Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th October 2019, 21:44   #57641  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,707
It is definitely doing something different... that target resolution can only be set by the player.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:50   #57642  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
I could see that, but what would do that!? ha

If it plays every other 4K video properly, it seems that either there is a problem with the file itself, or maybe an incorrect tag or something in the software player?
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:52   #57643  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,707
Try MPC-HC or Zoom Player... or something else? If it is reproducible there are many here who could investigate the technical details.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 21:56   #57644  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 776
Try MPC-BE
https://disk.yandex.ru/d/r7JYQ2NjHvE4lA/Beta/1.5.4
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2019, 22:06   #57645  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Thanks! I'll give it a shot.
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 14:04   #57646  |  Link
Blight
Software Developer
 
Blight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 998
Has anyone using Windows 7 recently noticed MadVR leaking GPU memory?

For some reason, after playing some media, I see Zoom Player's GPU memory usage go up to 1.8gb (out of 2gb, with wdm/csrss taking the rest) and eventually MadVR will not be able to create the Direct3D device or just show an empty image.
Even after closing the graph, I can see that Zoom Player uses GPU memory (which it doesn't natively, only the filters allocate GPU memory), which leads me to suspect it's a leak.

I haven't been able to find that culprit, the only major piece of software I installed was office 365 and windows update patches.
Tried updating to the latest NVidia drivers, didn't make a difference.

Windows 7 64bit fully patch.
NVIDIA GT1030 latest drivers.
LAV Decoding (DXVA2 native).

MadVR set to use:
1. windowed overlay rendering.
2. 6cpu/6gpu queue size.
3. presenting (windowed mode) 6 frames in advance.
4. chroma upscaling : lanczos 3 taps
5. image downscaling : lanczos 3 taps
6. image upscaling : lanzos 3 taps
7. use DXVA chroma upscaling when doing (both).
__________________
Yaron Gur
Zoom Player . Lead Developer

Last edited by Blight; 18th October 2019 at 14:35.
Blight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 14:58   #57647  |  Link
Cowboydude99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
It is definitely doing something different... that target resolution can only be set by the player.
Well you were right. I looked at the tags for the file within the software. It had some odd playback options set. Once I cleared them, it worked as expected.

Thanks so much. I didn't even realize the player had playback options per file.

All good now!
Cowboydude99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 15:40   #57648  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,976
@Blight

i guess you are playing UHD with 2 GB vram?
i would not call it a leak but madVR can use more Vram from time to time. GPU-z and other tools Vram usages is sadly very inaccurate and
iknow that madVR uses more Vram when some settings setting are changed until it is restarted. the same can happening if a webbrowser in the back.
queues of 4 and a backbuffer of 4 gave me the best results on these systems with nvidia this was totally different with AMD.

DXVA2 native may cost more vram give copyback a try.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 18:31   #57649  |  Link
Blight
Software Developer
 
Blight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 998
@huhn:
With regards to the leak, I reported it after MadVR's graph was released, in theory it shouldn't leave any vram allocated to zplayer.exe in process explorer.

Yes, it's really bad with 4K video, but even at 1080P eventually it will ran out of vram and report the Direct3D device can't be created (and sometimes even ZP's regular windows UI will appear as completely white since there is no vram to display it).
I'll try copy-back, initial testing shows it drops vram use to ~1GB but nearly doubles the GPU usage (from ~40% to ~77%).

Sadly, there's is only 1 passively cooled card with more than 2GB vram I could find, the palit kalmx 1050, but it's not really available locally.
Shame there isn't an 1030 with 4GB.
__________________
Yaron Gur
Zoom Player . Lead Developer
Blight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 18:52   #57650  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 776
Take a look at semi passively cooled cards. Fans are off when using it for lighter loads.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2019, 20:16   #57651  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,976
there is something not working as intended there. if you mean 1080p output the source resolution shouldn't affect it to much.

most performance cards can be changed in a way that they can run passive. it's just quite some work.

Quote:
MadVR's graph
is that from a test build?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2019, 12:18   #57652  |  Link
Blight
Software Developer
 
Blight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 998
@hunn
No, the latest final release, but it may be a side-effect of running out of vram.
I'm aware that I can probably buy a water-cooling block for higher end cards, but it's too much of a hustle for me these days.
__________________
Yaron Gur
Zoom Player . Lead Developer
Blight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2019, 17:15   #57653  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
I use a media center app that never exits even when putting the HTPC to sleep so it frequently runs for a month non-stop between Windows updates, and I've never had a problem with system or graphics memory leaks when using madVR with it. I have a very different software setup though.
@Blight Have you tested other players just to check if the same thing happens with them too or if it's just with ZoomPlayer?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 11:07   #57654  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 908
I havent been following the other HDR thread, out of interest has there been any news on the next MADVR update, V1.0, I thought it was coming soon.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:Off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 11:55   #57655  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,326
I very much doubt it'll be soon but they're still working on tone mapping. And making huge gains.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10, I9 9900k, RTX 2070 Founder's Edition, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG C8 65" OLED
SamuriHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 13:57   #57656  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 217
@Blight

i also have Windows 7 (fully patched) and using an gtx670 with 2gb Vram and i didnt notice those issues..
Since we have both win7 and a 2gb GFX Card, im offering my help for any testing if needed..

Best Regards, BeTa
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 15:53   #57657  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Does anyone encountered an issue - madvr detects the monitor as new, after each restart. I have to point the 3dlut path everytime, and to choose the display as a digital monitor.

Last edited by Siso; 22nd October 2019 at 16:00.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 16:29   #57658  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
Does anyone encountered an issue - madvr detects the monitor as new, after each restart. I have to point the 3dlut path everytime, and to choose the display as a digital monitor.
I had a similar issue with build 1806 that went away when I upgraded windows to build 1903. That's with the latest nVidia driver and the latest madVR test build. If you bring everything back in time it should work again
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 16:35   #57659  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I had a similar issue with build 1806 that went away when I upgraded windows to build 1903. That's with the latest nVidia driver and the latest madVR test build. If you bring everything back in time it should work again
I'm on windows 7 ultimate 64 bit. Video drivers 385.28.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2019, 16:45   #57660  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siso View Post
I'm on windows 7 ultimate 64 bit. Video drivers 385.28.
No idea then, unless you're using more than one monitor, which can cause similar issues.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b1903 MCE
i7 3770K@4.0Ghz 16Gb@2.18Ghz EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 11Gb@2GHz 436.48 RGB Full 8bits
MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25
Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.