Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th March 2019, 00:38   #801  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Opened jpg image is not correct

Attached you have 2 crops, 1st is from 1920 x 1080 picture (which I first resize from 12M pixels origin in VirtualDub) and 2nd from Print Screen how is these picture look opened in VirtualDub. Because of these I get ugly banding in time lapse video. https://youtu.be/IFP4W7nd9VM If I open (in VirtualDub) origin 12M pixels picture and downsize it to 1920 x 1080 with the same resize plugin, there is no banding. https://youtu.be/_zdAa1RwUvM
Without youtube reencoding banding in upper left corner is much uglier.
I also tried with VirtualDub 1.10.4 and it's the same.
I tried the quality of jpeg coding (in exporting downsized image in VirtualDub) 95 and 100 and it's the same.

Added later: Video make with VirtualDub with h264 8bit codec CQP 20 on my Dropbox
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9wzgh4wld5...50Q20.mp4?dl=0

Quite unusual, but for a sunset time lapse very serious mistake. In fact virtualdub it's for me, for time lapse, unusable.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Tehnicni; 24th March 2019 at 01:10.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 02:48   #802  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
I'm not sure if this is a VirtualDub2 problem, but the following Avisynth script:

Code:
colorbars(pixel_type="rgbap8")
comes out all messed up. I was surprised it worked at all, given that VirtualDub2 doesn't understand pixel_type="rgbp8" (no alpha). Is it mistaking RGBAP8 for some other colour space?
rgbap8 and rgbp8 work for me but I have installed intermediate build of avs+ Pinterf gave me.
Which version of avs+ you have?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 11:40   #803  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
Tehnicni

It's all unclear. Do you mean
1. you have jpeg image (created in which program?)
2. vdub opens it with loss of quality?

If this is correct please share the image as is so I can examine it.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 13:27   #804  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Tehnicni

It's all unclear. Do you mean
1. you have jpeg image (created in which program?)
2. vdub opens it with loss of quality?

If this is correct please share the image as is so I can examine it.
I'm sorry, as usually the main thing I forget. Here's the original picture https://www.dropbox.com/s/g9t47up1e5...m0630.jpg?dl=0 . Open it in VirtualDub, aplay crop (bottom 400, top 356), resize it to 1920 x 1080 with Precise Bilinear and export it as .jpg. Then import the same (downsizes) picture into VirtualDub and you will get streaks (band) around the colored cloud above slightly left on the picture.
Downsized image if you would need it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/65ibgcuxb4...0630.jpeg?dl=0
It seems to me that the Precise bilinear resize already changes the (round) cloud, perhaps because the downsizeing removes the noise.

PS: I'm working Time Lapse through the exported images, because I process them before re inported it into VirtualDub for making video.

Last edited by Tehnicni; 24th March 2019 at 13:49.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 13:36   #805  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
rgbap8 and rgbp8 work for me but I have installed intermediate build of avs+ Pinterf gave me.
Which version of avs+ you have?
r2768.

RGBP8 results in "Couldn't locate decompressor for format '8BPS' (unknown)", while RGBAP8 looks like this:

__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2019, 23:29   #806  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
wonkey_monkey

avs+ needs a new build, there were changes. 8BPS output is deprecated (the fourcc is actually reserved by compressed format). Cant explain rgba picture but it is related for sure.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2019, 00:48   #807  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
Tehnicni

I think there is subtle difference in decoding jpeg. Luckily there is an option: in the file open dialog change "input driver/open using" dropdown to "Caching input driver". The result looks smoother to me this way, but the difference is so subtle it is hard to tell what is ground truth.

Note: Caching input driver (using ffmpeg decoder) emits picture in YCbCr 4:2:2 format which I think is good because you do resize (this way should preserve details better).
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2019, 10:18   #808  |  Link
pinterf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,256
Quote:
Originally Posted by wonkey_monkey View Post
I'm not sure if this is a VirtualDub2 problem, but the following Avisynth script:

Code:
colorbars(pixel_type="rgbap8")
comes out all messed up. I was surprised it worked at all, given that VirtualDub2 doesn't understand pixel_type="rgbp8" (no alpha). Is it mistaking RGBAP8 for some other colour space?
VDub2 works fine with 8 bit planar RGB formats when using with the latest (not yet released) Avisynth+.
pinterf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2019, 23:04   #809  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks shekh, Cashing driver is right solution.
I attached a series of pictures, the name says it all.
Let say 1st: File "Im0630" in 4K format Open with Cashing driver, Precise bicubic Resize and Crop, Exported, ReOpen with Cashing driver, Level (black 30, White 140) and finaly export single image.
The last two was exported and reloaded 3 times, so the error has multiplied 3 times.
A lot of distortion I think.
Attached Images
    

Last edited by Tehnicni; 25th March 2019 at 23:32.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2019, 23:30   #810  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
I forgot a picture wich was 2 times opened with Cashing driver without level correction.
Without bands.


Added later: Too much joy leads to problems. Cashing driver rejects pictures from my ID. I'm trying to change Cashing driver settings, but no go. Here is picture from my IDE https://www.dropbox.com/s/rkwcbp16yy...0860.jpeg?dl=0
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Tehnicni; 26th March 2019 at 00:31.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2019, 02:43   #811  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
I don't see your pictures, please use dropbox instead of forum attachments.
And I can't follow your description. "The last two was exported and reloaded 3 times" what this really means?
It seems you are doing something pointless. Using jpeg as intermediate is bad idea, this is not lossless format. Look at this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generation_loss
Use tiff, tga, png.

"Cashing driver rejects pictures https://www.dropbox.com/s/rkwcbp16yy...0860.jpeg?dl=0"
I can open this file without issues.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2019, 03:20   #812  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Strange, I can see all 4 attached picture after clicking link.

Yes, I open and export .jpg 3 times to enhance error that you can maybe see where is a problem and to decide to change internal jpg codec With Cashing driver there is no noteable difference.

My IDE support only jpg and png

Problem with picture Im0860 is in different color subsampling then previous 859. So if you open Im0859 https://www.dropbox.com/s/svr3cjw4l6...0859.jpeg?dl=0 as a picture sequence with Im0860 in the same folder, Im0860 produce error. With internal jpg codec there is no error.

Last edited by Tehnicni; 26th March 2019 at 03:31.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2019, 10:09   #813  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
Right, sequence of mixed formats is not supported.
I agree, jpeg support could be updated. It is also very inefficient at encoding.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 13:19   #814  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
audio stream copy

I would like to ask if the audio copy issue
(as discussed in https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...19#post1867019)
will be fixed at some time.
I ask because I paused working on WMV files with VD2
because I would have to accept unnescessary audio degradation
(re-encode the audio, although I don't change it at all).
(I tried by myself to workaround the issue...
extract audio stream (ffmpeg, asfbin, ...) and re-add,
but the out-of-sync/ delay effect always occurs.
And haven't found any hint why and by what amount).
Have you been successful on this shekh?
And if - will there by an improved VD2 sometimes (soon)?
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 13:47   #815  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 705
Honestly since that message I made no progress on audio. It is still on priority but it will be done when its done.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 13:56   #816  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 55
OK then.
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 19:51   #817  |  Link
wonkey_monkey
Formerly davidh*****
 
wonkey_monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,839
VirtualDub2 has been taking a long time to open for the last couple of weeks - just the first time after a reboot, it seems. Is there anything I can do - command line switches or anything - that might give a clue as to why it's so slow to start?
__________________
My AviSynth filters / I'm the Doctor
wonkey_monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2019, 23:52   #818  |  Link
Tehnicni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 15
Does anyone know how to convert hundreds of raw (eg Panasonic rw2) images into 16 bit tiff without gamma correction, that I can opened in VirtualDub2 for Time lapse.
I've tried different SW, but I always get a gamma corrected images, which is far from raw data.
Tehnicni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2019, 00:24   #819  |  Link
Groucho2004
Cantankerous Fossil
 
Groucho2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A wretched hive of scum and villainy
Posts: 4,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tehnicni View Post
Does anyone know how to convert hundreds of raw (eg Panasonic rw2) images into 16 bit tiff without gamma correction, that I can opened in VirtualDub2 for Time lapse.
I've tried different SW, but I always get a gamma corrected images, which is far from raw data.
I presume you have tried RawTherapee, SilkyPix and the likes?
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by Groucho2004; 2nd April 2019 at 10:29.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2019, 10:28   #820  |  Link
lansing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tehnicni View Post
Does anyone know how to convert hundreds of raw (eg Panasonic rw2) images into 16 bit tiff without gamma correction, that I can opened in VirtualDub2 for Time lapse.
I've tried different SW, but I always get a gamma corrected images, which is far from raw data.
Do you mean curve not gamma?
lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.