Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th July 2014, 23:36   #27001  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by JarrettH View Post
Oh, how do you know for sure? Just curious, that's all. I might as well not switch then.
This was determined by analyzing the images. It isn't the same Lanczos3+AR that madVR uses but it looks fairly similar to it.

I hope michkrol's suggestion works for you. There are a lot of other things the drivers might do to the video to make it look too sharp/punchy.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2014, 23:44   #27002  |  Link
JarrettH
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 838
I already had them at application controlled. Do you mean I should try lowering the sharpness in the control panel?
JarrettH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2014, 23:51   #27003  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,701
Haha, yeah - turning off sharpness would be a good start.

Turn off everything you can find in Intel's enhancements.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 02:08   #27004  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
madshi, is it possible for you to add DX11 support again? When I use the web installer, it gives me an error saying that a newer version of DirectX has been detected on the system and it cannot proceed. I think there may be a link with DX9 and allowing NVIDIA to take over rendering.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can try or if you require more info. Thanks.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 03:41   #27005  |  Link
Anime Viewer
Troubleshooter
 
Anime Viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 333
DirectX End-User Runtime

Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
madshi, is it possible for you to add DX11 support again? When I use the web installer, it gives me an error saying that a newer version of DirectX has been detected on the system and it cannot proceed. I think there may be a link with DX9 and allowing NVIDIA to take over rendering.
Were did you get the DirectX installer from?
Try this one if you haven't already:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ils.aspx?id=35
__________________
System specs: Sager NP9150 SE with i7-3630QM 2.40GHz, 16 GB RAM, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, NVidia GTX 680M/Intel 4000 HD optimus dual GPU system. Video viewed on LG notebook screen and LG 3D passive TV.
Anime Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 04:00   #27006  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post
Were did you get the DirectX installer from?
Try this one if you haven't already:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ils.aspx?id=35
That's the one I tried.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 06:37   #27007  |  Link
iopq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Hey madshi, not sure if you're aware of the problem of waking up from standby. I am using Windows 7 64 bit, MPC BE 32 bit (obviously), MadVR 0.87.9

When I resume a video after standby it doesn't play. Gives a Direct3D error or something.

I found a post of a user on XP complaining about the same issue: http://forum.inmatrix.com/index.php?showtopic=13646
iopq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 06:44   #27008  |  Link
namaiki
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
madshi, is it possible for you to add DX11 support again? When I use the web installer, it gives me an error saying that a newer version of DirectX has been detected on the system and it cannot proceed. I think there may be a link with DX9 and allowing NVIDIA to take over rendering.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can try or if you require more info. Thanks.
What version of Windows and what GPUs and driver version?
namaiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 07:56   #27009  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by innocenat View Post
Yeah playing game work fine. [I know it work by checking GPU-Z graph that the games use nvidia gpu] DGDecodeNV doesn't work either, but I don't know whose fault it is.
Well, I don't really know what the problem is. You could try uploading a debug log, maybe I can see something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lansing View Post
I've tried on 24fps, 29.97fps, at 720p, 1080p videos, all had the same problem.
So you're saying your playing a 24fps movie and it ends up being played as 60fps? How do you know that it's played as 60fps? Do you let madVR switch the display mode? Is there a 24Hz display mode which madVR could switch to? Or are you playing at 60Hz? If you're playing at 60Hz, do you have smooth motion FRC turned on or off in madVR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
This was determined by analyzing the images. It isn't the same Lanczos3+AR that madVR uses but it looks fairly similar to it.
Correct. It's not as good as madVR's LanczosAR, though...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
madshi, is it possible for you to add DX11 support again?
The DX11 option in madVR always was just for presentation, not for rendering. Rendering has always been done in DX9, even with the DX11 option enabled. So having the DX11 option back would not help you. But even if it did: I'm not going to spend hours of my time bringing an option back just because *one* user has a broken DX9 installation. You can't honestly expect that!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
When I use the web installer, it gives me an error saying that a newer version of DirectX has been detected on the system and it cannot proceed. I think there may be a link with DX9 and allowing NVIDIA to take over rendering.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can try or if you require more info. Thanks.
We've already concluded that DX9 is broken on your PC, and that it's not a madVR issue. Could you please stop asking for help about your DX9 installation problem in *this thread*? Your issue is not madVR related. So it doesn't belong into this thread. You have a broken DX9 installation and I've already told you that you either have to get DX9 working again somehow, and that you have to reinstall your PC. If you can't get DX9 working and don't want to reinstall your PC, you could try contacting Microsoft support or ask for help in some other thread/forum. This thread is for madVR development & bugs etc. This is not a general PC issue support thread. If EVR works and madVR does not, then you can come back here and ask for help. As long as EVR doesn't work, either, it can't be a bug in madVR, and as a result doesn't belong into this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iopq View Post
Hey madshi, not sure if you're aware of the problem of waking up from standby. I am using Windows 7 64 bit, MPC BE 32 bit (obviously), MadVR 0.87.9

When I resume a video after standby it doesn't play. Gives a Direct3D error or something.

I found a post of a user on XP complaining about the same issue: http://forum.inmatrix.com/index.php?showtopic=13646
"or something" is as unspecific as could be. Could you at least tell me the *exact* error message, please? And no, I'm not aware of this problem. It usually only occurred in XP, but not in newer OSs. Do you happen to have the "present several frames in advance" option disabled in the madVR exclusive mode settings?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 10:40   #27010  |  Link
mysterix
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 25
For what presenting frames in advance is needed? What will be if to disable it?

Last edited by mysterix; 27th July 2014 at 11:15.
mysterix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 11:26   #27011  |  Link
iopq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Well, I don't really know what the problem is. You could try uploading a debug log, maybe I can see something.


So you're saying your playing a 24fps movie and it ends up being played as 60fps? How do you know that it's played as 60fps? Do you let madVR switch the display mode? Is there a 24Hz display mode which madVR could switch to? Or are you playing at 60Hz? If you're playing at 60Hz, do you have smooth motion FRC turned on or off in madVR?


Correct. It's not as good as madVR's LanczosAR, though...


The DX11 option in madVR always was just for presentation, not for rendering. Rendering has always been done in DX9, even with the DX11 option enabled. So having the DX11 option back would not help you. But even if it did: I'm not going to spend hours of my time bringing an option back just because *one* user has a broken DX9 installation. You can't honestly expect that!?


We've already concluded that DX9 is broken on your PC, and that it's not a madVR issue. Could you please stop asking for help about your DX9 installation problem in *this thread*? Your issue is not madVR related. So it doesn't belong into this thread. You have a broken DX9 installation and I've already told you that you either have to get DX9 working again somehow, and that you have to reinstall your PC. If you can't get DX9 working and don't want to reinstall your PC, you could try contacting Microsoft support or ask for help in some other thread/forum. This thread is for madVR development & bugs etc. This is not a general PC issue support thread. If EVR works and madVR does not, then you can come back here and ask for help. As long as EVR doesn't work, either, it can't be a bug in madVR, and as a result doesn't belong into this thread.


"or something" is as unspecific as could be. Could you at least tell me the *exact* error message, please? And no, I'm not aware of this problem. It usually only occurred in XP, but not in newer OSs. Do you happen to have the "present several frames in advance" option disabled in the madVR exclusive mode settings?
Ah, I figured out the bug. When I hit a button to turn on screen in full screen mode (exclusive mode is off) when coming back from the screen turning off (automatically by Windows after x minutes), I get "creating Direct3D device failed (80070005)"
not from even standby, and only happens in full screen and doesn't happen when I just move the mouse

Last edited by iopq; 28th July 2014 at 09:39.
iopq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 17:40   #27012  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dansrfe View Post
madshi, is it possible for you to add DX11 support again? When I use the web installer, it gives me an error saying that a newer version of DirectX has been detected on the system and it cannot proceed. I think there may be a link with DX9 and allowing NVIDIA to take over rendering.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can try or if you require more info. Thanks.
Did you apply any tweaks to your Windows installation, such as disabling UAC or disabling services? For example disabling the "Program Compatibility Assistant" service can cause trouble with DirectX installation.

Here is a link to the full DirectX installer (not web dl):
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=8109

Run "dxdiag.exe" to open DirectX diagnostics tool.

Some MS Fixit tools that you should run:
http://support.microsoft.com/mats/games
http://support.microsoft.com/mats/vi...es_or_crashes/
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 18:01   #27013  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Well, I don't really know what the problem is. You could try uploading a debug log, maybe I can see something.
How do I get debug log? [Note: I can't perform clean exit of media player, I need to kill it]
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2014, 18:45   #27014  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
the "activate debug mode.bat" switches madVR to debug mode thsi creates a log on your desktop run it again to disable it these logs are huge very very very huge. and compress them!
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2014, 05:21   #27015  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
Thanks, here's the log.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z madVR - log.7z (22.9 KB, 11 views)
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 17:33   #27016  |  Link
innocenat
Registered User
 
innocenat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 77
I just updated my driver to latest version, 340.52, and it still does not fix the problem. FYI.
__________________
AviSynth+
innocenat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 18:34   #27017  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
this might be OT (please let me know where else to put this), but whats the current CPU & GPU/graphic card you would need to play native 1080p stuff flawlessly with madvr (+lavfilters), with jinc or nnedi3 (128 tabs) for chroma upsampling (also for 1080p59/60 content. no scaling or image doubling involved though) AND have a rather silent system at the same time?

basically what cpu+gpu power is needed for that, but also doesnt create too much noise (fans etc.)?
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)

Last edited by Thunderbolt8; 29th July 2014 at 18:37.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 18:46   #27018  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,964
chroma on a 1080p source with 128 is a bit hard...
my r9 270 can't do this not even close so you need something big for this really big.

jinc 3 ar for chroma is a nothing hard to archive at all i can't even guess how little gpu power you need.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 18:58   #27019  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,833
Hardware advice is OT for this thread.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2014, 20:32   #27020  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Hardware advice is OT for this -thread.
alright, I opened a new thread here: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...33#post1688333
__________________
Laptop Acer Aspire V3-772g: i7-4202MQ, 8GB Ram, NVIDIA GTX 760M (+ Intel HD 4600), Windows 8.1 x64, madVR (x64), MPC-HC (x64), LAV Filter (x64), XySubfilter (x64)
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.