Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th August 2018, 13:28   #501  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
I decided against allowing tabs for stability reasons. Don't want to lose all my work if previewing one script crashes the editor.

I am going to implement comparison eventually. But among several output nodes rather than several scripts.
How are you going to organize the scripts without tab? For example, if I have three scripts that I wanted to compare, the original, denoised and denoised2, how would the layout look like. And what's your view on the layout for the preview windows?
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 13:42   #502  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
How are you going to organize the scripts without tab? For example, if I have three scripts that I wanted to compare, the original, denoised and denoised2, how would the layout look like. And what's your view on the layout for the preview windows?
Instead of 3 scripts you make one script with 3 output nodes - each with their own processing.
Comparison will have several options. Vertical, horizontal and rectangular alignment and some kind of switching for 3 and more nodes, plus swipeline for just 2 nodes.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 14:35   #503  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
Instead of 3 scripts you make one script with 3 output nodes - each with their own processing.
Comparison will have several options. Vertical, horizontal and rectangular alignment and some kind of switching for 3 and more nodes, plus swipeline for just 2 nodes.
How are they organize? Are they going to be managed by one main window like tab or all in their own windows?

As an experienced user, I found that all the split view comparison mode very little use, because that's not how people do video comparison. The images have to be stack on top of each other in order to better spot differences.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2018, 15:30   #504  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
How are they organize? Are they going to be managed by one main window like tab or all in their own windows?

As an experienced user, I found that all the split view comparison mode very little use, because that's not how people do video comparison. The images have to be stack on top of each other in order to better spot differences.
That's why there will be several options. You'll see when it's done. I can't promise any timeframe for it to be done.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 10:13   #505  |  Link
tuanden0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 111
VSEditor crashed when call nnedi3_resample
I use nnedi3_resample here: https://github.com/mawen1250/VapourSynth-script
Here's my *.vpy:
Quote:
import vapoursynth as vs
import fvsfunc as fvf
import nnedi3_resample as nnrs
core = vs.core
clip = core.ffms2.Source(r"E:\Download\Source\zzz\test.mkv")
clip = core.std.AssumeFPS(clip, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001)
clip = fvf.Depth(clip, bits=16)
clip = nnrs.nnedi3_resample(clip, 1280, 720)
clip.set_output()
First I checked and no error: https://i.imgur.com/KTbKRjd.png
But when I preview, VSEditor crashed: https://i.imgur.com/gAZMaUO.png
Then I tried to port this script to Avisynth to preview: https://i.imgur.com/rUNCJRf.png
And It's work: https://i.imgur.com/XE6fgOD.png

So, I think this is VSeditor problem.
tuanden0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:20   #506  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuanden0 View Post
VSEditor crashed when call nnedi3_resample
I use nnedi3_resample here: https://github.com/mawen1250/VapourSynth-script
Here's my *.vpy:


First I checked and no error: https://i.imgur.com/KTbKRjd.png
But when I preview, VSEditor crashed: https://i.imgur.com/gAZMaUO.png
Then I tried to port this script to Avisynth to preview: https://i.imgur.com/rUNCJRf.png
And It's work: https://i.imgur.com/XE6fgOD.png

So, I think this is VSeditor problem.
Does it crash when you use vspipe?
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:58   #507  |  Link
tuanden0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Does it crash when you use vspipe?
No, it doesn't
I can encode with it but can't preview on VSEditor

Last edited by tuanden0; 22nd October 2018 at 12:04.
tuanden0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2018, 17:15   #508  |  Link
no1d
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuanden0 View Post
VSEditor crashed when call nnedi3_resample
Had the same issue, it seems that fmtc.resample is the culprit. Works fine with internal resizers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
Does it crash when you use vspipe?
It does for me, but only sometimes..
no1d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2018, 01:59   #509  |  Link
_Al_
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 321
opencv

Using Ubuntu 18.04 and its Python 3.6, using opencv version3 and
simple:
import cv2
silently crashes VapourSynth Editor, not sure what's going on, other moduls are imported fine, like numpy and others and also opencv import and functions work fine using IDLE3 or Terminal. Vapoursynth 45 works also.

Last edited by _Al_; 27th December 2018 at 02:01.
_Al_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 08:38   #510  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
For some reason the textarea in my vs editor turns all black, the texts are still there when I highlight them. It was working normal before and I don't know how I triggered it. How do I restore the default display?
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 12:14   #511  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
For some reason the textarea in my vs editor turns all black, the texts are still there when I highlight them. It was working normal before and I don't know how I triggered it. How do I restore the default display?
That's a bug in job server settings handling. You can fix it by finding the vsedit.config file (user/AppData/local on Windows, or vsedit path if in portable mode) and erasing the "theme" section. The bug is fixed in the repo, but with all I've been going through, it never made it into release. I'll try to make a release soon.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2019, 21:55   #512  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
That's a bug in job server settings handling. You can fix it by finding the vsedit.config file (user/AppData/local on Windows, or vsedit path if in portable mode) and erasing the "theme" section. The bug is fixed in the repo, but with all I've been going through, it never made it into release. I'll try to make a release soon.
Thanks I got it.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 16:03   #513  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
R19 is out. Not much, mostly bug fixes. Life's been hectic. Development is slow.

-BUGFIX: Rapid settings updating on windows geometry change.
-BUGFIX: Theme settings corruption when using job server.
-Color picker update with a still mouse cursor in play mode.
-Benchmark dialog remembers first and last frame for current script.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:08   #514  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
I found a bug in the preview window, if I click and hold on a spot in the timeline, the tool tip box will turn into a black box and keep on flashing.

There's a problem with benchmark too that it doesn't exit the script when it was done. I was doing benchmarks on short clips that output a log on time use to finish. The log wasn't created until I closed the benchmark window and the time being idle after the benchmark finished had also been counted toward the timing in the log.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:25   #515  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
I found a bug in the preview window, if I click and hold on a spot in the timeline, the tool tip box will turn into a black box and keep on flashing.
Can't reproduce. What system you're on and what user environment (GNOME, KDE, Cinnamon, etc) you're using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
There's a problem with benchmark too that it doesn't exit the script when it was done. I was doing benchmarks on short clips that output a log on time use to finish. The log wasn't created until I closed the benchmark window and the time being idle after the benchmark finished had also been counted toward the timing in the log.
There are other problems with benchmark window too. I'll work on it. But if you wrote the plugins you use for logging - you might want to change their logic to do what you want more reliably. VapourSynth Editor is not made with individual plugins in mind.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 17:32   #516  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
Can't reproduce. What system you're on and what user environment (GNOME, KDE, Cinnamon, etc) you're using?
Windows 7
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 21:04   #517  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
Windows 7
Are you using Aero (the transparent glass windows)?
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2019, 23:35   #518  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
Are you using Aero (the transparent glass windows)?
Yes. r18 doesn't have this problem.
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2019, 16:11   #519  |  Link
F1nkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Posts: 19
Must run as Admin to recognize library search path

I'm on Win10 running vsedit r19.

I add a custom library search path into vsedit Settings. It works fine (meaning I can import library files in that path) when I run vsedit as Admin. It does not work when I run as my normal user account.

I also added the path to PYTHONPATH and it works fine at the Python CLI, as one would expect. Just not from within vsedit.

Running vsedit as my normal user account works fine for library files that I add to ..\Python37\Lib\site-packages\vapoursynth. So it is just failing on custom paths that I add into vsedit Settings.

Also, I gave my user account full rights to Python37 and everything in it, plus the VapourSynth install directory (and everything in it), and the VapourSynth Editor directory (and everything in it). None of that made any difference.

I also deleted the config file that shows up in my AppData\Local directory. That resets all settings, but it did not change behavior.

I'm out of ideas!
F1nkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2019, 05:12   #520  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by F1nkster View Post
I'm on Win10 running vsedit r19.

I add a custom library search path into vsedit Settings. It works fine (meaning I can import library files in that path) when I run vsedit as Admin. It does not work when I run as my normal user account.

I also added the path to PYTHONPATH and it works fine at the Python CLI, as one would expect. Just not from within vsedit.

Running vsedit as my normal user account works fine for library files that I add to ..\Python37\Lib\site-packages\vapoursynth. So it is just failing on custom paths that I add into vsedit Settings.

Also, I gave my user account full rights to Python37 and everything in it, plus the VapourSynth install directory (and everything in it), and the VapourSynth Editor directory (and everything in it). None of that made any difference.

I also deleted the config file that shows up in my AppData\Local directory. That resets all settings, but it did not change behavior.

I'm out of ideas!
The only thing that comes to mind is registry. One of the things on my TODO list is to make custom paths take priority over registry. Maybe that would help. For now, try to reinstall Python "for all users".

I'm sorry to say that, but I'm NOT going to test on Windows 10. It's shit and should be avoided at any cost.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.