Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th May 2020, 16:48   #1  |  Link
maldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
DTS with eac3to

I was trying to convert a .wav audio file to .dts audio file with eac3to but I can't and the program says:

The DTS Surcode encoder doesn't seem to be installed

Where can I find "Surcode DTS Encoder" or any other alternative and how should I install it?

Also, I cannot change the bitrate in any .dts file. For example, I have this:

DTS 2.0 960 Kbps 16 bit

And I want:

DTS 2.0 896 Kbps 16 bit (like the original DTS Core)

Any way to do this?
maldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 17:43   #2  |  Link
amichaelt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
Where can I find "Surcode DTS Encoder"
You'll find it from an authorized retailer like in the following link:

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...e_DVD_DTS.html

It's proprietary, commercial software.
__________________
My project BDSup2Sub++: https://github.com/amichaeltm/BDSup2SubPlusPlus

Last edited by amichaelt; 6th May 2020 at 17:46.
amichaelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 17:58   #3  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
I was trying to convert a .wav audio file to .dts audio file with eac3to but I can't and the program says...
Please be more specific... What programme?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 18:12   #4  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Please be more specific... What programme?
eac3to -test
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 18:15   #5  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
I was trying to convert a .wav audio file to .dts audio file with eac3to but I can't and the program says:

The DTS Surcode encoder doesn't seem to be installed

Where can I find "Surcode DTS Encoder" or any other alternative and how should I install it?

Also, I cannot change the bitrate in any .dts file. For example, I have this:

DTS 2.0 960 Kbps 16 bit

And I want:

DTS 2.0 896 Kbps 16 bit (like the original DTS Core)

Any way to do this?
Forget Surcode's DTS Compressor, just pipe eac3to's output to ffdcaenc.

Surcode was designed for DVD-Video compatibility, therefore it is VERY-limited and outdated.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2020, 03:01   #6  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
And I want:

DTS 2.0 896 Kbps 16 bit (like the original DTS Core)
For what you want this?

For a 2.0 audio is too much bitrate.

BTW try this:

ffdcaenc -i input.wav -o output.dts -b 896
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 7th May 2020 at 03:12. Reason: add info
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2020, 11:28   #7  |  Link
maldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For what you want this?

For a 2.0 audio is too much bitrate.

BTW try this:

ffdcaenc -i input.wav -o output.dts -b 896
Because the original DTS Core has that unusual bitrate. I'm going to try with ffdcaenc as you all say (I've never used it) and I'll tell you the results.
maldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2020, 11:51   #8  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
Because the original DTS Core has that unusual bitrate. I'm going to try with ffdcaenc as you all say (I've never used it) and I'll tell you the results.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
For a 2.0 audio is too much bitrate.

BTW try this:

ffdcaenc -i input.wav -o output.dts -b 896
tebasuna51 is correct. For 2.0 audio, even the DVD-Video specifications indicate a lower maximum bitrate,
namely 503.25 kbps (sampling rate = 48 kHz).

960 kbps is not unusual for Blu-Ray. But it should be unusual for 2.0 DTS.
Yes, not every «professional» user of the Master Audio Suite knows very-well what they do
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2020, 15:39   #9  |  Link
maldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
Where should i place the “ffdcaenc.exe” file? I have placed it inside the "UsEac3to" folder and then I’ve done the following:

I run “UsEac3To.exe” and I fed it with the .dts file that I want to modify, “audio.dts”. I want to try this but I guess I have to change something:

ffdcaenc -i input.wav -o output.dts -b 896

But, what?. Something like that?:

ffdcaenc -i audio.dts -o output.dts -b 896

In both cases Useac3to says the same thing:

Command line parameter "i" is unknown. <ERROR>

I don't know what I need to change or maybe I need to install ffdcaenc in a different way.
maldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2020, 21:16   #10  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
@maldon,

Out of interest... Why do you want to generate 2-channel/stereo DTS encodes?

Dolby Digital (AC3) and Dolby Digital Plus (EAC3) works very well and is pretty easy to encode using UsEac3To (as a front-end).


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 00:43   #11  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,805
If you use UsEac3to load the input and select Output format "dca-ext", then 'Add' and you obtain:

stdout.wav | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_2eng.dts -l -b 1509.75

Is the standard bitrate for 5.1, modify the bitrate to: -b 896

Maybe you want some other parameters, for instance change the duration from 25 to 23.976 fps, modify to:

stdout.wav -25 -changeTo23.976 | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_2eng.dts -l -b 896
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 10th May 2020 at 10:01. Reason: typo
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 09:05   #12  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
As previously mentioned the 896 bit-rate that maldon is selecting is too high for 2-channel stereo encodes.

Especially when you consider that many of the newer movie DVD releases which offered 5.1 channel DTS audio, were encoded at 754.5 kbps!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 13:08   #13  |  Link
maldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
@maldon,

Out of interest... Why do you want to generate 2-channel/stereo DTS encodes?

Dolby Digital (AC3) and Dolby Digital Plus (EAC3) works very well and is pretty easy to encode using UsEac3To (as a front-end).

Cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
As previously mentioned the 896 bit-rate that maldon is selecting is too high for 2-channel stereo encodes.

Especially when you consider that many of the newer movie DVD releases which offered 5.1 channel DTS audio, were encoded at 754.5 kbps!
Because I wanted the DTS Core to be the same as the original:

DTS-HD Master Audio English 1196 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1196 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 896 kbps / 16-bit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
If you use UsEac3to load the input and select Output format "dca-ext", then 'Add' and you obtain:

stdout.wav | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_2eng.dts -l -b 1509.75

Is the standard bitrate for 5.1, modify the bitrate to: -b 896

Maybe you want some other parameters, for instance change the duration from 25 to 23.976 fps, modify to:

stdout.wav -25 -changeTo23.976 | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_2eng.dts -l -b 896
The result:

DTS, 2.0 channels, 1:28:10, 960kbps, 48kHz
The ArcSoft and Sonic decoders don't seem to work, will use libav instead.
Patching bitdepth to 24 bits...
Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
Writing WAV...
Creating file "stdout.wav"...
Writing the destination file failed. <ERROR>
Aborted at file position 524288. <ERROR>


It seems that the DTS file I have has some problem, Medianfo says it has 16 bits, but for Useac3to it seems to be 64.

Patching bitdepth to 24 bits...

Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...


And also this. What happened?

The ArcSoft and Sonic decoders don't seem to work, will use libav instead.

I don't quite understand it, but maybe the bits are the reason for those errors. Well, it doesn't matter if it's hopeless. The point is to start with my first DTS conversions.

By the way, with ffdcaenc it is impossible to convert from wav to DTS-HD Master Audio?

Last edited by maldon; 11th May 2020 at 13:11.
maldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 15:11   #14  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
Because I wanted the DTS Core to be the same as the original:

DTS-HD Master Audio English 1196 kbps 2.0 / 48 kHz / 1196 kbps / 16-bit (DTS Core: 2.0 / 48 kHz / 896 kbps / 16-bit)
Hmmm....

It would seem that you are not aware that it's possible to extract the original lossy DTS core from a DTS-HD MA stream then?!

This is why it's important to fully explain what you what to do and why you want to do it!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 21:49   #15  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
The ArcSoft and Sonic decoders don't seem to work, will use libav instead.
...
Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
These messages are from a old eac3to version, than can't decode DTS-MA. Please use the last version with libdcadec.dll


Quote:
By the way, with ffdcaenc it is impossible to convert from wav to DTS-HD Master Audio?
Of course, you can obtain only the DTS core, like you say at first post.
If you want obtain a DTS-MA you can't fix the bitrate.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 23:54   #16  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,034
There IS something weird in there...
896 kbps is not a valid (or exact) bitrate for 48 kHz DTS audio...
with a granularity of 4 bytes per audio frame, the bitrate must be an integer multiple of 3 kbps at 48 kHz

Quote:
The result:

DTS, 2.0 channels, 1:28:10, 960kbps, 48kHz
Definitely an outdated version of eac3to. 960 kbps is the "transmission bitrate", a very-useless metadata field invented by DTS, Inc. themselves.
The latest version of eac3to is able to calculate the actual bitrate of the DTS "core" streams correctly.

Last edited by filler56789; 11th May 2020 at 23:56. Reason: clarity
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2020, 13:02   #17  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
There IS something weird in there...
896 kbps is not a valid (or exact) bitrate for 48 kHz DTS audio...
with a granularity of 4 bytes per audio frame, the bitrate must be an integer multiple of 3 kbps at 48 kHz
ffdcaenc can obtain a granularity of 2 bytes.
Using -b 896 I obtain:
Quote:
Number of PCM Sample Blocks .: 15 ( 512 samples/frame)
Primary Frame Byte Size .....: 1195 ( 1196 bytes/frame)
Audio Channel Arrangement ...: 2 (2 L + R stereo)
Core Audio Samp. Frequency ..: 13 (48 kHz)
Transmission Bit Rate .......: 16 (960 Kb/s)
with a real bitrate of:
1196*8*48/512 = 897 Kb/s

But using -b 895.5 I obtain:
Quote:
Number of PCM Sample Blocks .: 15 ( 512 samples/frame)
Primary Frame Byte Size .....: 1193 ( 1194 bytes/frame)
Audio Channel Arrangement ...: 2 (2 L + R stereo)
Core Audio Samp. Frequency ..: 13 (48 kHz)
Transmission Bit Rate .......: 16 (960 Kb/s)
with a real bitrate of:
1194*8*48/512 = 895.5 Kb/s

And eac3to, and MediaInfo, round to:

DTS, 2.0 channels, 0:02:55, 896kbps, 48kHz

Of course don't have sense that bitrate for a 2.0
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2020, 16:03   #18  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,034
@tebasuna51:

Quote:
ffdcaenc can obtain a granularity of 2 bytes
My bad, I really wan't aware of that

Now I see that Alexei Andropov's job was even better than I thought
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2020, 12:50   #19  |  Link
maldon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hmmm....

It would seem that you are not aware that it's possible to extract the original lossy DTS core from a DTS-HD MA stream then?!

This is why it's important to fully explain what you what to do and why you want to do it!
No, I'm trying to explain that the original DTS-HD MA has a DTS Core of 896. I just wanted to show that there are Blu-ray releases with that kind of bitrates, besides the common 768 and 1509. I don't have that DTS-HD MA just a DTS 960 that I want to reduce to the original 896.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
These messages are from a old eac3to version, than can't decode DTS-MA. Please use the last version with libdcadec.dll
It works with this:

https://www.videohelp.com/download/e...sEac3to129.zip

And this:

stdout.wav | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_.dts -l -b 895.5

The result:

Before:

960 kb/s, 48 kHz, 16 bits, 2 channels, DTS

After:

896 kb/s, 48 kHz, 24 bits, 2 channels, DTS

So, If I want to keep 16 bits, ¿where I must place -dontpatchdts?. I tried this, but no results:

stdout.wav -dontpatchdts | ffdcaenc -i - -o %_2eng.dts -l -b 895.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Of course, you can obtain only the DTS core, like you say at first post.
If you want obtain a DTS-MA you can't fix the bitrate.
Well, I took a new .mkv file (with .FLAC audio) and I convert .FLAC to .WAV with Useac3to. Now, I want to convert .WAV to DTS-HD MA but I don’t know how. The reason is that I would like to know if that DTS-HD MA I obtain from the .WAV file would have a DTS Core.
maldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2020, 13:18   #20  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
No, I'm trying to explain that the original DTS-HD MA has a DTS Core of 896. I just wanted to show that there are Blu-ray releases with that kind of bitrates, besides the common 768 and 1509. I don't have that DTS-HD MA just a DTS 960 that I want to reduce to the original 896.
Okay...

Quote:
Originally Posted by maldon View Post
Well, I took a new .mkv file (with .FLAC audio) and I convert .FLAC to .WAV with Useac3to. Now, I want to convert .WAV to DTS-HD MA but I don’t know how. The reason is that I would like to know if that DTS-HD MA I obtain from the .WAV file would have a DTS Core.
Not possible... Currently, 'free' DTS-HD MA software encodes don't exist.

Again... This is why it's important to fully explain what you what to do and why you want to do it!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.