Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > New and alternative video codecs
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd September 2010, 17:17   #12481  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
In other places this is used for C99 code that MSVC doesn't like:
Code:
#if __STDC_VERSION__ >= 199901L
// original code
#else
// MSVC code
#endif
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2010, 18:03   #12482  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastplayer View Post
Wait a sec. This custom code is only to make libavcodec "compatible" for MSVC, right? If yes, au revoir "custom code"!
If somebody needs a MSVC debug/release version of libavcodec, he or she can figure out how to circumvent those compile errors temporarily, IMO.
Yep. But this custom code (the .something stuff MSVC doesn't support like in here) is already in basically all decoders, making copy/paste updates impossible aka making ffmpeg updates a pain in the ass. I think nobody has compiled libavcodec with MSVC in a loooong time, otherwise this would be fixed. What to do?
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2010, 18:51   #12483  |  Link
tetsuo55
MPC-HC Project Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,317
We compile libavcodec with msvc all the time over at MPC-HC, maybe you could take a look at the code?
__________________
MPC-HC, an open source project everyone can improve. Want to help? Test Nightly Builds, submit patches or bugs and chat on IRC
tetsuo55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2010, 21:40   #12484  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
The errors are only in the recently added AAC decoder. I don't mind any extra custom code to allow MSVC compilation.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2010, 16:05   #12485  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
There are also unresolved externals because libavutil (cpu.c) is outdated, because it can't find log2f and exp2f, etc. Have you considered creating a new folder (like libavcodec_msvc or something like that) with all these changes to compile libavcodec with MSVC and keep the normal one clear?
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2010, 19:44   #12486  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
That would mean extra work. Getting it to compile with MSVC is not a high priority right now. It will get fixed eventually.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 11:49   #12487  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Yeah, also it wouldn't make much sense. Now that I've taken a closer look at it there's custom code everywhere, not related to MSVC compilation.
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 16:57   #12488  |  Link
_xxl
ffdshow user
 
_xxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Romania
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
Yeah, also it wouldn't make much sense. Now that I've taken a closer look at it there's custom code everywhere, not related to MSVC compilation.
That is true. FFdshow has a lot of custom code...
_xxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 18:29   #12489  |  Link
Sebastiii
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: France
Posts: 616
hi STaRGaZeR,

I try to compil 3600 but i have an error, i build with the .bat (build_x86.bat), i go to try with the sln.
Thanks,
Seb.

Ps: i didn't know if it's 3600 that break the compil.
It's the innosetup, if i compil the .exe with .iss it's ok

Ok found it lol : in batch @cd bin\distrib\innosetup but for me it's @cd bin\distrib

Edit : Thanks for the fix
__________________
HTPC : i7 920 6Go Win10(x64) / Nvidia 1050Ti / P6T Deluxe / Harman-Kardon AVR-355.

Last edited by Sebastiii; 25th September 2010 at 19:46.
Sebastiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 19:32   #12490  |  Link
STaRGaZeR
4:2:0 hater
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,302
Fixed
__________________
Specs, GTX970 - PLS 1440p@96Hz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manao View Post
That way, you have xxxx[p|i]yyy, where xxxx is the vertical resolution, yyy is the temporal resolution, and 'i' says the image has been irremediably destroyed.
STaRGaZeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 22:38   #12491  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Guys, i must have missed something.
ffdshow 3574 decodes DTSHD-MA; downsamples 96 to 48 but not 24 to 16 with libdts.
Is it correct?
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 23:07   #12492  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,347
All it decodes is dts core, which only contains 48Khz samples. But at least it provides full bit depth in decoding, afaik (remember, lossy formats don't have a pre-defined bit depth, you should decode with as much precision as you can)
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2010, 23:28   #12493  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Yes, that is still what it's doing. Thx.
rica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 05:12   #12494  |  Link
Ap3 n1nja
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12
Hi, I not sure if this goes here but there seems to be a certain problem getting ffdshow's AAC libavcodec to work with the KMPlayer. I think the problem might be with the internal KMP MKV Splitter since I tested it with MatroskaSplitter.ax and its internal MOV/MP4 splitter and it worked fine.

Versions Used:
KMPlayer 3.0.0.1438
ffdshow rev3600 20100925 xhmikosr icl11
Ap3 n1nja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 05:43   #12495  |  Link
dann23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
I have a problem when using LAVFSplitter. External subtitles don't work when using ffdshow dxva and when I use normal ffdshow I can't choose beetwen external subtitles present in the same folder as the movie(one subtitles is choosen but I can't choose another one. I have no context menu present). I also posted in LAVFSplitter's thread but nevcairiel said that it's possible that ffdshows is the culprit.
Also is good to know that I'm using wmp11.
dann23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 09:07   #12496  |  Link
dansrfe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,210
I'm still having major problems with .ASS or .SSA karoke subtitle tags showing up all over the place.
dansrfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 12:56   #12497  |  Link
Mr. Monte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 350
I just recently installed FFDSHOW 3572_20100913_clsid. I was using AVStoDVD for converting my MKV's to DVD5's. All of a sudden I was getting AVS script errors. Using graphedit, I was able to determine that FFDSHOW was no longer decoding DTS or AC3 audio. I looked at the configuration and libdts and liba52 is selected. Installing AC3Filter fixed the isues.

Is there anyway to determine why FFDSHOW stopped working with DTS & AC3 (works fine with AAC). Moreover, how to restore it?

TIA
Mr. Monte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 17:39   #12498  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by STaRGaZeR View Post
To all, testing time again! I've enabled libavcodec's floating point MP1,2,3 decoder instead of the integer one. It should play everything the old one des, but test it and report your findings.

Build: http://www.mediafire.com/?k8y1fakk2ayqoie
cool! if you could do the same for AC3/DTS, this would be really fantastic
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2010, 19:56   #12499  |  Link
Keiyakusha
契約者
 
Keiyakusha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,576
STaRGaZeR
Just a little suggestion. I never saw floating-point build yet but if it will work, could you please keep both variants (16 and 32 bit) if 32bit any slower? Maybe it will be possible to add switch "libavcodec (16bit)" and "libavcodec (32bit)" like it is done for h264 in case of libavcodec and ffmpeg-mt. Also if you know better solution - just skip this post. Thanks.
Keiyakusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2010, 00:18   #12500  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keiyakusha View Post
I never saw floating-point build yet but if it will work
the only reason to go 32fp for lossy audio is this: http://mp3decoders.mp3-tech.org/24bit.html

it provides a more accurate decoding w/ less rounding errors, very important if you down-upmix/resample/post-process/use Reclock. There isn't a single good reason to decode lossy audio to 16int.
leeperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffdshow, ffdshow tryouts, ffdshow-mt, ffplay, icl


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.