Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th June 2010, 11:44   #10201  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,253
I can confirm the problem, the:
"Removing DTS dialog normalization..."
only work, with dtshd input, when you use:

eac3to input.dtshd output.dts -core

And don't work with:

eac3to input.dtshd output.dtshd
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -libav
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -core
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -core -libav

BTW, if eac3to inform:
"DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz, dialnorm: -4dB"

you can use this command line:

eac3to input.dtshd output.wav +4dB
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 11:50   #10202  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I can confirm the problem, the:
"Removing DTS dialog normalization..."
only work, with dtshd input, when you use:

eac3to input.dtshd output.dts -core

And don't work with:

eac3to input.dtshd output.dtshd
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -libav
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -core
eac3to input.dtshd output.wav -core -libav

BTW, if eac3to inform:
"DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz, dialnorm: -4dB"

you can use this command line:

eac3to input.dtshd output.wav +4dB
Ah thank you....i think Madshi will fix it when he have the Time..
But as i say, please, can somebody write a small Tool or Batch to write the extra bytes back to a DTS-HD Header to restore the untouched DTS-HD Header Sadly ive no Skill to code something.
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 12:14   #10203  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
BTW, if eac3to inform:
"DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 16 bits, 48kHz, dialnorm: -4dB"

you can use this command line:

eac3to input.dtshd output.wav +4dB
Unfortunately this will lead to the fact that we will not obtain the original sound. This will be especially noticeably for 16-bit tracks.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 14:11   #10204  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,253
Then use:

eac3to input.dtshd output.wav +4dB -down16

Of course is a workaround, but the process work at 64 bit float, do you think can be especially noticeably?
Maybe any rounding bit.

I don't know for what you need the wav's files.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 14:25   #10205  |  Link
AnryV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Then use:

eac3to input.dtshd output.wav +4dB -down16

Of course is a workaround, but the process work at 64 bit float, do you think can be especially noticeably?
Maybe any rounding bit.

I don't know for what you need the wav's files.
Anyway this is the result of processing, but original sound.

Last edited by AnryV; 25th June 2010 at 14:28.
AnryV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 16:29   #10206  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 506
The dts core is lossy, so 1-bit rounding errors could be considered immaterial.
73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2010, 17:46   #10207  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
So the DialNorm Problem doesnt exits when DTS-HD is decoded by Sonic Decoder ? Ofcourse it doesnt work on 7.1
ACrowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 01:14   #10208  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,381
Reducing the bitdepth from 24-bit to 16-bit seems to cause tons of static. Tested on a 5.1 channel 24-bit WAV file. Should reproduce easily.

Last edited by Snowknight26; 26th June 2010 at 01:16.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 04:44   #10209  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,301
I'm seeing odd behavior with Battleship Potemkin, a newly restored BluRay release from Kino. http://www.kino.com/video/item.php?film_id=1076

See below, it's self explanatory!

Code:
E:\Potemkin>eac3to d:
1) 00004.mpls, 00045.m2ts+00044.m2ts, 1:12:12
   - Chapters, 20 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48kHz

2) 00005.mpls, 00047.m2ts+00046.m2ts, 1:11:48
   - Chapters, 20 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48kHz

3) 00006.mpls, 00048.m2ts, 0:42:24
   - Chapters, 8 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48kHz

E:\Potemkin>eac3to d:  1)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
E:\Potemkin>
When I tell eac3to to give me the stream list from the main movie, it returns nothing

I can easily work around this by directly referencing the M2TS in question... Turns out there are two versions of the film on this disc, one with the original Russian cards (since it's a silent film), and another with English translated cards.

I prefer the Russian cards with English subtitles, so I just peeked at the M2TSs, and fully demuxed the one I wanted. Incidentally this was 00046.m2ts, and I was treated to the lovely PGS renderer that's now a part of MPC-HC!!!

I think eac3to's confusion may stem from the fact that the main movie M2TS files are preceeded by a very short M2TS, which is the Kino logo. But, I'm certainly not Madshi! Anyway, I was able to work around this no problem, but just a heads-up! Everyone should watch this BluRay. It's a great restoration of THE soviet film. Fantastic!

Cheers,
Derek
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 04:53   #10210  |  Link
Xorp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Reducing the bitdepth from 24-bit to 16-bit seems to cause tons of static. Tested on a 5.1 channel 24-bit WAV file. Should reproduce easily.
I'm getting that too and also on a normal 16-bit 7.1 TrueHD to FLAC conversion.
Xorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 05:02   #10211  |  Link
Killroy™
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
I'm seeing odd behavior with Battleship Potemkin, a newly restored BluRay release from Kino. http://www.kino.com/video/item.php?film_id=1076

See below, it's self explanatory!

Code:
E:\Potemkin>eac3to d:
1) 00004.mpls, 00045.m2ts+00044.m2ts, 1:12:12
   - Chapters, 20 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48kHz

2) 00005.mpls, 00047.m2ts+00046.m2ts, 1:11:48
   - Chapters, 20 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
   - DTS Master Audio, English, multi-channel, 48kHz

3) 00006.mpls, 00048.m2ts, 0:42:24
   - Chapters, 8 chapters
   - h264/AVC, 1080i60 /1.001 (16:9)
   - AC3, English, stereo, 48kHz

E:\Potemkin>eac3to d:  1)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
E:\Potemkin>
When I tell eac3to to give me the stream list from the main movie, it returns nothing

I can easily work around this by directly referencing the M2TS in question... Turns out there are two versions of the film on this disc, one with the original Russian cards (since it's a silent film), and another with English translated cards.

I prefer the Russian cards with English subtitles, so I just peeked at the M2TSs, and fully demuxed the one I wanted. Incidentally this was 00046.m2ts, and I was treated to the lovely PGS renderer that's now a part of MPC-HC!!!

I think eac3to's confusion may stem from the fact that the main movie M2TS files are preceeded by a very short M2TS, which is the Kino logo. But, I'm certainly not Madshi! Anyway, I was able to work around this no problem, but just a heads-up! Everyone should watch this BluRay. It's a great restoration of THE soviet film. Fantastic!

Cheers,
Derek
You have to do the actual file and not the playlist. It's the second one on each playlist. This is another one of the ones that we spoke about earlier.

BTW, if you do the English one you do NOT need the subs as they are the same as the placecards.
Killroy™ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 06:56   #10212  |  Link
`Orum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Been using eac3to for quite some time now and love it...but I do have a couple of minor requests. First, an option to disable saving the internal logging of the output to a file--typically when batch processing I'll log everything to one file anyway. Secondly, a way to silence the completion "uncorking" sound. It's fairly loud and very annoying when running batch scripts to do some quick remuxing/conversion on lots of files. Other than that it's perfect.

Many thanks, I can't tell you how much time this app has saved me.
__________________
Halos? Aliasing? Rainbows? Not on my watch...
`Orum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 08:07   #10213  |  Link
Snowknight26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,381
Rename the wav files.
Snowknight26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 08:14   #10214  |  Link
`Orum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
yeah I know you can do that, but I find them useful at times...just thinking a command line flag would be best.
__________________
Halos? Aliasing? Rainbows? Not on my watch...
`Orum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 10:30   #10215  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,301
@Killroy:
Yep, that's what I meant to say

Regarding the content, I do prefer to see both the Cyrillic characters and the English subs as well. It feels more... soviet?

Thanks though!

Derek
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 11:02   #10216  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by `Orum View Post
yeah I know you can do that, but I find them useful at times...just thinking a command line flag would be best.
If you are annoyed by the sound only in your batch processing then why not try something like this:
Code:
rem This goes somewhere before the eac3to.exe is called
rename "C:\Program Files\AVTools\eac3to\error.wav" error.none
rename "C:\Program Files\AVTools\eac3to\success.wav" success.none
rem Here goes your usual processing...
rename "C:\Program Files\AVTools\eac3to\error.none" error.wav
rename "C:\Program Files\AVTools\eac3to\success.none" success.wav
Replace path to eac3to with your real path of course.
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 11:14   #10217  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowknight26 View Post
Reducing the bitdepth from 24-bit to 16-bit seems to cause tons of static. Tested on a 5.1 channel 24-bit WAV file. Should reproduce easily.
Maybe?:
"reduce bitdepth of decoded audio data by using TPDF dithering"
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 11:20   #10218  |  Link
`Orum
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 78
Yeah, the disadvantage of that is you have to be careful with your batch files. E.g., if I have one batch file, "bat_1.bat", that is
Code:
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\error.wav" error.none
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\success.wav" success.none
.\otherdir\bat_2.bat
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" foo.mkv 2:bar.flac
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\error.none" error.wav
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\success.none" success.wav
and a ".\otherdir\bat_2.bat" that is similar, e.g.
Code:
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\error.wav" error.none
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\success.wav" success.none
"C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\eac3to.exe" foo2.mkv 2:bar2.flac
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\error.none" error.wav
rename "C:\Program Files (x86)\eac3to\success.none" success.wav
I won't get the intended silent result. Just need to be really careful of the order you do things in, and where you do the renaming. A flag avoids the ordering problems.
__________________
Halos? Aliasing? Rainbows? Not on my watch...
`Orum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 11:49   #10219  |  Link
DaFees
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 8
Hello everyone,

I hate to sound like a total noob, but I am having a big problem with eac3to. It simply will not convert TrueHD to LPCM. I'm trying to convert a bdrip for playback on my PS3. I do not know why, but it is specifically TrueHD that fails. I mean I just finished successfully converting a DTS-HD MA track to LPCM. I also know it's not a bad rip or anything because I've tried several different TrueHD tracks and none of them will convert. With a DTS-HD conversion I get the full sound, but with TrueHD I end up with no sound and really speed up and stuttery video.

If it helps I like to use multiavchd to convert my .m2ts files with DTS-HD / TrueHD to .m2ts files with LPCM. I get no errors with DTS-HD but TrueHD always throws the error that eac3to refuses to convert. Yes, I am running the latest version of both multiavchd and eac3to. I don't know what else I would need as eac3to is promoted as supporting TrueHD decoding out of the box without any additional files. I've searched high and low and I am at a loss on this one. I mean usually people have issues with DTS-HD to LPCM not TrueHD to LPCM.

Oh if it makes any difference I am running Windows 7 x64 with the latest windows 7 codec packages
DaFees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 13:33   #10220  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,253
@DaFees
Please put the eac3to log.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder, in Doom9 forums. NicAudio, BassAudio, audio decoders.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.