Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Programming and Hacking > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th November 2010, 14:09   #21  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyumeow View Post
Hi LM, the drop down menu has shown three arrows (2 up and 1 down), would it be better with 2 only (1 up and 1 down), just my little suggestion.


Please ignore me if I have hinder your progress. Thanks.
That's simply how the "Plastique" Qt style looks

I have no control over how the standard controls look in particular. And I'm certainly not planning to write my own Qt style

If you don't like how the "Plastique" style looks, you can switch to "Cleanlooks" or native "Windows" style
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 9th November 2010 at 00:07.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2010, 06:12   #22  |  Link
boyumeow
Registered User
 
boyumeow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 143
Haha, it look nice for me too, just abit uneasy with 3arrows ;p. I thought the styles was your control, not mine. Anyway, this kind of look like "Cleanlooks" to me (not fussy, simple, easy, straight forward, clean look, etc...). Thanks.
boyumeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 01:08   #23  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Today I managed to create a "static" build. So now have a single "stand-alone" EXE file, just like in the old v3.xx series. Also the "Meta Data" tab has been implemented.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 18:30   #24  |  Link
ckmox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 136
wow it looks fancy too bad im bad at C++ or C in general as it has pointers that i dont understand

but anyway is their a way to hide the console or command prompt while running it?
ckmox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 18:35   #25  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckmox View Post
but anyway is their a way to hide the console or command prompt while running it?
Not yet. But the final version won't have a console (by default), of course
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2010, 18:39   #26  |  Link
ckmox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Not yet. But the final version won't have a console (by default), of course
ah kk thanks ill watch this thread for the final release
ckmox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2010, 22:53   #27  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Getting LAME to handle Unicode filenames and tags was harder than I though

Apparently the current LAME v3.98 release version doesn't support Unicode at all (at least on Windows), so I had to compile a LAME v3.99 Alpha build from the sources.

As a result MP3 encoding should work now. But currently only WAV and MP3 files will work as source, as the decoders aren't "activated" yet...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 15th November 2010 at 23:01.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2010, 23:45   #28  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,323
Errrrm....

Any chance you could add AC3 encoding? Best mate!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2010, 00:04   #29  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Errrrm....

Any chance you could add AC3 encoding? Best mate!
Should be possible to integrate Aften. But there are many other things I need to finish first, before integrating new features...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 11:20   #30  |  Link
boyumeow
Registered User
 
boyumeow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 143

Is this correct at the moment for Nero AAC encoder, console show found but process failed. I have the required files in the folder.


And what is this .
, thanks and enjoy yourself.
boyumeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 21:02   #31  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyumeow View Post

Is this correct at the moment for Nero AAC encoder, console show found but process failed. I have the required files in the folder.
Nope, it's not correct. That works for me (tested on WinXP and Win7). I will try to add more detailed error output...

(I have to ask: You are 100% sure your "NeroAacEnc.exe" works?)


Quote:
Originally Posted by boyumeow View Post

And what is this .
, thanks and enjoy yourself.
That's the upcoming "encoding" dialog. In the current build it doesn't do much yet. It's merely a mockup at the moment
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 18th November 2010 at 21:19.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 11:27   #32  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
Nope, it's not correct. That works for me (tested on WinXP and Win7). I will try to add more detailed error output...

(I have to ask: You are 100% sure your "NeroAacEnc.exe" works?)
This happens for me also. On both my Windows7 PC's.

I copied all three Nero ".exe" files from my LameXP v3.18 Hotfix-2 Build 88 folder...

Code:
LameXP - Audio Encoder Front-End
Version 4.00 TechPreview, Build 40 [2010-11-18], MSVC compiler v15.00
Copyright (C) 2004-2010 LoRd_MuldeR <MuldeR2@GMX.de>

This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License <http://www.gnu.org/>.
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.

CPU brand string:           Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU  230   @ 1.60GHz
CPU signature:     Family: 6, Model: 28, Stepping: 2
CPU capabilities:  MMX: 1, SSE: 1, SSE2: 1, SSE3: 1, SSSE3: 1, x64: 0
CPU no. of cores:  2

Using Qt Framework v4.7.1, compiled with Qt v4.7.1
Running on Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2.

Library Path:
C:/Program Files/LameXP v4.00 TechPreview [Build #40]

Note: This demo (pre-release) version of LameXP will expire at 2010-12-02.

Thread is doing something important... Done

Extracting file: alac.exe
Extracting file: faad.exe
Extracting file: flac.exe
Extracting file: gpgv.exe
Extracting file: lame.exe
Extracting file: MAC.exe
Extracting file: mediainfo_icl11.exe
Extracting file: mpcdec.exe
Extracting file: mpg123.exe
Extracting file: oggdec.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_gen.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_p4.exe
Extracting file: selfdelete.exe
Extracting file: shorten.exe
Extracting file: speexdec.exe
Extracting file: takc.exe
Extracting file: ttaenc.exe
Extracting file: valdec.exe
Extracting file: volumax.exe
Extracting file: wget.exe
Extracting file: wupdate.exe
Extracting file: wvunpack.exe
All extracted.

Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/Program Files/LameXP v4.00 TechPreview [Build #40]/neroAacEnc.exe

Nero process failed to create!
Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"

Thread is doing something important... Done
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 13:23   #33  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Hmmmm, this hardly makes any sense:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Code:
Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/Program Files/LameXP v4.00 TechPreview [Build #40]/neroAacEnc.exe

Nero process failed to create!
Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"
We check first for the existence of the 'neroAacEnc.exe' and only if it does exist we try to execute it

So the only way for this to happen is that the 'neroAacEnc.exe' disappeared during the three nanoseconds between the file.exists() and the process.start().

This of course is EXTREMELY unlikely. So are you sure that you aren't fooled by a buggy A/V software?

(Anyway, I added yet another check that will check for the existence of the file once again after the process failed to create. Just to be sure...)


By the way: Do other features that involve creating a process work for you? What about MediaInfo and LAME?

For example: Can you open files on the "Source Files" tab and get the correct meta info? Can you encode files to the MP3 format by clicking "Encode Now!" button?


By the way 2.0: My main development machine is running Windows 7 too, so this can't be a portability issue either.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 19th November 2010 at 19:14.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 03:35   #34  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Okay, moving towards a first alpha release:

MP3 encoding should work alright now - in the progress window and with multiple instances running in parallel.

Still only Wave and MP3 files will be handled as input. Getting some decoders to work is the next step...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 20th November 2010 at 03:39.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 14:24   #35  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 817
Code:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital 

Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/Program Files/LameXP v4.00 TechPreview [Build #40]/neroAacEnc.exe

Nero process failed to create!
Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"

Same here.
LameXP v4.00 TechPreview [Build #50]
WinXP Pro 32bit
And yes, verified the Nero files are in the root folder of Lame XP...
The same files are working with your v3.18 Hotfix-2, Build 88
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 14:38   #36  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
What is the message after "Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"?

Also, do you use any A/V software that might mess with the program? And do MediaInfo and LAME fail too or only NeroAAC ???

If this is not caused by third-party software (e.g. buggy A/V software), it can only be cause by a bug in either Qt or the Windows operating system.

However the problem doesn't show up on any of my test systems, strangely enough...

--[EDIT]--

Wait! If you rename the install folder to "C:\LameXP" or something else that does NOT contain any white-spaces, is the problem resolved ???
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 20th November 2010 at 15:27.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 16:09   #37  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Darn! I think the mystery is resolved:

There actually are two versions of the QProcess.start() function: One which takes only a single string (complete command-line) and one which takes a string (path to EXE) plus a string-list (command-line arguments). In all places I always used the second one, except for the Nero version check, where I implicitly used the first one, as there were no arguments to pass. Unfortunately it turns out that while the second version correctly wraps all arguments which contain white-spaces into quotes (including the path to the EXE file!), the first version does NOT do so. For this reason Windows couldn't find the Nero executable, if (and only if) the install path contains any white-spaces. I will now enforce the use of the second version also for the Nero executable and the problem should be gone once and for all...

(BTW: Of course on my test system I always put the executables into "C:\Test" and thus the problem never showed up. That's life.)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 16:20   #38  |  Link
Taurus
Registered User
 
Taurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Krautland
Posts: 817
Code:
LameXP - Audio Encoder Front-End
Version 4.00 TechPreview, Build 50 [2010-11-20], MSVC compiler v15.00
Copyright (C) 2004-2010 LoRd_MuldeR <MuldeR2@GMX.de>

This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License <http://www.gnu.org/>.
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.

CPU brand string:  AMD Athlon(tm) processor
CPU signature:     Family: 6, Model: 10, Stepping: 0
CPU capabilities:  MMX: 1, SSE: 1, SSE2: 0, SSE3: 0, SSSE3: 0, x64: 0
CPU no. of cores:  1

Using Qt Framework v4.7.1, compiled with Qt v4.7.1
Running on Windows XP.


Library Path:
C:/Audio/Lame XP

Note: This demo (pre-release) version of LameXP will expire at 2010-12-04.

Thread is doing something important... Done

Extracting file: alac.exe
Extracting file: faad.exe
Extracting file: flac.exe
Extracting file: gpgv.exe
Extracting file: lame.exe
Extracting file: MAC.exe
Extracting file: mediainfo_icl11.exe
Extracting file: mpcdec.exe
Extracting file: mpg123.exe
Extracting file: oggdec.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_gen.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_p4.exe
Extracting file: selfdelete.exe
Extracting file: shorten.exe
Extracting file: speexdec.exe
Extracting file: takc.exe
Extracting file: ttaenc.exe
Extracting file: valdec.exe
Extracting file: volumax.exe
Extracting file: wget.exe
Extracting file: wupdate.exe
Extracting file: wvunpack.exe
All extracted.

Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/Audio/Lame XP/neroAacEnc.exe

Nero process failed to create!
Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"

File 'C:/Audio/Lame XP/neroAacEnc.exe' does exist?
Yes, it still exists
!
Thread is doing something important... Done
This is on an old Athlon Pc mostly used for audio encoding...
Will try on a double and quad core intel later on.
Anti virus = off

Edit: You are faster.. I've read your comment above.
If you want me to test a new alpha, go ahead.

And yes, Lame encoding is doin fine.
Dont know about Mediainfo because it is icl11. I highly doubt it is working on an old Athlon.
How to verify?

Last edited by Taurus; 20th November 2010 at 16:28.
Taurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 16:21   #39  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
(BTW: Of course on my test system I always put the executables into "C:\Test" and thus the problem never showed up. That's life.)
That's sussed it

Placing the LameXP folder in the "C:\root" area instead of within the "Program Files" folder solves the Nero exe issue...

Code:
LameXP - Audio Encoder Front-End
Version 4.00 TechPreview, Build 50 [2010-11-20], MSVC compiler v15.00
Copyright (C) 2004-2010 LoRd_MuldeR <MuldeR2@GMX.de>

This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License <http://www.gnu.org/>.
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.

CPU brand string:  Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T5800  @ 2.00GHz
CPU signature:     Family: 6, Model: 15, Stepping: 13
CPU capabilities:  MMX: 1, SSE: 1, SSE2: 1, SSE3: 1, SSSE3: 1, x64: 0
CPU no. of cores:  2

Using Qt Framework v4.7.1, compiled with Qt v4.7.1
Running on Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 R2.

Library Path:
C:/LameXP

Note: This demo (pre-release) version of LameXP will expire at 2010-12-04.

Thread is doing something important... Done

Extracting file: alac.exe
Extracting file: faad.exe
Extracting file: flac.exe
Extracting file: gpgv.exe
Extracting file: lame.exe
Extracting file: MAC.exe
Extracting file: mediainfo_icl11.exe
Extracting file: mpcdec.exe
Extracting file: mpg123.exe
Extracting file: oggdec.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_gen.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_p4.exe
Extracting file: selfdelete.exe
Extracting file: shorten.exe
Extracting file: speexdec.exe
Extracting file: takc.exe
Extracting file: ttaenc.exe
Extracting file: valdec.exe
Extracting file: volumax.exe
Extracting file: wget.exe
Extracting file: wupdate.exe
Extracting file: wvunpack.exe
All extracted.

Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/LameXP/neroAacEnc.exe

Thread is doing something important... Done

Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 20th November 2010 at 16:28.
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2010, 16:28   #40  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 12,921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post
Code:
LameXP - Audio Encoder Front-End
Version 4.00 TechPreview, Build 50 [2010-11-20], MSVC compiler v15.00
Copyright (C) 2004-2010 LoRd_MuldeR <MuldeR2@GMX.de>

This program is free software: you can redistribute it and/or modify
it under the terms of the GNU General Public License <http://www.gnu.org/>.
This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.

CPU brand string:  AMD Athlon(tm) processor
CPU signature:     Family: 6, Model: 10, Stepping: 0
CPU capabilities:  MMX: 1, SSE: 1, SSE2: 0, SSE3: 0, SSSE3: 0, x64: 0
CPU no. of cores:  1

Using Qt Framework v4.7.1, compiled with Qt v4.7.1
Running on Windows XP.


Library Path:
C:/Audio/Lame XP

Note: This demo (pre-release) version of LameXP will expire at 2010-12-04.

Thread is doing something important... Done

Extracting file: alac.exe
Extracting file: faad.exe
Extracting file: flac.exe
Extracting file: gpgv.exe
Extracting file: lame.exe
Extracting file: MAC.exe
Extracting file: mediainfo_icl11.exe
Extracting file: mpcdec.exe
Extracting file: mpg123.exe
Extracting file: oggdec.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_gen.exe
Extracting file: oggenc2_p4.exe
Extracting file: selfdelete.exe
Extracting file: shorten.exe
Extracting file: speexdec.exe
Extracting file: takc.exe
Extracting file: ttaenc.exe
Extracting file: valdec.exe
Extracting file: volumax.exe
Extracting file: wget.exe
Extracting file: wupdate.exe
Extracting file: wvunpack.exe
All extracted.

Found Nero AAC encoder binary:
C:/Audio/Lame XP/neroAacEnc.exe

Nero process failed to create!
Error message: "Process failed to start: No such file or directory"

File 'C:/Audio/Lame XP/neroAacEnc.exe' does exist?
Yes, it still exists
!
Thread is doing something important... Done
This is on an old Athlon Pc mostly used for audio encoding...
Will try on a double and quad core intel later on.
Anti virus = off

Edit: You are faster.. I've read your comment above.
If you want me to test a new alpha, go ahead.
There already is a fixed build up.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, aotuv, flac, lame, lamexp, mp3, mp4, ogg, oggenc, opus, vorbis

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.