Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > DVD2AVI / DGIndex

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th January 2008, 13:49   #261  |  Link
squid_80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 1,963
They use it for motion estimation. As far as I'm aware decoding doesn't need that.
squid_80 is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 12:14   #262  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
I have one question.

Why MPEG Layer-2 audio is demuxed to *.mpa extension instead of *.mp2 ?
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 13:10   #263  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@Atak_Snajpera

from vob and ts (mpeg2 video) the audio extension is MPA

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 13:16   #264  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
Quote:
from vob and ts (mpeg2 video) the audio extension is MPA
aaaaaand.... What is your point?

If audio is detected as MPEG Layer-2 it should have *.mp2 extension.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 31st January 2008 at 13:22.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 14:00   #265  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
look here



audio reported as mpa, extracted as mpa

(if you want i can post the sample vob , 7mb)

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 15:17   #266  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
MPA L2 = MPEG Layer-2 = *.mp2
Do you understand me know?
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 15:21   #267  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
.. i loose a "Why" .. fast read as "How"

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 15:34   #268  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Is it a problem for you?

MPA covers all layers.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 15:47   #269  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
I think *.mp2 extension is more logical instead of mpa. If I have Dolby digital stream then I have ac3 extension. If I have PCM then I have wav and so on.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 16:19   #270  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
I didn't ask whether you thought it was logical.

If I have MPEG audio then I have *.mpa and so on.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 16:29   #271  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
Quote:
If I have MPEG audio then I have *.mpa and so on.
If this "too" difficult to change then forget it. It looks like I won't convince you to use correct extension.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 16:38   #272  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
I asked you a simple question and you refuse to answer. Who is the intransigent one?

http://www.fileinfo.net/extension/mpa

Last edited by Guest; 31st January 2008 at 16:40.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 17:15   #273  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
Quote:
I asked you a simple question and you refuse to answer
Some apps (h264tsto or xport) cannot detect audio type so demuxed stream has always .mpa extension. I use NicMPASource only if I have .mp2 extension so I'm sure that stream will be recognized otherwise DirectShowSource is used (if .mpa). You may ask then Why not use DirectShowSource for .mpa and .mp2? Because I've noticed that Nic's plugin is more stable. Besides It would be easier for user if he had .mp2 extension so knew immediately that he is dealing with MPEG Layer-2 compression.
All I'm asking to be more precise.

http://www.fileinfo.net/extension/mp2
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 17:29   #274  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
@Atak_Snajpera

you can use a Try / Catch avisynth script, if nicaudio fails go to dss
or try first with Nic, check for audio channels, and if not 2/error -> go to dss

BHH
__________________
HDConvertToX: your tool for BD backup
MultiX264: The quick gui for x264
AutoMen: The Mencoder GUI
AutoWebM: supporting WebM/VP8
buzzqw is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 18:29   #275  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,361
Quote:
you can use a Try / Catch avisynth script, if nicaudio fails go to dss
or try first with Nic, check for audio channels, and if not 2/error -> go to dss
It's not very professional solution in my opinion. I will use MediaInfo to rename demuxed mpa to mp2.
Atak_Snajpera is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 23:30   #276  |  Link
Inventive Software
Turkey Machine
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lowestoft, UK (but visit lots of places with bribes [beer])
Posts: 1,953
WTF? How hard is it to rename it to MP2?
__________________
On Discworld it is clearly recognized that million-to-one chances happen 9 times out of 10. If the hero did not overcome huge odds, what would be the point? Terry Pratchett - The Science Of Discworld
Inventive Software is offline  
Old 31st January 2008, 23:42   #277  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Besides It would be easier for user if he had .mp2 extension so knew immediately that he is dealing with MPEG Layer-2 compression. ...
All I'm asking to be more precise.
The layer is already specified in the file name. But I suppose it is not difficult to print an extension of mp1, mp2, or mp3, so I will implement that for you. Thank you for the suggestion.
Guest is offline  
Old 1st February 2008, 05:43   #278  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
The layer is already specified in the file name. But I suppose it is not difficult to print an extension of mp1, mp2, or mp3, so I will implement that for you.
oh no, can we have a vote, lol
The Scientist is offline  
Old 7th February 2008, 09:32   #279  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I suppose it is not difficult to print an extension of mp1, mp2, or mp3, so I will implement that for you.
ermmmm, can we vote on that? lol
The Scientist is offline  
Old 21st February 2008, 14:28   #280  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
@neuron2: you may be interested in this: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=135055
Sharktooth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.