Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th April 2019, 11:36   #41  |  Link
excellentswordfight
Lost my old account :(
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico8583 View Post
Hi,
I tried some settings and some encodes but I can see every time x265 lose a lot of details, even with a high bitrate (2 pass 35 MBits, CRF16...)
Do you have some tricks to encode ?
Thank you !
Preset slow, or lower, and --no-sao --no-strong-intra-smoothing --deblock -1:-1.

Sounds a bit odd that you lose a lot of detail at crf16 though (unless you are using a fast preset). Mind sharing settings and some samples?

Last edited by excellentswordfight; 26th April 2019 at 11:44.
excellentswordfight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2019, 17:09   #42  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
Thank you.
I'm using slower or veryslow and no-sao, I'll try others settings. And I'll share my settings and samples.
I'm using Captain America Civil War chapter 17 to make my tests.
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 12:11   #43  |  Link
~ VEGETA ~
The cult of personality
 
~ VEGETA ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Planet Vegeta
Posts: 121
how much time does it take to finish your encode? I have an ATOM 2750 CPU dedicated server (yes I know it is not suited for encoding) and it is so slow. I wonder what affordable cpu I could use\buy to suit hevc 1080p encodes? any suggestions?
~ VEGETA ~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2019, 14:39   #44  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 387
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~ VEGETA ~ View Post
...
I wonder what affordable cpu I could use\buy to suit hevc 1080p encodes? any suggestions?
You should wait until AMD releases their 7nm CPU:s this summer. Intel's CPU-prices (if you're an Intel-fanboi :)) will drop then too.
Forteen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 10:17   #45  |  Link
excellentswordfight
Lost my old account :(
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forteen88 View Post
You should wait until AMD releases their 7nm CPU:s this summer. Intel's CPU-prices (if you're an Intel-fanboi ) will drop then too.
Well with the latest Intel generation prices went up rather then down even with Ryzen2 released though... The prices could drop, but I woudlnt just assume that they do.

There is very little information that suggest that Ryzen3 will do much to increase general performance in a significant way. However there are two things that are very promising for the target group on this forum. AVX-performance and probably an 16C/32T mainstream modell.

Last edited by excellentswordfight; 3rd May 2019 at 10:19.
excellentswordfight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 18:03   #46  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
So you think it's better to wait Ryzen 3 instead of buy a i9 9900K or i7 9700K ?
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 18:47   #47  |  Link
excellentswordfight
Lost my old account :(
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico8583 View Post
So you think it's better to wait Ryzen 3 instead of buy a i9 9900K or i7 9700K ?
In this case yes, with the improved AVX performance of Ryzen3 they should give a nice pump in price/performance over the current offering for encoding. But if money isnt a big issue, and you think that you are fine with 16threads, 9900k isnt a bad option. It will still be fast, and probably faster then ryzen3 thread for thread. But I'm pretty sure we will get an 12c/24t chip that is priced under 9900k.
excellentswordfight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2019, 19:33   #48  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
Yes you're probably right, Ryzen 3 should be released soon so I can wait thank you
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th September 2019, 14:34   #49  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 121
I don't wanna start new topic for small question, so I decided ask for help here.
I'm encoding 4k HDR > 1080p HDR with preset Slower, CRF 12-13 with output bitrate 16-17mbps. And my question is how much --merange and --ctu affects to quality?

For example:

--ctu 64 --merange 57 (2.5fps)
--ctu 32 --merange 26 (2.83fps) +13% speed

Avg QP is the same, output file size almost the same (428.2mb vs 428.5mb).

Is it worth spending 13% speed?

Ps: I have i5-9400f 6 core cpu, so just lowering --ctu don't give me boost on speed, all boost from lowering --merange.

My full settings:

--level-idc 51 --sar 1:1 --colorprim 9 --colormatrix 9 --transfer 16 --range limited --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(10000000,1)" --max-cll "0,0" --hdr --hdr-opt --hrd --chromaloc 2 --repeat-headers --min-luma 0 --max-luma 1023 --no-cutree --no-sao --selective-sao 0 --no-open-gop --no-b-pyramid --no-strong-intra-smoothing --vbv-bufsize 160000 --vbv-maxrate 160000 --min-keyint 23 --keyint 240 --ipratio 1.30 --pbratio 1.20 --deblock -3:-3 --qcomp 0.65 --aq-mode 2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 2 --psy-rdoq 2 --rd 4 --limit-refs 3 --bframes 8 --rc-lookahead 60 --subme 5 --me star --ctu 32 --merange 26 --max-merge 4

Last edited by redbtn; 17th September 2019 at 14:50.
redbtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2019, 21:37   #50  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
I don't wanna start new topic for small question, so I decided ask for help here.
I'm encoding 4k HDR > 1080p HDR with preset Slower, CRF 12-13 with output bitrate 16-17mbps. And my question is how much --merange and --ctu affects to quality?

For example:

--ctu 64 --merange 57 (2.5fps)
--ctu 32 --merange 26 (2.83fps) +13% speed
I'd get nervous about having a small merange when working at 4K resolution, but that would be content dependent. Visual comparison is probably required here.

And most 4K content can wind up using 64x64 CTUs. It's probably a bigger deal at lower bitrates.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2019, 23:13   #51  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,575
I found that restricting CTU does improve speed a lot and can improve sharpness with lower resolution content... BUT this sharpness improvement was only visible when doing frame by frame comparison AND it came at the cost of more blocking in motion which was significantly more visible in ordinary viewing.

My tests are always done using single pass capped VBR set up for adaptive streaming, so take that with a grain of salt, but I found leaving CTU and merange alone gave me the best results. I found preset slow to be quite tolerable in all cases.
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2019, 07:01   #52  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,636
I would definitely use CTU 64 at 1080p and above, also the new HME method to improve the search range with a smaller impact on performance. At 1080p or higher resolutions, CTU 64 should already cause enough work for the encoder to utilize the CPU much better than at 720p or lower so there should be no need to go to CTU 32.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2019, 03:38   #53  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 121
Thank you all for response.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
I would definitely use CTU 64 at 1080p and above, also the new HME method to improve the search range with a smaller impact on performance. At 1080p or higher resolutions, CTU 64 should already cause enough work for the encoder to utilize the CPU much better than at 720p or lower so there should be no need to go to CTU 32.
What's your advice for 1080p? CTU 64, Merange 57 and HME umh, umh, star?
Or I need lower merange like 32 for compensate impact HME on speed? I still don't understand actually how HME works and better way to use it.

Last edited by redbtn; 27th September 2019 at 04:33.
redbtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2019, 04:46   #54  |  Link
vpupkind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
? I still don't understand actually how HME works and better way to use it.
You run motion estimation on 1/16th your resolution, scale the motion vector you found, and search around it on 1/4th resolution.
You then scale the motion vector from the 1/4th resolution, and search around it at full resolution.
vpupkind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2019, 05:57   #55  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
Thank you all for response.

What's your advice for 1080p? CTU 64, Merange 57 and HME umh, umh, star?
Or I need lower merange like 32 for compensate impact HME on speed? I still don't understand actually how HME works and better way to use it.
In my opinion, you can lower merange with HME because it will cause a much higher range to be searched anyway (as vpupkind described there).

Although I don't know which way it works -- from full to low resolution or the other way around.
This description, http://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/rbf/CV...stimation.html , shows level 0 as one with the full resolution.

Then the description of the patch has this information:

This patch does the following:
1) Perform level-0 ME
2) Use the MVs as predictor for next level ME
3) Restrict full-search within a range when HME is enabled


In these cases, it would be really nice to have a clear explanation in the docs
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2019, 11:57   #56  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
In my opinion, you can lower merange with HME because it will cause a much higher range to be searched anyway (as vpupkind described there).



Although I don't know which way it works -- from full to low resolution or the other way around.

This description, http://homepages.inf.ed.ac.uk/rbf/CV...stimation.html , shows level 0 as one with the full resolution.



Then the description of the patch has this information:



This patch does the following:

1) Perform level-0 ME

2) Use the MVs as predictor for next level ME

3) Restrict full-search within a range when HME is enabled




In these cases, it would be really nice to have a clear explanation in the docs
Yeah, there is not enough info in docs about it.
I'm worried about this http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1881016
Is it relevant to the option --refine-mv which is changed to 1 by default for now?

I've done some tests:

--merange 57 --no-hme 2.21fps
--merange 57 --hme umh, umh, star 1.74 fps
--merange 40 --hme umh, umh, star 1.90 fps
--merange 32 --hme umh, umh, star 1.96 fps
--merange 26 --hme umh, umh, star 2.04 fps

So, 27% between HME off and HME on with same merange.
Well, the question is what is better, --merange 57 --no-hme or --merange 26 --hme, cuz defference in speed between them not so much

Last edited by redbtn; 27th September 2019 at 12:25.
redbtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2019, 13:09   #57  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,636
In theory, HME is higher quality even if you use merange 26 (because the effective merange is much higher than that). But if you need to know for sure, you need to test. It could well be that in a normal live action video, you can't tell the difference between the two.

EDIT: the message in that link is one reason why I would like to see the devs explain things a bit, like what kind of material they have tested etc.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2019, 19:54   #58  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbtn View Post
So, 27% between HME off and HME on with same merange.
Well, the question is what is better, --merange 57 --no-hme or --merange 26 --hme, cuz defference in speed between them not so much
There isn't any psychovisual tuning involved here, so looking at PSNR and SSIM differences would probably be a lot more useful than with other settings.

My gut is a smaller range with HME is probably optimal at fixed encoding time, but it'll be somewhat content dependent. HME is probably more useful to improve perf @ quality than anything else.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2019, 21:04   #59  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwaggoner View Post
My gut is a smaller range with HME is probably optimal at fixed encoding time, but it'll be somewhat content dependent. HME is probably more useful to improve perf @ quality than anything else.
Thanks for your reply! I use for 4k encoding this settings with Preset Slow and as i know the red ones affect to speed:

Quote:
--rd 4 --limit-refs 3 --bframes 8 --rc-lookahead 72 --me star --max-merge 4 --ref 4 --subme 5 --weightb --b-intra --tu-intra-depth 3 --tu-inter-depth 3 --no-cutree --no-sao --no-open-gop --no-strong-intra-smoothing --ipratio 1.35 --pbratio 1.25 --deblock -3:-3 --qcomp 0.65 --aq-mode 2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 2 --psy-rdoq 2
So, maybe i should use something like --no-rect for compensate slowdown and use --hme umh, umh, star? Or maybe decrease some other settings. I mean, it will more useful to improve perf @ quality?
I ask cuz my speed for now is 1-1.1 fps and i don't wanna go much lower than 1.0 fps

I'll do some tests with PSNR and SSIM tomorrow.

Last edited by redbtn; 30th September 2019 at 21:13.
redbtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2019, 14:32   #60  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,636
I'd drop subme down to 3 as per the preset.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
handbrake, hevc, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.