Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th February 2018, 12:56   #48881  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
You can't do NGU Sharp luma upscaling at all, not even Medium quality?
No, the video output gets really choppy; GTS 450 is a "compromise chipset", medium bandwidth.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 13:52   #48882  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
??? I beg to differ, I've tried both yadif and weston and with 1080i soccer matches the experience was nowhere near hardware deinterlacing.
so the chroma is not displayed a tthe wrong posistion when you used nvidia DXVA deinterlancing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
No, the video output gets really choppy; GTS 450 is a "compromise chipset", medium bandwidth.
you cna use control+j to the see renderstats.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 14:00   #48883  |  Link
Siso
Registered User
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No! Now that we have the 3DLUT name in the OSD we don't want to mess with it, there can be no confusion if it displays the exact name. As madshi said, rename your 3DLUT.
I did, lol
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 14:21   #48884  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlar42 View Post
??? I beg to differ, I've tried both yadif and weston and with 1080i soccer matches the experience was nowhere near hardware deinterlacing.
I concur for HD (for SD though, YADIF is better than my NVIDIA which shows awful artifacts).
Also, those with weak CPUs sometimes can't even use YADIF on HD (it's too much for mine), and for those with weak graphics subsystem like Intel, DXVA11 can bring a much needed performance improvement Vs copy-back or software decoding needed for YADIF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
so the chroma is not displayed a tthe wrong posistion when you used nvidia DXVA deinterlancing?
The loss of quality must be less noticeable than the loss of quality due to YADIF.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti

Last edited by el Filou; 6th February 2018 at 14:24.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 15:38   #48885  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
As madshi said, rename your 3DLUT.
Even better if you create a hard link for it (so you will also have the original filename).
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 17:22   #48886  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you can use control+j to the see renderstats.
A few screenshots, playing a H.264 video 640480 in a maximized window on a 19201200 desktop, Windows 7:

both upscalers set to DXVA (the occasional drops are from stopping and starting the video several times)
both upscalers set to NGU Sharp (medium / madVR decides; constant drops)
GPU-Z report
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 18:44   #48887  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
A few screenshots, playing a H.264 video 640480 in a maximized window on a 19201200 desktop, Windows 7:

both upscalers set to DXVA (the occasional drops are from stopping and starting the video several times)
both upscalers set to NGU Sharp (medium / madVR decides; constant drops)
GPU-Z report
maybe NGU sharp high x2 will work and you don't need NGU for chroma to get RCA running.
give bicubic 60 a try for chroma nearly everything is better than DXVA when using a nvidia and there current driver...

you can add a folder named "ShowRenderSteps" in the madVR folder to get a better look at the rendertimes.

and generally set the nvidia power settings to adaptive. optimal is buggy and a lot of people get major problem with it when using madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 19:23   #48888  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Afternoon all. Couple of quick questions for the more learned of you around here

If I have a 4k panel that is 60hz is it generally considered best practice to enter just 2160p60 under display modes in Madvr and nothing else?

Second question is about using HDR luts. I produced a 3D lut with Displaycal using the Madvr BT2020 template. It loads fine in Madvr but underneath there are options for sending metadata to my display that defaults to DCI-P3. I'm presuming that I change this to BT2020 and enter the maximum nits of my display, which in my case is 430. Does that sound about right.

Oh and I updated to the latest Madvr but despite it clearly saying 0.92.12 in the bottom left hand corner, I can't for the life of me see any of the new options that were mentioned in the changelog. Am I blind? Or stupid?.... Or both? lol
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 20:41   #48889  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
I read another message which may have been deleted in the meantime...

Yes, I was confused about a little detail as well: Despite setting up medium quality, render stats display "high".

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
and generally set the nvidia power settings to adaptive. optimal is buggy and a lot of people get major problem with it when using madVR.
Where do I do that? I do not have a mobile PC. This GPU is my only one, and I am not aware of energy saving features yet...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 6th February 2018 at 20:49.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 20:47   #48890  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
I read another message which may have been deleted in the meantime...

Yes, I was confused about a little detail as well: Despite setting up medium quality, render stats display "high".
Enabling RCA medium forces NGU high quality.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 21:12   #48891  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Where do I do that? I do not have a mobile PC. This GPU is my only one, and I am not aware of energy saving features yet...
https://abload.de/img/adaptivewzkjy.png
has nothing todo with mobile.
and you can try ngu x2 by disabling quadrupling.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2018, 23:44   #48892  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
It's tight (25 fps = 40 ms/f; rendering ~45-50 ms/f)

I need a new GPU. And then a new CPU as well. And new harddisks. Well ... a whole new PC.

Or bring my car through the next inspection. Either or.
__

P.S.: More values...

A 720p H.264 video plays fine in original size with ~20 ms/f; but when I maximize the player window, it takes ~90 ms/f.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid

Last edited by LigH; 7th February 2018 at 00:25.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 00:46   #48893  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,968
well you clearly don't need a new CPU for madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 06:59   #48894  |  Link
heiseikiseki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
It's tight (25 fps = 40 ms/f; rendering ~45-50 ms/f)

I need a new GPU. And then a new CPU as well. And new harddisks. Well ... a whole new PC.

Or bring my car through the next inspection. Either or.
__

P.S.: More values...

A 720p H.264 video plays fine in original size with ~20 ms/f; but when I maximize the player window, it takes ~90 ms/f.
A lot of dropped frames. You don't really a new cpu but consider maybe your pc is too old to use the new gpu.
And well, gpu is much expensive now because the mining upsurge.
If you do care the cost-performance an new AMD APU like Ryzen R5 2400G which would be sailed soon I think is a good choice.
(near the performance compare to the 7th i5+GTX1030 but half the money)
https://imgur.com/tBqqn4H

Last edited by heiseikiseki; 7th February 2018 at 07:02.
heiseikiseki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 08:03   #48895  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
My current system is still a Phenom-II X6, modern encoders use at most "Fast SSE2". Changing the GPU and CPU only won't work. A whole new PC is required. After I saved my car.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 09:31   #48896  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clown shoes View Post
If I have a 4k panel that is 60hz is it generally considered best practice to enter just 2160p60 under display modes in Madvr and nothing else?
No, if you tune a custom refresh rate for 24p (23.976 Hz) you should enter 2160p23 as well. Without tuning a refresh rate I suggest disabling display modes in madVR and turning on smooth motion, then madVR will use your normal desktop refresh rate all the time and you don't have to worry about refresh rates.

Actually even if you do tune a refresh rate for 24p you should enable smooth motion, it will only turn on when the refresh rate does not match the frame rate so prevents judder with less common frame rates.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 12:34   #48897  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
My current system is still a Phenom-II X6, modern encoders use at most "Fast SSE2". Changing the GPU and CPU only won't work. A whole new PC is required. After I saved my car.
modern GPU can decode complex codecs nearly for free there is no need for a beefy CPU these days.

you only need a beefy CPU for stuff like UHD 10 bit H264 because that's a codec GPU can't decode.
and i'm pretty sure an phenom 2 can decode 1080p with reasonable bit rate.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2018, 16:03   #48898  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
I do not only want to decode video. I also want to encode (x265 without AVX isn't funny), and play games, and calculate stuff, etc.; it would be another allrounder for both work and leisure time, not just a HTPC.

Enough off-topic with "my next PC" before we get warned. I will gladly be available for testing the lower thresholds of new features...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 00:01   #48899  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
No, if you tune a custom refresh rate for 24p (23.976 Hz) you should enter 2160p23 as well. Without tuning a refresh rate I suggest disabling display modes in madVR and turning on smooth motion, then madVR will use your normal desktop refresh rate all the time and you don't have to worry about refresh rates.

Actually even if you do tune a refresh rate for 24p you should enable smooth motion, it will only turn on when the refresh rate does not match the frame rate so prevents judder with less common frame rates.
Ok so maybe I've misunderstood the function of this setting. Am I entering all of the frame rates I would like MadVR to convert for me, or am I telling Madvr what frame rates my display can correctly play back?

My TV is a mid range Hisense 4k set with a 60hz panel, so I'm guessing it's using pulldown to get 24fps. Despite this my Nvidia card lists the available display frequencies at 23, 24, 25, 29, 30, 50 and 60.

So is the best option to enter 2160p 23, 24, 25, 29, 30, 50 and 60 into Madvr and select smoothing to prevent judder?
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2018, 00:05   #48900  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
You're entering the refresh rates that you allow madVR to switch to. Smooth Motion works on higher frame rates so if you're running say 60Hz it will activate on that to blend frames and smooth transitions at the expense of motion resolution.

Last edited by ryrynz; 8th February 2018 at 00:19.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.