Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th June 2013, 13:05   #12361  |  Link
DarkSpace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post
I recently tried converting an HD-DVD with TrueHD audio to Bluray format using first ClownBD 0.81 and then eac3to 3.27, but each software insists on decoding and re-encoding the AC3 core of the TrueHD track.

Does anyone know why this might be occurring and how to stop it happening?
From what I remember, TrueHD tracks on HD-DVD don't have an AC3 core, so eac3to will have to generate one from the decoded TrueHD track for the BluRay version. There is no "re-encoding" of the AC3 core, eac3to is just generating data that wasn't there previously.
DarkSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2013, 16:34   #12362  |  Link
IanD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkSpace View Post
From what I remember, TrueHD tracks on HD-DVD don't have an AC3 core, so eac3to will have to generate one from the decoded TrueHD track for the BluRay version. There is no "re-encoding" of the AC3 core, eac3to is just generating data that wasn't there previously.
Thanks for the clarification: I didn't realise that was the case.

A number of HD-DVD have better video and/or audio than the equivalent Bluray, still, and since I no longer have an HD-DVD player it's good to be able to get them into a playable format again.
IanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2013, 16:23   #12363  |  Link
yesgrey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by yesgrey View Post
I wanted to start using flaccl instead of flac inside eac3to, because it will save me a lot of time, but I want to be sure that it gives accurate results, hence why I wanted to use eac3to to convert a flaccl generated file to a flac eac3to flac, to compare with the original one created with eac3to, which I consider as the reference.

The tests I did using graphstudio and madflac to output pcm files were not very good to flaccl, because not only the files are different than the eac3to generated one, but they are also different between them if I compare two different compression levels. It seems flaccl is messing the data in someway...
Just to let you know that the latest flaccl version fixed the problems with the multiple channels files. Now eac3to can read the files and I have checked with eac3to to decode and then re-encode the flaccl created files and they were exactly the same as the ones created directly with eac3to.

Now I can remux my movies much faster...
yesgrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2013, 22:43   #12364  |  Link
rapscallion
NY Frame of Mind
 
rapscallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: L.I.,NY
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Video frames have a duration of 40 ms (25 fps) then delays of +/- 20 ms are absolutely undetectable.
From an old post, however I couldn't find the answer to this:
What is the video frame duration @23.976 fps?

Next question. I extracted a Dolby THD track to wavs, where the track has a video delay of -32ms.

The log shows (note lines 2 and 7):

Code:
[a03] Extracting audio track number 3...
[a03] This track begins with a non-major frame. <WARNING>
[a03] Extracting TrueHD stream...
[a03] Removing TrueHD dialog normalization...
[a03] Decoding with DirectShow (Nero Audio Decoder 2)...
[a03] DirectShow reports 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48kHz
[a03] Applying RAW/PCM delay...
[a03] Writing WAVs...
I then converted the wavs to DTS-MA.

So, does the "applying RAW/PCM delay..." mean that I don't have to apply any delay when muxing the DTS track back with the video?
__________________
"Talk to me Goose"
rapscallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2013, 22:56   #12365  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapscallion View Post
What is the video frame duration @23.976 fps?
1000 ms / 23.976 = 41.7 ms

Quote:
So, does the "applying RAW/PCM delay..." mean that I don't have to apply any delay when muxing the DTS track back with the video?
Correct.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2013, 23:18   #12366  |  Link
rapscallion
NY Frame of Mind
 
rapscallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: L.I.,NY
Posts: 586
@tebasuna51

As always, thank you for the quick and knowledgeable response.

I'm always a bit confused by audio/video delays.
Also, this is the first time I've seen "This track begins with a non-major frame. <WARNING>"
__________________
"Talk to me Goose"
rapscallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2013, 09:43   #12367  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapscallion View Post
Also, this is the first time I've seen "This track begins with a non-major frame. <WARNING>"
I can't help you with this.
I don't know TrueHD specs.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2013, 21:41   #12368  |  Link
rapscallion
NY Frame of Mind
 
rapscallion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: L.I.,NY
Posts: 586
A TrueHD stream is composed of Major sync frames and non-major frames. Apparently tracks are supposed to start with a major frame.

This may have accounted for the -32ms delay and the warning.
__________________
"Talk to me Goose"
rapscallion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 22:10   #12369  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 532
Love how useful this tool is. I have 2 feature requests:

1) A SoundTouch type Tempo adjustment. The ability to speed up and a slow down a track without any change to the pitch is sometimes preferable.

2) Dolby Pro Logic II/IIx/IIz Upmix. I often want to expand the number of tracks on a stereo source to 5.1 or 6.1. Manually doing this is labor intensive and requires multiple programs and in between conversions. Be nice to just: Eac3to StereoTrack.wav SurroundTrack.ac3 -upDpl6
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 22:39   #12370  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Love how useful this tool is. I have 2 feature requests:

1) A SoundTouch type Tempo adjustment. The ability to speed up and a slow down a track without any change to the pitch is sometimes preferable.

2) Dolby Pro Logic II/IIx/IIz Upmix. I often want to expand the number of tracks on a stereo source to 5.1 or 6.1. Manually doing this is labor intensive and requires multiple programs and in between conversions. Be nice to just: Eac3to StereoTrack.wav SurroundTrack.ac3 -upDpl6
Those features are non-trivial to implement I.M.H.O., BUT if you donate some hundreds or thousands of $$$ to madshi,
then possibly he'll do that for you

Last edited by filler56789; 3rd July 2013 at 22:44. Reason: typo
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2013, 23:01   #12371  |  Link
Nico8583
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 744
Hi
Any news about fix for left view / right view with MVC flag ?
This case is open in Mantis : http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=86
Thanks !
Nico8583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2013, 07:08   #12372  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 532
Thanks, filler56789, float me a loan? ;-)
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2013, 07:08   #12373  |  Link
frencher
French Love
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Like I never see this kind of files please confirm:
- If this stream can be muxed in any container and extracted by eac3to.
- If eac3to can decode this stream.


OK, if we can call DTS Express like DTS High Definition.
BTW, DTS Express was already listed.



** MPEG1 = .mpeg1
I don't know, never tested.

** MS/VFW/FOURCC/XVID =
eac3to can't open avi container and can't extract this stream if present in mkv container.

** AC3 Surround = .ac3
Is a particular case of standard AC3, if you list this item separately seems you suggest than eac3to can apply a DPL decoder and is not true.

** DTS-HD (no core) = .dts
I don't know, never tested.

** RAW/PCM = .pcm/.raw
Both formats useless, must be extracted like .wav/.w64/.rf64

** DTSWAV = .dts
eac3to can't output .dtswav, only can convert DTSWAV to .dts

** AC3WAV = .ac3
eac3to can't output .ac3wav, only can convert AC3WAV to .ac3

** MP1 = .mp1
I don't know, never tested.

** (VobSub) =
eac3to can't extract this kind of sub.
OK thanks tebasuna51
__________________
2013-11-29 MVC Player Free v0.0.2.6 BD & 3D BD's Player, Demuxer v0.0.0.8b, Recoder. Tutorial
Demo for MVC Player Free: Trailer 3D

3DBD's Free - v0.0.0.0005.exe Old

Programing free for all.
frencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2013, 07:17   #12374  |  Link
frencher
French Love
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nico8583 View Post
Hi
Any news about fix for left view / right view with MVC flag ?
This case is open in Mantis : http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=86
Thanks !
Temporary While waiting for a update eac3to
Small tool for detect AVC/MVC <=> MVC/AVC order
__________________
2013-11-29 MVC Player Free v0.0.2.6 BD & 3D BD's Player, Demuxer v0.0.0.8b, Recoder. Tutorial
Demo for MVC Player Free: Trailer 3D

3DBD's Free - v0.0.0.0005.exe Old

Programing free for all.
frencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2013, 22:19   #12375  |  Link
maxmercy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
EDIT - Careful searching found that for any 6.1 format the remap must be done to accomplish -double7 processing correctly.

Hey everyone,

I have a 6.1 channel .w64 file with L C R LFE BC SL SR channel mapping, and I need to upmix to a 7.1 .w64 file for proper muxing with TSMuxer (TSM does not like 6.1, and converts it to 7.0, putting my LFE channel in one of my rear surrounds). Can I simply use the -double7 feature, or do I need to remap channels as I have found when searching for how to use the '-double7' feature?

I was wanting to just use:

eac3to input.w64 output.w64 -double7

Will this work?

Thanks in advance,

JSS

Last edited by maxmercy; 10th July 2013 at 22:47.
maxmercy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th July 2013, 09:16   #12376  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,664
After my test seems you need:

eac3to input.w64 output.w64 -0,1,2,3,5,6,4 -double7
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2013, 13:33   #12377  |  Link
maxmercy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks! It worked great!

JSS
maxmercy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2013, 16:52   #12378  |  Link
Overdrive80
Anime addict
 
Overdrive80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spain
Posts: 658
Would be possible implement option for output wav on 32 bit float??
__________________
Intel i7-6700K + Noctua NH-D15 + Z170A XPower G. Titanium + Kingston HyperX Savage DDR4 2x8GB + Nvidia GTX750 2GB DDR5 + SSD Vertex 4 256 GB + Antec EDG750 80 Plus Gold Mod + Corsair 780T Graphite
Overdrive80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2013, 18:00   #12379  |  Link
Bigmango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 396
Could we please get a replacement of the FLAC encoder with the one in ffmpeg 2.0 with "-compression_level 12" ?

It now properly supports 24bit. I have tested up to 24bit 7.1 channel FLAC and it plays fine on all the players I have tried (XBMC, MPC-HC, etc...).

"-compression_level 12" allows to shave off another 100 to 200Mb on my MKV backups.

It's a little cumbersome to compress to FLAC with eac3to and then to recompress it again to FLAC with compression level 12 with ffmpeg. It would be nice if we could do it in one go.

Thanks.
Bigmango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2013, 18:11   #12380  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hollola, Finland
Posts: 4,636
Can't you utilise piping to ffmpeg?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.