Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th October 2010, 10:25   #1  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Re-interlace: I wanna see those damn lines!

I want to re-interlace a video that's been deinterlaced.I want to see the odd and even lines, i'm sure it's doable.
I need to recreate to look and feel even if it's "artificial" i don't care.

All suggestions are welcome

I'm starting with this:
http://img512.imageshack.us/i/22469773.jpg/


And i wanna get this :
http://img809.imageshack.us/i/30694212.jpg/

The video is 30fps progressive

Last edited by Mounir; 17th October 2010 at 10:33.
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 10:28   #2  |  Link
GodofaGap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 823
Is your progressive video double rate (50 or 60 fps)?
GodofaGap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 11:10   #3  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Pseudo interlacing: (progressive with phase shift)

Code:
source
doubleweave().selectodd()

True interlacing: (with motion compensation)

Code:
source
super = MSuper(pel=2)
bvec  = MAnalyse(super, isb = true)
fvec  = MAnalyse(super, isb = false)
MFlowFps(super, bvec, fvec, num=0, den=1) # num=0 doubles input fps
separatefields().selectevery(4,0,3).weave()
Those are the usual options when you've a clean progressive video.

However, from your screenshot it seems the source was deinterlaced by blending fields. This can't be undone, and so your milage will be limited.
In case it's an originally telecined source (3-2 pulldown) that has been deinterlaced, you'd first use FixBlendIVTC or Srestore with ppmode=something.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 11:12   #4  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Well i think i found out myself but it involves changing the fps 30> 23.976 and then in procoder i use the pulldown filter.
Original:
http://img241.imageshack.us/i/originald.jpg/

re-interlaced
http://img707.imageshack.us/i/reinterlaced.jpg/

When i watch it with PowerDVD 10 the result seems good, (correctly deinterlaced)

The video is 30fps

Last edited by Mounir; 17th October 2010 at 11:21.
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 11:20   #5  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Seems you're neither fully aware of what you have, nor of what you want to do?
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 11:35   #6  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
It's been encoded for the web (deinterlaced and encoded as 29.97fps) and it most likely has been shot with cinema cameras (23.976fps).My goal is to put that on dvd for my viewing pleasure.Is it clearer now?
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 12:03   #7  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Probably you first need to use FixBlendIVTC to restore 30p blended telecine to 24p clean frames. Then you use pulldown (via DGPulldown, or maybe in Procoder if you have it) to put the progressive stream with pulldown flags on DVD.

BTW, this process does not involve "re-interlacing" at any point.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 13:02   #8  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Not sure about Fixblend, the images seems clean enough from what i can judge. I'll stick with tdecimate for now
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 13:13   #9  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
You did not give enough information to get precise advise. One sole screenshot does not tell the story. Anyway, that one sole screenshot does show blending, hence that is what I based my assumptions on.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 17:33   #10  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
It seems to have worked as i expected but i've forgotten something in the process: the sound part, now the sound is out of sync. Suggestions are welcome.
Edit:
I think i could use AssumeFPS(last.framerate/1.03,sync_audio=true) but the problem is don't know what's the number i should put instead of 1.03

Last edited by Mounir; 17th October 2010 at 17:36.
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 17:39   #11  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Good to hear that it worked as you expected.

However, we don't know what you actually did.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 17:48   #12  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Well i used fixBlend + tdecimate and then used the pulldown filter in procoder like i said i would do.

Any suggestion for the sound part ?
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 17:58   #13  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Hmh, that's mysterious. FixBlendIVTC+TDecimate doesn't change play time (it changes fps, but overall playtime stays the same). Adding pulldown doesn't change playtime either ... at least it should not. DGPulldown surely doesn't. (Can't speak for what Procoder is doing, I'm not using payware.)

Did you check if the Avisynth output, before Procoder, is still in sync?
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 18:16   #14  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
I think you're right, i've done something wrong, i'm about to fix that as i type.

If you're interested this is the result i get:
1) (Sample,video only, 16mb, Mpeg2)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/cac01v
2) Original content (Sample, video only, 16mb, encoded in mpeg2 progressive for comparison)
http://www.sendspace.com/file/zzvngc
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 18:57   #15  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Ouch, that does not look good! If that is Procoder's pulldown, then it's bad. Let's hope it's just an unchecked checkbox, or something ...

Anyway, that is hard pulldown. Very compatible, but since this must be encoded interlaced, it's not so good for quality.

FWIW, it takes only two lines to make hard pulldown in Avisynth:
Code:
video # should be 23.976 progressive
ChangeFPS(60000,1001)
SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4,0,3).Weave()

The alternative is to encode 23.976 progressive, and use DGPulldown to add RFF flags for soft pulldown. (I.e. let the player make the field repeats during playback.)
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 19:09   #16  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Yeah i think fixBlend introduced weird artefacts, i've noticed it in past projects. I will verify this right now.
Edit:
Confirmation
FixBlendIVTC
http://img294.imageshack.us/i/73748202.jpg/
No FixBlendIVTC
http://img534.imageshack.us/i/68975348.jpg/

I'm not gonna use this filter anymore...

Last edited by Mounir; 17th October 2010 at 19:17.
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 19:10   #17  |  Link
Floatingshed
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 322
I'm confused. You want to re-interlace a de-interlaced source which was originally progressive film with 3:2 pulldown. Then watch it using powerdvd "correctly de-interlaced".
Are you not now back where you started?
Why not just watch the original 23.976 footage? Or will the answer to that get us into rule 6 territory?

Last edited by Floatingshed; 17th October 2010 at 19:14.
Floatingshed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 19:40   #18  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Wohoo - yes. But that's not what I meant. The artifact you show is what can happen when trying to restore a missing clean frame B from two blendings "AB" and "BC". IIRC, both FixBlendIVTC and Srestore have postprocessing modes that try to reduce those artifacts.

But, what I meant with "bad pulldown" is this:

A "progressive" frame from Procoder's 3-2 pulldown output:


400% zoomed:


That is not the fault of FixBlendIVTC. This is *halved resolution*, which will result when 3-2 pulldown is done *incorrectly*.

Try the suggested pulldown via Avisynth, to see how this is supposed to look correctly.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 20:14   #19  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didée View Post
FWIW, it takes only two lines to make hard pulldown in Avisynth:
Code:
video # should be 23.976 progressive
ChangeFPS(60000,1001)
SeparateFields().SelectEvery(4,0,3).Weave()
This looks interesting but it don't add much infos on the field dominance(top/bottom) or am i missing something ?
Edit: it does but i'm not sure which
I think i find out, we must use AssumeTFF() or AssumeBFF() before SeparateFields.
I'll try that

Last edited by Mounir; 17th October 2010 at 20:46.
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2010, 20:48   #20  |  Link
Didée
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,389
Shouldn't be needed, if the input is flagged correctly, so will the output. If you feel the need, add "AssumeTFF()" somewhere.

Important is to set the correct fieldorder in the encoder application.
__________________
- We´re at the beginning of the end of mankind´s childhood -

My little flickr gallery. (Yes indeed, I do have hobbies other than digital video!)
Didée is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lines odd even, reinterlace

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.