium". Switching back to the madVRanotherTestBuild2 .ax makes the dropped frames appear again in the debug OSD.

Is there another way of getting this debug log now that I don't know of?

Thanks.
__________________
SETUP: Win 10, MPC-HC, LAV, MadVR
HARDWARE: Corsair 400Q | Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5 | Noctua NH-U9S | SuperMicro X11SSZ-TLN4F | Samsung 2x8GB DDR4 ECC | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | MSI GTX 1060 | EVGA G2 750
Xaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 00:25   #21031  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Ah sorry, I forgot that I didn't upload a debug madVR.ax version. Will do that for the next test build (if there is one). Would be great to get a debug log then.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 16:37   #21032  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,193
@madshi
I have problems with YV16 in madVR. But it is not clear reason in decoder or renderer.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2013, 17:44   #21033  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
That are really weird(o) artifacts. Try increasing the GPU queue size, the number of backbuffers and the number of pre-presented frames. Also try deactivating the "render in a separate device" option (or however it was named). Does any of that help?
I had some problems too with windowed mode and smooth motion, especially with complex videos (10bit 444 high bitrate...).
It was a good idea then to mess with the flush settings.
However, I can't recall if this was mostly regarding dropped frames (haven't watched videos in windowed mode for a long time).
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2013, 20:01   #21034  |  Link
Xaurus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ah sorry, I forgot that I didn't upload a debug madVR.ax version. Will do that for the next test build (if there is one). Would be great to get a debug log then.
Hi madshi,

No worries. I'll be sure to provide it to you if you decided to release a new test build.
__________________
SETUP: Win 10, MPC-HC, LAV, MadVR
HARDWARE: Corsair 400Q | Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5 | Noctua NH-U9S | SuperMicro X11SSZ-TLN4F | Samsung 2x8GB DDR4 ECC | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | MSI GTX 1060 | EVGA G2 750
Xaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2013, 00:21   #21035  |  Link
Weirdo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I guess I should check out how many buffers are needed and force them. Can you please double check how many backbuffers you need exactly for the problem to go away?
Typically, the issue now refuses to show up again. I remember it disappearing immediately, by increasing backbuffers from 3 to 4 (windowed settings).
Weirdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2013, 11:21   #21036  |  Link
annovif
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 41
Settings the level for the best quality in Bluray

Hi , i know that with an HTPC i've got to output in RGB (4:4:4) 0-255 for the best quality , and in the catalyst control panel i've setted it (RGB full). About the level I've got coreavc that can set the input level and the output level separately 0-255 or 16-235 . Now , i know that the Blu ray level is 16-235 , so i have setted the coreavc input level in 16-235 . About the output level i want coreavc untouch the signal level and i've setted it to 16-235 too .
In the final In madvr i've setted 0-255 . Is this all ok for the best quality? Or have i to set 0-255 madvr and coreavc too ?

Thank you, Fabio

Last edited by annovif; 3rd December 2013 at 17:34.
annovif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 00:57   #21037  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,909
Quote:
Originally Posted by annovif View Post
Hi , i know that with an HTPC i've got to output in RGB (4:4:4) 0-255 for the best quality , and in the catalyst control panel i've setted it (RGB full). About the level I've got coreavc that can set the input level and the output level separately 0-255 or 16-235 . Now , i know that the Blu ray level is 16-235 , so i have setted the coreavc input level in 16-235 . About the output level i want coreavc untouch the signal level and i've setted it to 16-235 too .
In the final In madvr i've setted 0-255 . Is this all ok for the best quality? Or have i to set 0-255 madvr and coreavc too ?

Thank you, Fabio
first of all what is your tv a lot of tvs can't handle 0-255
just test it.
http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/black.php

normally just let everything at default i don't use coreavc because i don't see a reason lav filter is totally fine for me.
there are settings like 0-255 16-235 too but they do nothing with a bd source except you change the output color spaces types too... and this should be the same with coreavc.

just leave your hands from those options and everything will run perfectly madvr gets untouched 16-235 nv12 and takes care of the rest
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 10:27   #21038  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Are there settings for changing the black/white levels in the settings dialog along with the keyboard shortcuts? Also, does changing them adjust the top and bottom of the gamma curve?
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 13:35   #21039  |  Link
Prot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
ask

may i ask is there any x64 release of this VR?
Prot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2013, 14:41   #21040  |  Link
PetitDragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prot View Post
may i ask.....?
No, you may not.












PetitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.