Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th May 2015, 14:01   #1  |  Link
CarlEdman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 185
TFM() and DGSource() for VapourSynth?

After having used AviSynth for a decade for my video edits, I just discovered VapourSynth and it looks fantastic. Much more modern and compatible and without all the pain and suffering that the various MT/64-bit AviSynth versions involved. Kudos to everybody involved!

However, while a ton of my filters appear to have been converted, there seem to be two filters I really need that don't exist for VapourSynth yet.

(1) For teleciding I use tfm.tdecimate(hybrid=1). Back when I tested all the various teleciders for AviSynth it seemed to be the best and has performed well for all these years. It does the right thing even if the cadence is off and a creditable approximation when there are--as occasionally happens--some genuine interlaced sequences intermixed with the telecined ones.

Is VIVTC an adequate replacement?

(2) My source filter is always DGSource(). I saw that there was a d2vsource() filter which is great, but for modern codecs like h264, you need DGIndexNV/DGSource().

Any work on this or alternatives? FFMS2 could work, I guess, but I do not trust its accuracy as I do DGSource().
CarlEdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 14:37   #2  |  Link
mawen1250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 103
VFM works much the same as TFM. But compared to TDecimate, VDecimate lacks some important functions (such as vfr mode).

As for source filter:
1. For ts/m2ts input, lsmas.LWLibavSource is a good choice, it's safer than ffms2 when non-linear access occurs.
2. For mp4 input, lsmas.LibavSMASHSource definitely is the best choice.
3. For mkv input, both lsmas and ffms2 are OK.

If you really want to use those AviSynth plugins, it's possible to load them with 32bit VS.
Alternatively, you can try using them in an AviSynth script and loading it with vsavsreader.

Last edited by mawen1250; 26th May 2015 at 14:46.
mawen1250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 14:45   #3  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,667
If someone can point me to a guide or documentation for porting filters to VapourSynth, I would consider porting DGDecNV/IM.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 15:19   #4  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
If someone can point me to a guide or documentation for porting filters to VapourSynth, I would consider porting DGDecNV/IM.
The API documentation contains some words about writing plugins.

There are lots of filters you can look at for inspiration:
https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...er/src/filters
https://github.com/vapoursynth/vapou...aster/src/core
In particular, BlankClip, because it's a simple source filter.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 15:32   #5  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Don't forget the invert example which has comments explaining many things.

Otherwise I think blankclip is the best place to start looking since it's a source filter.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 17:57   #6  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,667
Thanks, gents, I'll get cracking on it.
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 18:15   #7  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
please. make a miltiplatform plugin. if not, we gain nothing
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 20:24   #8  |  Link
CarlEdman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 185
Thanks, that would be great, videoh!
CarlEdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 21:20   #9  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl1pkn07 View Post
please. make a miltiplatform plugin. if not, we gain nothing
What do you mean by multiplatform?
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 21:22   #10  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
can build on linux/macos. no only windows-centric
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 22:12   #11  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlEdman View Post
...
(1) For teleciding I use tfm.tdecimate(hybrid=1). Back when I tested all the various teleciders for AviSynth it seemed to be the best and has performed well for all these years. It does the right thing even if the cadence is off and a creditable approximation when there are--as occasionally happens--some genuine interlaced sequences intermixed with the telecined ones.

Is VIVTC an adequate replacement?
There's a simple reason it doesn't do hybrid things the way you want. It's OBSOLETE. For the past 10+ years I've tried to get everyone to embrace VFR. It's really the right thing to do even if it requires a little bit of extra work.

But since you pointed it out I'll make vdecimate export more information so you could create something similar with a script, if that's what you want.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2015, 23:52   #12  |  Link
CarlEdman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 185
@Myrsloik You are right in principle--VFR really is the way to go with material that genuinely is a mixture between interlaced and telecined material.

Fortunately, these days almost all the material I work on is already either constant 24 frames-per-second progressive or 60 fields-per-second interlaced. Almost all than remains is almost purely 24 frames-per-second telecined to 60 fields-per-second, with no or almost no interlaced material. All of those convert well to constant 24 or 30 progressive frames-per-second. The tiny fraction (about 0% for me in recent years) that does not fit into these categories might convert better to VFR, but then I'd start to worry about compatibility with all my devices and players.
CarlEdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2015, 02:29   #13  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl1pkn07 View Post
can build on linux/macos. no only windows-centric
Ouch, CUVID is Windows only AFAIK. So I would have to re-engineer for VDPAU. And who knows about Mac?

So is there any interest in a Windows-only port?
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2015, 05:52   #14  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
In my knowledge, CUVID It exists for linux

Code:
/usr/lib/libnvcuvid.so
/usr/lib/libnvcuvid.so.1
/usr/lib/libnvcuvid.so.352.09

/opt/cuda/include/cuviddec.h
/opt/cuda/include/nvcuvid.h
/opt/cuda/samples/3_Imaging/cudaDecodeGL/doc/nvcuvid.pdf
if build '3_Imaging/cudaDecodeGL' sample in CUDA SDK 7.0.28

Code:
└───╼  sudo GLPATH=/usr/lib make
[sudo] password for sl1pkn07: 
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o FrameQueue.o -c FrameQueue.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o ImageGL.o -c ImageGL.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o VideoDecoder.o -c VideoDecoder.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o VideoParser.o -c VideoParser.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o VideoSource.o -c VideoSource.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o cudaModuleMgr.o -c cudaModuleMgr.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o cudaProcessFrame.o -c cudaProcessFrame.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o videoDecodeGL.o -c videoDecodeGL.cpp
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++   -m64      -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o cudaDecodeGL FrameQueue.o ImageGL.o VideoDecoder.o VideoParser.o VideoSource.o cudaModuleMgr.o cudaProcessFrame.o videoDecodeGL.o  -L../../common/lib/linux/x86_64  -lGL -lGLU -lX11 -lXi -lXmu -lglut -lGLEW -lcuda -lcudart -lnvcuvid
mkdir -p ../../bin/x86_64/linux/release
cp cudaDecodeGL ../../bin/x86_64/linux/release
"/opt/cuda"/bin/nvcc -ccbin g++ -I../../common/inc  -m64    -gencode arch=compute_20,code=compute_20 -o NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx -ptx NV12ToARGB_drvapi.cu
mkdir -p data
cp -f NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx ./data
mkdir -p ../../bin/x86_64/linux/release
cp -f NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx ../../bin/x86_64/linux/release
see the -lnvcuvid

if run the sample:
Code:
└───╼  ./cudaDecodeGL 
[CUDA/OpenGL Video Decode]
Command Line Arguments:
argv[0] = ./cudaDecodeGL
[cudaDecodeGL]: input file: <./data/plush1_720p_10s.m2v>
        VideoCodec      : MPEG-2
        Frame rate      : 30000/1001fps ~ 29.97fps
        Sequence format : Progressive
        Coded frame size: [1280, 720]
        Display area    : [0, 0, 1280, 720]
        Chroma format   : 4:2:0
        Bitrate         : 14116kBit/s
        Aspect ratio    : 16:9


argv[0] = ./cudaDecodeGL

> Device 0: < GeForce GTX 770 >, Compute SM 3.0 detected
>> initGL() creating window [1280 x 720]
> Using CUDA/GL Device [0]: GeForce GTX 770
> Using GPU Device: GeForce GTX 770 has SM 3.0 compute capability
  Total amount of global memory:     2039.7773 MB
>> modInitCTX<NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx > initialized OK
>> modGetCudaFunction< CUDA file:              NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx >
   CUDA Kernel Function (0x01fca330) = <   NV12ToARGB_drvapi >
>> modGetCudaFunction< CUDA file:              NV12ToARGB_drvapi64.ptx >
   CUDA Kernel Function (0x01fd11c0) = <     Passthru_drvapi >
  Free memory:     1469.9062 MB
> VideoDecoder::cudaVideoCreateFlags = <1>Use CUDA decoder

setTextureFilterMode(GL_NEAREST,GL_NEAREST)
ImageGL::CUcontext = 01d5b7c0
ImageGL::CUdevice  = 00000000
reshape() glViewport(0, 0, 1280, 720)
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0016, 00.0 fps, frame time: 89543860224.00 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0032, 804.6 fps, frame time: 1.24 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0048, 654.3 fps, frame time: 1.53 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0064, 683.3 fps, frame time: 1.46 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0080, 657.7 fps, frame time: 1.52 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0096, 637.4 fps, frame time: 1.57 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0112, 637.5 fps, frame time: 1.57 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0128, 599.1 fps, frame time: 1.67 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0144, 627.6 fps, frame time: 1.59 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0160, 686.3 fps, frame time: 1.46 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0176, 598.0 fps, frame time: 1.67 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0192, 548.1 fps, frame time: 1.82 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0208, 516.1 fps, frame time: 1.94 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0224, 603.4 fps, frame time: 1.66 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0240, 725.9 fps, frame time: 1.38 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0256, 747.2 fps, frame time: 1.34 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0272, 753.0 fps, frame time: 1.33 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0288, 733.6 fps, frame time: 1.36 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0304, 715.5 fps, frame time: 1.40 (ms) ]
[cudaDecodeGL] - [Frame: 0320, 656.2 fps, frame time: 1.52 (ms) ]

[cudaDecodeGL] statistics
         Video Length (hh:mm:ss.msec)   = 00:00:00.502
         Frames Presented (inc repeats) = 329
         Average Present Rate     (fps) = 654.13
         Frames Decoded   (hardware)    = 329
         Average Rate of Decoding (fps) = 654.13
then i supposed is possible can use CUVID in linux

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/samples/...oc/nvcuvid.pdf

for mac users, i'm not completely sure if cuvid works

greeetings

Last edited by sl1pkn07; 27th May 2015 at 15:35.
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2015, 14:36   #15  |  Link
captainadamo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
For OS X you'd probably want to use Video Toolbox. Its benefit is also not being tied to any specific hardware vendor. But obviously that makes videoh's porting effort much more difficult.

I've been planning to create such a plugin using it already, but I've just not had the time.

Last edited by captainadamo; 27th May 2015 at 14:43.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 01:39   #16  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
Ouch, CUVID is Windows only AFAIK. So I would have to re-engineer for VDPAU. And who knows about Mac?

So is there any interest in a Windows-only port?
I would be quite interested in a Windows-only port, if it was compatible with 64-bit VapourSynth.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2015, 02:01   #17  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Is there any HW decoder for VapourSynth x64 on Win10? I'm sure many users are interested especially when there are more 4K sources in the future.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 14:13   #18  |  Link
CarlEdman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoh View Post
So is there any interest in a Windows-only port?
Any progress on the "promised" DgSource filter for VapourSynth, even if it is Windows-only? As its lack is my only obstacle to switching to VapourSynth from avisynth, I am eagerly anticipating it!
CarlEdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 22:44   #19  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,667
Is there any kind of wrapper in Vaporsynth to use existing Avisynth source filters?
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2015, 22:50   #20  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Write an AviSynth script and use VapourSynth's native AviSource or vsavsreader.

Or do you mean a wrapper to create a VapourSynth compatible plugin?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.