Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th January 2016, 03:17   #35681  |  Link
derpycat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 31
Edit: silly question

Last edited by derpycat; 28th January 2016 at 04:00.
derpycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 19:07   #35682  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
yes, "5" is working everytime i think. i didnt had any odd behavior with it. testet most settings with it and watched about 3 movies..
resizing works, fullscreen switching works, no drops, no stutter when i move teh mouse, video is in sync and normal speed, shaders work, just like with 0.89.19

Sidenote:
only thing i noticed wich is different (i think, i didnt see that change before) is that in windowed mode, videos are played with 48fps and in Fullscreen (exclusive) mode its 60fps.
Wasnt it 60fps in windowed and fullscreen before? Of course only if you have 60hz ??
Or was this changed? Anyway, im totaly fine with that because it eats less power from my gpu in 48fps (windowed) in fullscreen i prefer teh 60fps like it is...
Can you please try this build:

http://madshi.net/madVRBetA13.rar

Does it work? If not, please create a debug log for me with this build (don't attach to this forum, upload it somewhere else and link here), which shows the "too fast playback". Also, please compare which refresh rates madVR lists in both windowed and fullscreen mode, with this build compared to v0.89.19. I suppose if you get the "too fast playback", probably the refresh rate isn't shown correctly?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 19:37   #35683  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Could be running out of RAM
Yes, it is true in my case.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 20:30   #35684  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Can you please try this build:

http://madshi.net/madVRBetA13.rar

Does it work? If not, please create a debug log for me with this build (don't attach to this forum, upload it somewhere else and link here), which shows the "too fast playback". Also, please compare which refresh rates madVR lists in both windowed and fullscreen mode, with this build compared to v0.89.19. I suppose if you get the "too fast playback", probably the refresh rate isn't shown correctly?
hy there,

nope this build also has the problem occuring..

umm, sorry for teh noobish question, but how do i do an debug report? i did try to look for an key combo but couldnt find one.

What i did do is compared teh OSD and refresh rate from windowed to fullscreen and from 0.89.19 to your Beta13 build..

And yes, you are correct, theres is something wrong with the "hz"

i made some screenshots:

madVRBetA13 build:

windowed mode:


Fullscreen mode:


0.89.19 Build (working Build):

windowed mode:


Fullscreen Mode:



Got the error report also, its quite big lol..

Steps i did:

Started debug log - started movie in windowed mode - after 3-5 sek. i changed to fullscreen mode - 2 sek. later i changed to windowed and quit the player, enden debug mode..

Link to Log:
http://filehorst.de/d/bAuhGbwH


i hope this will help you a bit...

greetings

Last edited by BetA13; 28th January 2016 at 21:59.
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 20:46   #35685  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
In the madVR folder run the debug.bat Can't remember the exact name of the file.

Then play a movie. On the desktop you will find the debug result, a txt file.

Last edited by MSL_DK; 28th January 2016 at 20:50.
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:20   #35686  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
In the madVR folder run the debug.bat Can't remember the exact name of the file.

Then play a movie. On the desktop you will find the debug result, a txt file.
ok, found teh bat. started it. left it open (teh cmd window) and started teh movie..etc.

now, wheres teh LOG?
i cant find it in the madvr folder or in c:/
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:32   #35687  |  Link
MSL_DK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 137
Right click the .bat run as admin, play a movie. After that, run the .bat again for leaving debug-mode
MSL_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:37   #35688  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post
Right click the .bat run as admin, play a movie. After that, run the .bat again for leaving debug-mode
right worked as intended. debug mode was started, video was played by me, video was stopped player exited and run the bat again to release debugmode again.

i feel very noobish about now since i still cant find a file .. theres no new file made , not in the madvr folder or c:

im pretty confused now haha

aha, you edited your comment, its on the desktop.. THANK you a lot mate.. haha

Last edited by BetA13; 28th January 2016 at 21:45.
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:47   #35689  |  Link
apgood
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA13 View Post
right worked as intended. debug mode was started, video was played by me, video was stopped player exited and run the bat again to release debugmode again.

i feel very noobish about now since i still cant find a file .. theres no new file made , not in the madvr folder or c:

im pretty confused now haha

aha, you edited your comment, its on the desktop.. THANK you a lot mate.. haha
It should be on your desktop
apgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:59   #35690  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 217
hehe, yeah i got it now
Thanks for all the help from you guys

@madshi

Got the error report also, its quite big lol..

Steps i did:

Started debug log - started movie in windowed mode - after 3-5 sek. i changed to fullscreen mode - 2 sek. later i changed to windowed and quit the player, enden debug mode..

Link to Log:
http://filehorst.de/d/bAuhGbwH


i hope this will help you a bit...

greetings
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 22:05   #35691  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
Next time zip/rar the log before you upload it. Then it will be much smaller, and the upload/download will be quicker.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 23:11   #35692  |  Link
XMonarchY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 489
Does GeForce GTX 960 have any advantages over GTX 970 and 980 series? I know it supports newer CUVID decoding and is much faster at decoding HEVC than GTX 970/980 and Titan X.

- Can LAV Filter CUVID decoding also produce artifacts on GTX 960 like it can on GTX 970/980?
- Does GTX 960's faster CUVID HEVC decoding have any impact on DXVA Copy-Back decoding?
__________________
8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 23:20   #35693  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,965
wrong thread...

the 960 doesn't use hybrid decoding and can decode 10 bit HEVC using an full function decoder that doesn't need GPU or CPU processing power.

the hybrid decoder from the 970 and higher is totally useless in comparison.

and forget CUVID plz...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 00:01   #35694  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
the 960 doesn't use hybrid decoding and can decode 10 bit HEVC using an full function decoder that doesn't need GPU or CPU processing power.
is it save to assume that the GTX960 will be sufficient for 4K HEVC downscaling to 1080p with madvr in the future?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 00:25   #35695  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
is it save to assume that the GTX960 will be sufficient for 4K HEVC downscaling to 1080p with madvr in the future?

depends on the algorithm. the 960 is not really powerful. i would set my eyes on the upcoming polaris or pascal GPUs.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 01:35   #35696  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderbolt8 View Post
is it save to assume that the GTX960 will be sufficient for 4K HEVC downscaling to 1080p with madvr in the future?
Should be reasonably safe. It depends a bit on how you handle the chroma, but really the most sensible thing to do would be to not scale the chroma which is slightly more complicated, but still doable. Downscaling the image also isn't particularly expensive, even this new experimental downscaler runs quite comfortably on my GTX 960 (although strangely enough I take a bigger performance hit than on my late 560 Ti, memory speed seems to be the limiting factor). I can even run that algorithm in combination with use NNEDI3 (16 neurons) chroma scaling, which is a ridiculously inefficient way to shift chroma half a pixel.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 09:41   #35697  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Should be reasonably safe. It depends a bit on how you handle the chroma, but really the most sensible thing to do would be to not scale the chroma which is slightly more complicated, but still doable. Downscaling the image also isn't particularly expensive, even this new experimental downscaler runs quite comfortably on my GTX 960 (although strangely enough I take a bigger performance hit than on my late 560 Ti, memory speed seems to be the limiting factor). I can even run that algorithm in combination with use NNEDI3 (16 neurons) chroma scaling, which is a ridiculously inefficient way to shift chroma half a pixel.
Did you have time to look into the potential patent issues yet? If there are no problems, I'd love to add your algo to madVR ASAP. I expect downscaling 4K content to 1080p will be a big thing, so good quality downscaling will be more important than ever. Thanks.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 10:27   #35698  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Did you have time to look into the potential patent issues yet? If there are no problems, I'd love to add your algo to madVR ASAP. I expect downscaling 4K content to 1080p will be a big thing, so good quality downscaling will be more important than ever. Thanks.
Somewhat. I'm quite sure the method I'm using is different enough from the method they're describing that it won't fall under such a patent application. Also, at the moment it is their responsibility to give sufficient warning of the potential existence of any patent, and given that the content their paper is quite frankly unpatentable it's somewhat unclear what exactly they are trying to patent. At the very least there don't seem to be any patents titled 'perceptually based downscaling of images'.

I could try to see if there's any way to contact them ask them for the patent number (if there even is one), although legally, I don't have to. In fact, I don't gain any legal advantage by making myself aware of any potential patents at this point.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 10:43   #35699  |  Link
iSunrise
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
@Shiandow
Wow, the results of that algorithm are quite astonishing. Sharpness of fine details is so much better, it's not even funny. With that algorithm it should be a lot less necessary to even use any sharpener at all when downscaling.

Does it have any side-effects like pronouncing edges with moving images or is it all about getting most of the detail transfered to lower resolution but NOT adding any kind of artificially sharpened edges?

It would be a BIG win if you and madshi could work together on this one.

I would also be highly interested to test it against madshi's "Catmul-Rom with linear-light" downscaling combination. If this is even better than that, then my hats go off to the inventor.

How does it compare performance-wise to say Bilinear or Catmull-Rom?

Last edited by iSunrise; 29th January 2016 at 10:45.
iSunrise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 11:15   #35700  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiandow View Post
Somewhat. I'm quite sure the method I'm using is different enough from the method they're describing that it won't fall under such a patent application. Also, at the moment it is their responsibility to give sufficient warning of the potential existence of any patent, and given that the content their paper is quite frankly unpatentable it's somewhat unclear what exactly they are trying to patent. At the very least there don't seem to be any patents titled 'perceptually based downscaling of images'.

I could try to see if there's any way to contact them ask them for the patent number (if there even is one), although legally, I don't have to. In fact, I don't gain any legal advantage by making myself aware of any potential patents at this point.
Sounds good to me. So would it make sense to include your algo into this weekend's madVR build?

BTW, does your algo ring?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.