Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Old 4th March 2010, 20:24   #1  |  Link
nj2010

newbie trying to resize hd video down to a smaller, specific size with Avidemux

Hello Guys,

I’m new to the forum. I am a web designer who built a site that has a flash video player. I created the player myself in flash/actionscript. The video player supports loading HD videos (mp4 and H264 supported).

Due to space limitations on this specific site, the videos must be a size of 590 x 250. ( im not offering a full screen button )

I just picked up one of those compact cameras that shoot HD video: Below are the 2 choices that it will shoot video in:

AVCHD Format:
VIDEO: MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 1920 X 1080/60i or 1440x1080/60i
AUDIO: DOLBY DIGITL 2 CH.
-----------------------------------------------------------

MP4 Format:
VIDEO: MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 1440 x 1080/30
AUDIO: MPEG-4 AAC-LC 2CH

I plan to shoot 1-2 minute short HD video clips and then I plan to stream them thru the player.

What I need to do is take the HD video and resize it to 590x250 using avidemux but I do not want to lose any picture quality. I’m really confused on the proper steps/settings that I need to follow so that I can resize the video to the size but keep it very very sharp. Being that the final size is uncommon dimensions, I thought I can find some help here.

Q1: which of the 2 formats above do you suggest that should I be shooting in so will make it easiest to resize to 590x250? I didn’t know if I should be using the AVCHD format or not.