Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st January 2009, 16:38   #7961  |  Link
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 249
I'm using eac3to-3.03 via wine and I'm trying to get info about a title before I rip the disc. 'eac3to /mnt/cdrom' displays the titles, but 'eac3to /mnt/cdrom "1)"' doesn't show info on the title. Instead I get:

"Please specify the source and dest files first and then the options."

If I switch it to 'eac3to "1)" /mnt/cdrom' I get:

"HD DVD / Blu-Ray disc structure not found."

Does anyone know how to get this to work?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 16:52   #7962  |  Link
jj666
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 150
The quotation marks around the 1 are not necessary i think.

-jj-
jj666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 17:00   #7963  |  Link
J0nThn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7 View Post
I'm using eac3to-3.03 via wine and I'm trying to get info about a title before I rip the disc. 'eac3to /mnt/cdrom' displays the titles, but 'eac3to /mnt/cdrom "1)"' doesn't show info on the title. Instead I get:

"Please specify the source and dest files first and then the options."

If I switch it to 'eac3to "1)" /mnt/cdrom' I get:

"HD DVD / Blu-Ray disc structure not found."

Does anyone know how to get this to work?
Try a path without a "slash in front". So for example if your current directory is /home/me

you have to use eac3to like this :
Code:
wine eac3to ../../mnt/cdrom "1)"
J0nThn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 19:32   #7964  |  Link
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 249
Quote:
The quotation marks around the 1 are not necessary i think.
I actually do need those quotes in order to use the ')' character in Linux.

Quote:
Try a path without a "slash in front".
Weird, I get:

$ ls ../../../mnt/cdrom
AACS BDMV CERTIFICATE
$ wine eac3to ../../../mnt/cdrom "1)"
The format of the source file could not be detected.

'eac3to /mnt/cdrom' and all other eac3to commands I've tried work perfectly.
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 20:12   #7965  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Could we have an option to use a .mpls file as a source so that we get the -right- playlist (on blu-rays such as wall-e spreaded on tons of files with multiple files with video both in french english and spanish, the biggest mpls isnt the one containing the english video.
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 20:29   #7966  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esurnir View Post
Could we have an option to use a .mpls file as a source so that we get the -right- playlist (on blu-rays such as wall-e spreaded on tons of files with multiple files with video both in french english and spanish, the biggest mpls isnt the one containing the english video.
Did you try doing that? I'm pretty sure you can already do that.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:12   #7967  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexor View Post
Did you try doing that? I'm pretty sure you can already do that.
*facepalm* it indeed does... (maybe it should be put in the instructions as a possibility).
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 23:13   #7968  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska Dev-Helper
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 720
hello madshi

i have a question to demuxing. the sups of some blurays are not correct demuxed. (the same result when i demux with TSMuxer).

the sup-file are very large and contains too much pictures (in this case over 2800).
subtitle 1 till 5 shows the same picture but subtitle 1 till 4 have a starttime only. subtitle 5 is ok. and than subtitle 6 till 8 have the same fault and so on...

if you open the file in supread0.52b2 you will see what i mean.

is it possible to fix that?


hubble

Last edited by hubblec4; 22nd January 2009 at 12:53.
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 02:34   #7969  |  Link
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 249
Any other ideas with my issue above? Does it work for anyone else on Linux?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 10:24   #7970  |  Link
kypec
User of free A/V tools
 
kypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SK
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7 View Post
Any other ideas with my issue above? Does it work for anyone else on Linux?

Did you try aforementioned trick with escaping the parenthesis character by backslash?
eac3to /mnt/cdrom 1\)
kypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 15:32   #7971  |  Link
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 249
Quote:
Did you try aforementioned trick with escaping the parenthesis character by backslash?
I get:

Code:
$ wine eac3to /mnt/cdrom 1\)
Please specify the source and dest files first and then the options.
I'm not having trouble getting 1) recognized. For example, the following works perfectly:

Code:
wine eac3to video "1)" 2: video.* 3: audio.*
It's just this one command:

Code:
wine eac3to /mnt/cdrom "1)"
Does that work for anyone else on Linux?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 17:17   #7972  |  Link
honai
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
eac3to 3.04 crashes when I start processing a demuxed AVC stream.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/wwsa9t
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 18:03   #7973  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
What program would you recommend for such operation? Preferably something that accepts 32bit float input
Don't know, maybe TimeFactory?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hubblec4 View Post
i have a question to demuxing. the sups of some blurays are not correct demuxed. (the same result when i demux with TSMuxer).

the sup-file are very large and contains too much pictures (in this case over 2800).
subtitle 1 till 5 shows the same picture but subtitle 1 till 4 have a starttime only. subtitle 5 is ok. and than subtitle 6 till 8 have the same fault and so on...

if you open the file in supread0.52b2 you will see what i mean.

is it possible to fix that?
I'll have a look at this. Can you try creating a 50MB sample and check whether the problem can be reproduced with that sample? If so, such a 50MB chunk would be helpful for me to figure out what's going on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by honai View Post
eac3to 3.04 crashes when I start processing a demuxed AVC stream.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/wwsa9t
That crash seems to be caused by a framerate format eac3to doesn't like. I'm confused why that crash happens - it shouldn't. Can I have the first 10MB of that AVC stream, please?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 18:19   #7974  |  Link
honai
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for looking into this.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/yy1tf6
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 20:24   #7975  |  Link
Thunderbolt8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,154
is it a stream demuxed by eac3to or was it demuxed by another program? in case of the latter it might be possible that this other program doesn't treat the stream the right for eac3to to continue working with it.
Thunderbolt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 23:04   #7976  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by honai View Post
eac3to 3.04 crashes when I start processing a demuxed AVC stream.
The very first sequence header doesn't contain framerate information in this AVC stream, while all other sequence headers do. That made eac3to crash. This problem will be fixed in the next eac3to build. BTW, the "video_full_range_flag" is set in this stream, which is probably incorrect. So you should wait for the next eac3to build, anyway, which will then automatically clear that flag (and crop the stream to 1920x1080 and add timing information to the first sequence header).
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 00:07   #7977  |  Link
honai
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Excellent, many thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 00:34   #7978  |  Link
ggking7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 249
Does dialog normalization and pulldown exist on DVD like it does on Blu-Ray? If so, can eac3to operate on a DVD or DVD image? If not, is there another program that can operate on a DVD or image and will remove dialog normalization and pulldown?
ggking7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 02:49   #7979  |  Link
lexor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7 View Post
Does dialog normalization and pulldown exist on DVD like it does on Blu-Ray? If so, can eac3to operate on a DVD or DVD image? If not, is there another program that can operate on a DVD or image and will remove dialog normalization and pulldown?
DialNorm exists on DVD, since it's in the AC3 stream and it doesn't matter what medium that is on. eac3to should remove it, because it also doesn't really care what medium it is from. ac3 is ac3.

I don't know about pulldown.
__________________
Geforce GTX 260
Windows 7, 64bit, Core i7
MPC-HC, Foobar2000
lexor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 07:55   #7980  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggking7 View Post
Does dialog normalization and pulldown exist on DVD like it does on Blu-Ray? If so, can eac3to operate on a DVD or DVD image? If not, is there another program that can operate on a DVD or image and will remove dialog normalization and pulldown?
DVD video encoding is normally not stable. In other words: There may be some passages where pulldown could technically be removed, but most often there are other passages in the stream where it's not possible or where removing pulldown would even result in a worse stream. So eac3to does not even try to remove pulldown from any SD sources. If you see eac3to listing a DVD as "480p with pulldown flags" you can try using "-stripPulldown", but most probably processing will not run through successfully.

DVD file structure is not supported yet. You have to manually tell eac3to which VOBs to handle. And you shouldn't feed seamless branching or multi angle DVDs to eac3to cause those aren't handled correctly yet. Full DVD structure support might come in a later version (or not).
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.