Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th March 2016, 20:29   #37201  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 462
Where's the anti-bloating option for Super-xBR? I couldn't find one.
Anima123 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 20:32   #37202  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
it's in the drop down menu.

http://abload.de/img/superxbr8ouen.png
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 20:40   #37203  |  Link
alf6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
But you do have the Windows 7 Platform Update installed? And you don't get a picture, neither in windowed nor in fullscreen exclusive mode?
Yeah I do. Anyways problem went away after a clean install of drivers, so probably not madVR related after all

Sorry for wasting your time, and thanks for the good work
alf6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 21:16   #37204  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i did some test for super xbr anti bloat

FHD -> UHD
source: http://abload.de/img/00004.m2ts_snapshot_0wju9u.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrvLI.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrXIA.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/Trl1D.png

HD -> QHD
source: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrZLg.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrJlx.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrSpB.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrPdp.png

super xbr anti bloat is less sharp than spline 3 AR. which makes it really soft for upscaling.
the effect of anti bloat is looks useful. it has an very nice anti ringing effect. is it possible to use it with super xbr 125 or even 150 in the future?
In those examples, I don't really like it. super-xbr should be sharp.

Does super-xbr still ring? If not, then the sharper version would be my preference. I am starting to feel the same way about SuperRes. Unless the bloating is obvious and offensive, anti-bloating will take away too much image detail that should be there. I have three image that show this pretty clearly. I'll post them some time in the next two days.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 21:22   #37205  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
Does super-xbr still ring? If not, then the sharper version would be my preference. I am starting to feel the same way about SuperRes. Unless the bloating is obvious and offensive, anti-bloating will take away too much image detail that should be there. I have three image that show this pretty clearly. I'll post them some time in the next two days.
compared to spline 3 ar and super xbr 100, 100 anti bloat has less ringing. line look simply more natural but it is simply not sharp enough.

and 125 and 150 looks forced. and i see potential for anti bloat here. i hope it is at least as sharp as super xbr 100 but with the anti bloat effect.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 21:43   #37206  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
compared to spline 3 ar and super xbr 100, 100 anti bloat has less ringing. line look simply more natural but it is simply not sharp enough.

and 125 and 150 looks forced. and i see potential for anti bloat here. i hope it is at least as sharp as super xbr 100 but with the anti bloat effect.
Yes, I did notice anti-bloating tames ringing, so it may have its place. Using a higher value of super-xbr may be the ideal combination.

The only complaint I ever had about super-xbr was ringing. When combined with SuperRes, it looks so similar to NNEDI3 in test images. I would guess super-xbr is the most popular algorithm because of its price/performance ratio, so I would support improving it in any way.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 21:51   #37207  |  Link
bcec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
In those examples, I don't really like it. super-xbr should be sharp.

Does super-xbr still ring? If not, then the sharper version would be my preference. I am starting to feel the same way about SuperRes. Unless the bloating is obvious and offensive, anti-bloating will take away too much image detail that should be there. I have three image that show this pretty clearly. I'll post them some time in the next two days.
I am with you. I don't like AB for super-xbr, it takes away all the sharpness and detail, and you end up with an artificially soft image (fhd->uhd). I don't find it useful for SuperRes either.

Initially I very much liked AS 1 (or 1.5) with AB 100% as an upscaling refinement, but after watching a full movie with it, things looked weirdly off. Too sharp, and too soft at the same time. Not sure how to explain. I am trying SharpenEdges 1.0 with AB 100% to see if that combination makes more sense.
bcec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 21:59   #37208  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
My new settings are...

Chroma: Super-XBR 150 w/ AR + SR 1
Upscaling: Jinc AR
Downscaling: Jinc AR + AB 150
Image Refinement: SR 1 (every 2X) w/ AR + AB 150

I used Futurama for testing as it's easy to spot the differences in animated content. Lines are sharp and smooth. Thanks madshi!

Also, I find anything higher than 1 for Super Res is pointless and introduces ringing.

Last edited by AngelGraves13; 27th March 2016 at 03:00.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 22:01   #37209  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcec View Post
I am with you. I don't like AB for super-xbr, it takes away all the sharpness and detail, and you end up with an artificially soft image (fhd->uhd). I don't find it useful for SuperRes either.

Initially I very much liked AS 1 (or 1.5) with AB 100% as an upscaling refinement, but after watching a full movie with it, things looked weirdly off. Too sharp, and too soft at the same time. Not sure how to explain. I am trying SharpenEdges 1.0 with AB 100% to see if that combination makes more sense.
I didn't watch an entire movie, but sharpen edges (0.5) with anti-bloating 100% looked like an improvement at 1080p -> 1080p. Removing fat lines is an obvious benefit. Taming oversharpened images also works well. But, it I get the sharpening at an acceptable level where it doesn't look oversharpened, it doesn't seem necessary.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 22:11   #37210  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,504
UHD->FHD chroma conversion bug introduced in 0.90.16 (0.90.15 works fine), from OSD:
- scale 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,0,1920,1080
- chroma -> Catull-Rom
Where it shouldn't apply any chroma conversion in this case.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 22:53   #37211  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 280
Im using version 0.89.17 and have some questions....
Im playing at 1080p > 1080p and using the JVC RS600 projector, video card 970

1. Is there a page I can look at that has an explanation for every setting please?

2. I play a lot of clips from Youtube which could be 720, 480 sometimes worse.... What are the best settings for getting these to look as good as I can please? Tidy up macroblocking, softness etc etc.... Is this area just in upscaling?

Thanks in advance...
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 23:37   #37212  |  Link
Clammerz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
1. Is there a page I can look at that has an explanation for every setting please?
As has been mentioned multiple times documentation most likely won't come until or near 1.0.
The best you'll get until then is probably this:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=171787

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Tidy up macroblocking
If you looked you've probably noticed madVR doesn't have a deblocker (yet?) so you'll either need to preprocess with ffdshow, or make do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
softness etc etc.... Is this area just in upscaling?
Not sure what this really means, but you must have seen the "image enhancements" section by now.
Clammerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2016, 23:56   #37213  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70MM View Post
Im using version 0.89.17 and have some questions....
Im playing at 1080p > 1080p and using the JVC RS600 projector, video card 970

1. Is there a page I can look at that has an explanation for every setting please?

2. I play a lot of clips from Youtube which could be 720, 480 sometimes worse.... What are the best settings for getting these to look as good as I can please? Tidy up macroblocking, softness etc etc.... Is this area just in upscaling?

Thanks in advance...
Try the link in my signature. It is updated all the time with my own research. Most settings are covered.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 03:57   #37214  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
problem occurs only in windowed mode, all is well in FSE and that's with NNEDI3 luma doubling only as enabling it for chroma as well fixes the problem:

sample video and settings.bin available at https://mega.nz/#!D0IinBxJ!nv5b36Oqk...6YHjeBRh2bMCKc

I also got 720p videos that give the exact same problem but only in FSE this time.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 12:02   #37215  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,227
Have had a number of issues changing queues in madVR over the years, this one kicked me out of the desktop and back into the sign in screen under Windows 10 after some graphics glitches
I changed the full screen and windowed mode frames presented in advance from 6 to 16 and the CPu and GPU buffers from 8/12 to 20/16 and then attempted to continue playing the video.

I had to reboot because the graphics driver wasn't stable after logging back in.

Seems the queues are simply too much for the old HD3000 to handle, those settings force Windows to do as I described every time I try to play something.
Setting them to 8/8/16/12 works fine.

Last edited by ryrynz; 27th March 2016 at 12:17.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 12:48   #37216  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 842
I was testing profiles. I made it very simple. The first with sharpening the second without.
But I ran into issues with the hotkeys. First madvr didn't want to accept my shortcut falsely claiming it's invalid, because it used a character with a diacritical mark.
On second try I added alt+q and alt+w. Which were accepted but didn't work at all.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 21:05   #37217  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Implementing this sooner than later may give a lot of return on investment. Certainly now that 4K is becoming more common. Dealing with OOM related 'bug' reports is a huge waste of your time.

Maybe the GUI could also show an indication of the (worst case) memory requirements for a given queue size. That should help users to avoid too large queues. Assume the largest of the available display devices. Assume smooth motion is on, and whatever else may increase memory usage. Show estimate for common input sizes.

GPU queue size: 8 (requires up to xxx MB for 1080p and xxxx MB for 4K)
Makes sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo-XP View Post
Is it possible to include the parameters of FineSharp (sstr, cstr, lstr, pstr, ldmp, xstr and xrep) to madVR ?
crispen edges is not identical to FineSharp. Some of those options make no sense for crispen edges. Some may, but I don't really see the sense of exposing all that. Which of those do you consider important and why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
Hi, upscaling enhancements don't seem to work for me when supersampling 1080p > 1080p with the latest two versions - they don't have any effect.
Works for me. Are you sure that supersampling is really active? Can you make a screenshot of the OSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fedpul View Post
I have made an album with some comparisons of chroma and doubling algos. By now I have uploaded just 4 images and they are based on a DVD release of the movie Howl's Moving Castle.
On a quick check NNEDI3 still has some lines a bit more focused/sharp. But super-xbr may have slightly less aliasing in some situations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by perlita.pajares View Post
I cannot deal with playing 3D bluray content. I have a i7 4700mq with Intel HD4600 and dgpu Nvidia GTX765M with optimus. When playing 3d I cannot use the nvidia GPU due to the HDMI port is attached to the HD4600 card.

I am using MPC-HC with LAV filters and MADVR, always the latest nightly builds of them. The problem is that even setting madvr to the lowest settings (nearest neighbor in chroma and the rest deactivated), the player (MPC-HC) unexpectly stop and back me to desktop after 30 sec of playing without more information. I have used DVXA copy-back, native and Intel Quicksync without a successful result. MADVR with and without FSE and with D3D11 and D3D9, all possible combinations.
Sounds like a driver issue, but it's hard to say. Have you tried different GPU drivers for both Intel and NVidia GPUs? You could also try different media players, just to be safe. In any case, I think this is unlikely to madVR's fault, although I can't really say for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iSeries View Post
That option doesn't seem to change the behaviour. If I untick 'automatically detect black bars', upscaling enhancements work fine with supersampling, clear difference to picture and render times shoot up to around 35ms. As soon as I tick 'automatically detect black bars' render times drop dramatically and the upscaling enhancements 'crispen edges' and 'superres' no longer have an effect, even though the image is still being doubled and then downscaled by setting '2x supersampling' in image doubling.
Seems to work fine on my PC, with supersampling and "automatically detect black bars" enabled, using a cinemascope HD video for testing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
I think AB is too strong in the new sxbr options
Meaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dclose View Post
There's been a lack of love for Spline, so I thought I'd add some. At least for much of the stuff I watch, it works well, and doesn't use a lot of power.
Quality per performance isn't bad, although personally I prefer Lanczos over Spline in that performance area. Matter of taste, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
i did some test for super xbr anti bloat

FHD -> UHD
source: http://abload.de/img/00004.m2ts_snapshot_0wju9u.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrvLI.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrXIA.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/Trl1D.png

HD -> QHD
source: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrZLg.png
spline3 AR: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrJlx.png
super xbr 100 anti bloat: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrSpB.png
super xbr 100: https://www.ezphotoshare.com/images/...3/26/TrPdp.png

super xbr anti bloat is less sharp than spline 3 AR. which makes it really soft for upscaling.
the effect of anti bloat is looks useful. it has an very nice anti ringing effect. is it possible to use it with super xbr 125 or even 150 in the future?
I think there's a small misunderstand: The option called "super-xbr, anti-bloating: 100" is *not* based on super-xbr 100. The anti-bloating filter was mainly written for sharpening, so it took some inventive tricks to make it work for super-xbr. Think of "super-xbr, anti-bloating xxx" as some special super-xbr configuration with different kinds of anti-bloating strength. Which means "super-xbr, anti-bloating: 100" has the highest anti-bloating strength, which makes it the softest of the anti-bloating super-xbr algorithms. If you find this one too soft, try the other anti-bloating variants. "super-xbr, anti-bloating: 25" should be the sharpest of the anti-bloating super-xbr algorithms.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chros View Post
UHD->FHD chroma conversion bug introduced in 0.90.16 (0.90.15 works fine), from OSD:
- scale 0,0,3840,2160 -> 0,0,1920,1080
- chroma -> Catull-Rom
Where it shouldn't apply any chroma conversion in this case.
Doesn't seem to happen on my PC. Screenshot of the OSD, please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
problem occurs only in windowed mode, all is well in FSE and that's with NNEDI3 luma doubling only as enabling it for chroma as well fixes the problem
Is this a new problem with v0.90.16? Or does this also occur with v0.90.15?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
I was testing profiles. I made it very simple. The first with sharpening the second without.
But I ran into issues with the hotkeys. First madvr didn't want to accept my shortcut falsely claiming it's invalid, because it used a character with a diacritical mark.
On second try I added alt+q and alt+w. Which were accepted but didn't work at all.
Maybe these are interpreted as menu commands? I tried with "Ctrl+Alt+1" as a test and that worked just fine for me.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 21:24   #37218  |  Link
mogli
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
[...]
The option called "super-xbr, anti-bloating: 100" is *not* based on super-xbr 100.
[...]
On what is it based then?
Can they be compared like 'super-xbr anti-bloating 100' meaning 'super-xbr 150 minus the softening anti-bloating 100 does' or something?
mogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 21:27   #37219  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Doesn't seem to happen on my PC. Screenshot of the OSD, please?
Strange. Thanks.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v385.28),Win10 LTSB 1607,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz)
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2016, 22:11   #37220  |  Link
Px
>>^^__^^<<
 
Px's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Thanks. I hope to have this fixed in the next build. If not, please let me know.
Looks like fixed, thanks
Px is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.