Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2014, 11:30   #26721  |  Link
michkrol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post
128 seems unnecessary to me. The linked image shows luma image doubling with 32 neurons enabled on the left side, and image doubling off on the right side. With it off the aliasing on the lips, teeth, and circles are noticeable, but I don't notice any difference between the 32 shown in the left picture and any other image double setting be it 16 or 256. Simply enabling it at 16 neurons seems like enough.
Image Doubling on vs off
As always with these tests, the results can and will vary based on source material type, resolution and quality. For anime with thick contours, like in your example just enabling NNEDI works wonders, but live-action imagery can benefit from more neurons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anime Viewer View Post
On the topic of wasted resources. I did some experimenting, and it seems like a waste to use Jinc for Image Upscaling. The image on the left (below) uses bilinear image upscaling while the one on the right (below) uses jinc image upscaling. I don't see a significant difference, and going with bilinear drops the render times by around 10ms.
Bilinear vs Jinc image upscaling
The difference depends mostly on scaling factor, so let me ask, are you using NNEDI doubling for that comparison? If yes, then the scaling factor is ~1.11x meaning you'll only notice switching upscaling to nearest neighbor.
Sometimes, depending on the source, you can get a (subjectively) better image by using cheaper algorithms, because they blur details and hide noise that shouldn't be there in the first place.

All in all, for your example you're right, but you can't say your findings are true for every video out there
michkrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 02:51   #26722  |  Link
mindbomb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 576
I think I may have found a bug - the "use opencl to process dxva nv12 surfaces" option is active when film deinterlacing is used, and not just for video deinterlacing.
mindbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 03:34   #26723  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,782
Why is that a bug? That option should be active anytime DXVA decoding is used.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 12:14   #26724  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
vt50 settings

Hi

I have panasonic vt50 (16-235) plasma. Windows 8 using ATI 280x with latest driver. Using mphc, lav and madvr.

Is the correct settings:
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
ATI CCC: Video: Dymanic range not selected
LAV Video Decoder: RGB output leves: untouched
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)

Is this correct? Thx in advance
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 12:32   #26725  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,129
this setting is right if you only care for MadVR use.
just test it with a black clipping file.

can't those tv do 0-255.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 13:03   #26726  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this setting is right if you only care for MadVR use.
just test it with a black clipping file.

can't those tv do 0-255.
Thanks So I guess its correct for my mkvs then.

But what do you mean if it's only for madvr use? You mean bad for desktop usage?
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 13:05   #26727  |  Link
DarkSpace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
[...]
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)
This looks wrong. Assuming that your TV can't handle fullrange RGB, you should set it to either
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
madvr: RGB output leves: PC levels (0-255)
(which is the general-purpose solution), or to
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Full RGB)
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)
(which is probably the preferred solution if you care only about your videos displaying correctly - be warned: anything other than madVR will display incorrectly, with clipped colors).

In your current setup, madVR squeezes the 0-255 RGB data into the 16-235 range, and later, your video driver squeezes that 16-235 data, which it thinks is 0-255 data, into 16-235 again!
DarkSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 13:57   #26728  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 494
I just did a quick little search for the VT50... I am sure it can handle 0-255 as well as 4:4:4... delve deeper into your manual and settings to find out how to make it happen.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 14:03   #26729  |  Link
Neet009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
Hi

I have panasonic vt50 (16-235) plasma. Windows 8 using ATI 280x with latest driver. Using mphc, lav and madvr.

Is the correct settings:
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
ATI CCC: Video: Dymanic range not selected
LAV Video Decoder: RGB output leves: untouched
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)

Is this correct? Thx in advance
AFAIK VT50 can handle 0-255.
You could change the option "HDMI/DVI RGB Range" to "Non-standard",and then set everything to 0-255.
Neet009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 14:10   #26730  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutotype View Post
Hi folks,
Win7 x64 ( Aero disabled ), madvr 0.87.10, MPC-HC nightly, Reclock, AMD HD7750 ( 14.4 WHQL ), Samsung UE65H8500 ( UHD TV ) connected directly per HDMI. 23.976fps movie played back on 3840x2160p24 resolution.
Playback in windowed mode works fine ( fullscreen as well ), but switching on fullscreen exclusive mode, when going fullscreen causes black screen and the playback stops there.
http://www.mediafire.com/download/59...adVR_-_log.rar

Any hint please what blackscreens the FSE mode?
Thanks
in FSE settings.. lower the "how many frames shall be presented in advance" until a picture shows up..

some one helped me out with this before.. mine was set at 16 frames, and black screen, I had to put it down to 12.
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 14:14   #26731  |  Link
tp4tissue
Registered User
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 427
Question guys:

if I use windows classic theme without desktop composition on Win7.. there's tearing in windowed playback mode.

is there a fix for this?
__________________
Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 15:01   #26732  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neet009 View Post
AFAIK VT50 can handle 0-255.
You could change the option "HDMI/DVI RGB Range" to "Non-standard",and then set everything to 0-255.
The option hdmi/dvi is not in the menu using a hdmi cable. Then you need to use a dvi>hdmi cable... Atm Im using a hdmi cable.

So there is no 0-255 wihtout dvi>hdmi...
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 15:06   #26733  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSpace View Post
This looks wrong. Assuming that your TV can't handle fullrange RGB, you should set it to either
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
madvr: RGB output leves: PC levels (0-255)
(which is the general-purpose solution), or to
ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Full RGB)
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)
(which is probably the preferred solution if you care only about your videos displaying correctly - be warned: anything other than madVR will display incorrectly, with clipped colors).

In your current setup, madVR squeezes the 0-255 RGB data into the 16-235 range, and later, your video driver squeezes that 16-235 data, which it thinks is 0-255 data, into 16-235 again!
The only way to get the tv to display this jpg picture below correctly is to set pixel format 4:4:4 limited (16-235). So I dont think Full RGB is correct for desktop usage either.


If the pixel format in CCC is 4:4:4 full (0-255) I only see 14 of the black boxes. When pixel format in CCC is 4:4:4 limited (16-235) I see atleast 27 boxes

Also using totalmedia theater i can see 17-25 in the calibration video flash when CCC is set to pixel format limited.. If I set CCC to full pixel format I see no flashing in the calibration video.

And with CCC pixel format set to limited and madvr to tv 16-235 I can also see the blinking. If CCC pixel format is set to limited and madvr to pc 0-255 I cannot see the blinking.

Therefore I conclude that the following must be correct fort the VT50 using a hdmi cable from the 280x:

ATI CCC: pixel format: RGB 4:4:4 (Limited RGB)
ATI CCC: Video: Dymanic range not selected
LAV Video Decoder: RGB output leves: untouched
madvr: RGB output leves: TV levels (16-235)

Last edited by magnusr; 25th June 2014 at 15:23.
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 15:21   #26734  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by magnusr View Post
The only way to get the tv to display this picture correctly is to set pixel format 4:4:4 limited (16-235). So I dont think Full RGB is correct for desktop usage either.
Are you viewing that picture using some image viewer or your media player? Remember that
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSpace View Post
be warned: anything other than madVR will display incorrectly, with clipped colors).
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 15:45   #26735  |  Link
magnusr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivan View Post
Are you viewing that picture using some image viewer or your media player? Remember that
Acdsee image viewer and paint gives the same result. Im not viewing the image in the media player.

I use mphc+lav+ madvr and arcsoft totalmedia theatre 6 to see the blinking 17-25 in the calibration video.
magnusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 19:22   #26736  |  Link
blu3wh0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 38
I'm using a GT50 and I have no problems with this, so your VT50 should support Full Range. Make sure you select Non-standard range on your TV options for 0-255. There are three options (Standard, Non-standard, and Auto), do NOT select Auto as it will not properly choose Non-standard when you feed it 4:4:4 RGB (Full Range). Also, madVR needs to be set to 0-255.
blu3wh0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 20:27   #26737  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
Question guys:

if I use windows classic theme without desktop composition on Win7.. there's tearing in windowed playback mode.

is there a fix for this?
There are two modes for Windowed besides Windowed Overlay (Present frames in advanced enabled or not). Which mode are you using? Try the other one.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 21:33   #26738  |  Link
Trib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Just a quick question about SmoothMotion. When playing a 24fps film with tv at 60Hz the same applies as playing a 60fps film? As in keeping rendering time below vsync interval of <~17ms? Havent used SmoothMotion before, but I've gotten lazy and don't wanna add another filter in my chain(Reclock with 24fps-24Hz) and just use 60Hz with everything after a fresh Windows 8.1 install.
__________________
Hardware: Asus P8Z68/GEN-3, 8gb 1600Mhz ddr3, Core i5 2500k, Gtx 680, xonar essence st
Software: MPC-HC, MadVr
Trib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 22:24   #26739  |  Link
Shiandow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 752
You should be able to use smoothmotion with higher rendering times; MadVR only needs to process the frames that are in the original film. The only exception to this is with dithering, but unless you're using one of the error diffusion algorithms that shouldn't be a problem.
Shiandow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2014, 23:28   #26740  |  Link
Anime Viewer
Troubleshooter
 
Anime Viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trib View Post
Just a quick question about SmoothMotion. When playing a 24fps film with tv at 60Hz the same applies as playing a 60fps film? As in keeping rendering time below vsync interval of <~17ms? Havent used SmoothMotion before, but I've gotten lazy and don't wanna add another filter in my chain(Reclock with 24fps-24Hz) and just use 60Hz with everything after a fresh Windows 8.1 install.
SmoothMotion efficiency can vary depending on content. Videos with variable refresh rates can somethings be a problem for it, but then it can also be a problem without it.

Even though you say you don't want to use Reclock you might benefit from using them together. If you're planning on running everything on 60hz then you might find it beneficial to run Reclock at a forced divisible of that - namely 30fps or 60fps. (30fps would be closest to the original source, and less taxing on the system thus probably the best choice of the two). That should pretty much guarantee that you get smooth playback regardless of what video fps the source file may be.
__________________
System specs: Sager NP9150 SE with i7-3630QM 2.40GHz, 16 GB RAM, 64-bit Windows 10 Pro, NVidia GTX 680M/Intel 4000 HD optimus dual GPU system. Video viewed on LG notebook screen and LG 3D passive TV.

Last edited by Anime Viewer; 25th June 2014 at 23:32.
Anime Viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.