Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th July 2017, 02:32   #44361  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
Yes, I found I prefer different settings depending on the display. I don't think it is related to the size or viewing distance directly.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2017, 16:36   #44362  |  Link
njfoses
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
3840x2159p23 may work.

videos may need downscaling now and who knows what the TV does with that input. i highly recommend a custom refreshrate with 3840x2160p23 . and please be aware that getting closer to 23.976 doesn't mean it is getting better.
You are correct that videos are now downscaled, so I have reverted back to the standard 3840x2160 and I will deal with the frame repeat every 5 min or so.
njfoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2017, 20:05   #44363  |  Link
Sarlaith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddball View Post
@ Madshi.

I made an inquiry with AMD regarding their HDR switching method. Apparently you CAN use their API for on-the-fly HDR switching.

'Thanks for the email.

We do provide the AMD GPU Services (AGS) library on GPUOpen that ISVs can use to switch HDR displays into HDR mode on-the-fly from their application.

This does not rely on the Windows 10 Creators Update “HDR and advanced color” toggle in Display Settings - we’ve supported this since last year from Windows 7 and onwards with the 16.40+ drivers.

http://gpuopen.com/gaming-product/am...s-ags-library/

Please be advised that this service request will be permanently closed if you do not reply within 10 days. If more time is needed to respond to my e-mail above, please let me know and I will ensure that this service request remains open for you.

In order to update this service request, please respond, leaving the service request reference intact.

Best regards,

AMD Global Customer Care'
@madshi does that mean it's possible to create the HDR switching in MadVR? Or would require that for you to overhaul alot of the code?

Also I was wondering, is a 55inch 4K TV worth it to buy a GTX1080ti? Or should I just stick with a 1060 or 1070? what's the general opinion?
Am sort of hoping that madVR with support HDR switching on AMD card's, then the new to be released AMD Vega RX's might be nice too.

Last edited by Sarlaith; 16th July 2017 at 20:22.
Sarlaith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2017, 21:09   #44364  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
As someone who has a lot of fun running madVR on my 1080Ti equivalent Titan, I have to recommend a 1070 or less.

While NGU very high is great for 1080p to 4K the difference between that and high or medium is visually pretty small but very high takes a lot more power and generates a lot of heat (I have to open up the power limit on my Titan to run 1080p30 -> 4K with NGU very high). Something like a 1060 (6GB) or better can offer noticeable quality improvements but all the way up to a 1080 Ti is well past diminishing returns. Looking at GPU prices right now suggests waiting for a bit while the mining craze calms down and GPU vendors build up stock.

That said; with a 1080 Ti and some light overclocking you can run basically every madVR option at or near max quality.

It looks like Vega RX will be a very high power GPU. It is possible it will offer great performance for madVR but it will use really a lot of power while doing it.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2017, 22:07   #44365  |  Link
Megalith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 110
https://mpc-hc.org/2017/07/16/1.7.13...-and-farewell/

MPC-HC is dead? How does this affect madVR?
Megalith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2017, 22:25   #44366  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,704
Wow that is big news!

However, it shouldn't affect madVR at all.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 00:14   #44367  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,228
Calm down.. It's not like anything has really changed recently. It's been dribbling for years. Switch to BE if you need something constantly updated. It's not like HC is broken. Not big news at all.

Last edited by ryrynz; 17th July 2017 at 00:23.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 00:20   #44368  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
MPC-HC will continue to be updated!
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 02:16   #44369  |  Link
Fullmetal Encoder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 107
Wow! That is very, very sad news about MPC-HC! I would never use Pot Player, VLC isn't an option since it'll never support madVR... Our options have been reduced greatly with this loss. I know it's still a great and functional program but to see it come to the end of it's road... I hope clsid is right and some talented contributors will step up to support it's evolution. I'd jump on it myself if life had permitted me the time to complete learning enough C++ to do it.
Fullmetal Encoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 08:45   #44370  |  Link
Sarlaith
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
As someone who has a lot of fun running madVR on my 1080Ti equivalent Titan, I have to recommend a 1070 or less.

While NGU very high is great for 1080p to 4K the difference between that and high or medium is visually pretty small but very high takes a lot more power and generates a lot of heat (I have to open up the power limit on my Titan to run 1080p30 -> 4K with NGU very high). Something like a 1060 (6GB) or better can offer noticeable quality improvements but all the way up to a 1080 Ti is well past diminishing returns. Looking at GPU prices right now suggests waiting for a bit while the mining craze calms down and GPU vendors build up stock.

That said; with a 1080 Ti and some light overclocking you can run basically every madVR option at or near max quality.

It looks like Vega RX will be a very high power GPU. It is possible it will offer great performance for madVR but it will use really a lot of power while doing it.
Thanks @Asmodian was sorta dabling between the 1080Ti and a 1070 but I think I will stick with the 1070 then
Have some HDR movies around so unless it's possible to add HDR switching to MadVR I'll just stick with NVidia
Sarlaith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 07:18   #44371  |  Link
GITY6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Issue with madVR subtitle setting

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, so do forgive me if I should be posting this elsewhere.

I've been using madVR's setting (under zoom control) to force subtitles to the bottom of the screen. It works perfectly until any formatted subtitle appears.

For example, once an italicized or bolded subtitle (from an .srt file) appears, the subtitle position is reverted to the active video area, and all subsequent subtitles (regardless of formatting) are positioned there until the application is restarted.

I'm using MPC-HC, and my subtitle renderer is XySubFilter. If anyone has dealt with this issue, advice would be appreciated :)
GITY6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 08:16   #44372  |  Link
oddball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I think this is a driver bug. The difference between EVR and madVR that would cause only madVR to show the bug is that EVR never needs the data back from DXVA2, madVR on the other hand needs the data back.

There is a driver bug that causes wrong colors when getting 10-bit data back from DXVA2 decoding/scaling.

madVR is very good at HDR -> SDR and it provides multiple ways to accomplish it. I certainly approve of the quality of madVR's HDR -> SDR and I don't need to fiddle with the settings to get good results. Just don't use DXVA for anything.
I thought it was just me. I've been battling with this for a while now. If I enabled 10 bit output in AMD settings and 10 bit in MadVR everything is oversaturated. I also get black clipping. The only fix is to either set AMD settings to 8 bit or change MadVR settings so there is a combination of DCI-P3 (not not sure of color accuracy then) at BT709 2.20 and gamma processing at 2.20 also BT709. This is only in fullscreen exclusive mode since with FSE off it defaults to 8bit output anyhow.

I am hoping a fix is on the way?
oddball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 11:33   #44373  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by GITY6 View Post
Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask, so do forgive me if I should be posting this elsewhere.

I've been using madVR's setting (under zoom control) to force subtitles to the bottom of the screen. It works perfectly until any formatted subtitle appears.

For example, once an italicized or bolded subtitle (from an .srt file) appears, the subtitle position is reverted to the active video area, and all subsequent subtitles (regardless of formatting) are positioned there until the application is restarted.

I'm using MPC-HC, and my subtitle renderer is XySubFilter. If anyone has dealt with this issue, advice would be appreciated
know bug in XY subfilter
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 12:45   #44374  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
and read the guide so you will stop aiming at the 23.976 hz.
I've added a note at the beginning about this. I hope it will help people take notice.
ashlar42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 21:07   #44375  |  Link
Dorohedoro
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 74
Is there any way to reduce flicker on panning shots in 24p? I cant use 48hz, 96hz, 120hz.....
Dorohedoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 21:54   #44376  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,971
madVR has nothing to do with flicker that should be your screen.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2017, 23:56   #44377  |  Link
e-t172
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorohedoro View Post
Is there any way to reduce flicker on panning shots in 24p? I cant use 48hz, 96hz, 120hz.....
If you can't use an adequate refresh rate, then you should enable Smooth Motion in the madVR options (along with the highest refresh rate you have access to).
e-t172 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 21:38   #44378  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Hi,

What do I do when I just bought a new tv now , LG 55C6 support HDR + Dolby Vision and I want to watch movies that are still normal 1080p MKV 8 bit . how will I set it for them ? and how will I set it when watching HDR ? I just choose for HDR Passthrough mode ? the first option in madvr.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2017, 22:05   #44379  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,971
if you have an nvidia card you can use the nvidia api and you will get proper SDR and HDR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2017, 01:41   #44380  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
if you have an nvidia card you can use the nvidia api and you will get proper SDR and HDR.
Can you please explain how ?

What the MadVR and Nvidia NVCP should be ?

Screenshots would be appricated
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.